130 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Apr 25 2013, 10:35 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Apr 25 2013, 07:13 PM)
Hmm. More money. Lol. Considering now.

Well, mainly im using it for assignments, and games. Starting to play games now, so might as well?

So if the i7 is gonna generate lotsa heat, does a cooling pad helps?

Sounds great using an SSD! So does changing it affects the warranty?
You don't need i7 to play games. At your budget, spend money on GPU rather than i7.

Good cooling pad help for whatever specs biggrin.gif

Changing HDD with SSD will not void hardware warranty normally as long as you don't break any of those "warranty void if broken" seal.
raymondtong94
post Apr 25 2013, 10:51 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(john5431 @ Apr 25 2013, 10:31 PM)
Hi guys,

1. Preferred Brand - Lenovo
2. Budget - 2k
3. Usage - Office work, movies, net browsing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14"-15"

Need some recommendation..thank ya..=)
since you are just into office and minor entertainment usage, why not consider dell?

Dell Inspiron 15
Lenovo G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS

prices are RSP and negotiable. use the remaining budget to upgrade RAM to 4GB (for lenovo only) and extend the warranty to 3 years.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Apr 25 2013, 10:53 PM
pastacarbonara
post Apr 25 2013, 11:15 PM

37 posts

Hi guys, I'm looking for a laptop. But before I divulge my preference. Let me tell you about my current laptop.

My current laptop is a 5 year old 14" Dell with a 2.16Ghz C2D and 2GB RAM. My laptop is very basic. Classic theme Windows 7 and I do not play games. I frequently use the VirtualBox to test server config changes on the fly and Microsoft Word; again to write report and process documents on the fly.

For entertainment, I watch movies with VLC player or Media Player Classic and play music with foobar.

The thing I don't really like about my current laptop albeit being a reliable workhorse, is that it's heavy and heats up easily. My current laptop heats up easily when I'm running multiple stuff like VirtualBox, foobar, and multi-tab Chrome.

Now, I don't have any preferred brand. What I'm looking for is something practical, lightweight and portable. Preferably 14". It must be able to do what my current laptop is doing without hiccup with more room to spare. And most importantly, it does not heat up easily.

I'm looking at the Vostro 5460. If there's a similar spec laptop with similar price tag, please do suggest.

Thanks!
Psychosis
post Apr 25 2013, 11:47 PM

92 posts

Any recommendation?Will be using mainly for gaming and uni assignment

brand: not acer
price: preferably <RM3000
purpose: uni+gaming
size:>13"

Thanks in advance.
kkw95
post Apr 25 2013, 11:48 PM

26 posts

preferred brand : Asus Or Dell or toshiba
Budget :+-2.5k
Usage : college life..web browsing.. gaming(starcraft, battlefield)
screen : suitable one......

This post has been edited by kkw95: Apr 25 2013, 11:50 PM
raymondtong94
post Apr 25 2013, 11:59 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(pastacarbonara @ Apr 25 2013, 11:15 PM)
Hi guys, I'm looking for a laptop. But before I divulge my preference. Let me tell you about my current laptop.

My current laptop is a 5 year old 14" Dell with a 2.16Ghz C2D and 2GB RAM. My laptop is very basic. Classic theme Windows 7 and I do not play games. I frequently use the VirtualBox to test server config changes on the fly and Microsoft Word; again to write report and process documents on the fly.

For entertainment, I watch movies with VLC player or Media Player Classic and play music with foobar.

The thing I don't really like about my current laptop albeit being a reliable workhorse, is that it's heavy and heats up easily. My current laptop heats up easily when I'm running multiple stuff like VirtualBox, foobar, and multi-tab Chrome.

Now, I don't have any preferred brand. What I'm looking for is something practical, lightweight and portable. Preferably 14". It must be able to do what my current laptop is doing without hiccup with more room to spare. And most importantly, it does not heat up easily.

I'm looking at the Vostro 5460. If there's a similar spec laptop with similar price tag, please do suggest.

