STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V130, Bull rally after GE

plumberly
post May 2 2013, 08:30 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 1 2013, 06:58 PM)

If the EPS does not show a strong growth and top % increase stocks like UMW and UEM are flying, then of course we can say the market is rigged badly.
But is this the case?
How's UMW's current EPS performance?
How much EPS growth did it register?
Dare we say UMW share price increase is NOT justifiable?

UMW earnings taken from website.

Now, since UMW and UEM registered strong earnings growth, what is this saying?
Are you paying attention to earnings fundamentals?
Boon3,

Noted and thanks.

Sorry for my rockie's attempt at this analysis.

I thought EPS is only available every 3 months and not like price which is available daily, and thus I did not include it in the comparison (on 2 Jan and 30 Apr).

If I read it correctly, last EPS for UMW is lower than the past 3 EPS. Last EPS was in Feb. Maybe in Mar-Apr, it was doing better and thus the better price. Will know in the next quarterly report.

Yes, some companies have very good price - EPS correlations (e.g. Nestle) while for others (e.g. MAS) the relationship is like brownian movement/3rd law of thermodynamic (i.e., random).

Cheerio.

htt
post May 2 2013, 08:40 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 1 2013, 11:40 PM)
Sell if DY below FD rate.
Buy new one with higher DY than FD rate.  brows.gif
Now keep calling for capital injection how? But the commitment period is perpetual, cannot withdraw one... laugh.gif
jasontoh
post May 2 2013, 08:42 AM

8,446 posts

QUOTE(htt @ May 2 2013, 08:40 AM)
Now keep calling for capital injection how? But the commitment period is perpetual, cannot withdraw one... laugh.gif
The new counter or the old one? hmm.gif
htt
post May 2 2013, 08:42 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ May 2 2013, 12:02 AM)
Then diversify to 2 basket biggrin.gif
Btw, did you fill your first basket liao? Still waiting for better egg? tongue.gif
StupidGuyPlayComp
post May 2 2013, 08:55 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

hmm.gif left 2 days, estimate low in volume too.............
Boon3
post May 2 2013, 09:04 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ May 2 2013, 08:30 AM)
Boon3,

Noted and thanks.

Sorry for my rockie's attempt at this analysis.

I thought EPS is only available every 3 months and not like price which is available daily, and thus I did not include it in the comparison (on 2 Jan and 30 Apr).

If I read it correctly, last EPS for UMW is lower than the past 3 EPS. Last EPS was in Feb. Maybe in Mar-Apr, it was doing better and thus the better price. Will know in the next quarterly report.

Yes, some companies have very good price - EPS correlations (e.g. Nestle) while for others (e.g. MAS) the relationship is like brownian movement/3rd law of thermodynamic (i.e., random).

Cheerio.
Yes, UMW last quarter EPS is much lower than the previous 3 quarters but since it's the Q4 earnings, many would just look at the earnings as a whole, ie as per fiscal year, in which the market would then compare fiscal year 3012 EPS vs 2011 EPS.
If you do the extra work, you will see an EPS 81.4 sen vs EPS 41.65 EPS.
The EPS for 2012 had improved by a lot.
When you factor in the talks of the possibility of UMW listing its Oil and Gas unit, UMW became one sexy stock.
Your work showed UMW share price increased by 20%.
I feel this share price increase is justifiable and not rigged.

UEM Land.
Here's a handphone screen shot.

UEM Land EPS growth is also impressive.
EPS last fiscal is 10.36 sen vs 7.24 sen the previous year.

I understand the political link of this company but given such a strong impressive earnings and then you add in the current Iskandar factor, where more money is being pumped in and when you add in UEM Land's land bank in Iskandar, I would say the share price increase in UEM Land is also justifiable.

It's very easy to say this and that is rigged but 'sometimes' there are also fundamental reason why these stocks increased so much.

icon_rolleyes.gif
blahbleh
post May 2 2013, 09:06 AM

1,243 posts

I guess today and tomorrow will be index-linked play...
nasni
post May 2 2013, 09:10 AM

1,675 posts

Mas trans & volume, most active.... ppl cashing?
twhong_91
post May 2 2013, 09:15 AM

1,637 posts

what's happening? why is MAS trading at 0.3x? hmm.gif
blahbleh
post May 2 2013, 09:16 AM

1,243 posts

I think because of the capital reduction that was announced last time..
htt
post May 2 2013, 09:17 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ May 2 2013, 09:15 AM)
what's happening? why is MAS trading at 0.3x? hmm.gif
Maybe ex-right wah...
StupidGuyPlayComp
post May 2 2013, 09:18 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

MAS, read on news............today is exday of right issue, 4:1
nasni
post May 2 2013, 09:24 AM

1,675 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ May 2 2013, 09:18 AM)
MAS, read on news............today is exday of right issue, 4:1
just watch d show smile.gif
twhong_91
post May 2 2013, 09:30 AM

1,637 posts

I see. tongue.gif
StupidGuyPlayComp
post May 2 2013, 09:42 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

Many big counters in top 20 volume.................the volume is high too
nasni
post May 2 2013, 09:44 AM

1,675 posts

watching MAs & Uemland
TSyhtan
post May 2 2013, 09:44 AM

8,653 posts

Major fundamental sound stock is in red sea
TSyhtan
post May 2 2013, 09:46 AM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ Apr 30 2013, 07:15 PM)
A lady friend of mine bought lots of warrants of political-linked companies using margin in expectation of BN win (did anybody notice women are more likely to be pro-establishment?)

On May 6, she'll either be rich or she'll lose her panties  brows.gif
She is gambling with her own future, not with her own money sweat.gif
Icehart
post May 2 2013, 10:01 AM

14,899 posts

Huayang back to 1.xx doh.gif
Boon3
post May 2 2013, 10:25 AM

15,942 posts