140 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

ark890
post Jul 14 2008, 04:14 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(jayelleenelial @ Jul 14 2008, 03:02 AM)
I think you are getting sleepy. Your sentence structure is seriously sucking.
Again, you are assuming. Maybe you should just stick to your Samy Vellu bashing seeing as that is your only ammo.

Till the day we get bad press about the way studies are conducted OR if any of our graduates made a boo-boo in his respective field, then we may continue this conversation. Till you see results(or lack of it), then you judge.

I feel it is pointless for you to argue with me about the credibility of my lecturers. But because I missed out on a few things when I talked about my colourful lecturers from my faculty: My dean himself was the dean of the school of dentistry of Hong Kong University. He helped set up the school of dentistry there alongside the help of his assistant dean back then who also transferred over here to join him. Before that, he was the dean at The London Hospital dental School. We've got an Indonesian professor on board, a chinese ex-NUS lecturer who is teaching us orthodontics, two malay dental tech lecturers, two indian clinical lecturers, a Malay lady who is a retiree from the Ministry Of Oral health and is currently our Dental Public Health lecturer, one indian local anesthesia lecturer and a few others who are taking care of the other years. Oh, and two white lecturers who have beautiful resumes who are our Oral Physiology/Biochemistry lecturer and our Oral Microanatomy lecturer.

Please say the word Indian again.

Also, are you clear about the way I study? Are you sure that the only way I study is by memorizing? Maybe I need to take a photo of all the books I bought in my room that I refer to when I use my slides as headlines. Don't judge me if you don't know my studying style.
.... ok, I don't think I've got alzheimers and I've only sat for my last yr3 final paper like three weeks ago. I clearly remember that I only had to write my ID Number, the date and the subject of the paper. My dear, please get your facts right before laughing. smile.gif
My sentence structure sucking and how does it not sound nice to you? You're the one who started comparing the life of cats laugh.gif

For once I agree about not arguing with you about your lecturers accomplishments.Most universities would have a dean in their respective academic departments with impressive track records. Appreciate the effort in detailed breakdown of your dentistry academic department up there but how about the medical/surgery dept.?

Tell me if MIC is not the main fund raiser for your university then where did they get their funds from?

About your way of studying who dares question your method?Read carefully again what I've said.I did not refer nor I said it was your method of studying directly in my last post.I said "if" you can manage passes by just depending entirely on lectures it makes the situation no different than spoon feeding.Got it?
You really need sleep, the impulsive temper is deterring you from debating with openly with me with a clear state of mind.

I'm not questioning your memory or anything but when you have requirements like referring students with ID only makes it seems like something amidst.It's not without flaws though.What makes you think that your student database is secure enough not for them to do look-ups?

Added on July 14, 2008, 4:24 am
QUOTE(edge85 @ Jul 14 2008, 03:02 AM)
Hey, how come only she gets replied! I'm STILL waiting for mine.

Spoon feeding? I think that happens in most parts of Asia. BUT, mind you we have PBL. Lots and lots of PBL. Half of our dental lecturers are Brits, so we do get the best of both worlds. And it's the clinical phase which will really determine how good you are.

And come on, the ID system is for confidentiality and official purposes. As professionals, would discriminating do any good to any party? I don't think so. It's not that the lecturer will win what, more votes? i.e. there's no reason for discrimination at university levels (I don't know about IPTAs tho). Besides, 80% of my batchmates are Chinese. And everyone is doing fairly fine.

Speaking of discrimination, aren't you a Malaysian? Get used to it.

Isn't it obvious that you're now turning to English. Running dry on Google-facts? Whatever happened to Sami Vellu lol...

Anyway, maybe you like facts. Here's our dean. Try this: http://www.nature.com/bdj/journal/v186/n4/full/4800050a.html if it means anything at all.
Sorry for not answering your 2nd last post previously.

I did not want to answer because I felt it was unnecessary to condemn the indian medical standards and further cause racial tensions.

There's been a whole lot of cases happening in the world recently.Haven't you heard?

