140 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

iori
post Mar 26 2007, 01:54 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(chicks @ Apr 22 2006, 08:11 AM)
actually is the people here, they kinda racism or can say they dont like foreigners.
I'm in NNSMA, not moscow. I'm not sure bout moscow,but for a "not white" to walk at street,you're in a threat of being beaten up anytime.
I dont know how the russian thinks,but is just their way they are.
which year u in?? i'm also from NNSMA...
sujend
post Mar 26 2007, 12:30 PM

627 posts

DARKMAGE...I HAVE friend with 2a's and 2b's doing medical degree directly after stpm!! and a friend with 1'a's and 3b;s doing pre-med to qualify for the degree!!..
conclusion..AIMST MACAM2 RAGAM!!
Darkmage12
post Mar 26 2007, 03:19 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(sujend @ Mar 26 2007, 12:30 PM)
DARKMAGE...I HAVE friend with 2a's and 2b's doing medical degree directly after stpm!! and a friend with 1'a's and 3b;s doing pre-med to qualify for the degree!!..
conclusion..AIMST MACAM2 RAGAM!!
1a 3b he doing foundation ah? i dun wan med le you wan med issit?
limeuu
post Mar 26 2007, 03:21 PM

12,291 posts

this thread highlights a major problem with medical schol entry process in theis country..........ie the lack of consistent criteria being applied across the kleidoscope of medical training options for malaysians.........from ipta, to private med schools to cheap foreign ones in russia and indonesia and to prohibitively expensive world class ones in the first world...........

unlike most other countries, where selection is stringent and only the best of the youth are selected, there are lots of "backdoor" opportunities here.............

as long as you have money, and a willingness to venture to unknown destinations, all for the sake of having a dr in front of you name, and potentially lots of money...........one can get into a medical school somewhere, even with mediocre matriculation results.........

this "not necessary selecting the best" phenomena occur across all the sectors, ipta included.........an inevitable outcome when other agendas come into play, other than the search for brightest and altruistic of youths.............

hence this discussion..........straight As students unsure of their worth, and others with lesser results getting in instead...........
sujend
post Mar 26 2007, 03:35 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 26 2007, 03:21 PM)
this thread highlights a major problem with medical schol entry process in theis country..........ie the lack of consistent criteria being applied across the kleidoscope of medical training options for malaysians.........from ipta, to private med schools to cheap foreign ones in russia and indonesia and to prohibitively expensive world class ones in the first world...........

unlike most other countries, where selection is stringent and only the best of the youth are selected, there are lots of "backdoor" opportunities here.............

as long as you have money, and a willingness to venture to unknown destinations, all for the sake of having a dr in front of you name, and potentially lots of money...........one can get into a medical school somewhere, even with mediocre matriculation results.........

this "not necessary selecting the best" phenomena occur across all the sectors, ipta included.........an inevitable outcome when other agendas come into play, other than the search for brightest and altruistic of youths.............

hence this discussion..........straight As students unsure of their worth, and others with lesser results getting in instead...........
uhh..who said so?..good results not enough money oso lead a lot of people end up studying in russia and etc!!
scoring 2a's 2b's is not bad at all!!..stop looking down upon otherslaa!!
great distinction in examination doesnt gurantee a good doctor!!
and about the other tread...(min require for PRE-MED IS 4B'S AND NOT FOR MEDICAL DEGREE)..ITS REALLY UP TO one to choose his career pathway!!...
u just be happy for them and stop critisizing about others!!

limeuu
post Mar 26 2007, 03:43 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(sujend @ Mar 26 2007, 03:35 PM)
uhh..who said so?..good results not enough money oso lead a lot of people end up studying in russia and etc!!
scoring 2a's 2b's is not bad at all!!..stop looking down upon otherslaa!!
great distinction in examination doesnt gurantee a good doctor!!
and about the other tread...(min require for PRE-MED IS 4B'S AND NOT FOR MEDICAL DEGREE)..ITS REALLY UP TO one to choose his career pathway!!...
u just be happy for them and stop critisizing about others!!
you failed to get my point.............i am not saying 2a2b is bad, just that there is no consistency in selection process............so you have flat 4 students not getting in say oz med schools, because of the intense competition, but a 3.0 will qualify to get into russia..............

