Athlon XP - Nice cooling method
May 17 2006, 01:13 PM
178 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
after a few calls with some shops from lowyat
it seems dat the SI-97A is not in production anymore any other heatsink to recommend? |
May 17 2006, 05:57 PM
93 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
reason of mine is 1.75v because mine is palomino core. tbred is 1.65, barton core also 1.65
i upgrade from XP2000 to Barton2500, now max tempreture is 56c hehehehe... better liao. barton 2500 using stock fan. |
May 17 2006, 08:45 PM
1,478 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
read this pdf file from AMD to regconize what type and the voltage of ur processor....
http://www.amd.com/gb-uk/assets/content_ty...n_Rev05_ENG.pdf |
May 18 2006, 07:08 AM
1,526 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Between Those Legs Position : Missionary |
You people can also check ur Processor Details here.
Just enter ur OPN CODE. ---------->>> Click Here <<<------------ |
May 18 2006, 08:54 PM
456 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
err...si 97 a???robyncom got i think since its in the p[rice list...
http://www.lowyat.net/v2/pricelist/robyncom.pdf |
May 18 2006, 10:47 PM
yeah made a call to them and they said they not sellin it
This post has been edited by bertz: May 18 2006, 10:47 PM |
May 28 2006, 09:45 PM
184 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hey guys, I need your help with something.
My AXP 1800+ TB (NF7-M) idle temp is at around 149 F running on stock HSF and it got me worried sick. So I'm planning to get a new HSF + AS5 to cool it down. I've narrowed it to THERMALTAKE Polo 735 Rev 2.0 3-in-1 and COOLER MASTER Aero 7+ / Jet +. I need some opinion on which is better (beside the fact that Polo supports K8/P4) in term of performance. I've read a couple of reviews linked from the manufacture's site and still can't decide which. Hopefully someone in here can shed some light. And one more thing, I noticed that the Polo doesn't come with a 3pin (unlike CM's which has a 4pin molex for power and a 3 pin for monitoring purpose). How am I supposed to monitor the fan speed then? |
May 29 2006, 12:36 PM
368 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: PJ |
i'm using a AMD 2500+ XP... using stock fan idle around 52C on load 58C... now changed to coolermaster jet 7+ idle 44C on load 55C... howcome still sooo hot wan???? :S summore i'm not running on 1.8Ghz which is AMD 2500+ default speed rather i'm running at 1.61GHz...
May 29 2006, 12:42 PM
23,414 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taipei |
QUOTE(bruce07 @ May 29 2006, 12:36 PM) i'm using a AMD 2500+ XP... using stock fan idle around 52C on load 58C... now changed to coolermaster jet 7+ idle 44C on load 55C... howcome still sooo hot wan???? :S summore i'm not running on 1.8Ghz which is AMD 2500+ default speed rather i'm running at 1.61GHz... JET7 is not a performance cooler lar. Not by today's standard anyway. |
May 29 2006, 09:37 PM
4,561 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penangites |
QUOTE(amanechoir @ May 28 2006, 09:45 PM) Hey guys, I need your help with something. you might want to try Thermaltake Silent Tower.....you can turn it into quite a good heatsink with a high cfm 92mm fan My AXP 1800+ TB (NF7-M) idle temp is at around 149 F running on stock HSF and it got me worried sick. So I'm planning to get a new HSF + AS5 to cool it down. I've narrowed it to THERMALTAKE Polo 735 Rev 2.0 3-in-1 and COOLER MASTER Aero 7+ / Jet +. I need some opinion on which is better (beside the fact that Polo supports K8/P4) in term of performance. I've read a couple of reviews linked from the manufacture's site and still can't decide which. Hopefully someone in here can shed some light. And one more thing, I noticed that the Polo doesn't come with a 3pin (unlike CM's which has a 4pin molex for power and a 3 pin for monitoring purpose). How am I supposed to monitor the fan speed then? |
May 30 2006, 10:14 AM
368 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: PJ |
May 31 2006, 10:20 AM
May 31 2006, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(bertz @ May 31 2006, 10:20 AM) nop, it cant be use for socket a. http://www.thermalright.com/a_page/main_product_xp90.htmbtw, the link u giv the person is not using socket a. |
May 31 2006, 01:54 PM
I'd say better get a better cooler than the jet7
try thermalright slk800a ? or Thermaltake Silent Tower or CM Hyper 6 ? |
May 31 2006, 10:59 PM
thermaltake silent tower is very good. but the size is very huge...so muz depend on wut casing and wut motherboard u are using.
Jul 21 2006, 12:46 AM
235 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
I have my Athlon XP 1800+ (Thoroughbred B) overclocked to 2104MHz using a cooler that I bought from PC Fair with RM 30 (a copper base heatsink+fan) now it is operating at 65 degrees under F@H with the help of desk fan to cool down. The processor can go up to 79 degrees without freezing. so you processor temperature seems normal brother.
Jul 21 2006, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(haylui @ Jul 21 2006, 12:46 AM) I have my Athlon XP 1800+ (Thoroughbred B) overclocked to 2104MHz using a cooler that I bought from PC Fair with RM 30 (a copper base heatsink+fan) now it is operating at 65 degrees under F@H with the help of desk fan to cool down. The processor can go up to 79 degrees without freezing. so you processor temperature seems normal brother. 79c is mad.... over the critical temp for mobo to shutdown ur pc...hehe btw wut is ur vcore voltage? |
Jul 21 2006, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(haylui @ Jul 21 2006, 12:46 AM) I have my Athlon XP 1800+ (Thoroughbred B) overclocked to 2104MHz using a cooler that I bought from PC Fair with RM 30 (a copper base heatsink+fan) now it is operating at 65 degrees under F@H with the help of desk fan to cool down. The processor can go up to 79 degrees without freezing. so you processor temperature seems normal brother. warghhh79 degrees... almost close to ur DIE teMp... 80 degrees or 90 degrees... ur shortening the lifespan of ur cooler id say u shud get a better cooler for ur proc, .. |
Jul 21 2006, 05:57 PM
2,994 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Behind You |
hehe
79C happen 2 me but still can run without freeze http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=315561 how much temp for the proc to "kabooo"?? |
Jul 22 2006, 12:31 AM
depends....
some processor's limit is 90 and some is 80. depends on the proc too.. can check it out, with the OPN CODE on ur Processor .. try changing ur heatsink and reapply Artic Silver 5. I'm sure u will see some improvement in ur temps. I'm running a 2500++ barton mobile at 2Ghz. stock cooling, idle is 42- 42 , load is around 47-49. 1.6v and if it reaches 65, the pc will auto shutdown. try checking in ur bios, if it has that feature. GOOD LUCK... |
| Change to: | 0.0901sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:55 AM |