Recently an indian surgeon in the US operated on a patient's wrong lung?
http://www.expressindia.com/latest-news/In...ng-lung/328213/

Have you heard of Dr. Death from Australia who was responsible for the lives of 17 people with his wrong diagnosis?

Have you heard of organ selling trades?

There you go..for the reasons I lost trust in Indian medical standards.

This post has been edited by ark890: Jul 14 2008, 04:28 AM
Jace
post Jul 18 2008, 11:09 AM

edge85, which course r u in? Medic or dentistry? 80% chinese? that's nice...i feel dat aimst's students r nice, we dont c colourful heads everywhere like in other colleges n uni. They never ponteng BUT the lecturers to ponteng very much.............they suka suka cancel class n then din even gif us a good reason for that. N when they replace classes, they never check whether the classroom is available or not. Juz ask us go there n then we kena kicked out bcz there's other ppl using it. Then we hav 2 go bec 2 our hostel...dam wasting time la....i hope da degree lecturers are not like that...

i'm thinking of changing to manipal. I heard da t aimst's foundation cert is accepted byu manipal n i can go there for my degree. Is dat true?
TScsrulez
post Jul 18 2008, 11:52 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

Hey Jace,

Am not sure how your foundation lecturers are doing over there, but i can gurantee that the degree lecturers are not like that. Lectures posponed are quite unusual but it still happens due to certain circumstances. But all the classes will be replaced accordingly, no worries on missing out on the syllabus. Foundation wise i'm not too sure, but i think self study will be more useful cause that's what we used to do during out foundation times. Used to ponteng alot cause of the boring lectures. Hahaa.

Anyways yeah, AIMST Foundation cert is recognised in Manipal/MMMC. In fact, few of my foundation mates have decided to pursue their medical course there and they've just finished their first year there. But i find no point in transferring to Manipal as AIMST is already like a "Manipal in Malaysia". Most of the medical lecturers are originated from India, and their good at their respective fields. Besides that, we've a mix of local, Mauritius, UK, Ireland etc lecturers. Plus, why pay 80k more when you can get the same recognised MBBS degree. Haha. Just my humble opinion. wink.gif

This post has been edited by csrulez: Jul 19 2008, 12:02 AM
SUSedge85
post Jul 19 2008, 04:58 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(ark890 @ Jul 14 2008, 04:14 AM)

I did not want to answer because I felt it was unnecessary to condemn the indian medical standards and further cause racial tensions.

There's been a whole lot of cases happening in the world recently.Haven't you heard?

Have you heard of Dr. Death from Australia who was responsible for the lives of 17 people with his wrong diagnosis?

There're bound to be black sheeps where ever you go la. It's not fair to judge a race just because of one person's fault. Operating in the wrong lung; you can't blame his school for that. If he's a surgeon, he must've did his post grad somewhere but not from India. Plus, the surgery must have been performed by a group of professionals. But still, yeah it's his fault la.

Following all your previous post, you must a god damned racist. I wouldn't dare to admit that the Caucasians are flawless too.

QUOTE(Jace @ Jul 18 2008, 11:09 AM)
edge85, which course r u in? Medic or dentistry? 80% chinese? that's nice...i feel dat aimst's students r nice, we dont c colourful heads everywhere like in other colleges n uni. They never ponteng BUT the lecturers to ponteng very much.............they suka suka cancel class n then din even gif us a good reason for that. N when they replace classes, they never check whether the classroom is available or not. Juz ask us go there n then we kena kicked out bcz there's other ppl using it. Then we hav 2 go bec 2 our hostel...dam wasting time la....i hope da degree lecturers are not like that...

i'm thinking of changing to manipal. I heard da t aimst's foundation cert is accepted byu manipal n i can go there for my degree. Is dat true?
I guess that's why AIMST foundation, I have to admit la...suck balls. Au contraire, the degree ones are a total opposite. Guess you'll just have to bear with that, or write into a newspaper so they'll wake up. I see the students also pek chek. These people wanna be doctors? WHY MUST EVERYBODY WANT TO BE DOCTORS?! Sien lan douz.