the whole med education thing is POORLY mamaged in malaysia..............

sujend
post Mar 26 2007, 03:48 PM

627 posts

not medical ecuation is poorly managed!!
the quata system+bumi concept+ exam oriented sys = source of all probs

seriously so many friends of mine..who are rich are studying medic in us and aus..and not so rich are in russia since its the cheapest option!!
most of them in russia are with 11a's and 12a's in spm...doin their pre-med there!!

limeuu
post Mar 26 2007, 03:55 PM

12,291 posts

that is my point lah............why must "rich" ones go to first world, and poor ones go to 3rd world?

any sensible country will make sure the right candidates are selected, based on predetermined consistent set of criteria, and NOT on whether you can afford it...........
iori
post Mar 26 2007, 04:31 PM

253 posts

i got friend got CGPA 3.0 going to ireland study med, 6 yrs cource...
ireland dublin uni can accept student with 3.0(need to study 6 yrs)
3.5 above is 5 yrs... it's depend on how long u need to study. in russia, no matter u finish pre med or stpm, u need to study back bio, chem, and bio from the 1st years. that what happen in here. by the way, i think after 5-6 yrs, the doc in m'sia majority is grad from india n russia... becz jpa and mara keep sending student there...

i don't know why got SOMEONE keep look down russia and india, these country got their own good, like my prof, his is not 40 yet. but he get a phd in doc from europe country, he do lot of research, and work for the WHO, at the same time is teaching us pathology, the most basic and important of the medicine...
limeuu
post Mar 26 2007, 05:29 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(iori @ Mar 26 2007, 04:31 PM)
i got friend got CGPA 3.0 going to ireland study med, 6 yrs cource...
ireland dublin uni can accept student with 3.0(need to study 6 yrs)
3.5 above is 5 yrs... it's depend on how long u need to study. in russia, no matter u finish pre med or stpm, u need to study back bio, chem, and bio from the 1st years. that  what happen in here. by the way, i think after 5-6 yrs, the doc in m'sia majority is grad from india n russia... becz jpa and mara keep sending student there...

i don't know why got SOMEONE keep look down russia and india, these country got their own good, like my prof, his is not 40 yet. but he get a phd in doc from europe country, he do lot of research, and work for the WHO, at the same time is teaching us pathology, the most basic and important of the medicine...
lori, if this is the level of english we can expect from graduates from russia, i worry for the future of health care in malaysia............

what did you get for spm english and 1119?

you have just highlighted one of the the basic problems with med education in malaysia, people with poor results being accepted.................while those with flat 4's worry about getting a place.................

actually you are right, there are good med schools there, just that many wrong candidates get in.............
iori
post Mar 26 2007, 07:56 PM

253 posts

wat u aspect all the lyn member come in the forum to type te correct vocab and all the tense?? ok la... nex tim i'l try to improve a bit to let som SMART guy lik u 2 understand....

u need to know in local uni have been set the % btw the races students. plus this 2 years got many chinese come out from matrik, all cgpa 4.0flat. aiya, every year also the same stories la... no ned to talk about it again...boring...

for the russian uni, if u not pass d exam, they still kick u out... got some case before...

what ever u want to tell, plz continue... i think i got not thing to tell... end of the story... bye...

p/s : i know my eng sucx, but i will try to improved it. u need to know that is very hard for the student from a malay school...(not all)

and if u realy scare about the future m'sia health care, faster run away from m'sia...lol...(just an opinion, a lot of my fren wish to run out... to aus, nz...)
Darkmage12
post Mar 26 2007, 08:08 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

here all ppl wan take medic ah?
limeuu
post Mar 26 2007, 08:26 PM

12,291 posts

no i do not expect the general lyn forumers to be perfect in english........

