QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jul 11 2013, 12:03 PM)
still thinking Sony Xperia ZR compact quadcore!, 4.2.2 update rolling out
Sony Xperia ZR compact quadcore!, 4.2.2 update rolling out
Jul 11 2013, 12:25 PM
2,854 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Sri Petaling ~ Kuala Lumpur |
Jul 11 2013, 12:33 PM
960 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Jul 11 2013, 12:50 PM
3,461 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah |
I am still undecided about ZL vs. ZR. Waterproofing and all is nice, but there is something about the ZL form factor that really attracts me.
This comparison doesn't help me much either http://versus.com/en/sony-xperia-zr-vs-sony-xperia-zl According to that site: 5 points in favor of ZR: 1) Dustproof and water proof (we all know that already) 2) ZR is 1.90mm (!) more narrow than the ZL. (frankly speaking, is this really that much of a difference?) 3) ZR is 0.60mm (!!!) shorter than the ZL. (again.... it's so marginal) 4) ZR has 2 microphones vs ZL's one. Probably for noise cancellation. 5) ZR is 13gm lighter than ZL. but.... ZL has ELEVEN (11 !) pluses against the ZR??? 1) ZL has continuous AF while shooting video, but ZR don't have. Anyone can confirm this? 2) ZL has double the internal storage of ZR. 3) ZL can create panorama in camera, but not ZR. Again, can anyone confirm this? Even my Acro S can do panorama in camera.... 4) ZL has much higher pixel density. Can my eyes actually tell the difference between 441 ppi and 319 ppi? 5) ZL has bigger screen. (duh...) 6) ZL is 0.60mm (!!!) thinner than ZR. 7) ZL has a videa light but ZR don't have. You mean ZR's LED light don't work during video? That's odd. 8) ZL has 2.75% LESS (!!!!!!) body volume compared to ZR. (this is gettign ridiculous) 9) ZL camera has manual exposure control, but not the ZR. This is important to me, who loves photography. 10) ZL has higher resolution (Full HD) vs. ZR (HD only). Isn't this covered in point 4) ? 11) ZL has electronic image stabilizer, whereas the ZR has none. Can anyone verify this? Again, these are points from the website which I posted the link to. Not my own. The phone shop I always like to go to mentioned they will have the ZR in by today. I was comparing the screen of the ZL vs. Z. There is a marked difference in screen clarity between the two. Both phones were set to using the same wallpaper, and set to maximum brightness. The ZL seems to have much better screen clarity than the Z. Hopefully the ZR will arrive today and I will get to test the ZL vs. ZR screen clarity on the spot, before making a decision whether to buy the ZL or the ZR.... or keep my Acro S. This post has been edited by kysham: Jul 11 2013, 03:00 PM |
Jul 11 2013, 02:32 PM
2,854 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Sri Petaling ~ Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(our_team89 @ Jul 11 2013, 12:33 PM) all?how many u got there many..mostly all from Thailand and they like to use wechat video call. so I need a better front camera Lo. last time use tx,front camera quality not bad.it's ok lo..dun care about how they will see you, as long as u can see their face clearly.. many thing I want to see very clear |
Jul 11 2013, 02:56 PM
3,026 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 11 2013, 12:50 PM) I am still undecided about ZL vs. ZR. Waterproofing and all is nice, but there is something about the ZL form factor that really attracts me. ya ya... pls compare and give us your opinion. i compared my acro s to zl and z screen b4, and found out the screen on my acro s have better contrast and viewing angle than z and zl (proud of my acro s This comparison doesn't help me much either http://versus.com/en/sony-xperia-zr-vs-sony-xperia-zl According to that site: 5 points in favor of ZR: 1) Dustproof and water proof (we all know that already) 2) ZR is 1.90mm (!) more narrow than the ZL. (frankly speaking, is this really that much of a difference?) 3) ZR is 0.60mm (!!!) shorter than the ZL. (again.... it's so marginal) 4) ZR has 2 microphones vs ZL's one. Probably for noise cancellation. 5) ZR is 13gm lighter than ZL. but.... ZL has ELEVEN (11 !) pluses against the ZR??? 1) ZL has continuous AF while shooting video, but ZR don't have. Anyone can confirm this? 2) ZL has double the internal storage of ZR. 3) ZL can create panorama in camera, but not ZR. Again, can anyone confirm this? Even my Acro S can do panorama in camera.... 