Perfumes for Guys v3

Joey-kun
post Sep 3 2013, 04:47 PM

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Sep 2 2013, 11:26 PM)
Interesting. I've sniffed Madagascar vanilla pods before and it does remind me of the vanilla from Chanel AHEB but I just can't take Le Male. Vanilla in Vanille & Narcisse by L`Occitane is quite nice too although it's a different vanilla scent I get.

Are you into single note scents too? Currently I'm digging amber, frankincense and myrrh.
Yup I am, mainly because most perfumes i find dont capture a 'single note' well enough. If you have access to the raw material, it is always fun to compare how close/how well the perfumer manages to capture all the facets of that material. Vanilla for example, is a fun note to explore. Another fun note to explore is sandalwood because sandalwood is expensive and many perfumers wont use the real thing. An experienced perfumer told me that Tam Dao is not really sandalwood, in fact there is none there, as it is just a mixture of cedar and coconut to give the illusion of creamy sandalwood.

Single notes i am interested in: Vanilla, Sandalwood, Agarwood, Vetiver, patchouli, frankincense, myrrh, ambrette (vegetal musk, clean musk)
Joey-kun
post Sep 3 2013, 04:51 PM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(lene002 @ Sep 3 2013, 09:07 AM)
Really want to try SDG! I want to know what is the hype over it. Eau Duelle is quite masculine on my skin, i dont like it
If you're a fan of vanilla scents like me, you'll know how hard and rare is it to find a scent that captures the scent of raw vanilla beans very well. SDV is worth the hype, but not the USD400 price tag it carries. If you want feminine vanilla, you can try Vanilia as it is super feminine: http://www.basenotes.net/products/vanilia

but too bad already discontinued..
Joey-kun
post Sep 5 2013, 05:05 PM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Sep 5 2013, 08:59 AM)
OK here is my take on samples provided by Astroboy (thanks for the love bro !) . Been busy lately so I'm gonna keep it short.

L'Artisan Parfumeur  Tea For Two
There was lots of comparison for this with GPH II but frankly this is a totally difference fragrance for me. This is a very dense and heavy scent with honey, tobacco , anise and tea being dominant. So what you get is a thick spicy and smoky tea. The major flaw is projection seems to be weak but when you smell it up close, it can get cloying. When I smell this it reminds me of a really think sour plum tea like you get a Chatime. Major bummber is that this doesn't go well with my skin after some time I pick up a bitter note similar to tar which spoils it for me. 3 starts out of 5

Ninfeo Mio Annick Goutal

I had high expectation on this after Marc-André Robitaille gave this a 5 star in FB. Marked as a unisex fragrance, with fig leaf as it s star, I gave it quite a few try. It opens with lemon and a strong green note, somewhat like grass. That is the fig leaf I guess but it takes some time to get use to it. After 5 minutes, the scent settles down into a citrus scent with a perfectly balanced fig leaf and creamy milky base to make things interesting . This is definitely unique. Longevity and projection is moderate. For me this is worth buying if budget is not an issue. 4 out of 5 stars.
I actually prefer Tea For Two to Gucci PH 2 as Gucci PH2 has plum and is sour, but TFT is a more straightforward tea and milk scent without the plum note. The bitter note is probably tea. Olivia Giacobetti is the perfumer and most of her scents are very light and airy and tea for two is not an exception. It was a light and airy tea note with a creamy note. Mine is a vialed 2ml sample that I got from a friend many years ago. Tea for Two has no plum. The one with plum is GPH2.

You might wantto compare tea for two with Un Apres Jardin de Mousson from Hermes thats also supposed to be a creamy tea in a monsoon garden in kerala, but too much calone makes it smell like a watermelon exploded somewhere into the tea. If you smell it a few more times tho, you wil get the tea and cream note.
Joey-kun
post Sep 6 2013, 03:25 PM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Sep 5 2013, 07:33 PM)
Wow maybe we both get different results from the same fragrance. The reason why i brought up plum was because the anise gives a salty and sour quality to the scent. It reminds me of sour plum but  it is the anise at work. I don't get any plum in GPH II either.  For me i prefer GPH II. It is a smooth tea, cinnamon masterpiece. Very soothing and calming. TFT however is too heavy with honey, anise, tobacco. Top notes share a vague similarity with Pure Havane with the common notes. Don't detect any milk either. Are you sure you didn't mix up GHPII with TFT ?
I'm pretty sure as GPHII has blue juice as TFT as brown juice
Joey-kun
post Sep 9 2013, 04:52 AM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(rlky @ Sep 9 2013, 12:04 AM)
What deodorant do you guys use? I don't sweat much but I apply deodorant to my armpits and the slight fragrant of the deo can interfere with the perfume.
I use those salt crystal deos that last forever and works perfectly. Only thing is have to apply after bath.
Joey-kun
post Sep 13 2013, 03:13 PM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Sep 12 2013, 11:15 PM)
SOTD - Serge Lutens Chergui  biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif

Yes! ladies and gentlemen, finally gotten my hands on Chergui. Just received the parcel from DHL yesterday after my accidental purchase from FragX on last Tuesday. This is the second time FragX uses DHL to mail out my purchases. I think there is a certain minimum amount threshold for DHL delivery. Very satisfied with the purchase.

