38 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Perfumes for Guys v3

edwardleong
post Aug 11 2014, 09:46 PM

1,163 posts

Wow i am blown away by this small sample... tried one spray... i might consider take it down from my WTS thread... the first time i tried it is when i went to kastam to get my parcel release...

wasnt in a really good mood to try this one... but then one month later as my obsession for floral scent is getting out of control, i try it again.. damn it is opulent rich creamy plastic tuberose, indolic jasmine, milk coconut n melon, and it has mega sillage... overall very green floral scent... those who are not on to floral or just started to look into floral please stay away from this one, surely will knock you out

yes it is not other than:-

SOTN - Frederic Malle Carnal Flower.... i found my Malle floral trio.. while Bigarade Concentre is the fourth musketeer

This post has been edited by edwardleong: Aug 11 2014, 09:46 PM
edwardleong
post Aug 12 2014, 11:34 AM

1,163 posts

Lets dont stop the tune.... Continue with frederic malle

SOTD - i just reapply carnal flower one on my chest and one on the back of my neck
edwardleong
post Aug 12 2014, 06:19 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(izam7 @ Aug 12 2014, 05:39 PM)
hihi...
that's why semalam tgh mkn i ade tersedak...
rupa2nya ade someone sudah sebut nama saya  tongue.gif

yup, i love white florals...
but for me, i spotted tuberose a lot on Fracas...
recent white floral i like is the MFK Aqua Universalis Forte  thumbup.gif
Haha..floral jamboree... I need to try fracas... Izam u got?

QUOTE(marver @ Aug 12 2014, 06:05 PM)
SOTD : CARTIER - BAISER VOLE ESSENCES DE PARFUME
Suddenly today all on flora scent.
I'll just steal my wife latest acquisition Cartier Baise Voir..
I would say Cartier did this really perfect.. masterclass. No wonder my wife luv it so much,As she's a lily lover.
Opens a green lily scent.. This scent are mildly scent,elegant and classy..

Haha... Imo floral is elegant on men with added certain degree of metrosexualism...
edwardleong
post Aug 12 2014, 07:02 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(zulslider @ Aug 12 2014, 06:46 PM)
Wish i could have this set.....anybody going to New York soon?

FYI, this is my first time attaching img...n00b here.

http://www.barneys.com/on/demandware.store...REDE02&index=31
<dont know if the picture will come up?>
Nearest fm will be in sg.. Their perfume sampling experience is one of a kind...
edwardleong
post Aug 12 2014, 10:59 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(zulslider @ Aug 12 2014, 08:48 PM)
Perfume sampling experience is one of a kind?? Makes me wonder how unique is it...anyway...the only question i have is that I dont know how you guys do it, but i always feel a bit pai seh la when i go and try perfume sampling...I always have this idea that i might trouble the salesperson by sampling this and that but at the end not buy anything...

but then again, with perfume, we should be giving it at least a day to get the settle down smell, etc before rushing to buy a specific scent. But then again i really respect those people out there that can go to the same place again and again to sample. Or maybe its time to make friend with SA hehe..
Haha u kena muka tebal sikit.. Mine oledi thick until can tahan tank de cannon lol
edwardleong
post Aug 13 2014, 01:09 AM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(zulslider @ Aug 13 2014, 12:30 AM)
Wah...then this Hour Glass shop really ultimate poison...later go out from the shop not only with perfume Frederic Malle...skali terbeli new IWC watch skali...dangerous dangerous...anyway the singapore guide one is damn good reference. Malaysia punya takde ke?

Anyway...I still cant imagine how does animalic scent smell like...really thinking smelling like a freaking cat or tiger hahaha...
Malaysia... U can get most niches under one place... Klcc isetan
edwardleong
post Aug 13 2014, 11:13 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(braindeath @ Aug 13 2014, 10:37 PM)
Yes sir  notworthy.gif

Got any review on this?

Now using rl double black, got my hand on the one for men already, now eyeing on ysl la nuit
Of all flankers I prefer the original l'homme.. Light aromatic floral...
edwardleong
post Aug 13 2014, 11:46 PM

1,163 posts

Bro Marver... Gotten the decant of Oud Wood... Hope u like Gucci Oud... Wat is the other vial tat you included in the swap?

