haih..i kena rejected by aimst for this intake.when is the next intake for mbbs in aimst ar?
University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.
May 22 2007, 12:03 PM
54 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Melaka |
haih..i kena rejected by aimst for this intake.when is the next intake for mbbs in aimst ar?
May 22 2007, 09:29 PM
12,291 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(legstrong @ May 21 2007, 02:09 AM) I bet you've never try applying for med ? There's a reason some medical schools are not recognised in malaysia. I believe all med schools studies the same thing. It's just where you studied it i am not sure what you are trying to say...............??recognition of med schools in malaysia is a political decision, and not based on any consistent policy............... as for studying the same thing, as far as raw knowledge in the pre-clinical sciences, yes, you will all study the same things...............but when it comes to clinical years, the practices can vary widely in different countries............and you will learn the kind of practice where you are trained............. and there is wide difference in the calibre of the medical students being admitted........... |
May 23 2007, 05:08 AM
33 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(limeuu @ May 22 2007, 09:29 PM) i am not sure what you are trying to say...............?? If you've applied for med programme, you'll know it's not easy in every part of the world.Recognition in of medical schools are done by WHO under the country's recommendation,not politically. recognition of med schools in malaysia is a political decision, and not based on any consistent policy............... as for studying the same thing, as far as raw knowledge in the pre-clinical sciences, yes, you will all study the same things...............but when it comes to clinical years, the practices can vary widely in different countries............and you will learn the kind of practice where you are trained............. and there is wide difference in the calibre of the medical students being admitted........... I believe in every part of the world, during clinical phase, some scenarios are emphasized more, but it comes back to the same thing. They can't pass you when you fail in your exams. |
May 23 2007, 01:10 PM
17,053 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
May 23 2007, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(legstrong @ May 23 2007, 05:08 AM) If you've applied for med programme, you'll know it's not easy in every part of the world.Recognition in of medical schools are done by WHO under the country's recommendation,not politically. wrong on all 4 accounts..........I believe in every part of the world, during clinical phase, some scenarios are emphasized more, but it comes back to the same thing. They can't pass you when you fail in your exams. there are med schools which will take people in with very mediocre results, as long as you can pay the capitation and tuition fees.............. who do NOT "recognise" medical schools, but they register them, and compile them into a list.........that is all............. "recognition" is an act by a sovereign nation, to register graduates with the "recognised" degrees to allow them rights to practice medicine............nothing to do AT ALL with who or un........... which med schools gets recognised then may depend on a set of criteria, or just whatever the political expediency of the time............most advanced countries control recognition to safeguard the standard of health care in that country........... malaysia tend to recognise med schools the gov wants to send their scholarship students to............and not those where politically it does not want............so hence Uni of Bagdad is recognised (yes!) but NOT the Taiwan med schools............ and the usa do NOT recognise ANY medical schools out of the us and canada (not even uk and europe), all will need to sit and pass the qualifying test (umsle) to be able to register to practise............ singapore do NOT recognise any of malaysia's med schools till recently, where they decided to recognise 2, um and ukm.........and they do NOT recognise all oz med schools, only the main ones........... as to clinical differences, there are significant differences in how medicine is practised in different countries.................if you are a med student now, you may not know as you are only exposed to one system, but you will when you go practise in another country................. finally............yes, there are med schools where you can fail, and after paying the required monies, or attend the "special" tutorials, and get the "trial" exam papers...............voila...........you passed............. fyi............. This post has been edited by limeuu: May 23 2007, 06:06 PM |
May 24 2007, 03:16 PM
May 24 2007, 10:46 PM
847 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
how about other med school? there's not only 1 private med school right?
May 25 2007, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(leone5680 @ May 24 2007, 03:16 PM) very long story..... you know they got foundation intakes right? the batch which just finish are taught by different lecturer from the batch finishing in July this year..... the current batch lecturer lower the standard alot until a huge amount of them get 4.00 so now there is not enough places for their July foundation students......we as outsiders even no more chance lo unless you got cable |
May 25 2007, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(klifex @ May 24 2007, 10:46 PM) i wonder how many other educational establishment will recognised the un-benchmarked in house programme like this..............especially when they can "adjust" the marking at their will and fancy...............that is the main problem with these programmes, and this includes the matrik programme.............completely unbenchmarked internationally........ |
May 26 2007, 08:05 PM
oohh...now i understand marn.thanks for the clarification.in a perfect world,this would certainly not happen.But then again , this is NOT a perfect world.
