4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

VR/AR HMD Club - Oculus Rift, HTC Vive, PS VR, HoloLens, Magic Leap, Windows MR

FatalExe
post Dec 6 2019, 02:44 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Nov 26 2019, 09:40 PM)
Thanks for ur review. It was helpful.
I am also thinking of getting the quest. The 2 reasons stopping is the walled garden and 72Hz.
I know a few ppl who dev motion sickness with just 60Hz but better with 90Hz. Also those who had no motion sickness with vive tracking but developed when using WMR.
fwiw 72Hz doesn't bother me at all. Colours are a little washed out, but its a beta after all. Oculus already mentioned they intentionally didn't enable full quality since they wanted to test basic functionality first.

Not sure what walled garden you're talking about since Oculus headsets are best of all worlds, with SteamVR and Oculus support natively

Enjoying Blade and Sorcery, H3VR and Asgard's Wrath on my Quest with Link.

btw, if anyone wants to buy a Link cable, this is the one I bought, 3 meters long and fully supports Oculus link https://www.lazada.com.my/products/extra-lo...cQo2XL&search=1

This post has been edited by FatalExe: Dec 6 2019, 02:46 PM
FatalExe
post Dec 6 2019, 05:28 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Dec 6 2019, 05:03 PM)
here's another option, since 3 meter one not that suitable for roomscale movement.

Ultra Long Oculus Link Compatible Cable
5 meters to 10 meters? how does it work? is it an active USB cable with external power? 3 meters should be the max for a passive cable..

and that price is ohmy.gif 3 meters only cost rm23

FatalExe
post Dec 7 2019, 01:27 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(FluffyTee @ Dec 7 2019, 12:46 AM)
Oculus maintains a walled garden for their mobile apps. Basically no one can create an app on their own and distribute it. Every app needs to be build based on the device signature (Osig). at least this is how it was for the gear VR version. therefore, just like IOS, quest and GO devices cannot install apps from independent sources easily.

The steamvr compatibiliy seems enticing but that requires additional hardware.

I already have 2 VR devices. if i were to get the quest, it would be only for its untethered vr device. My other option would be to get the wireless htc vive link.

Thanks for ur input though
Quest has unknown sources enabled (for both Link and native Android apps). You can sideload any APKs for the Quest, and root is already available if you don't want to rely on Oculus Developer Mode (no kernel access though).

I have lots of APKs installed, including Virtual Desktop and ALVR for wireless untethered SteamVR access. With those apps you don't need a cable to play SteamVR games, it can be streamed from your PC over 5Ghz wifi

This post has been edited by FatalExe: Dec 7 2019, 01:28 AM
FatalExe
post Dec 7 2019, 01:30 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Dec 6 2019, 10:01 PM)
no need external power, just plug and play, direct connection, not extension cable.

considering the official cable which is only 5meter cost RM330+ excluding US to Msia shipping. I'd say it's fairly priced.

You may refer to the video I posted a few post above, that video I'm using the 10meter one.

A couple of my customers shared it in the global Oculus Quest group too
That's very surprising since over 3 meters long is out of USB 3.0 spec unless there's active power...

The official 5 meter cable is fiber optic and super light so there's some difference there

Nice to know there's a choice, but 3 meters is enough for me, my room is too small for any meaningful roomscale gaming
FatalExe
post Jul 22 2020, 12:49 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jul 20 2020, 10:01 AM)
Can refer this guide, I agree to his opinion too.

2 methods to play PC VR game using Oculus Quest:
1. use Link Compatible Cable, simple plug and play
2. connect wirelessly using 3rd party software, this is more technical, involve buying a 3rd party app called virtual desktop, enter developer mode, do sideloading, and have to ensure your home wifi router is near to your VR play space to avoid lag (cumbersome at the beginning but rewarding at the end, however not suitable for super fast pace game such as Beat Saber though)

Sample video of Oculus Quest playing PC VR games using link cable, there's zero lag, even on the longest 10meter variant, tested by VR developer in Singapore:

Sample video of Oculus Quest playing PC VR games wirelessly using virtual desktop:

I'd say Quest is more value for money due to it's 2-in-1 function.
Correct. There is 0 perceptible input lag for Link.

I'm top 50 in Beat Saber Malaysia rankings (I don't grind or play too many ranked songs) and I can play Expert+ no problem on Oculus Link.
FatalExe
post Aug 26 2020, 01:58 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Aug 25 2020, 07:31 PM)
hi... new here and just got my oculus quest recently.Wanted to know is it more worth it getting the beatsaber on steam and use link to play it? or just buy the game on the oculus app itself. I heard the one on steam is much easier to configure with custom songs
Steam version is absolutely worth it if your PC is capable to run Link.

Personally I have both so I can play Beat Saber on the go when I balik kampung or travel in hotels without my PC around.