Long time did not do this comparison edi... at KLIA2, did a quick 2 sprays of versace oud noir on the back on my right hand, and oud wood on my left hand....

They share the same vibe... western oud... M7 oud absolu, Royal Oud, then you wont find these 2 unfamiliar... Oud wood begins with a smoky woody which smell like plastic, creamy... the oud is there but it is sub-due... where versace starts with a loud sweet spice... to a certain extend it remind me of coca cola lol.... im not saying versace is inferior to TF... in fact if Versace oud is branded under niches in the market, ppl will praise it...

Drydown... Versace will be left with sweet dry wood scent... where Oud wood has the vanilla to make it moist and sensual.... panty dropper? not for me.... Oud Wood is one of the best western oud follow available on the market which sway away from being medicinal (M7), Barnyard, Sawdust... if we choose to ignore the price that TF fetches....

On the other hand, Versace Oud Noir is a very solid designer oud, together with Gucci, they finally make it right this time round.

My verdict... if your bank accounts or ur 4"x2" allow u to do so, by all means a 100ml Oud Wood look nice on display... if not Versace Oud Noir will keep your oud desired well fed until u make the leap

Another interesting take on oud is Acqua di Parma Colonia intensa oud... citrus/oud/leather combo... the coffin is RM660 and this outgun both TF and Versace interms of Projection, sillage and longevity.. too bad LVMH is getting greedier as time goes by

This post has been edited by edwardleong: Aug 13 2014, 11:49 PM
edwardleong
post Aug 14 2014, 08:41 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(wazzapp @ Aug 14 2014, 04:35 PM)
Tried Gucci oud recently.. Man.. Trus feel like orang masjid.. Haha.. Too much oud for me i guess.. Feel like a walking arab guy..
I can take versace oud noir though..
Haha bang.. rose/oud combo originate from middle east lol...

My SOTD - Amouage Gold Man... Masculine floral is the best word to describe this baby... the civet present is two-face.. damn fake... if u are well dressed up, it makes u feel cleaner and soapy musky, however it will turn skanky if u disrespect this juice lol

It is No5 for men... without the aldehyde... however Chanel No5 Eau Premier imo is the best No5 for any men to wear... if you find the civet in Gold jarring.

Today is damn busy for me at work then exam coming up on saturday... god bless me lol... and also today i have to part way with my Fate man in a swap with bro astroboy for this... (your parcel is well-pack and ready to leave edi, sorry cant make it to the post office today).. thank you bro for being nice and tolerate, hope ur sis dun throw tantrum on you...

Yes.. it is no other than Amouage Epic Woman... finally i got the male n female version of an Amouage and i have to admit some women are better than men lol notworthy.gif

I shall declare today as Amouage day... lol after bath i try one spray on the back on my hand, immediately there is this formula come into my mind.... Amouage Epic Woman = Tom Ford Noir de Noir + Le Labo Rose 31...

Boozy vanilla earthy rosey is wat i can make up for Epic Woman (in short EW). EW has the earthiness and the vanilla of Noir de Noir and the projecting rose of Rose 31... It is really 2 fragrance merge into 1 sexy potion. Like NdN, EW is earthy and same time rosey enough for men to wear... This swap has made me strike of NdN and Rose 31 in my must get list... This lady inherited the same characteristic of her man... super longevity and projection

Unique rose / patch combo with oud and spice undertone... and it is beginning to fight with Poal to be in my top list... do try to at least shot 1 spray of this to ur hand for those who are very eager to try NdN..

after looking so long for rose scent here are some that i truly recommend and the natural upgrade to it lol..

Rose/Pepper/iso-super E: Cartier Declaration d'un Soir -> Le Labo Rose 31
Rose/oud - Gucci Oud -> Armani Prive Rose d'Arabie / MFK Oud Silk Mood / By Kilian Rose Oud
Boozy/earthy/patch Rose: Bond No9 West Side -> Tom Ford NdN / Amouage Epic Woman / Frederic Malle PoaL
Unique ones: Sospiro Wardasina, Dior Oud Ispahan, Frederic Malle Une Rose, Tauer Une Rose Chype

edwardleong
post Aug 15 2014, 11:55 AM

1,163 posts

Haha happy flyday guys.... another gloomy rainy day smile.gif which mean heavy scent day