Today is my first wearing of Chergui. The bottle is a screw cap and comes together with a very nice sprayer top. did 3 shots, 1 on each neck and 1 on chest below adam apple... This is one of the blind buys that i immediately fell in love with after i press the sprayer for the first time (the another one is Black Orchid).

According to Fragrantica, the notes for Chergui are: tobacco leaf, honey, iris, sandalwood, amber, musk, incense, rose and hay.

And for those Fume hEads who read online reviews, they will know Chergui is the mostly talked about and hyped from the house of Serge Lutens. And at this very moment, i'm holding the simplicity elegant glass bottle and admiring how Christopher Sheldrake manage to craft such masterpiece...

YEs!! it does live up to the INTERNET HYPE!!!!!

Ok what do i get from Chergui... i got SHHIT (sweet honey hay incense tobacco) right of the very first shot... this 4 notes blend so smooth n well balanced, each one compliment another one... The honey is sweet but then it is supported by the dry tobacco leaves n hay. It projects well for the first 2-3 hrs (5-6inch), slowly fade into skin scent, however u still occasionally get wharf of chergui even though skin scent. Longevity, die on me after 9hrs. It is suitable for office, why? this frag loves heat, after in the air con room till lunchtime where it starts to turn into skin scent, stand under the sun will make it projects again smile.gif

What makes me love Chergui?
It is the best tobacco frag i ever smell, i owned ck one shock, bogart ph... those are sweet cherry pipe tobacco, quite synthetic sweet. I was debating between Chergui or Pure Havane before i did the purchase... i even ask a few sifus here for their opinions. Thank god i was hesitate to buy PH due to some of the online reviewers mention about the Dr Pepper cherry opening... And i would want to thank bro Tone for letting me know FragX restocked their Chergui at a very nice discount. Back to the question, the tobacco in chergui is piles dried tobacco leaves in the warehouse before being rolled into cigars. then the overall vibe i got is that someone is burning these dried tobacco leaves with hay and some incense, slowly drizzles honey on to in to put out the fire.. then the smoke that comes after the burning is what i get from chergui...

another reason is it is LINEAR, meaning i can smell such wonderful opening from the start to it dies off... if u know me, i loves my frag to be linear as much as possible, wont not like to spend 2hrs to wait the frag to move into mid or base notes. Chergui has instantly jump to be my signature daily scent smile.gif

my rating - Perfect 10... sit along with my black orchid.

For those who are looking for tobacco scent? look no further.. CHERGUI it is!!! no doubt it is just available in 50ml edp but you just need 2-3 sprays per application which will last for around 7mths if u use it daily smile.gif

and i have set aside limited 5ml decants sprays (only 5 decants as i love this scent very much) of Chergui, for those that are interested just pm me for the price. Cheers
I actually prefer Ambre Sultan to Chergui as Ambre Sultan is overall richer and more sophisticated and smoky. But that's just me
Joey-kun
post Sep 13 2013, 05:48 PM

4,662 posts

Not to say that Chergui is not a good scent, it is nice and the intro scent to the serge lutens line, but as a Buddhist, this is what Chergui reminds me of:

however, when it comes to the most intriguing scent, this one's still the winner:

Joey-kun
post Sep 14 2013, 08:45 AM

4,662 posts

SOTD: Myrrh bomb: Eau Savauge Parfum

so sweet yet classy!
Joey-kun
post Sep 15 2013, 12:16 AM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Sep 14 2013, 11:02 PM)
my gf stays away from me when i try kiehls musk edi... ah Khan.. sry
kiels musk is clean musk. its the same musk in NRFM musc. the musk in khan is close to Musc Nomade by annick goutal.

just sampled Vanilla and Narcisse by l'occitane and it is Spirituese double vanille without the boozy aspect. the naricuss basically dominates the middle note but fades into long lasting and strong vanilla (probably combo of benjoin, almond, vanilla and green notes), but the base note is in general too strong and cloudy compared to the more refined SDV.
Joey-kun
post Sep 15 2013, 09:01 AM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Sep 15 2013, 08:32 AM)
Talking about L'occitane, the choices offered at one of the stores in Taiwan aren't different of what we have at its counterpart in Malaysia. I was hoping to give Amber Home Perfume a sniff before getting it from SN.
if you're there, why not? region control is very common anyway. But the sad part about l'occitane is that there is cheap white musk in most of its compositions sad.gif which is very disappointing. I smelled it in verbena and vanilla narcissus sad.gif
Joey-kun
post Sep 16 2013, 10:26 AM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(wazzapp @ Sep 16 2013, 12:32 AM)
who is kublai khan anyway? the name makes me think its a hindustan scent...haha
the scent i get from this is a woman's armpit after her shower. lol.
Joey-kun
post Sep 19 2013, 09:18 AM