Yes, I do teeth.
Jace
post Jul 23 2008, 01:25 PM

oic...i'm also planning to take up dentistry after my foundation. So how's da course? is it ok? lecturers ok ? I was talking to a dentistry 1st yr student d other day. She said most of the lecturers r britons?? n she told me her yr not much frm foundation. Mostly are frm stpm or a-levels. I really hope nobody frm foundation wanna take up dentistry nex yr then i dnt hav to compete for a place...muahahahaha....

i got a question tho...if those who took up foundation n then cant get into the degree courses then how? there r arnd 600 students in dis yr's foundation n there's only 120places for medic, 60 for dentistry, 60 for pharmacy n dunno how much for biotech. So the remaining who cant get a place where do they go ??? i'm really curious lol....

And, is da foundation exam hard? my lecturers make it sounds soooo hard...i'm starting to worry now...T.T
TScsrulez
post Jul 23 2008, 02:08 PM

1,114 posts

200 for medic starting next year, 50 for BDS, 50 for pharm and unlimited for biotech. But places will be increased, just that we're not sure when. You know aimst. Haha.

And no worries of not getting into the degree programmes as long as you've fulfilled the minimum requirement, 215 for medic, 195 for dent and 175 for pharm if i've not remembered wrongly. Just that you need to compete for the earliest intake, else you'll be placed on the waiting list which you need to wait for a year for the next intake. And every year, though there are many foundation students, to be true many did not come back for aimst's degree programme. Reasons being not qualified, ran to other unis or repeating the foundation programme. Like my batch, April 06/07. Out of 240 students, only 50+ came back for medic, around 15+ for dent and 30+ for pharm. So no worries on not getting a place, just study hard, get your results and your place will be secured for sure.

Foundation exam is not tough if compared to STPM, A levels etc, what we always do during our time was last minute studies. Find it really effective but pls, don't learn. Still, have lotsa fun during your foundation, things will be no longer the same when you come to degree. Haha. Well, just follow the lecture notes, do abit of practices esp on chem and maths, you will definitely have no problem in scoring even an A+ for the final examination. Don't make it tough for yourself, trust your ability and don't listen to how the lecturer scares you. Believe in yourself. =)

jayelleenelial
post Jul 23 2008, 08:17 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Jace @ Jul 23 2008, 02:25 PM)
oic...i'm also planning to take up dentistry after my foundation. So how's da course? is it ok? lecturers ok ? I was talking to a dentistry 1st yr student d other day. She said most of the lecturers r britons?? n she told me her yr not much frm foundation. Mostly are frm stpm or a-levels. I really hope nobody frm foundation wanna take up dentistry nex yr then i dnt hav to compete for a place...muahahahaha....

i got a question tho...if those who took up foundation n then cant get into the degree courses then how? there r arnd 600 students in dis yr's foundation n there's only 120places for medic, 60 for dentistry, 60 for pharmacy n dunno how much for biotech. So the remaining who cant get a place where do they go ??? i'm really curious lol....

And, is da foundation exam hard? my lecturers make it sounds soooo hard...i'm starting to worry now...T.T
Hi future Junior! smile.gif if that's the case, I think you'll be the 5th batch of dental students. I'll be your super-super-super senior then. So old already, haihs.

The course will be even better by the time your batch comes around. smile.gif My class is the 1st batch and though there are some hiccups and for us, most things are planned along the way.... it'll definitely be easier as the ground rules have been laid down by the time you've entered the course.

The lectueres are all very dedicated and with them, you will feel like you're one big family. they all know us by name and we exchange jokes..basically it's very easy going if you're wondering how they are. Professionally, they also know their stuff. In Year1, we are not that close to our lecturers as they are from the medical faculty but with super amazing qualifications to intimidate us. So you are in good hands.

it's true that most are from STPM..not too sure about A-levels. I'm from A-levels though:) Yeah, this year only 16 people from matriculation in the 4th batch. They are doing their pre-dentistry course as of now. I heard that the places for dentistry has been upped to 75!! Quite crazy, but good also lah for those who are interested to pursue the course. My classmates and I make up 37. The two other junior batches have 50 students each.