however friday is smart-casual... hence 7 shots of vetiver fatal... sweet smoky plumy vetiver brows.gif brows.gif

edwardleong
post Aug 16 2014, 03:40 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(MerryGoRound^2 @ Aug 16 2014, 03:20 PM)
Thanks, I did contemplate on stopping people and asking them what perfume were they wearing. At the same time, I hesitated because I wasn't sure if they would find it a bit too awkward and think that I am hitting on them.  Reason why I described in such a manner is because I notice most guys have more or less of a similar scent, wherever I go, all the guys I catch a smell of seem to be wearing the same scent, maybe a bit different in one or two ways, but it is the same scent I described, very subtle. Hence, I asked if it was a staple perfume.

So far, I've gone to SEPHORA, Parkson & TBS. Haven't been in to Calvin Klein or Chanel-like shops because I notice they have bad customer service there.

Also, could anyone of you tell me how much would the price of the four perfumes mentioned above roughly cost? I am not so familiar Chanel especially, heard their items could go up to 1k+.

Also, I've tried Versace and Bvlgari once, didn't like their smell. Another reason could be that our olfactory perception varies so I may perceive my perfume as sweet smelling when people actually think it is just alright. I wonder if that may affect my capabilities to look for my desired perfume. Could I get one of you to go perfume shopping with me tongue.gif.
My dear friend, it is all up to you on how you define masculine scent and totally fully dependent on your perception. Since you have mention you dont musky and sweet stuff... then try look into other genre then... I still recommend u go KLCC, there have sasa, sephora (the only outlet i saw bond no 9 there), Isetan and Parkson... just sniff until u find the one u want... i can tell u it does take alot of sniffing to know what u like... so no worries

Trust ur nose coz in the end it is u who are wearing it lol... surely i can easily mention like Anteus, Kouros, Aramis, Azzaro, Acqua di Parma Colonia, etc as these are the epitome of masculine frags, still it is up to u

IMO, Terre d'Hermes worth giving it a sniff

edwardleong
post Aug 18 2014, 01:16 AM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(wazzapp @ Aug 17 2014, 11:19 PM)
try
bvlgari pour homme extreme
sean john unforgivable
haha bro... fizzy champaign unforgivable... it has won the tug of war with MI on me...

edwardleong
post Aug 18 2014, 07:55 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(marver @ Aug 18 2014, 01:33 PM)
Sean John hardly to get as the brand ady pulled out from entire Malaysia boutique (eg ; Metrojaya, Parkson, Isetan).
Maybe Sasa still carry,But i nv see any when my wife visit sasa to purchase some cosmetic.
Meanwhile,I do carry ready stock and pm you. If you interested wink.gif
haha this is very underrated celebrity frag...

QUOTE(wazzapp @ Aug 18 2014, 02:10 PM)
sotd: lalique encre noire sport
not a fan of vetiver..this one kinda ok ok la..
the smokey from original encre noire only first few minutes..then the the fresh side take over..
ic... the bottle design of sport is just so not class like encre noire... my fav vetiver atm still vetiver fatal lol

SOTD - Creed Green Irish Tweed... just nice on a cold rainy day... green wet cold thumbup.gif
edwardleong
post Aug 19 2014, 08:04 AM

1,163 posts

Sotd - bond nombor sembilan barat tepi or a.k.a bond no9 west side.. No thanks to kaster early eaely poison me with new bond rose for harrod...

The closest genre i can say for this is borderline gourmand rose... Boozy vanilla ice cream tops with rose wine... This has claim to be similar to tf ndn and after i spend so much time with both.. The different is ndn has an earthy chocolaty vibe where west side is clean musk

Overall they are quite feminine on the unisex scale but this ooze im elegant... Suit up is the best for this baby
edwardleong
post Aug 20 2014, 07:52 AM

1,163 posts

Sotd - tom ford oud wood... This kind of creamy sensual spicy woody scent click with me with very ease..

Very tempted to get a fb but the other side of me tell me i can get away with vercase oud noire coz quite close alternative.. Like boils down to coolwater vs git

The diff lies at the end of the scent... Oud wood stay linear throughout it life where else oud noire losses that charm at the end stage...