Thanks!
Dell Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell

save more the money to extend 3 years warranty on site and upgrade the RAM to 4GB.
raymondtong94
post Apr 26 2013, 12:01 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Psychosis @ Apr 25 2013, 11:47 PM)
Any recommendation?Will be using mainly for gaming and uni assignment

brand: not acer
price: preferably <RM3000
purpose: uni+gaming
size:>13"

Thanks in advance.
New Lenovo Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@around RM2799
raymondtong94
post Apr 26 2013, 12:04 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(kkw95 @ Apr 25 2013, 11:48 PM)
Lenovo Ideapad Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
Dell Inspiron 15R, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1999[2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8SL
ASUS A55VJ-SX093H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2499[2.52kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black

prices are RSP and negotiable.
Psychosis
post Apr 26 2013, 12:34 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 26 2013, 12:01 AM)
New Lenovo Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@around RM2799
thumbs up for the reply rclxms.gif

But is it possible for me to have the i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M + touchscreen ?
jerryhao
post Apr 26 2013, 01:35 AM

242 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Lenovo ,Asus
2. Budget : below 2.5k
3. Usage : college work (assignment) , net browsing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : larger than 14'
XeactorZ
post Apr 26 2013, 02:28 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,608 posts

QUOTE(jerryhao @ Apr 26 2013, 01:35 AM)
1. Preferred Brand:  Lenovo ,Asus
2. Budget : below 2.5k
3. Usage : college work (assignment) , net browsing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : larger than 14'
ultrabook
Asus S550CM-XX140H i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[2.3kg], 4GB, W8

normal laptop

Asus A55VJ-SX093H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2499[2.52kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black
Lenovo Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
raymondtong94
post Apr 26 2013, 07:19 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Psychosis @ Apr 26 2013, 12:34 AM)
thumbs up for the reply  rclxms.gif

But is it possible for me to have the i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M + touchscreen ?
not possible. the Y series never have touch screen option until it is announced in later versions. anyway, touch screen laptops are marketing gimmicks. if you still insist on getting touch screen, then you can get this :

Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty
alstonia28
post Apr 26 2013, 09:50 AM

Good day all. I am new here. I am looking for new laptop this next few days as my old one is nearing 5 years old already. So old and tiring. Hahaha. By the way, as I am searching for a new one, hope sifus can guide me thru as I was a silent reader before.

1. Preferred Brand
Lenovo/Dell/Asus - whichever produces high quality product with good after sale service
2. Budget
RM2-3K - inclusive of ram upgrading or warranty extending, if any
3. Usage
Work in office, surfing, watch HD movies,photo/video editing - appreciate excellent screen display and hate lagging
4. Preferred laptop/screen size
Definitely 14" -preferred slim and light notebook as I will carry it along for travel. Last long battery life would be an extra point.

As I was reading before, I stumbled upon asus K46cm-wx090h, lenovo z400 and dell inspiron 14r. Hope you guys can suggest better laptop for my needs
kkw95
post Apr 26 2013, 10:24 AM

26 posts

Lenovo Ideapad Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
Dell Inspiron 15R, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1999[2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8SL
ASUS A55VJ-SX093H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2499[2.52kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black

can recommend 14 inch Asus de? tq

This post has been edited by kkw95: Apr 26 2013, 10:26 AM
nexus2238
post Apr 26 2013, 01:11 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kkw95 @ Apr 26 2013, 10:24 AM)

can recommend 14 inch Asus de? tq
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
nexus2238
post Apr 26 2013, 01:22 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(alstonia28 @ Apr 26 2013, 09:50 AM)
Good day all. I am new here. I am looking for new laptop this next few days as my old one is nearing 5 years old already. So old and tiring. Hahaha. By the way, as I am searching for a new one, hope sifus can guide me thru as I was a silent reader before.

1. Preferred Brand
Lenovo/Dell/Asus - whichever produces high quality product with good after sale service
2. Budget
RM2-3K - inclusive of ram upgrading or warranty extending, if any
3. Usage
Work in office, surfing, watch HD movies,photo/video editing - appreciate excellent screen display and hate lagging
4. Preferred laptop/screen size
Definitely 14" -preferred slim and light notebook as I will carry it along for travel. Last long battery life would be an extra point.

As I was reading before, I stumbled upon asus K46cm-wx090h,  lenovo z400 and dell inspiron 14r. Hope you guys can suggest better laptop for my needs
Excellent screen display? Tough one tongue.gif 14" with your budget hmm.gif
Lagging - most of "lagging" for users like you experience is due to the slow HDD or insufficient RAM. The solution is to go for SSD and get at least 4G (8G if you multitask a lot or edit big picture or video files).

