Sony Xperia ZR compact quadcore!, 4.2.2 update rolling out

ckchan
post May 13 2013, 05:51 PM

3,026 posts

this can be considered as Xperia Z Mini?
ckchan
post May 15 2013, 07:21 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ May 14 2013, 06:23 PM)
not screen size only matter... also physical size..

zr vs tx

<68mm width still acceptable imho...
height and width seems ok. but >10mm thickness... hmm.gif

QUOTE(AmeiN @ May 14 2013, 07:16 PM)
2 model....

Xperia ZR (C5502) HSPA+
Xperia ZR (C5503) LTE
then again have to wait sony malaysia to see which model they bring in
ckchan
post May 28 2013, 03:18 PM

3,026 posts

another xperia rumored... the Xperia UL... looks like (again) same spec with Z, only differences are XUL with IP58 rating, camera button and removable battery.

Now we are talking about too many models with similar spec!
ckchan
post May 29 2013, 11:37 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ May 28 2013, 08:38 PM)
not for international market..  nod.gif
as of now, yeah, only for Japan... but who knows in the future?
Acro HD japan => Acro S international
GX for Japan => TX international
ckchan
post Jun 2 2013, 11:17 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jun 2 2013, 08:56 AM)
maybe this month..  icon_idea.gif
So soon? Hope the price is lower than xzl
ckchan
post Jun 6 2013, 10:24 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Jun 6 2013, 12:20 AM)
Estimate around 1599 or 1699.

Probably is rm1599 which is advance level or xperia v. Xperia v rrp rm1599. Should will follow with that price. Even xperia sp also rm1299.
any price drop for XV rrp? i think XZR will be priced higher than XV cos XZR is of higher spec than XV in many aspect. If XV still priced at 1599 rrp, then XZR maybe 1699 and above?
ckchan
post Jun 14 2013, 09:29 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(darrenkidd @ Jun 14 2013, 12:13 AM)
Wish to have telco offer data plan package
i'm a maxis subscriber. so far only maxis din bring in any sony product doh.gif . hope maxis will change their mind
ckchan
post Jun 18 2013, 10:18 AM

3,026 posts

india and taiwan launched, priced around rm1600++, and includes charging dock!

http://www.xperiablog.net/2013/06/17/xperi...dia-and-taiwan/
ckchan
post Jun 26 2013, 09:36 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jun 26 2013, 09:07 AM)
Xperia ZR got LTE model.. but..

maybe sony wont bring it here.. ?  hmm.gif
yeah... maybe sony MY wants to maintain the premium and flagship status of XZ and do not want any other model to compete with XZ.

no LTE is a no go for me now. guess my next target will be honami now.
ckchan
post Jul 6 2013, 11:17 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 6 2013, 09:01 AM)
Interesting phone. Good for taking photos of little boy and me at the baby swimming pool. laugh.gif

And the price I think is pretty good. I got my Acro S also around that price point. But my Acro S came with a charging dock free inside the package, and it was a very affordable charging dock. I bought an additional unit for around RM25 (if I'm not mistaken) to put in my office, so that I always charge the phone using the dock and not remove the flap and charge via the USB socket. I think that really is important key point (to charge using the dock) because less wear and tear on the flap means less chance for water ingress, and the water proof functionality remains intact.
I am using Acro S and also bought an extra charging dock to use in office. The fact is, once you got use to the charging dock, it is so convenient to charge yorr phone by just simply sliding it in. I felt so lazy to mess with the usb cables now.
ckchan
post Jul 8 2013, 10:44 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Jul 8 2013, 10:14 AM)
Ya, to be honest, I don't quite like the Z too. The back is nice, coz it is glass finishing, but it is a fingerprint magnet too! Its a pain in the ass for me, u will wanna show off the back of Z, so u wont get a casing, but in the other hand it wil collect a lot of fingerprint smudges. And the Z feels....weird in the hand, I think ZR is just the perfect size.  rclxms.gif
yeah... i prefer ZR/ZL size more than XZ too... moreover, ZR does have some other advantage over XZ
higher waterproof rating
removable battery
dedicated camera button

now just need to check if it have a better screen than XZ/XZL/XSP... and also if m'sia will get the lte version...
ckchan
post Jul 8 2013, 05:52 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(jubz @ Jul 8 2013, 05:07 PM)
Bro ... I wrote expected price difference lah. ZL now 14xx, ZR if 15xx, difference 1xx only.

So, which one will you guys get? For me deciding factor will be the camera/gps.

Display - negligible.
Storage - I can live with SDHCs.
Front cam - Rarely use this so no comment
IP Certification - negligible

The rest are pretty much identical ... Did I left out anything else that might be important?
the removable battery on the ZR?

also not sure if the ZR will use the same type of screen as zl. some people commented that the screen on the tablet z looks better than z/zl. if zr use better screen, then it'll have an edge over zl even though it's lower resolution and smaller screen.

ckchan
post Jul 11 2013, 02:56 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 11 2013, 12:50 PM)
I am still undecided about ZL vs. ZR. Waterproofing and all is nice, but there is something about the ZL form factor that really attracts me.