however, i expect anyone who gets into medicine, to have a minimum standard of ability, languages included, in this case english.

in fact, based on the dumbing down of spm, and the fact some 4000 gets straight a's i think nobody who gets less than a's in the core subjects (sciences, math, english)(some 8000 of them) should even think of doing medicine.............there are enough from that cohort who are interested and able to do medicine..............

and no med school should take them in............but the reality is, many foreign med schools from the 3rd world, "sells" places to the highest bidder, and as long as you can get a few credits and pay the fees, they are happy to take you in................

that is my problem..............not saying that the med schools in russia/indonesia/india are no good, but the fact that they compromise on their intake criteria to take in people for money...............tells something about the commercialisation of education..........

don't get me wrong, save for a few countries, and a few well known universities, all universities are also selling education............the difference is how selection takes place................in the quality of students taken in, lies the quality of the school.............
iori
post Mar 26 2007, 09:56 PM

253 posts

luckily i'm not one of them who buy the seat... and my roommate got 3a 1b in stpm...bro, u need to know that now enter to russia medic uni need the letter of approve(soli, i don't know wat's that name...) from moe, m'sia...

i know that many of straight A can't get into the med school... but the main prob is local uni didn't have enough of place, this stories keep repeating every yrs and the answer stil the same...

we can't do any thing than that, not enough hospital, lec, uni seats.... the other ways to study med are going to IMU, PMC, overseas and etc. but the main prob is $$...
leone5680
post Mar 26 2007, 11:54 PM

54 posts

wah...so many ppl wan take medic..maybe we should start a thread on med schools? Just a tot.Cheers.
TScsrulez
post May 20 2007, 02:10 AM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

heylo guys! i'm back.. haha.. after so long.. finished my foundation in science in april.. btw i was from foundation in science April 06/07 batch.. just gotten my final results.. 4As for the 4 science subjects and a B+ for my english.. hahaa.. total marks was 237 and grades for 3 best science subject was AAA.. Min requirement for Foundation students to enter medicine is that he/she must have the total mark of 215 and his/her grades must be ABB.. i will be enrolling in 2008 Jan MBBS intake this September.. cos gonna undergo the 3 months pre-MBBS programme 1st.. so any of you guys here are planning to come over to AIMST? i might be able to help to answer a question or two since i've been studying there for a year already.. will be continueing my 5 years MBBS over there too.. hehe.. =D
post May 20 2007, 02:17 AM

391 posts

get an offer letter for AIMST but didnt layan it. feel that the fees kinda exp.
TScsrulez
post May 20 2007, 11:52 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

offer letter for wad programme?
legstrong
post May 21 2007, 02:09 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 26 2007, 08:26 PM)

but the reality is, many foreign med schools from the 3rd world, "sells" places to the highest bidder, and as long as you can get a few credits and pay the fees, they are happy to take you in................

that is my problem..............not saying that the med schools in russia/indonesia/india are no good, but the fact that they compromise on their intake criteria to take in people for money...............tells something about the commercialisation of education..........

don't get me wrong, save for a few countries, and a few well known universities, all universities are also selling education............the difference is how selection takes place................in the quality of students taken in, lies the quality of the school.............
I bet you've never try applying for med ? There's a reason some medical schools are not recognised in malaysia. I believe all med schools studies the same thing. It's just where you studied it
Vint
post May 21 2007, 12:03 PM

ºI'm ♫♪♫♪♫♪..
1,492 posts

QUOTE(606088 @ May 20 2007, 02:17 AM)
get an offer letter for AIMST but didnt layan it. feel that the fees kinda exp.
medic fees is always exp....but aimst is considered the cheapest private instituition in msia....220k only if i'm not mistaken...

140 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:51 AM