May 28 2007, 07:32 PM
1,114 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: PJ, Selangor |
hahaa.. guys.. i'm actually one of the student dat will be entering the january 2008 MBBS intake.. will be enrolling into the pre-MBBS this Sept.. i was from the April batch foundation.. just gotten my results.. got an A+.. 2 As.. 1A- and a B+.. actually what do u mean by lecturers screwing up? not to say all.. but i feel some of our lecturers was gd.. hahaa..FYI only 5% of the foundation in April batch get 3.8 and above.. and out of that.. less than 5 ppl get CGPA 4.0.. hahaa.. i guess i've got the better info? and leone.. if u haven been accepted for the Jan 2008 intake.. the next intake will be in June 2008.. =)
May 28 2007, 08:26 PM
1,492 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Penang Islandâ„¢ |
But you can always go to other private medical college if u want to get an early admission..
May 31 2007, 11:08 AM
847 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
yea...Perak medical college, IMU, Manipal,Penang MEd College...u got money...u can apply for it...
May 31 2007, 02:27 PM
759 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
with Monash, UCSI, Cyberjaya, Allianz
Jun 4 2007, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(csrulez @ May 28 2007, 07:32 PM) hahaa.. guys.. i'm actually one of the student dat will be entering the january 2008 MBBS intake.. will be enrolling into the pre-MBBS this Sept.. i was from the April batch foundation.. just gotten my results.. got an A+.. 2 As.. 1A- and a B+.. actually what do u mean by lecturers screwing up? not to say all.. but i feel some of our lecturers was gd.. hahaa..FYI only 5% of the foundation in April batch get 3.8 and above.. and out of that.. less than 5 ppl get CGPA 4.0.. hahaa.. i guess i've got the better info? and leone.. if u haven been accepted for the Jan 2008 intake.. the next intake will be in June 2008.. =) then you probably dunno anyone in there..... i only know that they should have allocated nicely so that all 3 batches get their places but then the places were fill up even before the third batch of foundation students finish their study.....now they are force to go elsewhereQUOTE(wgy589 @ May 31 2007, 02:27 PM) cyberjaya? what school is that? got pharmacy? |
Jun 6 2007, 09:25 PM
248 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
dunno much abt it but heard many frens grad frm there in biotech COMPLAIN kao kao.....
Jun 9 2007, 11:53 PM
18 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Hi, I've been accepted into AIMST for the BDS degree...theres not very much choice in terms of universities in Malaysia for us who want to become dentists...sigh..I'm from kl, and so have to go all the way to Kedah pulak...
Is the accommodation safe? The website says that it consists of double story link houses near the campus...How is it like? Which is the best type of accommodation? 4 ppl per room...3 ppl...so on...which is the best value for money? (Sometimes 4 ppl a room could be absolutely awful, so paying 100 more a month may be far better.) How to study? What do they provide (furnishings etc) in the rooms? Can we put a microwave in...or make breakfast...kettle...at any rate something to heat water with...the website says cannot cook... And yeah, the food...Indian food mostly? I wouldn't mind...but sometimes I crave Chinese.... What is the student ratio like in terms of races? Chinese, Malay, Indians, International? Where can we buy the books we need for our studies? Can we survive on lecture notes and the library? How is the library? Books expensive! Can buy from seniors ah... When will the first batch of medic and dental students graduate? I guess when that happens the government will start recognizing the degree huh...what year did the first batch of dental students begin their studies? PTPN loan...is it guaranteed? Or try and get some other way to pay...any other way...How about scholarships? If you do well can you get a scholarship once you've started the course? Oooooo...thank you thank you everybody who answers This post has been edited by Tezuka87: Jun 12 2007, 01:20 PM |
Jun 18 2007, 07:49 PM
Alright tezuka87.. let me answer ur questions.. haha.. i was an ex foundation student there and will be back for my MBBS degree soon on Sept 17 ( currenlty holidaying now XD) and i'm from KL too! Well, i guess u really need time to adapt urself in kedah if you're "migrating' to kedah.. haha.. nice to meet you anyway..
