Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

alstonia28
post Apr 26 2013, 09:50 AM

Good day all. I am new here. I am looking for new laptop this next few days as my old one is nearing 5 years old already. So old and tiring. Hahaha. By the way, as I am searching for a new one, hope sifus can guide me thru as I was a silent reader before.

1. Preferred Brand
Lenovo/Dell/Asus - whichever produces high quality product with good after sale service
2. Budget
RM2-3K - inclusive of ram upgrading or warranty extending, if any
3. Usage
Work in office, surfing, watch HD movies,photo/video editing - appreciate excellent screen display and hate lagging
4. Preferred laptop/screen size
Definitely 14" -preferred slim and light notebook as I will carry it along for travel. Last long battery life would be an extra point.

As I was reading before, I stumbled upon asus K46cm-wx090h, lenovo z400 and dell inspiron 14r. Hope you guys can suggest better laptop for my needs
alstonia28
post Apr 26 2013, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 26 2013, 01:22 PM)
Excellent screen display? Tough one tongue.gif 14" with your budget  hmm.gif
Lagging - most of "lagging" for users like you experience is due to the slow HDD or insufficient RAM. The solution is to go for SSD and get at least 4G (8G if you multitask a lot or edit big picture or video files).

Asus
K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD

Dell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M + GT630M@RM1,899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2,099

HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Use the remaining of your budget to increase RAM (Asus, HP) (4G stick ~ RM80), extend warranty (Dell 3 years ~ RM250, HP ~ RM300), SSD to swap out HDD (256G ~ RM600+/-, 128G ~ RM300+. Most important upgrade that you can do to address the "lagging" feel).
Thanks for the suggestion!

What I meant by excellent screen display before was it is good enough to view HD movies without much effort and pictures look nice on the screen. I know I could not ask for more within the budget. Hahahaha

Yes, I read on suggestion to change HDD to SSD for faster response. So, for all the models listed before, is it possible to change the HDD to SSD? The seller would be able to do it? Sorry I dont know much smile.gif

And one more thing, if you were me, which one would you choose? Thanks again.
alstonia28
post Apr 26 2013, 06:55 PM

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 26 2013, 03:26 PM)
All 14" consumer laptop come with HD (1366x768) screen, so definitely can see HD movies. "Picture look nice" - this is very subjective tongue.gif I suggest you go and look at the real things to determine yourself  nod.gif

Yes, for all the models suggested, you can change HDD to SSD. Re-seller will do it for you normally. The Z400 is the most tricky one to (need to tackle 20+ screw, take out ODD, keyboard ... laugh.gif), the other models is quite easy smile.gif

Personally?  hmm.gif
I am not buying Asus in Malaysia until its warranty support service improve (it is very tiring for me to resist the temptation laugh.gif ). The Z400 has the most powerful spec, but it is cumbersome to maintain (e.g. clean dust) so I'm not keen.
That left the 5460 & the Envy 4. Both has nice speakers + sub-woofer (I think the HP sound slightly better). 5460 is lighter, has 2 internal fans (I like). Envy 4 has better GPU. 5460 only has 1 RAM slot (I don't like). Dell has better warranty support. Envy 4 should give better battery performance (ULV CPU), but the 5460 come with 50Whr battery (even though only 3 cell) so it won't be too bad.
I will go with Dell as I am a sucker for good warranty support laugh.gif
Definitely have to look the real model first before purchasing. so that I wont regret like I always did when I shop online. Hahaha.

Then, ram upgrading and SSD installation will be done just after bought it. Need to survey at shop later on.

That's very thoughtful of your reviews. There are pros and cons for every model, and what's left is for me to decide which one suits me the most. I will hunt the models for review later. Thanks for your reviews! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

0.0509sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:32 PM