11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2013, 02:37 PM, updated 13y ago

24,193 posts

The previous recommendations thread was smoking hot laugh.gif
Time for V19 yo~

Thanks alot to God lee_what2004 sifu for his time in giving recommendations and updating the pricelist~

Special thanks to nexus2238, raymondtong94 too for the majority of recommendations in this thread, keep up the good work~
Same goes to Acid_ruleZz, and fJok3R notworthy.gif

The following are the links to the previous threads:

This thread is specially made to offer laptop/tablet PC recommendations to EVERYONE
However, in order for us to recommend you with laptops/tablet PCs which suits you the most, we would require some basic information from you. Hence please kindly state your the following when posting:
1. Preferred Brand
2. Budget
3. Usage
4. Preferred laptop/screen size

Laptop models and associated prices can be found here: LYN Notebook Price Catalog V4

With the help of the sifus here, we hope that you will be able to find the best laptop for your usage~
Happy Hunting!
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2013, 02:38 PM

24,193 posts

Reserved thumbup.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2013, 02:45 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 5 2013, 02:43 PM)
finally, version 19 thread. biggrin.gif

keep up the good work too, sifu TJ.
lol, I didn't do much lately also laugh.gif
Thanks for your and nexus2238 sifu's help notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Keep it up~ notworthy.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2013, 02:53 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 5 2013, 02:48 PM)
you are welcome. biggrin.gif

just i free at the moment before getting hired, so i have tons of time doing this. smile.gif
Haha, I'm sure a lot of people out there are grateful for your help also notworthy.gif

You are always welcomed here haha thumbup.gif

@nexus2238 sifu, we have always wanted to create some "notebooks of the month/ best bang for buck etc.", do you mind helping out? We need someone who has more experience at writing, and also in experience with the said notebooks laugh.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2013, 02:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Oakha @ Apr 5 2013, 02:54 PM)
Preferred Brand: Any but not Acer
Budget: around RM 2.5
Usage: Heavy programming + multitasking. Minimum gaming. Need 8GB RAM.
Preferred laptop/screen size: 14/15

I'm looking for decent processor, GPU don't need so cangih
A 15" notebook would be a good pick because of the better cooling nod.gif
15.6"
Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-3612QM +AMD HD7670M@RM2599[2.74kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2013, 03:26 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(snoopkid @ Apr 5 2013, 03:16 PM)
Toshiba L830/L840 , Acer aspire V5 , or Asus K46cm
For university use
All master sifu, please help me !!
first page already no follow format sweat.gif sweat.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 5 2013, 03:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(snoopkid @ Apr 5 2013, 03:36 PM)
Sorry sorry. I didn't notice that.
1. Preferred Brand - Toshiba, Acer, Asus
2. Budget - RM1500-2500
3. Usage - University use for accounting course
4. Preferred laptop -Toshiba L830/L840 , Acer aspire V5 , or Asus K46cm (Or can you suggest some other Asus with i5)
5. Screen size - 14''
No gaming at all I presume laugh.gif
14"
Ultrabook- thin and light, weaker performance
Acer
V5-471PG-53334G50, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT710M@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
V5-471PG, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT710M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Asus
[Ultrabook]S46CM-WX023V, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2399[2kg], 4GB, W7HP
VivoBook S400CA-CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299[2kg], 4GB, W8

Toshiba
[Ultrabook] Satellite U840-1009X, i3-3217M + AMD HD7550M + (32GB mSATA + 500GB HDD)@RM1899[1.7kg], 4GB, W8P; backlit keyboard

Normal notebook- better performance, bulkier
14"
Asus
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

Toshiba
Satellite L840-1041X/1041XR/1041XW, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB, W8SL; colors: black/red/white
Satellite L840-1035X/1035XR/1035XW, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM2349, 4GB, 640GB, W8SL; colors: black/red/white; 3 years local limited warranty
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2013, 01:04 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 5 2013, 11:31 PM)
Quite a big task you have in mind, TJ tongue.gif
Don't think I will have the time to properly write this type of piece (with work and children commitment ... )
Sometime when things go reaaaaally slow in the office, I have lots of free time to contribute to this thread, but sometime I only have time to check on this thread after all the children go to bed  .Not consistent. Weekly visit to LYP every Friday also cut short a bit now

Instead of writing, why don't we consider some point form thingy?  hmm.gif Sifus and other forumers can nominate a few candidate models (or we could even vote on it). Instead of "of the months", we can make it a "reigning champions lists". Setup a few categories (gaming, business, multimedia, photoshop / CAD, travelling ... let's spend time thinking through what is appropriate, like those "most frequently asked"), and a few budget range, then stuck a few top models (1-5 models, don't need to be rigid) for each section (with a few points to support it, and things to look out for when buying). So the models will stay on the list, until something newer or better come along to knock it off the "throne" (with justification ...).

