New tyre to the front or to the rear.., Your choice....
TSBuFung
Mar 30 2013, 05:59 PM, updated 13y ago
Let's make ur choice and we discuss it out later after we collect enough answer....
Thanks...
This can be a general knowledge for all....
This post has been edited by BuFung: Mar 30 2013, 06:00 PM
TSBuFung
Mar 30 2013, 06:06 PM
You may also tell ur reason why put it in front or rear...
BeeDeePee
Mar 30 2013, 06:10 PM
KenDiriwan
Mar 30 2013, 06:10 PM
Depends : FF car i'll use better one for front and vice versa for FR.
Because usage and tyre wear will surely different.
Meowman
Mar 30 2013, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(BuFung @ Mar 30 2013, 05:59 PM) Let's make ur choice and we discuss it out later after we collect enough answer.... Thanks... This can be a general knowledge for all.... Best tires to the rear. If the front tires slip you can still steer out of danger. If the rear tires slip all you need to do is pray http://www.cartalk.com/content/why-should-...o-back-find-outhttp://www.tirereview.com/article/81718/al..._rear_axle.aspx
TSBuFung
Mar 30 2013, 06:27 PM
Ya... Most of us think newer tyre should be in front. The actual fact is the better grip tyre shall be in rear....
This is more important than you have any ESP/vsc in ur car....
Hope thread get pin and others aware of this...
bennedict82
Mar 30 2013, 06:32 PM
I voted wrongly. I always put on front wheel because better tyre will avoid slip.
6UE5T
Mar 30 2013, 06:36 PM
I put new tires to which ever axle will wear it out faster. The reason is to try even out the wear. Having said that I always rotate every 10k km in order to try even out wear if all new tires, so when comes time to change it will be for all 4 tires at once. Note that this is assuming front & rear are the same size (not staggered). For my current ride, I cannot do that anymore since it's staggered sizes, so can only rotate left/right.
heavenly91
Mar 30 2013, 06:38 PM
Change all one shot. I dun like to be cheapskate when it comes to tires. Tires = control = ur life
jepakazoid_82
Mar 30 2013, 07:22 PM
For safety reason new tyre at rear.
kadajawi
Mar 30 2013, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 30 2013, 06:36 PM) I put new tires to which ever axle will wear it out faster. The reason is to try even out the wear. Having said that I always rotate every 10k km in order to try even out wear if all new tires, so when comes time to change it will be for all 4 tires at once. Note that this is assuming front & rear are the same size (not staggered). For my current ride, I cannot do that anymore since it's staggered sizes, so can only rotate left/right. How to rotate left right? And why? I just replace them all at once...
fadzly
Mar 30 2013, 08:43 PM
Why my perokdua change the front tire only?? Damn them. Wont go for them anymore.
megat89
Mar 30 2013, 08:49 PM

new tyre, put in front, rear all nearly botak tyre..because front is where your car braking force act most..unless if your car is super long like mpv/limo, or tail-heavy,i dont think if it is gonna make any significant different to lose control of the rear..just my 2 cents..i could be wrong though..
This post has been edited by megat89: Mar 30 2013, 08:50 PM
zerouzer
Mar 30 2013, 09:19 PM

basically i should always make sure rear tire is in better condition than front for my jazz and fiesta?
MR_alien
Mar 30 2013, 09:23 PM
change all in 1 shot if have money or the cheaper alternative would be change whichever is due changing if the front botak, thn change both the front usually the rear is not longer behind
theanswer
Mar 30 2013, 11:24 PM
better change all. most ff car prone to suffer understeer, if put botak tyre at front..corner+braking the weight and load will shift to the front. front tyre will always take more load and grip when braking. some people might think understeer is easier to correct than oversteer, but how many of use here really2 expert in controlling the car?
theanswer
Mar 30 2013, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(fadzly @ Mar 30 2013, 08:43 PM) Why my perokdua change the front tire only?? Damn them. Wont go for them anymore. standard practice.
6UE5T
Mar 30 2013, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 30 2013, 07:46 PM) How to rotate left right? And why? I just replace them all at once... Just take out your left and put it on right and vice versa, but can do only for non directional tires. If directional then have to take out the tires from the rims, put it back with opposite direction, then switch left-right. It's just to try even out the wear as much as possible so that later can replace together, like you said. This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Mar 30 2013, 11:36 PM
kadajawi
Mar 31 2013, 12:42 AM
Normally inside and outside is defined on the tyres... Also there shouldn't really be different wear... unless you have too much chamber or something is wrong with the car... or you are a NASCAR driver.
Some people say not to swap left right, and turning them around sounds like a bad idea. It costs money, I didn't ever notice a difference in wear from one side to another, and it may have handling disadvantages. So... not really worth it IMHO.
Icehart
Mar 31 2013, 12:46 AM
QUOTE(megat89 @ Mar 30 2013, 08:49 PM) new tyre, put in front, rear all nearly botak tyre..because front is where your car braking force act most..unless if your car is super long like mpv/limo, or tail-heavy,i dont think if it is gonna make any significant different to lose control of the rear..just my 2 cents..i could be wrong though.. Front skidding you still have control via steering and brakes. Rear skidding you virtually have nothing to control. So if you're on budget, new tyres or better griped tyres should always be at rear. This post has been edited by Icehart: Mar 31 2013, 12:47 AM