Steam is very easy yes, just download Mod Assistant and it's all 1 click. You can sync your custom songs for PC+Quest version using bsaber.com. Quest custom songs will require you to install a modded version using "BMBF". Plenty of tutorials out there and feel free to ask more questions if you get stuck.
FatalExe
post Aug 26 2020, 01:59 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(shadowzephyr @ Aug 26 2020, 12:34 AM)
If you referring to Beat Saber PC version (Steam / Oculus Rift) vs Quest version, PC version is easily the best Beat Saber platform to mod. PC > Quest > PS4. I just use Mod Assistant for the modding, bookmark favorite custom songs in bsaber.com and sync it in my PC via BeatSyncConsole app.

For me, Steam version is better compare to Rift due to regional pricing: RM51 in Steam store vs $29.99 (~RM125) in Oculus Store. You can bypass SteamVR and directly play via Oculus to improve FPS by setting the launch option "-vrmode oculus" in Steam.

Also note that Beat Saber in Oculus store is not cross-buy, so if you bought Beat Saber for Quest, you can't install the same in PC, or vice versa. So yea, I don't see any benefit of buying Oculus Rift version to play via Link.

Personally, I bought both Steam and Quest platform of Beat Saber. Mainly played in Steam due to the mods & better visuals, but having in Quest also is a bonus due to portability (able to play without PC/wires). For example, when I going to hometown I just bring along my Quest and still able to play without the needs of PC. It's not that hard to mod Beat Saber in Quest in order to support custom songs & ScoreSaber (and also few other mods, but for me these two are enough). Note that those custom songs that requires mapping extension is not supported in Quest.
Actually, Mapping extensions is available on Quest. Noodle extensions is not.

Bypassing SteamVR is bad for me. Oculus mode breaks the vibrations and rumble. Feels like slicing the air and have no feeling at all

This post has been edited by FatalExe: Aug 26 2020, 02:00 AM
FatalExe
post Aug 26 2020, 01:05 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Aug 26 2020, 10:06 AM)
Thanks FatalExe
shadowzephyr

Got it. I think I'll get both the quest version and steam version based on you input quest ver for on the go and steam version for more customization.

As for support for link a Ryzen 5 3600 and RTX2060 Super with 16GB RAM should be enough for it ya.

About the delay is the link good enough for beatsaber? Seems to see mixed reviews on this.
2060 Super is great. As for RAM its fine too but I have seen improvements in heavy games like Half Life Alyx with 32GB RAM. Anyways you can try "Prioritize Quality" in the Oculus PC software to increase graphic quality for your Quest Link.

Input lag is totally not noticeable unless you come from high end headsets like Index with 144hz refresh rate. Don't worry about it, I can S rank 6.5 block speed custom maps with Link + SteamVR.

Quest also can be modded for custom songs, take your time to learn about it.

QUOTE(shadowzephyr @ Aug 26 2020, 10:30 AM)
Oh yes my bad, I was referring to Noodle extension for the mapping extension that does not work in Quest. Thanks FatalExe.

Hmm, I remembered few times in my past two months (2-3 times I guess) that the vibration is not functioning while in-game, though reloading the game fixed the issue. I'll test again in SteamVR later for some time if there's any difference.
Rumble/vibration is broken in Oculus mode, it's super weak even with the Advanced Rumble mod. I've talked to the developer for the mod and it's a known issue with Oculus mode. Try switching to SteamVR and set advanced rumble to Max, it's super satisfying and immersive
FatalExe
post Aug 27 2020, 03:03 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Aug 27 2020, 02:43 PM)
Any recommended title aside from beatsaber. Quite hesitant to spend so much on games and most of them averages out around 19-29 usd per game :X
Superhot VR, Until you Fall, Budget Cuts, Boneworks, Half Life Alyx, Walking Dead Saints and Sinners, Blade and Sorcery..

You can try waiting for Steam sales if you want better deals. Sometimes Humble Bundle will have a bunch of games bundled together for cheap 1$ to 5$, try and subscribe to their newsletter for latest updates

This post has been edited by FatalExe: Aug 27 2020, 03:03 PM
FatalExe
post Aug 29 2020, 06:46 PM

695 posts

For those that are wondering whether Quest can fully replace a dedicated VR headset, I tried recording gameplay in Mixed Reality mode and it worked. SteamVR + Oculus Link + LIV + OBS recording. The mic also worked. This was surprising to me since Google/Reddit said its not possible to record mic+gameplay sounds using OBS for Oculus Link.

Here's a test video of me playing Beat Saber custom song. Tracking is good even with so many background processes and OBS recording in 60fps.

I'll record another even faster paced song tomorrow to prove Link latency is good enough for Beat Saber

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Aug 26 2020, 03:33 PM)
One question for the Oculus Quest say if I want to bring it out to a friend house. I need to set up another Guardian area? How many areas can i save at once
If i'm not mistaken its up to 5? Not sure really you will need to Google for the answer to your question.
FatalExe
post Aug 30 2020, 12:48 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Aug 29 2020, 09:13 PM)
No problem. Damn how long have you played? I could barely see the notes in your gameplay haha. Kirito ftw.
By the way thanks for the recommendation on the side quest managed to download custom songs now. But feel like the BMBF sometimes stucks when loading the page. Example Love the way you lie i somehow just couldn't download that song and kept on error.
Aside of that don't seem able to record directly on the quest anymore after the modded beat saber install.
Thanks in Adv bro! biggrin.gif
Ah I've first started playing last year for a few months but stopped until I started again last 2-3 months ago due to MCO. Install the YUR mod and you can track your calories burned during your play sessions.

