29 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 >Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

raymondtong94
post Jun 20 2013, 08:44 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(frenccw @ Jun 20 2013, 08:16 PM)
Thanks i will keep that in consideration when i go to shop too then. How's lenovo warranty process compared to Dell? I used Dell before and the customer support is very straightforward and good.
it is rated good for me, not like ASUS, it is worst.
raymondtong94
post Jun 21 2013, 11:26 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Maxiii @ Jun 21 2013, 10:09 AM)
Yeap T430s and T430u to be specific. Wanna know the pricing before i decide... any ideas on which is better..?
T430S if you are just into work and normal multimedia usage.
T430U if you want battery life with some good multimedia usage.

for lenovo T430S, it is quite rare in malaysia. perhaps you can call lenovo MY customer service for further queries?
raymondtong94
post Jun 21 2013, 12:12 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(LonelyPenguin @ Jun 21 2013, 12:06 PM)
Need some recommendations

G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, W8
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS

Which is the best?need better graphic card,DOS also can  icon_question.gif
actually both shares roughly same performance, just G400S will be lighter and slimmer but maybe a little poorer thermal conductivity.
raymondtong94
post Jun 22 2013, 10:03 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(laksh7 @ Jun 22 2013, 06:34 AM)
Hi Sifus,
How well does Y500 fare against full head-on gaming laptop like alienware. I mean based on cofiguration lenovo seems to be more powerful, but why does alienware cost more for less config?
which model of alienware are you comparing? if you are talking about AW 17, then it is because the AW 17 has dedicated cooling solutions, better design and better build materials.

actually, the lenovo Y500 can fair against an AW 17 with GTX770M if you use SLI configuration on Y500.

QUOTE(manypplwan @ Jun 22 2013, 07:30 AM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - RM1600
3. Usage - Study and some videos I think.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14 or 15 inch
Dell Inspiron 15, i3-3227U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell, W8SL

price is online price and negotiable on Dell. smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Jun 22 2013, 10:08 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(chugeliang @ Jun 21 2013, 08:15 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Dell, Lenovo, Asus
2. Budget - RM1500~2000
3. Usage - Light-Gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15"
5. Prefer free-DOS
Lenovo
Ideapad G580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1699, 2GB, 500GB, freeDOS, 1 yr warranty

this is only that suits your budget. price is RSP and negotiable. if applicable, upgrade the RAM to 4GB and extend warranty to 3 years for piece of mind. icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondtong94
post Jun 22 2013, 10:13 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(ashingburning @ Jun 21 2013, 09:50 PM)
hello guys... need advice here...my cousin want to buy a laptop for his study..architecture course..so mainly the purpose is for study..my uncle said he need to use autocad...so i want to know what is the price current laptop..the spec i want is below, but if any of u guys are in architecture field, feel free to recommend the best spec

1. preferred brand - any, if can recommend each brand with price..
2. budget - rm1500 - rm2500
3. usage - autocad, and any other software for architecture..
4. prefferred size - 14/15"
5. prefer free - windows ready...
QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ Jun 21 2013, 10:12 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - RM3000
3. Usage - mainly for studies and for heavy processing software
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - If possible 14/15"

thanks guys.. pls give me some advice.. hehe
guys your options (omit if pricing is not applicable) :

Acer
V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

Lenovo
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM2999, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate
Z480, i7-3632M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8

prices are RSP and negotiable. if have remaining budget, use it to upgrade the RAM to 8GB and extend warranty to 3 years. icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondtong94
post Jun 22 2013, 10:17 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nikki_5543 @ Jun 22 2013, 10:09 AM)
Thanks for all the recommended i get here, but today i need new recommend one based on last i ask.. last time T.J suggest to get dell but lastly i choose
Acer V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8... great also..Still same preference i need

Got new laptop that same as above or more power but maybe much less price that can be recommence since i need to find another....thanks..
fortunately the Y500 with single GT750M is on market now, and more powerful.

Lenovo Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM2999, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

keep in mind that it uses TN panel, not like the IPS display on the acer which have accurate colours and better viewing angle.
raymondtong94
post Jun 22 2013, 12:11 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Jun 22 2013, 11:36 AM)
z400 and z500 are pretty hard to add on / upgrade ram  rclxub.gif  as thats a warranty void sticker on a screw below keyboard, but without move out that screw, you cant remove back cover to access ram slot doh.gif
does that apply to every model or majority of them are like that?

if every single model is like that, then it is shakehead.gif

now even earning money from upgrading RAM is reduced. shakehead.gif
raymondtong94
post Jun 23 2013, 12:59 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

thanks nexus2238 for maintaining the topic at the moment, as my life is getting busier. rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Jun 23 2013, 12:59 PM
raymondtong94
post Jun 24 2013, 01:46 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(otaiboyz91 @ Jun 24 2013, 12:57 PM)
huh? please pm me any tips or info . I never deal with Dell before icon_question.gif
you can use the online chat system provided by dell and bargain with them.

EDIT - use something like 'RMxxxx and i will buy' and see if the agents accept it or not. if they dont, try increase your quoted price a little and little. when negotiate, negotiate with the price you desired 1st before increasing the quoted price.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Jun 24 2013, 01:49 PM
raymondtong94
post Jun 24 2013, 02:01 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(SetsunaFSeiei Exia00 @ Jun 24 2013, 01:53 PM)
Hmm, just as I thought. Man, the third quarter is still a few months away. yawn.gif
if you are patient and not urgent to get a laptop, you can wait. icon_rolleyes.gif
raymondtong94
post Jun 24 2013, 07:12 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(otaiboyz91 @ Jun 24 2013, 04:32 PM)
eh? i tot that chat system only for asking question , not for placing order =_=
btw, my friend said need to use card credit to buy from dell? is it true?
well, the chat system is created for assisting and sales support too. the agents have commissions for this kind of work you know.

you dont need to if you arent buying as an installment plan. you can just bank in or inter-transfer to dell's account, provide supporting documents (payment evidence is enough i think) and send it to dell. once they confirmed payment, they will confirm your order and you are good to go and wait for your delivery.
raymondtong94
post Jun 24 2013, 10:19 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(otaiboyz91 @ Jun 24 2013, 09:59 PM)
ya, i already contacted Dell via their chat system and ask for student price . From the on9 price, RM 1749, they give Rm100 discount but without backpack, if i want backpack, i need to pay RM1749, not sure they give me student discount or just minus the backpack price  rclxub.gif  doh.gif
IMO, they just minus the backpack price. sometimes, you have to see the deals that is listed when you buy the laptop. some of the deals have freebies or cash redemption.
raymondtong94
post Jun 25 2013, 09:51 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(otaiboyz91 @ Jun 24 2013, 10:29 PM)
but the laptop doesn't come with backpack, need to add others RM 79 from normal price, RM 1749 for Targus backpack. so Total will be RM1828. So i think they give me student discount right. i think better if i order from garage sales.
you can keep bargain with the agent if it is not your desired price. they will still loose to you if you are strong at insisting. i have seen some peoples able to bargain as less as RM1599 for Vostro 5460. if you get it from garage sales, you might probably get around RM1690 and hard to bargain even if you are a student.

like i said before in my post, you need to have a desired price. you can increase a little if agent is not willing to do so.
raymondtong94
post Jun 25 2013, 02:59 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(otaiboyz91 @ Jun 25 2013, 01:05 PM)
and i afraid later Dell agents scold me bcoz keep asking for discount  sweat.gif
i dont think they will scold you directly in the chat system but perhaps they will start gossiping after work. laugh.gif
remember, as a customer, we are 95% always right.
raymondtong94
post Jun 26 2013, 09:49 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(marryyap @ Jun 26 2013, 09:06 AM)
Best choice? Did you read it properly? Did you know Y500 heavy like a bomb?
Dear XeactorZ, are you drunk? GT610M for 2k? Weight 2.52kg? Can you stop trolling here? Want troll go hardware section!  mad.gif
i dont see XeactorZ is trolling. according to the price catalog made by our sifu [PF]T.J. , it is really quoted at RM2149 and weights 2.52kg. sos
XeactorZ is suggesting a non SLI version of Y500. the Y500 with single graphics card isnt too heavy. the SLI one is weighed at 2.9kg, while the non SLI is 2.5kg. and also, the person whom asking for suggestions said preferably, which means he/she can consider about the weight.

so i hope you can stop the flaming here. thank you. smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Jun 26 2013, 09:56 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(shuitsl @ Jun 26 2013, 09:16 AM)
Hi, please recommend a laptop for me, this laptop is pay by my boss, budget is under 6K.
-Any brand but not gaming laptop
-less than 14"
-less than 2kg
-with dedicate graphic card
-moderate gaming, surfing and graphic design

i suggest not to get lightweight laptops and/or smaller laptops for gaming, as the heat dissipation is poor in these laptops. remember, heat is an enemy to your hardware so it is better to stick with consumer lines. if you still insist on, perhaps you can look at these :

Acer
[Ultrabook] M5-481PTG-53316G52, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT640M + 20GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2999, 10-point touch, W8
[Ultrabook] M5-481TG-53316G12, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT640M LE (28nm Kepler) + 128GB SSD@RM2899[1.85kg], 6GB, W7HP

Dell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099

HP
[Ultrabook] Envy4-1204TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M + 32GB mSATA +500GB(5400rpm)@RM2399[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, W8

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate

Sony
Vaio SVS13137PGB, i7-3540M + Nvidia GT640M LE + (8GB + 750GB HDD)@RM4199[1.72kg], 4GB, W8Pro; color: black; Vaio carry case
Vaio SVS13A26PGB [carbon fibre], i7-3540M + Nvidia GT640M LE + (1600x900) + 256GB SSD@RM5799[1.61kg],8GB, W8Pro; color: black; Vaio carrying case

prices are RRP and can be negotiated.
raymondtong94
post Jun 26 2013, 10:11 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(malowar @ Jun 25 2013, 06:10 PM)

Lenovo Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate

QUOTE(Oblivon @ Jun 25 2013, 07:29 PM)

RM2300 budget is quite tight to get 13" ultrabooks. perhaps, you can consider 14" one :

Dell
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + HD 4000@RM1,549[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM1,749
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1949[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8SL, 3 cell
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099
Vostro 5460, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT630M + (32GB mSATA SSD + 500GB(5400rpm))@RM2199[1.54kg], 4GB, W8SL, 3 cell

QUOTE(Deathmax @ Jun 25 2013, 07:50 PM)
Looking for a new gaming laptop.

1. Preferred Brand : None
2. Budget : 5k
3. Usage : Gaming, newer titles such as Battlefield 3, Guild Wars 2
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14-17", preferably 1080p.
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080;matte)@RM3599[Onkyo], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]
Illegear RE-17, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3799[Onkyo], 4GB, 500(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]
Illegear RS-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX770M + (1920x1080;matte)@RM5499[Onkyo][3.1kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4930MX][GPU options: Nvidia GTX780M, AMD HD8970M] *available end of June
Lenovo Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

QUOTE(Mr.CoMoT @ Jun 25 2013, 08:57 PM)

im not sure if they will continue a newer one with G500S or else but if you are urgent to get a laptop, you can get it before the stock is finished.
about availability, not so sure about it.
raymondtong94
post Jun 26 2013, 01:07 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Lance XIII @ Jun 25 2013, 09:57 PM)
Preferred Brand: Any
Budget: around RM 2-3k
Usage: Playing games like Sims3 & hopefully 4 in the future
Preferred laptop/screen size: 14/15

*Windows8, not too heavy, and preferably detachable smile.gif
erm, what do you mean by detachable? sweat.gif
is it regarding the battery or else? anyway, your options :

Acer
V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

ASUS
A55VJ-SX093H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2499[2.52kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black

Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-3537U + AMD HD8730M@RM2499[2.32kg], 6GB, 1TB(5400rpm), 6-cell, W8SL

Lenovo
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM2999, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

prices are RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Jun 26 2013, 07:12 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Hysteridull @ Jun 26 2013, 05:23 PM)
Thanks!  biggrin.gif
I checked that out, it was kind of heavy for my liking, but that was SLI version la. I came across ASUS N56VB-S3070H, [i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2899[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8] too. I think this should be adequate enough. Funnily, it seemed lighter than 2.7kg. Anyone tried this Asus beauty out?   smile.gif
former N53 owner here, but i can conclude that N56 seems better than my previous one. my N53 is nearly 3kg at the moment, and the build material of the laptop isnt as sturdy as N56 ones.

keep in mind that ASUS products are tempting and beautiful but the warranty service is horrible. icon_rolleyes.gif
lucky that the new owner of my ASUS N53 still has it working perfectly, even after i had go through lots of gaming session with that laptop.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Jun 26 2013, 07:12 PM

29 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 >Top

0.0262sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:37 PM