4) ZL has much higher pixel density. Can my eyes actually tell the difference between 441 ppi and 319 ppi? 5) ZL has bigger screen. (duh...) 6) ZL is 0.60mm (!!!) thinner than ZR. 7) ZL has a videa light but ZR don't have. You mean ZR's LED light don't work during video? That's odd. 8) ZL has 2.75% LESS (!!!!!!) body volume compared to ZR. (this is gettign ridiculous) 9) ZL camera has manual exposure control, but not the ZR. This is important to me, who loves photography. 10) ZL has higher resolution (Full HD) vs. ZR (HD only). Isn't this covered in point 4) ? 11) ZL has electronic image stabilizer, whereas the ZR has none. Can anyone verify this? Again, these are points from the website which I posted the link to. Not my own. The phone I always like to go to mentioned they will have the ZR in by today. I was comparing the screen of the ZL vs. Z. There is a marked difference in screen clarity between the two. Both phones were set to using the same wallpaper, and set to maximum brightness. The ZL seems to have much better screen clarity than the Z. Hopefully the ZR will arrive today and I will get to test the ZL vs. ZR screen clarity on the spot, before making a decision whether to buy the ZL or the ZR.... or keep my Acro S. so, if the screen on the zr is better than zl, then it will be a huge plus point for zr |
Jul 11 2013, 06:42 PM
13,313 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...3&idPhone2=5421
Overall ZR is not better than ZL, except the waterproof function better than V only Just can said the upgrade of combination of TX & V |
Jul 11 2013, 08:18 PM
21 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 11 2013, 12:50 PM) I am still undecided about ZL vs. ZR. Waterproofing and all is nice, but there is something about the ZL form factor that really attracts me. Xzr got continuous focus and led working in video, sweep panorama working well, exposure value can be adjusted manually if you're not in superior auto mode, image stabiliser exist for non hdr modeThis comparison doesn't help me much either http://versus.com/en/sony-xperia-zr-vs-sony-xperia-zl According to that site: 5 points in favor of ZR: 1) Dustproof and water proof (we all know that already) 2) ZR is 1.90mm (!) more narrow than the ZL. (frankly speaking, is this really that much of a difference?) 3) ZR is 0.60mm (!!!) shorter than the ZL. (again.... it's so marginal) 4) ZR has 2 microphones vs ZL's one. Probably for noise cancellation. 5) ZR is 13gm lighter than ZL. but.... ZL has ELEVEN (11 !) pluses against the ZR??? 1) ZL has continuous AF while shooting video, but ZR don't have. Anyone can confirm this? 2) ZL has double the internal storage of ZR. 3) ZL can create panorama in camera, but not ZR. Again, can anyone confirm this? Even my Acro S can do panorama in camera.... 4) ZL has much higher pixel density. Can my eyes actually tell the difference between 441 ppi and 319 ppi? 5) ZL has bigger screen. (duh...) 6) ZL is 0.60mm (!!!) thinner than ZR. 7) ZL has a videa light but ZR don't have. You mean ZR's LED light don't work during video? That's odd. 8) ZL has 2.75% LESS (!!!!!!) body volume compared to ZR. (this is gettign ridiculous) 9) ZL camera has manual exposure control, but not the ZR. This is important to me, who loves photography. 10) ZL has higher resolution (Full HD) vs. ZR (HD only). Isn't this covered in point 4) ? 11) ZL has electronic image stabilizer, whereas the ZR has none. Can anyone verify this? Again, these are points from the website which I posted the link to. Not my own. The phone shop I always like to go to mentioned they will have the ZR in by today. I was comparing the screen of the ZL vs. Z. There is a marked difference in screen clarity between the two. Both phones were set to using the same wallpaper, and set to maximum brightness. The ZL seems to have much better screen clarity than the Z. Hopefully the ZR will arrive today and I will get to test the ZL vs. ZR screen clarity on the spot, before making a decision whether to buy the ZL or the ZR.... or keep my Acro S. |
Jul 11 2013, 08:41 PM
140 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Can anyone else confirm the price is RM1499? I would definitely love to buy it.