If you have anymore questions, just ask. smile.gif We'll try our best to answer what we know.

TScsrulez
post Jul 23 2008, 11:29 PM

1,114 posts

Yeah, lecturers here at aimst seriously know their stuffs, no doubt on that. Today we have this inspiring talk by a well known young cardiothoracic surgeon, Eric Lim from UK. And guess what, he's actually a student of our current VC, Prof Geoffrey Smith! Just got to know that our VC's actually a Professor of Cardiac Surgery from University of Sheffield with 30 years of experience in cardiothoracic surgery and heart transplant. Plus, he was the ex-president for the Cardiothoracic Surgeons Society of Great Britain and Ireland and visiting academician for unis in the Middle East and Sweeden as well. It kind of surprised me.

Therefore, the only thing i can tell you here is that, AIMST is no doubt a great uni filled with great people. I'm glad to be here and will definitely be proud to graduate as an AIMST doctor anytime soon in the future. =)

This post has been edited by csrulez: Jul 23 2008, 11:32 PM
SUSedge85
post Jul 24 2008, 03:25 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

QUOTE(csrulez @ Jul 23 2008, 02:08 PM)
200 for medic starting next year, 50 for BDS, 50 for pharm and unlimited for biotech. But places will be increased, just that we're not sure when. You know aimst. Haha.

And no worries of not getting into the degree programmes as long as you've fulfilled the minimum requirement, 215 for medic, 195 for dent and 175 for pharm if i've not remembered wrongly. Just that you need to compete for the earliest intake, else you'll be placed on the waiting list which you need to wait for a year for the next intake. And every year, though there are many foundation students, to be true many did not come back for aimst's degree programme. Reasons being not qualified, ran to other unis or repeating the foundation programme. Like my batch, April 06/07. Out of 240 students, only 50+ came back for medic, around 15+ for dent and 30+ for pharm. So no worries on not getting a place, just study hard, get your results and your place will be secured for sure.

Foundation exam is not tough if compared to STPM, A levels etc, what we always do during our time was last minute studies. Find it really effective but pls, don't learn. Still, have lotsa fun during your foundation, things will be no longer the same when you come to degree. Haha. Well, just follow the lecture notes, do abit of practices esp on chem and maths, you will definitely have no problem in scoring even an A+ for the final examination. Don't make it tough for yourself, trust your ability and don't listen to how the lecturer scares you. Believe in yourself. =)
No wonder people say our foundation intake is dubious. Last minute studying also can get thru.
limeuu
post Jul 24 2008, 07:24 AM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Jul 24 2008, 03:25 AM)
No wonder people say our foundation intake is dubious. Last minute studying also can get thru.
it's unbenchmarked, and thus of unknown standard and ranking.......not cross recognised by most other uni....especially for popular courses like health sciences.....

somewhat like the gov matrik......
TScsrulez
post Jul 24 2008, 01:36 PM

1,114 posts

Yup, i admit that our own foundation prgramme has no standard at all if compared to other qualifications like STPM, A levels etc. It's probably even easier to get through if compared to the govt matrix, but the thing is at least it has prepared me well for my current degree programme. I do not find any prob in understanding anything throughout my course till now. After all, that's what a pre-u course is all about right? =)
SUSedge85
post Jul 24 2008, 08:08 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

Then that makes these graduates more inferior right? Hopefully the degree programme gets more difficult as it progresses to filter out the really inferior ones.
TScsrulez
post Jul 24 2008, 10:34 PM

1,114 posts

Yeah definitely, the degree programmes are no longer like the foundation. No more honeymoon-ing. There are quite a number of dropouts especially in year one, approximately 10-20% per intake. No more last minutes.