4,662 posts

SOTD: Guerlain Mitsouko EDP

yay oakmoss, peach, rose, jasmine and vetiver! so much chypre in 1 bottle!
Joey-kun
post Sep 19 2013, 07:01 PM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(t0n3 @ Sep 19 2013, 11:44 AM)
... and it's also interesting to read the love story that inspired creation of this scent. I have yet to give this one a sniff.
marketing says it was inspired by Claude Farrère's novel La bataille. But during that time where mitsy was released, there was an obsession with japanese culture in europe. mitsy was based on coty's chypre, except that the rose and jasmine were accentuated, sandalwood added and aldehyde c-14 which gives it a peachy nuance was added.

it still smells more butch than NR for him.
Joey-kun
post Sep 20 2013, 10:18 AM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(m.dandollah @ Sep 20 2013, 07:58 AM)
i just smelt Nasomatto Black Afgano at Space.NK.Apothecary Harvey Nichols this afternoon. And oh my god, it was like the best scent ever. i even sprayed on my hand, neck and cloth. the scent lingers all day long. it smells a lil bit like Encre Noire but more refined. a lil bit more smokey. a good fragrance indeed. It priced at £108 per bottle.

The best part is,  the promoter was nowhere like in Malaysia which is when you spray a very 'high end' perfume, they will give you a death stare situation.

Sorry for the long post. i just need to share this.

p/s : i also spritz some Armani/Prive Rose d'Arabie on my muffler. Sharp medicinal oud stays there and doesn't even want to leave my scarf. Felt regret till now. Not worth of £200 at all. sleep.gif
in malaysia, they hide the testers BEHIND the SA making it damm hard to test. which annoys the shit outta me.

and i love oud. the original one, without added notes, like the one in MFK's oud. but that one too expensive.

Joey-kun
post Sep 22 2013, 10:49 PM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(wazzapp @ Sep 20 2013, 04:39 PM)
Versace oud noir not arrive yet ha?
it's meant for dubai. not us. so it will never come.
Joey-kun
post Sep 22 2013, 10:54 PM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Sep 22 2013, 05:50 PM)
Dear all sifus,

while i was decanting my amouage epic, i spilled some on my table, the scent filling my room is so amazing smile.gif after getting my perfect tobacco scent, suddenly im into oud collection but dun want to break my bank or sell my kidney for it... short-listed a fews hope can get some opinions from u all

1. YSL M7 Oud Absolu
2. Acqua di Parma Colonia Intensa Oud Eau de Cologne Concentree
3. Creed Royal Oud
4. Dior Fahrenheit Absolute
5. Tom Ford Oud Wood
6. Dior Leather Oud
3 and 6 is said to be very similiar to each other and are recommended to beginner oud fans. But both also is 500/600+.

best bet for oud is actually at those arabian stores that also sell 'french style' perfumes. for sure you'll be getting real oud but for less money from french brands.
Joey-kun
post Sep 22 2013, 10:55 PM

4,662 posts

My latest haul:

Joey-kun
post Sep 22 2013, 11:14 PM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Sep 22 2013, 11:03 PM)
Chanel boutique in KLCC... did u request for any les exclusif samples?

lavender mandarin nutmeg oppoanox damn nice... my office monday meeting scent
Chanel has a strict no sample policy. probably would happen in the US or europe but not in malaysia. mainly thanks to our culture...

but i am guessing that if i got a les exclusif, they would probably give me some. 400+ for the 75ml "travel" size. My faves: bel respiro, bois de illes and coromandel.

lol its not opoponax, its actually oakmoss and vanilla that dominates the base. which is similar to CPM (which I have and treasure but is very light) but not exactly the same. The sandalwood vibe is still there but not listed as the official note, but the oakmoss sure is strong. Which i love!!!

Joey-kun
post Sep 23 2013, 07:25 AM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Sep 23 2013, 12:36 AM)
Back in Jul where I got my PMC, the sa gave me sycomore and eau de cologne samples smile.gif she somemore ask me enough?

Well on my skin PMC is linear, d sandalwood and oakmoss are sitting on the back quietly... PMC is the back bone of allure homme edition blanche
oh wowz you're so lucky sad.gif

the SA kept saying no samples when i asked for it tho.

CPM has obvious sandalwood but PMC's sandalwood is not there, but the vibe can still be felt
Joey-kun
post Sep 24 2013, 01:12 AM

4,662 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Sep 23 2013, 09:07 PM)
Bro I salute ur bravery! Even though it is reformulated, one spray on my arm oledi can't tahan... Too animalic, drydown is ok... I prefer Chanel Antaeus more..

Anyway thanks for ur opinion, will save up for Tom Ford Oud Wood
im not a fan of kouros. the jasmine - clove combo is just too much. i dont find it animalic at all but clove is a scent i cannot stand when too strong.

I love the waxy dry honey of anateus.

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.2415sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:55 PM