Jul 11 2013, 08:43 PM
4,735 posts Joined: Feb 2010 From: ★~Starlight~★ |
Jul 11 2013, 08:47 PM
140 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jul 11 2013, 08:43 PM) Ohhh Thank you very much.Just now i went to a store to ask for the price of ZR. they said is 1699. Haha that's 200 more. I wanted to try it out but they dont have a demo version. I'm still deciding between ZR and V... ZR has Exmor RS whereas V doesnt right? Exmor RS really improve on low light pictures? |
Jul 12 2013, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(celeritykid @ Jul 11 2013, 08:18 PM) Xzr got continuous focus and led working in video, sweep panorama working well, exposure value can be adjusted manually if you're not in superior auto mode, image stabiliser exist for non hdr mode Thanks for verifying. That means this website really is rubbish. Anyway, the shop still haven't got the ZR in stock yet, so I can't do a physical feel feel of the ZR. But I can say that the screen clarity of my Acro S is significantly (meaning, very obvious to the human eyes) better than the Z or the ZL. Z has the worst clarity. The ZL has better clarity, but it still cannot beat my Acro S. The Acro S has much deeper blacks and colors are more crisp. ZL is very close to it, but Z is far away. Funny thing is, the price range of these 3 phones goes the other way round! Still waiting for the shop to call me to say the ZR has arrived and awaiting my test drive. |
Jul 12 2013, 03:13 PM
3,968 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 12 2013, 10:27 AM) Thanks for verifying. That means this website really is rubbish. Anyway, the shop still haven't got the ZR in stock yet, so I can't do a physical feel feel of the ZR. But I can say that the screen clarity of my Acro S is significantly (meaning, very obvious to the human eyes) better than the Z or the ZL. Z has the worst clarity. The ZL has better clarity, but it still cannot beat my Acro S. The Acro S has much deeper blacks and colors are more crisp. ZL is very close to it, but Z is far away. Funny thing is, the price range of these 3 phones goes the other way round! Still waiting for the shop to call me to say the ZR has arrived and awaiting my test drive. |
Jul 12 2013, 03:54 PM
5,957 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: www.bitching.asia |
QUOTE(x132755 @ Jul 11 2013, 06:42 PM) http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPho...3&idPhone2=5421 Not only that la, it more on user experience that z cant over zr, for example : camera button, exchangeable battery, smaller size, the rest most of it is gimmick, normal human can't even tell the different or fully utilise other than paper specOverall ZR is not better than ZL, except the waterproof function better than V only Just can said the upgrade of combination of TX & V |
Jul 12 2013, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(briantwj @ Jul 12 2013, 03:13 PM) |
Jul 12 2013, 04:57 PM
91 posts Joined: May 2007 |
ZR is out.
RM 1649 Sony Style KLCC model number c5502 android ver 4.1.2 baseband ver 9x15A-ACEFWMAZQ-30110041-29 kernel ver 3.4.0-g6df7905-02327-g1aa3092 build no 10.1.1.A.1.310 |
Jul 12 2013, 05:03 PM
381 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 12 2013, 03:59 PM) All screen setting on all 3 phones were set to MAXIMUM. Acro S still has the better contrast and deeper black. I am not aware of the firmware improving the contrast or blackness. I thought this is very much a hardware related characteristic, no? I remember you from defy,i think you will miss the waterproof function if you get zl. I was thinking to get zr but my defy can't wait till it's launching, so I bought xperia z instead. I think I can't return to phone without ip57 at least, lol |
Jul 12 2013, 05:29 PM
3,026 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 12 2013, 03:59 PM) All screen setting on all 3 phones were set to MAXIMUM. Acro S still has the better contrast and deeper black. I am not aware of the firmware improving the contrast or blackness. I thought this is very much a hardware related characteristic, no? yes. XZ and XZL receive a new firmmware, .253 i think, which improve the display. i think it is done by fine tuning the software part of the display. something like the brightness, colour, contrast setting in all TV. and yet, i did compare my acro s with XZL new firware and XZ old firmware in KLCC once. all setting to full brightness and same wallpaper. and i can conclude that Acro s display still the best, followed by XZL with new firmware and XZ with old firmware. the difference is not minor. it is easily noticeable with naked eye comparison. |
Jul 12 2013, 10:48 PM
3,968 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 12 2013, 03:59 PM) All screen setting on all 3 phones were set to MAXIMUM. Acro S still has the better contrast and deeper black. I am not aware of the firmware improving the contrast or blackness. I thought this is very much a hardware related characteristic, no? As far as i know, there is firmware that improves display quality. I've never compared Acro S with Z and Zl before. o.0 If I knew Acro S display is so good, I would have go for it instead of waiting for Zr. |
Jul 13 2013, 09:58 PM
63 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
juz bought it today at directD .. mint color need to add extra rm30.. so RM 1529 =.= .. and who else wanna buy at direct D ... this month they had given KFC voucher. but u guys need to ask for it.. or else the salesperson 'senyap2' .. after i ask bout it. then they gave me. =.='
Jul 13 2013, 10:07 PM
739 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(ekayusri @ Jul 13 2013, 09:58 PM) juz bought it today at directD .. mint color need to add extra rm30.. so RM 1529 =.= .. and who else wanna buy at direct D ... this month they had given KFC voucher. but u guys need to ask for it.. or else the salesperson 'senyap2' .. after i ask bout it. then they gave me. =.=' review of the screen pls |
| Change to: | 0.2602sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:44 PM |