Btw, the long awaited opening ceremony of our campus will most prolly fall on the 17th of August. Our PM, Badawi will be here to officiate the ceremony. That's the info i got from the MMC and MQA ppl during the high tea this morning. FYI. wink.gif
SUSedge85
post Jul 25 2008, 11:36 AM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

Apparently he's gonna be visiting three places in particular; the anatomy museum, the dental clinic, and dunno-what. Too bad we're all having our summer holidays now heh.
jayelleenelial
post Jul 25 2008, 12:28 PM

153 posts

the pioneer batch is asked to come back to stand in the clinic in our full scrubs and shake hands with badawi.

I'll be in Langkawi man.
hypermax
post Jul 25 2008, 01:06 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(ark890 @ Jul 14 2008, 04:14 AM)
My sentence structure sucking and how does it not sound nice to you? You're the one who started comparing the life of cats laugh.gif

For once I agree about not arguing with you about your lecturers accomplishments.Most universities would have a dean in their respective academic departments with impressive track records. Appreciate the effort in detailed breakdown of your dentistry academic department up there but how about the medical/surgery dept.?

Tell me if MIC is not the main fund raiser for your university then where did they get their funds from?

About your way of studying who dares question your method?Read carefully again what I've said.I did not refer nor I said it was your method of studying directly in my last post.I said "if" you can manage passes by just depending entirely on lectures it makes the situation no different than spoon feeding.Got it?
You really need sleep, the impulsive temper is deterring you from debating with openly with me with a clear state of mind.

I'm not questioning your memory or anything but when you have requirements like referring students with ID only makes it seems like something amidst.It's not without flaws though.What makes you think that your student database is secure enough not for them to do look-ups?

Added on July 14, 2008, 4:24 am

Conclusion, you are a bloody racist who knows nothing about medicine yet wanna act like you know a lot. doh.gif There are many such fools in this forum already. We seriously don't need more. whistling.gif
Come on, since when the quality of medical education depends on the race of the lecturers? rclxub.gif
I bet you haven't been to gov hospital. Many Malay and Chinese doctors screwed up as well.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Jul 25 2008, 01:40 PM
TScsrulez
post Aug 6 2008, 05:44 PM

1,114 posts

I agree with hypermax. wink.gif

Nyways, quoted from NST 2008/08/06.

" Earlier, the MIC chief announced that Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi would open the party's Asian Institute of Medicine, Science and Technology in Semeling, Kedah, on Aug 17. He said the RM500 million AIMST would hold its first convocation in October this year with about 300 medical and bio-technology graduands. "

At last, i'd say. Haha.

This post has been edited by csrulez: Aug 6 2008, 05:48 PM
onelove89
post Aug 7 2008, 07:53 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

um, can i ask something? is AIMST cert only recognised in malaysia? and can I have a lil more info regarding the lecturers and the study environment? =) Thanks~
TScsrulez
post Aug 7 2008, 08:05 PM

1,114 posts

Erm, depends which course u're interested in. So far all the courses here are accredited by MQA (Malaysia Qualification Agency) and our med degree/ MBBS is recognised by MOH and MMC. 3 Batches are already out and the 4th has currently finished their elective postings and is waiting for interviews by JPA.

Lecturers wise, good and quite experienced. Mostly indians with a mixed of locals, a few clinical lects from uk etc. Study environment, i'd also say dat it's not bad. Due to the lack of entertainment outlets around this place and also we've got very good facillities around. wink.gif

AIMST people, mind to explain further? Haha.
hypermax
post Aug 7 2008, 08:17 PM

2,524 posts

One thing weird about AIMST is, its degree has yet to be listed in IMED, which means a grad of AIMST cannot take licensing exams like USMLE and PLAB. Normally, once the medical school is recognized by the respective country, it will be listed in IMED.

IMED

Btw, PMC is not listed under Malaysia, but Ireland. So it's an Irish degree. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 7 2008, 08:20 PM

140 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0314sec    1.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:15 PM