University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

Visualize
post Jan 2 2009, 03:48 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Jan 2 2009, 03:44 PM)
huh?What?
.. I guess he meant you used the term "when" which implies you're choosing medical schools, which should be "if" since in reality, only med schools choose you. Of course, there are exceptions.
Visualize
post Jan 26 2009, 01:51 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(ilovelyn @ Jan 25 2009, 11:46 PM)
dentistry at aimst is it good??
can get job easily after grad??
Define good.
After grad, your job prospect is kinda secured as you have to work for the government for 3 years.

Visualize
post Feb 2 2009, 10:25 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Feb 2 2009, 08:33 PM)
so ter is like percentile la?

but still it's about being the best out of an 'easy' exam. like scoring 99% or 99.5% for Matematik Moden.

I think you underestimated SAM. Like limeuu said, it's not as easy as you think.

As for scoring 99% or 99.5% for math, you're talking about one achieving perfect grade of A20 which means only about 20+ students. Forgot in Malaysia or the whole population of SAM students.. And even if you score a 100% for your finals, if you screw your internals, that's it. They pull your marks down.

A real case example :

A got 26/50 percent for the internals. During finals, A got 176/200 marks for the final paper which could normally lead to A18, but because he screwed his internals, he got a B15 instead.

For the rest, limeuu already elaborated.

Visualize
post Feb 22 2009, 12:47 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Feb 21 2009, 08:16 PM)
My height is 181cm.So,normally,no one will know my body weight is over 150kg.

Added on February 21, 2009, 8:17 pm
Ok.Thanks.I must slim down.
Normally, no one would assume one is over 150kg no matter how fat they are. I thought that figure was simply fictitious.. until now. No offence though. wink.gif Do some cardio and control your diet. Good luck.

Visualize
post Feb 22 2009, 12:16 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(MBChB @ Feb 22 2009, 09:21 AM)
Don't worry. I highly doubt they will discriminate you based on your weight alone. However you might want to lose a bit of weight. It can be quite ironic in the future if you advise patient who is in a high risk group of developing IHD if you yourself are overweight to begin with. Another incentive or curse for being a doctor. You will be constantly being judge by the public in term of image since the public always view the doctor as someone who should know better when it comes to health.
True. Recently, I saw some patients talking bad about a fat indian doctor in SJMC behind his back after he left. The conversation was in Hokkien and it goes something like this (direct translation):

Patient A: He know or don't know one? Ask me reduce my weight but he ownself so fat. If so serious, he early already reduce lah. What a hypocrite.
Patient's friend: Ya loh.

sweat.gif
Visualize
post Feb 22 2009, 03:10 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Feb 22 2009, 02:29 PM)
so u never heard of the cardiologist will die of heart attack, the oncologist will die of cancer, the neurologist will die of stroke, the nephrologist of renal failure.......
I'm refering to the view of some of the public.
Visualize
post Mar 5 2009, 12:09 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Mar 5 2009, 12:02 AM)
Guy be careful when post anything! Otherwise,you will be bombarded!!!Haha..... drool.gif
Same goes to you.

And me. doh.gif

Better stop sign0014.gif before mods come.
Visualize
post Mar 11 2009, 09:26 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(nightkids89 @ Mar 11 2009, 09:19 PM)
i need to call which number if i wan to check out tat whether can tke the foundation exam directly or not?
Use www.google.com next time.

http://www.aimst.edu.my/aimst_web/misc/aim...ty_contact.html
Visualize
post Mar 12 2009, 07:43 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Mar 12 2009, 07:13 PM)
haha, u mean it will get into the same league as IMU, Manipal, PMC and Monash?
I don't think IMU and Monash are on the same league as PMC and Manipal.
Visualize
post Mar 12 2009, 07:56 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 12 2009, 07:51 PM)
imu-pms and monash are premier league......

imu-local, mmmc, pmc are 1st division....... smile.gif ...maybe can add aimst.......

the others 2nd division.......... biggrin.gif
Yeah, good example.

This post has been edited by Visualize: Mar 12 2009, 08:03 PM
Visualize
post Mar 12 2009, 11:03 PM

557 posts

Better avoid ranking uni's by yourself, may be offensive to some people.
Visualize
post Mar 16 2009, 01:34 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 16 2009, 01:08 PM)
I can't open AIMST website. WHat the requirement for Medicine and Pharmacy  for STPM leaver? Plz help...
Med - STPM B+, B+, B+ or A-, B+, B in Biology and two of the following subjects: Chemistry & Physics
Pharm - STPM Grades B, B, B in 3 subjects including Chemistry.
Visualize
post Mar 17 2009, 01:46 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 17 2009, 01:33 PM)
Actually MbbsSiang, I think you should also just try to apply to Leeds in UK. I think you just might stand a chance as a foreigner there.

But then again you could apply only later this year. Well tough time now. Good luck to you for the foundation!

(eh?could someone help me with my question above?got nervous to go to FACON for the first time)
He got financial constraints I think.
Visualize
post Mar 21 2009, 02:49 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 21 2009, 02:41 PM)
Haha, nothing beats hygiene. But come on, toilet is probably the most important place in every dorm or university.

If you say what place to upgrade in school if got extra fund etc., I say toilet! smile.gif
You really gave me my lul. biggrin.gif

0.0545sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:10 AM