29 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 >Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

raymondtong94
post Jun 26 2013, 08:30 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Oblivon @ Jun 26 2013, 08:03 PM)
bro, how about other inches screen sizes ultrabook ? possible ?
for 13" ones, UPDATE - found some but not suitable for heavy game titles that can run low settings.

Acer [Ultrabook] Aspire S3-391-33214G52s, i3-3217M + Intel HD3000 + 20GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM1899, 4GB, W8
ASUS S300CA-C1033H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 500GB, W8 <--- very rare devour need help with this.
Dell Vostro 3360, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000@RM2249[1.67kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze
raymondtong94
post Jun 27 2013, 12:32 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(tehaikbeng @ Jun 27 2013, 08:07 AM)
I am looking for notebook with the spec below.

Processor - i7
Screen - 15.6" Full HD
RAM - 8GB
Budget - Around 3K
Acer V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8
Lenovo Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM2999, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

prices are RRP and negotiable. smile.gif

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 27 2013, 09:17 AM)
he / she the person drunk doh.gif
for the budget, what your can expect for the spec ?
yet, if you can find a better laptop at that price just go ahead suggest, don't just spam here

*and just ignore him, see what his / her post before
last this is something funny, post my post in s3 thread in kopitiam doh.gif
obviously hate me laugh.gif
just a forum boss ...
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2831073
joke of the day, lolz. instead, he/she get bashed by forumers. laugh.gif
he/she dont even know how to calculate. how can we expect that the rumor finally came true? laugh.gif doh.gif

respect sifu XeactorZ. notworthy.gif
raymondtong94
post Jun 27 2013, 01:44 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(tehaikbeng @ Jun 27 2013, 01:36 PM)
PM me the best price for Lenovo y500
keep in mind that im not a seller. smile.gif
im just a freelance suggester on this forum. if you want to ask for best price, you can pm Mr. devour

his LYN ID
raymondtong94
post Jun 27 2013, 06:40 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 27 2013, 06:16 PM)
but that thread also got people bash me say I am spamming doh.gif
what the point of spamming in forum =.=
the post count nothing at all
and why respect me ?? hmm.gif
agree with you. post counts doesnt really matters actually. if lets say i get paid for the post counts, then i would be start making money by posting in the forums.

you are elder than me and more experienced, so should deserve the respect. smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Jun 27 2013, 06:46 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Dbassnut @ Jun 27 2013, 02:08 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Anything but Acer
2. Budget: about RM4000
3. Usage: Engineering simulation, gaming, presentation so not too flashy like AW or Asus G series.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15 inch
5. Warranty : min 2 years.

I'm considering the following
1. Lenovo Y500 SLI GT750M
2. Lenovo Y510p SLI GT750M
3. Illegear RE-15

Please advice or comment. Thanks.
Illegear RE-15 will be better. performance wise, the GT750M SLI is about 20% better than GTX765M but power drainage in Y510P will be faster compared to RE-15.
raymondtong94
post Jun 27 2013, 08:59 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 27 2013, 08:23 PM)
No worries man, even astria sifu (ancient super sifu in Mobile Computing) also kena bashed one time in Kopitiam  sweat.gif
i got bashed before when i was in hardware section. sweat.gif
that was 1.5 years ago and now, people forgot about anything. laugh.gif
raymondtong94
post Jun 28 2013, 10:23 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Jun 28 2013, 01:04 AM)
Laptop for my gf.
Basic comp. Used for fb, movie,surfing,and some other normal stuffs u do with the comp.

Budget 1.5k-2.2k ( i want choice between this price range if possible,then ill choose the best bang for bucks one from that price range for my gf.  smile.gif)
screen size at least 14"

Been looking at lenovo z500,asus k46cb. any other recommendation?
what about lenovo z400? it is priced at RM2099 but it is 14" without dedicated numpad on keyboard. both share roughly same specs but Z400 is weighed at 2kg.

