STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V130, Bull rally after GE

plumberly
post Apr 30 2013, 08:37 PM

4,761 posts

Asking myself, if X & Y are manipulating the KLCI now (say, for GE13), which counters are they jacking up?

Did a rough check below using data on 2-Jan-2013 and 30 Apr 2013 (KLCI = 1673 and 1718 respectively, 27% increase). Sorry, I did not do this for all the 30 companies (having some problems in getting their data).

Top RM increases are:
UMW
Genting
BAT
PPB
Tenaga

Top % increases are:
UMW 20%
UEM 20%
Genting
Tenaga
RHB

Jump in with the ones with the big increases? rclxub.gif

Or the ones with the big decreases? rclxm9.gif

May consider the latter, provided their fundamentals are still OK and hope they will recover later. Ha.

Cheerio.
plumberly
post May 2 2013, 08:30 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 1 2013, 06:58 PM)

If the EPS does not show a strong growth and top % increase stocks like UMW and UEM are flying, then of course we can say the market is rigged badly.
But is this the case?
How's UMW's current EPS performance?
How much EPS growth did it register?
Dare we say UMW share price increase is NOT justifiable?

UMW earnings taken from website.

Now, since UMW and UEM registered strong earnings growth, what is this saying?
Are you paying attention to earnings fundamentals?
Boon3,

Noted and thanks.

Sorry for my rockie's attempt at this analysis.

I thought EPS is only available every 3 months and not like price which is available daily, and thus I did not include it in the comparison (on 2 Jan and 30 Apr).

If I read it correctly, last EPS for UMW is lower than the past 3 EPS. Last EPS was in Feb. Maybe in Mar-Apr, it was doing better and thus the better price. Will know in the next quarterly report.

Yes, some companies have very good price - EPS correlations (e.g. Nestle) while for others (e.g. MAS) the relationship is like brownian movement/3rd law of thermodynamic (i.e., random).

Cheerio.

plumberly
post May 2 2013, 12:57 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ May 2 2013, 11:16 AM)
EPS is quite tricky and misleading in land based co like UEM due to large land sales ( one off aka lumpy items  ) and same results might not  be repeating in future.

They can offload the lands to a joint venture co and hence profit is recognized instantly , as compared to the slow method if they build their own properties in stages for sales.KInda take 2 to years to recognize the profits , much longer than the one off quick  method.

Care has to taken to analyse such companies.
Noted and thanks!
plumberly
post May 4 2013, 08:56 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ May 4 2013, 02:57 AM)
From this video (interviewed by international channel) and Ah Jib's other local speech, I can now 1000% sure stock market was manipulated by BN to stay all time high even before voting in the name of FF. He consistently using the stock market performance as an indication to the success of Malaysia economy and the winning chance of BN.
My gut feel tells me the same thing.

When PR wins on 5 May, will BN still be in power as the caretaker govt for a few days for the handover? Or is it PR as the govt on 6 May?

If it is the latter, then I will expect KLSE durians dropping on 6 May onwards as the jack-up machinery is gone. rclxms.gif

Also, lots of "office cleaning up - secret docs" next week for the outgoing party? Or have they already done that? vmad.gif

Cheerio.
plumberly
post May 4 2013, 03:06 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ May 4 2013, 02:47 PM)
Then pump half  tongue.gif.

Eg full tank RM50. So now pump RM25.   laugh.gif
Last Thurs I went to renew my road tax. On the way back, stopped at Petronas station to top up my tank. Made a mistake, thinking the green nozzle was for RON 95 and the yellow one was for diesel. Realised my mistake when I saw the total at RM109! Normally a tank full is only RM75. RON 97 at RM2.90 /litre!

Green nozzle - RON 97
yellow nozzle - RON 95
black nozzle - diesel

Hope to see about extra 150 km from this tank (to break even with RON 95) before I need to top it up. I doubt it will be an extra 150km. Lucky to get extra 50-80 km.

Cheerio.

This post has been edited by plumberly: May 4 2013, 03:17 PM
plumberly
post May 6 2013, 03:12 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ May 6 2013, 02:56 PM)
My math failed.
Judge your own.
yawn.gif
note:
top left/right is winning votes/parliament seats
up/down is PKR/BN
My general maths, additional maths, Maths 101/102/201/202 etc etc all failed me too.

This reflects how BN biased the constituencies are!

EC was the one who decided on the constituencies, right?
plumberly
post May 7 2013, 08:41 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(nasni @ May 7 2013, 08:17 PM)
cousin bro....  (their mom sisters)  biggrin.gif
I think it is against the rule if members in the board of directors of a company are related (some hanky panky business among the directors at the expense of shareholders).

I see a parallel here in govt with family members benefiting themselves at the expense of citizens.

Companies and govt are similar, for the shareholders and people respectively.

Loosing faith in our present govt after GE13, wasting money with 1M this and that, dirty dealings behind the scene, etc. etc.

Can't understand how can they still get away with all these! vmad.gif
plumberly
post May 15 2013, 08:58 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(gark @ May 13 2013, 05:46 PM)
Yes there is much money to be made now, i sat still for 1 week, and the 1 week gains is almost equal my total last year's gain... LOL. laugh.gif Lucky me, I was collecting when we are approaching GE...
Salutes * 888 from me. Impressive knowledge and skill.

Lucky? Luck is when preparation meets opportunity! And also, the harder one tries, the luckier one gets! Luck does not just fall from the sky.

Well done. One sifu to respect and listen to! Ha.

Cheerio.
plumberly
post May 18 2013, 09:03 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ May 17 2013, 10:32 PM)
http://www.wallstreetoasis.com/forums/anat...8acb01785fd5c2b

HAHAHHA
A Hedgefund Manager's Advice on how to read Annual Report....
but what caught my attn is the meme lol..... laugh.gif

Now you have revealed your real background! Ha.

0.0170sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:03 PM