This comparison doesn't help me much either laugh.gif

http://versus.com/en/sony-xperia-zr-vs-sony-xperia-zl

According to that site:

5 points in favor of ZR:
1) Dustproof and water proof (we all know that already)
2) ZR is 1.90mm  (!) more narrow than the ZL. (frankly speaking, is this really that much of a difference?)
3) ZR is 0.60mm (!!!) shorter than the ZL. (again.... it's so marginal)
4) ZR has 2 microphones vs ZL's one. Probably for noise cancellation.
5) ZR is 13gm lighter than ZL.

but.... ZL has ELEVEN (11 !) pluses against the ZR???
1) ZL has continuous AF while shooting video, but ZR don't have. Anyone can confirm this?
2) ZL has double the internal storage of ZR.
3) ZL can create panorama in camera, but not ZR. Again, can anyone confirm this? Even my Acro S can do panorama in camera....
4) ZL has much higher pixel density. Can my eyes actually tell the difference between 441 ppi and 319 ppi?
5) ZL has bigger screen. (duh...)
6) ZL is 0.60mm (!!!) thinner than ZR.
7) ZL has a videa light but ZR don't have. You mean ZR's LED light don't work during video? That's odd.
8) ZL has 2.75% LESS (!!!!!!) body volume compared to ZR. (this is gettign ridiculous)
9) ZL camera has manual exposure control, but not the ZR. This is important to me, who loves photography.
10) ZL has higher resolution (Full HD) vs. ZR (HD only). Isn't this covered in point 4) ?
11) ZL has electronic image stabilizer, whereas the ZR has none. Can anyone verify this?

Again, these are points from the website which I posted the link to. Not my own. The phone I always like to go to mentioned they will have the ZR in by today. I was comparing the screen of the ZL vs. Z. There is a marked difference in screen clarity between the two. Both phones were set to using the same wallpaper, and set to maximum brightness. The ZL seems to have much better screen clarity than the Z. Hopefully the ZR will arrive today and I will get to test the ZL vs. ZR screen clarity on the spot, before making a decision whether to buy the ZL or the ZR.... or keep my Acro S. tongue.gif
ya ya... pls compare and give us your opinion. i compared my acro s to zl and z screen b4, and found out the screen on my acro s have better contrast and viewing angle than z and zl (proud of my acro s icon_rolleyes.gif )

so, if the screen on the zr is better than zl, then it will be a huge plus point for zr
ckchan
post Jul 12 2013, 05:29 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 12 2013, 03:59 PM)
All screen setting on all 3 phones were set to MAXIMUM. Acro S still has the better contrast and deeper black. I am not aware of the firmware improving the contrast or blackness. I thought this is very much a hardware related characteristic, no?
yes. XZ and XZL receive a new firmmware, .253 i think, which improve the display. i think it is done by fine tuning the software part of the display. something like the brightness, colour, contrast setting in all TV.

and yet, i did compare my acro s with XZL new firware and XZ old firmware in KLCC once. all setting to full brightness and same wallpaper. and i can conclude that Acro s display still the best, followed by XZL with new firmware and XZ with old firmware. the difference is not minor. it is easily noticeable with naked eye comparison.
ckchan
post Jul 15 2013, 10:49 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Jul 14 2013, 02:35 PM)
I tried XZ, XZL, XZR and Acro S side by side. XZL & XZR screen is exactly the same in terms of clarity and contrast, meaning both still loses to the Acro S. I cannot believe how good the Acro S screen was. But eventually I walked off with the XZL and not the XZR. I guess IP58 in itself is really insufficient to convince me. XZL has a bigger and much higher resolution screen in not much a bigger phone size. It also has double the internal memory size, and a IR transmitter which I sometimes find useful. It seems that both the XZR & XZL uses the same EXMOR RS sensors, which is supposed to perform better in low light. Not sure about the XZ.

.... but there's now another twist to the story. After I picked up the XZL and left the shop, I realized that the earpiece loudspeaker is not working! i.e. I received a call and when trying to listen to the call with the phone next to my ear, no sound. But when I switch to loudspeaker mode, the other person's voice can be heard loud and clear from the rear loudspeaker! Twice factory reset, and updated the firmware to 4.2.2 also the issue remains. Guess I got a lemon copy. It was already too late and the shop was closed for Saturday, and today Sunday, shop was not open for business. Guess I will have to go back to the shop tomorrow to either claim a 1 to 1 exchange for another new XZL, or..... I am fated to get the XZR! hahaha..... laugh.gif
wise decision... given the fact that both screen quality the same and both also no lte, i too will choose XZL over XZR.

ckchan
post Jul 19 2013, 09:17 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jul 19 2013, 02:46 PM)
Thats the point! Ppl keep crazy about LTE phone, but coverage dont have..  laugh.gif  doh.gif  sweat.gif
QUOTE(JonSpark @ Jul 19 2013, 08:46 PM)
by the time msia got 5g, i will switch to 4g phones laugh.gif
Well, lte or not, it all depends on where you stay or work

0.0382sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:16 AM