EDIT - ultrabooks have less performance than normal ones. and like what sifu TJ said, Z500 and Z400 is not an ultrabook. it just has the size of an ultrabook only.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Jun 28 2013, 10:26 AM
raymondtong94
post Jun 28 2013, 09:18 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(neozeroash @ Jun 28 2013, 08:43 PM)
yup..which better? 675m old or 765m newer? i dont mind the backlit keyboard..
675M = 765M.
raymondtong94
post Jun 28 2013, 10:13 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Jun 28 2013, 09:55 PM)
Is there any way to solve the poor quality of clevo speakers? I read through some review and they stated there even you plug in your headphone into the laptop,the sound quality still lousy compare to a smartphone
but that only apply to NP9170 (RS-17). however, the problem is resolved in latest models as clevo started to use creative x-fi sound card.
raymondtong94
post Jun 28 2013, 11:00 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Jun 28 2013, 10:18 PM)
Is it? I thought our illegear is same with clevo W350ST?
Just a note, Sager/Clevo has the worse built-in speakers out there and some, like the w350st's can even sound like a PSP. Also they come equip with cheap 3.5mm audio jacks and VIA onboard audio, which deliver distorted sound when paired with creative home cinema. In short if you are an audiophile or someone who cares about the sound quality, avoid clevo/sager because you will be having some of the worse sound experience ever. I cancelled my w350st order after testing the audio solutions in person. Pretty disappointing

Just a note, audio solutions in CLEVOs are terribly bad. The speakers are distorted, and they practically sound like a PSP (even my w995 non-smartphone beats the lousy onkyo speakers in the clevo). The 3.5mm audio jacks are not even close to standard sound quality. It comes with VIA audio chip and Creative Sound Blaster Home Cinema, but produces atrocious sound quality that sound worse than a radio. If you care about sound quality, stay away from clevo, else you are all set for clevo, as other than sound quality, it has more goodies than the msi ge 60. Unfortunately i can't seem to ignore the terrible sound quality (as i went down in person to test drive the system) and ended up cancelling my order.

Clevo W350ST is awesome but only the sound quality spoiled it  cry.gif  cry.gif

Source:
http://forum.notebookreview.com/sager-clev...evo-w350st.html
http://forum.notebookreview.com/msi/722768...m-msi-gt70.html
actually not all peoples are concerning about the audio. even though im an audiophile, i really cant notice the difference. so i personally dont rely on built in speakers and audio quality that much.

but i believe the fellow illegear users here are happy with their speakers.
click here and go to the last page. you can ask them about the audio quality.
raymondtong94
post Jun 29 2013, 05:51 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(WoShiAiZai @ Jun 29 2013, 03:09 PM)
MSI GE60K, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2899, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, 2 years warranty
Lenovo Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

what's the pros and cons between these 2(regardless of processors and size)? hmm.gif
the screen for GE60 is full HD while the Y410P is 1366x768 HD screen only.
the hard disk equipped by GE60 is 7200rpm, which is faster than Y410P's 1TB 5400rpm.
the Y410P also comes with red backlit keyboard which the MSI doesnt have.
the Y410P comes with a swappable ODD for extra graphics performance or storage.

QUOTE(wilson1234 @ Jun 29 2013, 04:39 PM)
I'm looking at Dell 5460, its being slim and light and cool. However, I belief that full SSD is the way to go for ultrabook. Given the slimness by 5460 and price is much lower than an Macbook Air 13".. But the 5460 offered by dell is half 5400rpm, and half msata.... Can I reconfirm again is the laptop able to go full SSD?

Should i get the highest spec RM2199, then change to SSD? or get the normal spec RM18xx and upgrade to SSD?

My main priority of the laptop is it must be cool (as in low temperature), and quiet (no fan noise). Will choosing Intel HD graphic or Nvidia make a difference in this?
yes. it is swappable with full SSD. the another SSD is a mSATA SSD which is used for caching purposes.

if you get the most expensive one, it is labeled as an ultrabook because it uses intel i5 ULV processor. my suggestion is go with your personal preferences whether you want performance or battery life.

hoho, if you get a version with nvidia graphics card, then it is not advisable to game for long hours. the thinness of the lappy is trapping heat, and your hardware will prone to heat damage. my suggestion is if you are playing small games, then it is still okay, as long it is not a heavy title ones. choosing between intel graphics and nvidia makes major difference in gaming performance only. intel is integrated (uses processor to work) while nvidia is dedicated.

so conclusion is, get a normal one with either i3 or i5 CPU without Nvidia, and upgrade to SSD. 128GB RM300+/- 256GB RM600+/-. icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondtong94
post Jun 29 2013, 07:13 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(WoShiAiZai @ Jun 29 2013, 06:23 PM)
how about the GPU performance?
i'm waiting for lenovo to release the 1600x900 y410p but not sure when they gonna do so
should i wait for it or just get the msi? performance is my main priority
FYI, GTX660M is about on par or weaker than GT750M. so the performance is roughly the same.

it depends on your urgency to get a laptop. perhaps the 1600x900 version will arrive around in July.
raymondtong94
post Jun 30 2013, 12:34 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(LonelyPenguin @ Jun 30 2013, 12:00 PM)