May also cut down the requirement for recommendation  (sometime things do get a bit repetitive laugh.gif  )

What do sifus think?
Thanks for the reply man XD
Aiya, we are not forcing you sifu haha XD
This mini "project" has been on-and-off for quite some time already, where we summarize some of the more popular/ or more rational notebook picks for each genre (like what you mentioned) at a common budget range (say RM1.5-2k; RM2-2.5k; RM2.5-3k). So far the sifus here are either busy or not-too-good-at-writing laugh.gif, I am not knowledgeable enough when it comes to the hardware part, so I'm not qualified as well... you know a lot and your writings are much better than most of us, which is why you get the honour laugh.gif

Still, you are right, it doesn't have to be an essay thingy la, just some point forms and remarks on why those notebooks are recommended etc. Its useful to write them down somewhere in the thread so that the details can just be copied and pasted, especially for FAQ... save the sifus time as well laugh.gif

My vote for the best best-looking, non-ultrabook budget consumer notebook for the time being are Lenovo's non-touched Z400 and Z500 laugh.gif laugh.gif. Gaming we all know the Y400 and Y500 thrashes everything else in the market at that price tag laugh.gif Business notebooks will be a problem since we can no longer check for specs and prices in Dell @___@
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2013, 01:08 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 5 2013, 11:39 PM)
not selecting a course to study. i find myself not able to study after SPM, so its better not to waste the money on college studies. so i prefer work.

@[P.F.]TJ since im free at the moment, mind to help you? biggrin.gif
All the best at work yo bro thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

And thanks a lot for volunteering laugh.gif
Please feel free to suggest what you think are the best picks for each categories of notebooks available yo~ hmm.gif
You have been recommending for quite some time now, I bet you already know which ones are the best/most popular for a common budget range brows.gif

Update: Ops, I forgot lol... of course these best picks need to be constantly updated as well, which is not easy laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Apr 6 2013, 01:09 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2013, 02:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 6 2013, 09:21 AM)

thanks. and dont worry. i would make it as simple as possible, so it wont confuse our forumers. biggrin.gif

EDIT : this thread is not pinned, shall contact the mods to pin it.

Thanks for the help man thumbup.gif
I've already PMed Baronic when I just started the thread, but I guess he is busy haha tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2013, 06:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xowangzi @ Apr 6 2013, 05:32 PM)
This thread is my life saver! Please help me again! Previously already asked for recommendation about 1month ago but till now haven't buy yet, cause previously not so urgent on lappy. Now I'm urgent!
After I survey... Low price with good spec. I chose Lenovo, but between Lenovo I still have questions.

Y500 vs Z500!
Y500 i7 4GB 500GB 650M x2 6CELL w/o SLi (Can upgrade next time) Rm3099 (w/ SLi Rm3480)
Z500 i5 4GB 1TB 645M 4CELL RM2169
Budget Rm2700

I'm a student studying software engineering.
Which one should I get ?
I'm playing DoTA 2, and I hate lags!

What I scare is price like Rm2169 for the Z500 laptop, i scare even Mircrosoft Office also lag.

If i top up Rm400 i can get y500 which is a beast! and maybe 1 or 2 year later I can upgrade SLi if needed.
Example: maybe i might get interest with CUDA and play CUDA programming LOL

Or i save Rm500+ get Z500 average laptop ? and 2years later maybe buy another one ??
Cause ppl told me technology can change very fast. now 650SLi can be very strong.
You won't know after 2years maybe TITAN V20 also come out already.
But my uncle told me to get 6CELL laptop.

THIS IS SO CONFUSED!!
Which is worth ?
Both the Z500 and Y500 are no slouch laugh.gif
And both are definitely capable of handling Microsoft Office... when the notebook slows down after a few years, just throw in an SSD and you will get an entirely new and faster experience (one of the biggest drawbacks of the Z500/Y500 is the slow HDD speed) nod.gif