okay.. lets see.. Accomodation is safe.. dun wry.. there are securities standing by at the entrance of the campus 24/7.. Well, currently there are no more double storey link hostels as they hav just moved into the main campus in Semeling.. its sumthing like a 5 storey apartment now.. with 3 bedrooms in each house.. Hmm.. i used to stayed in de 4 person room and it was really an unforgetable experience.. to me i feel having more ppl in the house makes my live more colourful la.. hahaa.. well, they provide a study table, bed and a cabinet for each hosteller, laundry services provided.. if i'm not mistaken.. 5kg per week FOC.. Microwave will be provided in the pantry.. kettle yes, you have to bring your own.. Erm.. cooking will not be a prob.. just that you cant use a stove.. maybe ricecookers? or slowcookers? -- Basically for the foods.. erm.. i have to say.. terrible.. haha! mayb i'm still not getting used to it yet after a year of staying there.. breakfast lunch and dinner will be provided at the cafeteria.. and normally they have 2 sections.. the chinese food and the indian food section.. and during night time.. around 8pm to 1am.. mamak stalls will be opened in the cafe for students if they're craving for suppers.. -- Hmm.. the ratio will be like 70% indians (MIC Uni) , 27% Chinese, 2% Malays and 1% international students.. the local student comes from all over malaysia including sabah and s'wak.. frm wad i see.. most of your seniors in BDS are from sabah and sarawak la.. and majority are gals.. haha.. --- Normally there are book fairs once in a while if you wanna get extra reading material.. and most of the students actually relies on the powerpoint notes given out during lectures.. erm.. from wad i experienced.. you shud be a able to get an A- if you've studied all de notes provided.. to get an A+.. well.. go to the library for extra info.. the new library is HUGE.. 3 storeys.. and nice architectural design.. however majorities of the books are catered for the medical students.. maybe part of it for the dental students.. and.. hmm.. buying books from seniors? i guess its not possible for now.. cos the seniors are at their 3rd and 2nd year only.. so i guess they still need the books.. =) --- Okay.. for MBBS ( medical).. they have currently taken in about 13 batches.. i'm the 13th.. hahaa... 1st batch will be graduating really soon by end of this year.. dey will be posted to hospitals nationwide for their housemen training.. Well, for BDS ( Dental).. Currenlt there are only 3 batches.. you're the 3rd.. meaning that the 1st batch have just gotten into their 3rd year.. so for them to graduate.. i guess there's 3 more years to go.. --- PTPTN.. not guranteed you will be getting the full amount.. but you will get it for sure.. have to try applying every year tho.. Ermm.. no scholarship for health related courses.. there are only book prizes and dean list for those top students.. -- I hope those info above will help you abit.. if you need more info bout the uni you can actually add me up at msn : csrulez2004@hotmail.com. Anyway its nice to hear that you are coming AIMST for you degree.. cos most KL-ians prefer other places instead of Kedah.. All de best to you and hope to get to know you man! Cheers. =) |
Jun 20 2007, 02:17 PM
18 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Thanks very much csrulez!!
I'll be going to AIMST in September too, 3rd September...So glad to meet you! Qing duo duo zi jiao! No stove...Well, maybe they're afraid we'll burn the place down. Got microwave then it's ok...can cook lots of things in microwaves if you know how. There! Dental student cum microwave chef coming to kedah now! (Oxymoron...never mind, I'll cut down the sugar, and brush my teeth and floss.) I guess Kedah will be kind of different-quieter maybe than kl...rice bowl of Malaysia, lovely verdant green paddy fields...clean air...not too bad. It's a good experience. AIMST campus looks really cool on the website. Thanks so much..Hope to meet you at AIMST! AIMST is the cheapest place to do dentistry, especially since i didn't get dentistry for local uni This post has been edited by Tezuka87: Jun 20 2007, 03:26 PM |
Jun 20 2007, 08:15 PM
No probs.. Well, i'm supposed to promote AIMST cause not many people actually heard of that uni before..
Yeah, i will say that it's a perfect place for studying cause there're not much entertainment out there.. we normally travel to Penang which is like an hour journey from SP once in a while for movies and nice food.. hahaaa.. alright! i have a few frens doing BDS too.. hope to meet you there! but how do i actually recognize u? haha.. i will say that it might be one of the best dental school in m'sia cause they're actuallyw working on a Dental Hospital and it seems that we have the most dental chairs among the dental faculties in M'sia.. Ok! all de best to you future dentist! =) |
| Change to: | 0.0186sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:09 PM |