Z400 will be a better deal but keep in mind that the thinness of the Z400 can trap heat + back cover is quite hard to disassemble, for cleaning and upgrading purposes.
raymondtong94
post Jun 30 2013, 12:52 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Jun 30 2013, 12:50 PM)
This is not a dedicated GC, right?
yes. it is not a dedicated GC.
raymondtong94
post Jun 30 2013, 02:06 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Jun 30 2013, 01:16 PM)
Thanks for that.
It does caught my attention last time, but i prefer a 14" over 15.6" but it is still acceptable to me.
But is it available in Malaysia already? I do not saw any1 selling it when i try to google for it.
Im gonna check out the demo unit to check on the hinge  flex.gif
www.techhypermart.com try visit the site. smile.gif

QUOTE(devour @ Jun 30 2013, 02:03 PM)
after i had tried few times, its apparently very easy for me, but the warranty void sticker very annoying laugh.gif
still, can consider as hard? laugh.gif
btw, do you have Acer R7 as per requested by forumer above? smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Jun 30 2013, 02:17 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 30 2013, 02:10 PM)
Very awkward notebook
not really awkward IMO. it still looks great. biggrin.gif

and R7 has its competitor, the samsung ativ q.
raymondtong94
post Jul 1 2013, 10:04 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Dbassnut @ Jul 1 2013, 09:58 AM)
Hi Raymond,
You are correct, the Illegear is definately nice. However, they don't have an outlet in Penang so I have to deal with them online. & Malaysian retailers are unfortunately infamous on online support. However, Illegear seems to have very few negative reports so I am thinking of getting a laptop from them. Downside is, I drool whenever I visit their website & by the time I finish customizing the laptop to what I would love to have, I'm way over budget. *sigh*.

I saw this review on the Schenker XMG A523 (Clevo W350ST) Notebook which I believe is the same model as the RE-15.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Schenk...ok.94048.0.html

Any idea on what the bare bones Clevo model is for the RE-17?

Thanks,
summoning Prince J about the outlets/resellers in Penang.

for the RE-17, clevo model will be W370ST.
raymondtong94
post Jul 1 2013, 10:39 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(kay-you @ Jul 1 2013, 02:29 AM)
Hello sifu  notworthy.gif , my friend ask me to suggest laptop with the information below. biggrin.gif
It would be great if you can help me here  smile.gif

1. Preferred Brand
-Any would do, reliable one.

2. Budget
- <2.5k

3. Usage
-rendering, multimedia purpose, movie a lit bit.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
-14" would be nice, if can go 15" that would be awesome too biggrin.gif

Thank you very much !  biggrin.gif
hi. i am sure your friend might be interested with the models below :

ASUS
A55VJ-SX093H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2499[2.52kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black

Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-3537U + AMD HD8730M@RM2499[2.32kg], 6GB, 1TB(5400rpm), 6-cell, W8SL

Lenovo
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty

top up budget for RM400 and you will get one with full HD IPS display, which is good for your friend's multimedia tools. icon_rolleyes.gif

Acer V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

prices for all are RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Jul 1 2013, 10:43 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(NewbieLaVida @ Jul 1 2013, 01:34 AM)
thanks a lot for your reply. may i ask a question, Nvidia VS AMD/ATI HD graphics, which is better?  hmm.gif  i've read, AMD/ATI graphics is much more suitable for games, but there are some that says otherwise, is there any guide in picking which brand, like which version (of the brand) should i avoid or should i consider.
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 1 2013, 10:35 AM)
Nvidia is better in terms of driver updates. There are a lot more softwares/programs that are optimized for Nvidia cards, resulting in smoother and better overall performance
AMD is generally better in terms of price: performance, but at the moment there are not really a lot of great AMD cards in entry-level notebooks, at least not comparable to Nvidia imho  hmm.gif
agree with what sifu T.J. said. for AMD entry level cards, pricing will be starting RM2k and above.

APU equipped ones are cheaper but the are bottlenecking the raw processing power.

raymondtong94
post Jul 1 2013, 10:55 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 1 2013, 10:41 AM)
Very true on the Bolded part laugh.gif
By the time I'm finished with the RS-15, its already RM10k already  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
guess what, my customizations are priced at RM6437 for the laptop, with windows 8 pro bundled but no RAM and HDD kits. processor 4700MQ and HD8970M.

add in a corsair vengeance 16GB kit for RM496, Intel 520 120GB SSD RM427 and 1TB 7200rpm HGST HDD (USD169). my customizations aint cheap either, except if i could use pasar malam windows or use SL windows 8. laugh.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

29 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 >Top

0.0563sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:34 PM