When you get used to the game you will go autopilot. Don't need to read the notes, your brain will register and arms will swing automatically, they call it the Zen state haha.

Only applies to maps with superb flow and block placement. For example the default maps are not mapped well and I suck at those.

Some of the better mappers out there that I like include: Joetastic, Kikal Evan, Ejiejidayo, Kolezan.

For BMBF I never encountered that issue, then again I don't use BMBF frequently since I play on PC. The way I do it is create a bsaber.com account, add all your songs to bookmarks, then in BMBF, use SyncSaber function to download all your bookmarked songs.
FatalExe
post Aug 30 2020, 04:42 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Aug 30 2020, 01:50 PM)
Ahh no wonder.. Just managed to pass a hard song today. Hope to improve better soon haha play daily now around 1 hour. Do you use any mask to absorb the sweat so it won't get smell?
Oh yaa one more is recording on quest. Does yours works with BMBF? I can't seem to record regardless start from BMBF or the Library launcher it says developer disable this feature. But it was working on previous unmodded BeatSaber

So far I think most of the time I'm spending on BeatSaber have yet to explore those other highly reviewed VR games like PAVLOC terminus etc.
No wonder everyone highly recommend beatsaber haha
Yeah you can't record or Chromecast stream modded app. So you need to choose between recording or custom songs. I think there's a workaround but its quite complicated and I'm not sure how to do it.

I wash the facial interface sponge and air dry it after every session. For controllers I have the controller straps and cover, just remove them and wash after every session. Very cheap on Lazada.

I also have the additional leather cushion accessory to improve the comfortability. Let me get you some Lazada links.

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/in-stock...34929.html?mp=1
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/controll...3380602901.html?

Gonna record another Beat Saber session later.
FatalExe
post Aug 30 2020, 07:22 PM

695 posts

New video recorded on Oculus Link + LIV.

As you guys can see, the latency is negligible with OBS + SteamVR + LIV + Oculus Dashboard running.

This post has been edited by FatalExe: Aug 30 2020, 07:23 PM
FatalExe
post Sep 1 2020, 01:23 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Sep 1 2020, 12:25 PM)
bro, wanna ask if you're using green screen background?
No green screen, LIV supports virtual green screen. I haven't tried camera mode though, only avatar mode
FatalExe
post Sep 1 2020, 01:24 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Sep 1 2020, 12:16 PM)
Any recommended co-op VR games that can be played together with friends?
A friend bought quest after lending him to try out my quest for beat saber. biggrin.gif
Echo VR, Rec Room, VR Chat...
FatalExe
post Sep 4 2020, 10:27 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Sep 3 2020, 08:54 PM)
Can I check usually how often you guys changed the controller battery?

The one from box so far I've been using 5-6 hours in total. The percentage show right is at 60% and left at 70% but the vibration motor feel significantly less strong when slicing and sometimes right saber will fling away from my hand when intense songs.
Resetting the battery seems to help a while.
Get rechargeable battery. Panasonic eneloop. You will thank yourself
FatalExe
post Sep 5 2020, 11:04 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Sep 5 2020, 07:11 PM)
FatalExe Would love to see kirito action with some SAO Ost xD
SAO OST? Sure let me download first
FatalExe
post Sep 6 2020, 06:52 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Sep 5 2020, 07:11 PM)
FatalExe Would love to see kirito action with some SAO Ost xD
Yo here's the SAO Season 2 OP2 Ignite. Didn't do as well as I have liked, didn't play for a week already, too busy with work haha

Also another song I recorded from Persona 4. Great game, just finished on Steam.

This post has been edited by FatalExe: Sep 6 2020, 07:00 PM
FatalExe
post Sep 6 2020, 08:36 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Sep 6 2020, 07:51 PM)
fatalexe looks perfect d. Dual saber, with kirito and beat saber. Perfect! I can't even pass that song now. Love the part at 3.25 xD
The one handed saber part? Yeah that was the highlight of the song, I didn't expect it to come (last time I played this song was like 2 months ago..) so I had to really slice and move my arms fast haha

Keep it up and you can do it too! Are you playing on Quest native version or PC now?
FatalExe
post Sep 7 2020, 12:10 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Sep 7 2020, 11:12 AM)
Currently playing on native on quest since most of the song I want is already there.
On PC I'm playing Raw Data that I purchased many years ago when I was demo-ing the vive. biggrin.gif
I see.

You should consider getting the Steam version of Beat Saber and downloading the "Enhanced Rumble" mod. Then you'll feel like you're really slicing up chunky blocks, much more satisfying and you might see some improvements to your gameplay as its more immersive haha.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0462sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:02 PM