Price diff... 1 oud wood = 2 oud noire
edwardleong
post Aug 21 2014, 03:55 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Aug 21 2014, 12:39 PM)
It puzzled me. If you look closely (top left) the shipper is GEM Worldwide Ltd Singapore.

Oo yea i got experience with it from sg also my cartier and pomade from there i dont mind since it is faster lol
edwardleong
post Aug 21 2014, 03:59 PM

1,163 posts

Sotd - amouage ciel man

Tangy creamy frankinsense lavendar.. Really put me into relax mode after few days of worrking stress
edwardleong
post Aug 21 2014, 09:44 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Aug 21 2014, 08:14 PM)
SOTE - BaV (EdC)
Just received this in the mail today. My first vintage purchase. Brand new and unopened.  Fell in love with the EdC after trying vintage decants of PdT, EdT and EdC. Went for the spray bottle instead of really nice looking splash bottle because splash bottle can easily be tampered with.

rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif notworthy.gif nice vintage u got urself...

Envy tat they click so well with u... i did try youth dew, aromatic elixir and knowing last week at jusco and my gf say dont come near her

i draw a very fine line between nice n skanky animalic lol... maybe is my nose gotten complacent with floral notes... anyway the only nice animalic oriented scent i got is Amouage Gold... which still my gf banned tat if we are going for dating or going to her place

This post has been edited by edwardleong: Aug 21 2014, 09:45 PM
edwardleong
post Aug 22 2014, 01:54 PM

1,163 posts

First impression sharing - Bvlgari Man in Black

Just try this today at sephora which im surprise it reach here so fast where else farenheit parfum, eau for men are no where to be seen

Bottlw presentation superb... It is edp.. It has some of my fav notes Rum, leather, iris, tuberose....

On my skin it smell like mona di orio vanille, chergui, spicebomb hehe it is my ideal tobacco vanille
edwardleong
post Aug 22 2014, 08:54 PM

1,163 posts

This is the first time i am truly impressed with Sephora lol.... and i hate myself for being too vulnerable to anything associated to leather and floral lol

According to the pretty SA (which also partly impaired my judgement to flash my plastic card) this fella just being on the shelf yesterday lol and they are doing promo the first five unlucky impulsive buyers will receive a 15ml travel spray of Bvlgari Man Extreme....

Unfortunately i am one of them, well i do doubt is daily first 5 customer who buy this scent... lol

When comes to bottle design, we expect no less for the jewellery designer.... it is matte black ceramic bottle like GIT and the wording is rose gold in colour... and they decided to go with a shotgun atomiser with it...

From wat i saw from the back of the tester bottle... they categorized this is oriental floral leather.. Tuberose leather lol

Following what versace and gucci did, Bvlgari also take a long time only to launch an edp flanker which it should stand on its own or private line lol... RM352 for 100ml RM296 for 60ml....

According to fragrantica the notes are: Rum, Tuberose, Guiac Wood, Leather, Iris, Tonka Bean and Benzion... the notes itself already warrant a blindbuy to me edi lol

and end up it do not disappoint. I think only those bear the name "Black" from Bvlgari baru can sell. So after observing all the Noir scents available in the designer n niche realm, Bvlgari decided to launch one for themselves. and this indeed really a dark scent.. for those who are familiar with Mona di Orio Vanille, Atelier Gold Leather, Chergui, Back to Black.... this is something similar....

Opening is really green boozy vanilla and i did compare with MdO Vanille, it is very close lol then this fella is multi-dimensional... slowly the tuberose emerges but not like the ones in carnal flower, over here u can get the rubbery trace of it.... and second stage will be tuberose iris leather.. then at the very end of it life... u get a chocolatey skin scent. if i were to describe it.. it would be Nasomatto Pardon drydown....

A designer edp can make me compare with several up-scale niches... Try it during lunch time and can i resist not to buy it after work?

What puzzle me the most is there are more designers out there slowly catching up with niche quality... and more edp for men rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

so right now if you ask me top 5 designer worth getting.. without doubt: Cartier d'un Soir, Dior Homme Intense, Gucci Oud, Bvlgari Man in Black and Chanel No5 Eau Premiere

Why have to be august that burn my pocket... Roadtax, car insurance and these two gorgeous babies

Any frag heads who interested trying i will upload the detail to my wts thread later

38 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:17 AM