Both the Z500 and Y500 are battery thirsty yo laugh.gif
One has a 4-cell battery, one doesn't have Nvidia Optimus laugh.gif
Both notebooks are capable of gaming on Dota2... so no real point in getting the Y500 if you are not playing some really hardcore games nod.gif
It might be better to get the Z500, extend warranty to 3 years, and save money for an SSD upgrade instead
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2013, 07:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xowangzi @ Apr 6 2013, 06:23 PM)
Thanks! You're the life saver!
So what i get is Z500 upgrade max ram and max SSD will do ? biggrin.gif
So total up almost reaching Rm2700 already ?
HAHA! Good idea!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Nope... unfortunately you won;t be able to get an SSD at your current budget, but the warranty extension shouldn't be a problem nod.gif
The good news is that you can always upgrade to SSD later on when you have t he budget, just need to take out the HDD and replace it with an SSD nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2013, 07:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Apr 6 2013, 07:18 PM)
in order to remove /add on / replace lenovo z400 hardisk / ram , u need at least step below
For access, remove these FRUs in order:
••“1010 Keyboard” on page 33
••“1020 Optical drive” on page 36
••“1030 Base cover” on page 39
••“1040 Battery pack” on page 44

as its design to be ultrabook
Still okay la I guess, only need to do it once what laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2013, 08:02 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xowangzi @ Apr 6 2013, 07:50 PM)
Lenovo doesnt provide upgrade SSD. So we need to upgrade outside ourself ?
Same as Ram. upgrade ourself or take lenovo's upgrade. If upgrade ourself will void warranty?
Always upgrade yourself, otherwise you're going to be ripped off laugh.gif
Find an IT friend for help if more steps are required for the upgrade laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 6 2013, 08:12 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xowangzi @ Apr 6 2013, 08:06 PM)
Thanks! I have an IT friend, he owns a PC shop. very convenience!
Now another problem came, just found out Z500 running Dual Core! This is sucks!
It's 2013 and dual core is like super outdated! Arggghhh!

Should I go for Y500 ? Confused again
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Do you even have a reason why you don't need dual core? laugh.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 7 2013, 12:50 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Apr 7 2013, 12:47 PM)
greet to all pro adviser,I should wait for the Y500 GT750M or just buy the Y500 GT650M? Basically how does the performance difference and how long it takes to  be available at Malaysia?
Buy when you need, wait if you can; that's the general rule for the IT world laugh.gif
We never know when new tech/ models will come out...

Not sure when the new generation of Y500 will come out as well tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 7 2013, 01:51 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Apr 7 2013, 01:27 PM)
Thanks to sifu [PF]T.J,nexus and the others smile.gif Tomorrow I going to placed an order for the dell inspiron 15R special edition  biggrin.gif  I appreciate you guys opinion.

Anyway,should I upgrade the 32GB caching SSD to SSD that has higher capacity? I mean after I bought the laptop.I plan to buy Crucial or Intel ssd as I save my money from buying the Y500 smile.gif

I plan to get the cooler master U3 as well,is it a good choice? smile.gif
A full SSD is always faster than a hybrid SSD/HDD nod.gif
So its a yes... and you can use external HDD for additional space icon_rolleyes.gif

The U3 is a good pick (~RM70 iinm), can't go wrong there laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 7 2013, 02:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Apr 7 2013, 01:59 PM)
Thanks for the information smile.gif
I plan to get a ssd of capacity 128GB.so should I replace the 1TB hdd or the 32GB mSATA?  biggrin.gif

I would grab it by tomorrow if can,wondering how long does dell's delivery takes  sad.gif Excited to experience the new laptop  rclxms.gif
I don't think you will get to choose whether you want to take out the 1TB or 32GB mSATA as they are linked? hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 7 2013, 02:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(eryth7 @ Apr 7 2013, 02:02 PM)
Hi.
1.Preferred Brand-im okay with anything
2.Budget-4k~5k
3.Usage-Video Editing(adobe ae,pp) , 3d modeling , and dota 2 sometimes
4.screen size 15-17", battery life not too short

Thanks for the help laptop pros.
The Lenovo Y500 would be the best pick for your requirements, though the battery life is slightly lower than an average 15 incher's
15.6"
Lenovo Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 120W & 170W AC adapter

*use remaining budget for RAM upgrade to 8GB, HDD upgrade to 256GB SSD; warranty extension to 3 years, and you will have a mean monster laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 7 2013, 02:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(POOPOOx3 @ Apr 7 2013, 02:19 PM)
Preferred Brand: Any
Budget: around RM3k
Usage: Heavy video/image editing and gaming
Preferred laptop/screen size: 15" with 1080p (if available)

Thanks smile.gif
Can consider these:
15.6"
Acer V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8

*between these two, the Acer would be the better pick because of the better screen, IF video and image editing is your priority nod.gif

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0522sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:25 PM