Asus
K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD

Dell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M + GT630M@RM1,899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2,099

HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Use the remaining of your budget to increase RAM (Asus, HP) (4G stick ~ RM80), extend warranty (Dell 3 years ~ RM250, HP ~ RM300), SSD to swap out HDD (256G ~ RM600+/-, 128G ~ RM300+. Most important upgrade that you can do to address the "lagging" feel).
nexus2238
post Apr 26 2013, 01:30 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(pastacarbonara @ Apr 25 2013, 11:15 PM)

Thanks!
Vostro 5460 is a good choice.
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M + GT630M@RM1,899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2,099

Change the HDD to SSD (128G ~ RM300+, 256G ~ RM600+/-). And swap the 4G RAM with 8G RAM (only 1 RAM slot).
You have a slim and light laptop. Relatively good cooling for this form factor (has 2 internal fans, and you can clean them quite easily. Move to full SSD, if you do, will improve heat profile more).
The i5 M and 8G RAM will run the VirtualBox instance well (not too many instance right?).

Extend the warranty to 3 years for ~ RM250.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 26 2013, 01:31 PM
alstonia28
post Apr 26 2013, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 26 2013, 01:22 PM)
Excellent screen display? Tough one tongue.gif 14" with your budget  hmm.gif
Lagging - most of "lagging" for users like you experience is due to the slow HDD or insufficient RAM. The solution is to go for SSD and get at least 4G (8G if you multitask a lot or edit big picture or video files).

Asus
K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD

Dell

HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Use the remaining of your budget to increase RAM (Asus, HP) (4G stick ~ RM80), extend warranty (Dell 3 years ~ RM250, HP ~ RM300), SSD to swap out HDD (256G ~ RM600+/-, 128G ~ RM300+. Most important upgrade that you can do to address the "lagging" feel).
Thanks for the suggestion!

What I meant by excellent screen display before was it is good enough to view HD movies without much effort and pictures look nice on the screen. I know I could not ask for more within the budget. Hahahaha

Yes, I read on suggestion to change HDD to SSD for faster response. So, for all the models listed before, is it possible to change the HDD to SSD? The seller would be able to do it? Sorry I dont know much smile.gif

And one more thing, if you were me, which one would you choose? Thanks again.
nexus2238
post Apr 26 2013, 03:26 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(alstonia28 @ Apr 26 2013, 03:02 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion!

What I meant by excellent screen display before was it is good enough to view HD movies without much effort and pictures look nice on the screen. I know I could not ask for more within the budget. Hahahaha

Yes, I read on suggestion to change HDD to SSD for faster response. So, for all the models listed before, is it possible to change the HDD to SSD? The seller would be able to do it? Sorry I dont know much smile.gif

And one more thing, if you were me, which one would you choose? Thanks again.
All 14" consumer laptop come with HD (1366x768) screen, so definitely can see HD movies. "Picture look nice" - this is very subjective tongue.gif I suggest you go and look at the real things to determine yourself nod.gif

Yes, for all the models suggested, you can change HDD to SSD. Re-seller will do it for you normally. The Z400 is the most tricky one to (need to tackle 20+ screw, take out ODD, keyboard ... laugh.gif), the other models is quite easy smile.gif

Personally? hmm.gif
I am not buying Asus in Malaysia until its warranty support service improve (it is very tiring for me to resist the temptation laugh.gif ). The Z400 has the most powerful spec, but it is cumbersome to maintain (e.g. clean dust) so I'm not keen.
That left the 5460 & the Envy 4. Both has nice speakers + sub-woofer (I think the HP sound slightly better). 5460 is lighter, has 2 internal fans (I like). Envy 4 has better GPU. 5460 only has 1 RAM slot (I don't like). Dell has better warranty support. Envy 4 should give better battery performance (ULV CPU), but the 5460 come with 50Whr battery (even though only 3 cell) so it won't be too bad.
I will go with Dell as I am a sucker for good warranty support laugh.gif
Alvinsit
post Apr 26 2013, 05:39 PM

Budget= 2k
Usage= gaming and uni ^^
Preferred size= 17?

130 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled