140 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

MBBS siang
post Feb 22 2009, 07:28 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Feb 22 2009, 01:47 AM)
Normally, no one would assume one is over 150kg no matter how fat they are. I thought that figure was simply fictitious.. until now. No offence though. wink.gif Do some cardio and control your diet. Good luck.

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 22 2009, 07:47 AM
MBChB
post Feb 22 2009, 09:21 AM

47 posts

Don't worry. I highly doubt they will discriminate you based on your weight alone. However you might want to lose a bit of weight. It can be quite ironic in the future if you advise patient who is in a high risk group of developing IHD if you yourself are overweight to begin with. Another incentive or curse for being a doctor. You will be constantly being judge by the public in term of image since the public always view the doctor as someone who should know better when it comes to health.
Visualize
post Feb 22 2009, 12:16 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(MBChB @ Feb 22 2009, 09:21 AM)
Don't worry. I highly doubt they will discriminate you based on your weight alone. However you might want to lose a bit of weight. It can be quite ironic in the future if you advise patient who is in a high risk group of developing IHD if you yourself are overweight to begin with. Another incentive or curse for being a doctor. You will be constantly being judge by the public in term of image since the public always view the doctor as someone who should know better when it comes to health.
True. Recently, I saw some patients talking bad about a fat indian doctor in SJMC behind his back after he left. The conversation was in Hokkien and it goes something like this (direct translation):

Patient A: He know or don't know one? Ask me reduce my weight but he ownself so fat. If so serious, he early already reduce lah. What a hypocrite.
Patient's friend: Ya loh.

sweat.gif
wgy589
post Feb 22 2009, 02:29 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 21 2009, 07:52 PM)
Honestly, yes.Yesterday,I went to do a medical check up.MY family doctor tell me:"You are suspected suffered from hypertension"...150/90,but doctor not yet make sure.Its because this few days,I turn in at about 1-2am and the blood pressure are not very stable.After 5 minutes he do again then the pressure go down to 140/70...! Recently, I trying quite hard to slim down and to reduce my body weight.I have make a series of plan to lose my body weight within these few years.Haiz.......hopefully,it will not affect my medical school admission.Doctor ask me to check again on monday.

Added on February 21, 2009, 7:55 pm
thanks! of course, I will.
hey siang, being obese means u r very likely to have high bp, blood glucose and lipid level. But dun worry, u r still too young to have any medical problems. so now the priority is really to reduce ur weight. try to do it slowly, mabbe lose 1kg each month, so by the time u become an HO, u will have an ideal weight and muscular body to show off arnd in the hospital.

this is a very long commitment, just like ur medical education, so must start off slowly and be determined enough. I believe u can do it man! rclxms.gif

Added on February 22, 2009, 2:32 pm
QUOTE(Visualize @ Feb 22 2009, 12:16 PM)
True. Recently, I saw some patients talking bad about a fat indian doctor in SJMC behind his back after he left. The conversation was in Hokkien and it goes something like this (direct translation):

Patient A: He know or don't know one? Ask me reduce my weight but he ownself so fat. If so serious, he early already reduce lah. What a hypocrite.

sweat.gif
so u never heard of the cardiologist will die of heart attack, the oncologist will die of cancer, the neurologist will die of stroke, the nephrologist of renal failure.......

This post has been edited by wgy589: Feb 22 2009, 02:32 PM
Visualize
post Feb 22 2009, 03:10 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Feb 22 2009, 02:29 PM)
so u never heard of the cardiologist will die of heart attack, the oncologist will die of cancer, the neurologist will die of stroke, the nephrologist of renal failure.......
I'm refering to the view of some of the public.
TScsrulez
post Feb 22 2009, 05:33 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

QUOTE(se-ryn @ Feb 21 2009, 08:17 PM)
I dunno u la.. csrulez... haha... my fren know u though... :-D..

Added on February 21, 2009, 8:19 pmhehehehe.... i heard me frens say... aimst students that study medic all nerds wor... :-( no offence ... hehehe... :-D
Hahaa. At least i'm not a nerd. wink.gif
MBBS siang
post Feb 22 2009, 09:01 PM

582 posts

hey siang, being obese means u r very likely to have high bp, blood glucose and lipid level. But dun worry, u r still too young to have any medical problems. so now the priority is really to reduce ur weight. try to do it slowly, mabbe lose 1kg each month, so by the time u become an HO, u will have an ideal weight and muscular body to show off arnd in the hospital.

this is a very long commitment, just like ur medical education, so must start off slowly and be determined enough. I believe u can do it man! rclxms.gif
yaya! sure I can do it.wahsai!!!!show off my muscular body?haha.....hope so. rclxms.gif thanks lo beauty,haha!!! notworthy.gif

Added on February 22, 2009, 9:02 pm
QUOTE(Visualize @ Feb 22 2009, 01:16 PM)

sweat.gif
yes.you are right.haha....the hokkien always like this one.thanks for sharing your view and public view. notworthy.gif

Added on February 22, 2009, 9:08 pm
QUOTE(MBChB @ Feb 22 2009, 10:21 AM)
Thanks a lot for you view.Really thank you.Im sure i can succesfully lose my weight.Have a healthy body first will only fit to maintain public's healthy.haha....

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 22 2009, 09:08 PM
honeystarrzz
post Feb 22 2009, 11:35 PM

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 22 2009, 09:01 PM)
yaya! sure I can do it.wahsai!!!!show off my muscular body?haha.....hope so. rclxms.gif thanks lo beauty,haha!!! notworthy.gif

Added on February 22, 2009, 9:02 pm
yes.you are right.haha....the hokkien always like this one.thanks for sharing your view and public view. notworthy.gif

Added on February 22, 2009, 9:08 pm
Thanks a lot for you view.Really thank you.Im sure i can succesfully lose my weight.Have a healthy body first will only fit to maintain public's healthy.haha....
hey guys.. im interested in taking foundation in science at aimst. but the recent news about aimst is not tat assuring..

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...1747&sec=nation

will there be a problem for the students to continue studying?
what do you guys think about it ?
and how's the pharmacy students doing?? are they gonna get recognition from the board of pharmacy?
thanks for reading and please please answer my question icon_question.gif
SUSedge85
post Feb 23 2009, 05:22 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(honeystarrzz @ Feb 22 2009, 11:35 PM)
hey guys.. im interested in taking foundation in science at aimst. but the recent news about aimst is not tat assuring..

and how's the pharmacy students doing?? are they gonna get recognition from the board of pharmacy?
thanks for reading and please please answer my question  icon_question.gif
havent got recognition by the boards yet...the LAN people did come before the CNY...so i guess it's in the process...
MBBS siang
post Feb 23 2009, 07:04 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(honeystarrzz @ Feb 23 2009, 12:35 AM)

thanks for reading and please please answer my question  icon_question.gif
Im stpm leaver but I decided to do foundation in science first before doing medicine,in order to secure a place in aimst if i rejected by any medical school la.So,I think that should be no problems.That news is nothing to do with the quality of aimst but about "makan makan makan "of construction fees of aimst new campus in semeling.As limeuu and csrulez say before and I heard from my senior from UKM.The Pharmacy board "must"recognised the degree from every local Uni as long as their pioneer batch graduated ,don't care how lousy the student come out or quality of school.But,aimst actually,no need to worry la....because the things i heard about this uni is quite positive and the comments about the quality from public is quite good la.

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 23 2009, 07:30 AM
TScsrulez
post Feb 23 2009, 01:05 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

No point doing the foundation again if you've finished stpm with excellent results. It's a waste of time. Don't be afraid to apply.
MBBS siang
post Feb 23 2009, 01:55 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Feb 23 2009, 02:05 PM)
No point doing the foundation again if you've finished stpm with excellent results. It's a waste of time. Don't be afraid to apply.
Im not very confident in my official result,the real stpm is more more more difficult than the trial one.Haiz........if I get A Bio,B+Che and B+math,is there any chances?Im not very sure,but I think my result shouldn't like this lo.This is my worst expectation.Before exam,I think should be no problem to get a4.0 for my stpm but now,only can hope for it.

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 23 2009, 01:59 PM
SUSedge85
post Feb 23 2009, 05:08 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 23 2009, 01:55 PM)
Im not very confident in my official result,the real stpm is more more more difficult than the trial one.Haiz........if I get A Bio,B+Che and B+math,is there any chances?Im not very sure,but I think my result shouldn't like this lo.This is my worst expectation.Before exam,I think should be no problem to get a4.0 for my stpm but now,only can hope for it.
if that's the worse u can expect, then don't worry...there are 120 places annually

but in any case if you're still worried, just sit thru the foundation course lah...should be a peace of cake since you've been thru stpm...

this is coz stpm results should be around april? the mbbs intake is in september...and if u get 3.92..straight apply for UMS or UNIMAS lah =)
MBBS siang
post Feb 23 2009, 05:47 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Feb 23 2009, 06:08 PM)
if that's the worse u can expect, then don't worry...there are 120 places annually

but in any case if you're still worried, just sit thru the foundation course lah...should be a peace of cake since you've been thru stpm...

this is coz stpm results should be around april? the mbbs intake is in september...and if u get 3.92..straight apply for UMS or UNIMAS lah =)
limeuu
post Feb 23 2009, 05:53 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Feb 23 2009, 05:08 PM)

if you have above 3.8, and put ums or unimas as 1st choice, you stand a good chance.......this is proven in recent intake batches.......
MBBS siang
post Feb 23 2009, 10:50 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 23 2009, 06:53 PM)
if you have above 3.8, and put ums or unimas as 1st choice, you stand a good chance.......this is proven in recent intake batches.......
Thank you!Hopefully,my result can really help me at least enter IPTA(UMS or UNIMAS) or aimst.
se-ryn
post Feb 23 2009, 11:00 PM

21 posts

come aimst lah... ;-D
MBBS siang.. ur results is stpm results or wat wor... ?
wgy589
post Feb 23 2009, 11:52 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 23 2009, 05:53 PM)
I think u only saw the tip of the iceberg, there are many more rejects out there who got the same results and put Unimas/UMS as their 1st choice. so there's a slim chance someone wif 3.83/4 will get into medicine.
limeuu
post Feb 23 2009, 11:59 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Feb 23 2009, 11:52 PM)
I think u only saw the tip of the iceberg, there are many more rejects out there who got the same results and put Unimas/UMS as their 1st choice. so there's a slim chance someone wif 3.83/4 will get into medicine.
i wouldn't be surprised, but there are quite a few sub-4.0 around, and i know they only look at those who put unimas as 1st choice in the first round.......

my point is, if one is sub-4.0, it is better to just opt for the lower rank schools, rather than try um/ukm as top choices, and NOT getting anything at all in the end........
MBBS siang
post Feb 24 2009, 12:00 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(se-ryn @ Feb 24 2009, 12:00 AM)
come aimst lah... ;-D
MBBS siang.. ur results is stpm results or wat wor... ?
official result not yet out.But the trial i got 3.92 but i think that may not be my real result in STPM,the actual exam is too difficult as compared with trial,only can hope for it.So,If i luckily get the admission of aimst (ipta will better because cheaper),you will be my school mate but if I failed and do foundation,then you will be my senior lo.Haha....

Added on February 24, 2009, 12:01 am
QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 24 2009, 12:59 AM)
i wouldn't be surprised, but there are quite a few sub-4.0 around, and i know they only look at those who put unimas as 1st choice in the first round.......

my point is, if one is sub-4.0, it is better to just opt for the lower rank schools, rather than try um/ukm as top choices, and NOT getting anything at all in the end........
nod.gif nod.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Feb 24 2009, 12:01 AM

140 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0631sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:40 PM