how bad is proton?, persona users,preve users come in
durianpuff
Mar 29 2013, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(Daniel John @ Mar 29 2013, 09:55 AM) http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/499062u all didnt read this thread kaa? got dedicated thread to discuss proton problem maaa...cant not understand meh? thats a proton-bashing thread. no point reading such threads, lots of opportunists in there. if TS really wanna know, better go join a proton-owner's forum. it's much informative there.
Daniel John
Mar 29 2013, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(durianpuff @ Mar 29 2013, 09:57 AM) thats a proton-bashing thread. no point reading such threads, lots of opportunists in there. if TS really wanna know, better go join a proton-owner's forum. it's much informative there. thats what this thread about...to bash proton is it? i agree with u...TS should join such forum to understand more... how can i accept people story mory about their gf/bf/father/mother story about proton without them own a proton?
Damonzero
Mar 29 2013, 10:13 AM
Generally they produced decent quality of cars, unless u get a lemon.
ericmaxman
Mar 29 2013, 10:13 AM
Given a particular budget, would you buy a Plotong? I know I wouldnt
ironfolic
Mar 29 2013, 10:14 AM
I am still waiting for my proton to spoil/breakdown after driving it for 1 1/2 years ++..  But last month my sister in law 207 breakdown bcoz battery kong. Her car is newer then my car. Must be a lemon la
**no-name**
Mar 29 2013, 10:14 AM

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Mar 29 2013, 10:03 AM) thats what this thread about...to bash proton is it? i agree with u...TS should join such forum to understand more... how can i accept people story mory about their gf/bf/father/mother story about proton without them own a proton? i wonder have u ever own a proton car?
Daniel John
Mar 29 2013, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(**no-name** @ Mar 29 2013, 10:14 AM) i wonder have u ever own a proton car? proton? bicycle oso i dun have
**no-name**
Mar 29 2013, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Mar 29 2013, 10:18 AM) proton? bicycle oso i dun have so those problems u mentioned were based on google? no personal experience?
funnybone
Mar 29 2013, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(reshbala @ Mar 28 2013, 10:28 PM) because i have never personally driven one,none of my family members own one and the people who own one never have complained to me. thats why wana hear it from proton owners I saw with my own eyes how a proton car is being manufactured
Daniel John
Mar 29 2013, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(**no-name** @ Mar 29 2013, 10:26 AM) so those problems u mentioned were based on google? no personal experience? those problem i mention is in sarcastic way...becos this kind of thread are too many...since our beloved LYN dedicate n pinned 1 topic just for proton probs why don we go to that thread n post it there? is it hard to follow?
**no-name**
Mar 29 2013, 10:42 AM

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Mar 29 2013, 10:32 AM) those problem i mention is in sarcastic way...becos this kind of thread are too many...since our beloved LYN dedicate n pinned 1 topic just for proton probs why don we go to that thread n post it there? is it hard to follow? if that is what u think, i suggest u to report to the mod about how useless is this topic and request them to close it, come in giving sarcastic opinions will only pollute our beloved LYN forum
theanswer
Mar 29 2013, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(dares @ Mar 29 2013, 08:26 AM) The first gen Vios is better than later gen vios even. Those buggers are built like tanks  like tank..but lightweight enough to give better fc and acceleration compared to the new one.
theanswer
Mar 29 2013, 10:47 AM
got 2 myvi (old n new)..perdana v6..pug..used to have satria, saga lmss,perdana se @ my home. there's no perfect car. myvi might be reliable..because it's simple..but wont give any driving pleasure. proton QC might be suck..but will give u a smile(and stability) when driving. technically all those car own by my bro or parents..but i'm the one who took care of it..send it for maintenance..so i know.
Daniel John
Mar 29 2013, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(**no-name** @ Mar 29 2013, 10:42 AM) if that is what u think, i suggest u to report to the mod about how useless is this topic and request them to close it, come in giving sarcastic opinions will only pollute our beloved LYN forum  i already paste the ptoron probs link and let TS nkow to close the thread...
g3n0c1d3
Mar 29 2013, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(theanswer @ Mar 29 2013, 10:47 AM) got 2 myvi (old n new)..perdana v6..pug..used to have satria, saga lmss,perdana se @ my home. there's no perfect car. myvi might be reliable..because it's simple..but wont give any driving pleasure. proton QC might be suck..but will give u a smile(and stability) when driving. technically all those car own by my bro or parents..but i'm the one who took care of it..send it for maintenance..so i know. i know how u feel bro... me myself have to take care my own car and my friends car due to he dont know squat about cars... nowdays since he bought a new car it was a relieve since i can focus mainly on my car...
dares
Mar 29 2013, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(theanswer @ Mar 29 2013, 10:43 AM) like tank..but lightweight enough to give better fc and acceleration compared to the new one.  Better FC, yes, but acceleration I think the dugong is better. That said, the old Vios at home is 7 years old, and the dashboard has yet to rattle unless it is on very bad roads. The engine is worn and it idles like a truck, other than that the other parts are still working well, still on the original absorbers Bought new RM83k, now estimated value at around RM50k  I don't think any Korean car can beat that  Downside is, I'd much rather drive my own car than that car even if my car rattles and have poor FC. That car is just so damn dull to drive. This post has been edited by dares: Mar 29 2013, 10:58 AM
ruffstuff
Mar 29 2013, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(Daniel John @ Mar 29 2013, 10:48 AM) i already paste the ptoron probs link and let TS nkow to close the thread...  Common sense. You create a thread 'common xxx problem' you'll get all the problems there. That thread doesn't serve the purpose at all. It should be remove. If want to be fair, create similar thread for other brand and post all their problems in there. You'll get similar response. All problems.
il0ve51
Mar 29 2013, 11:00 AM
proton is always a no no for me. buying it just simply support them to make future suck car.
boycott them and they will realize 1 day that their attitude will not last.
nerd
Mar 29 2013, 11:04 AM
2006 Satria Neo owner here, first batch. Crank sensor failed once in 2010 but that's about it. Car is literally pump petrol and drive - has done me no wrong. Of course it's maintained well  I think Proton has gotten the basic quality down, it's just that their QC standards are fairly low, leading to inconsistencies in ownership experience. Quality of fit and finish could be better too, of course - but after seeing the Kia Rio, personally I think it's just about the same, if not just slightly better. This post has been edited by nerd: Mar 29 2013, 11:04 AM
ajaibman
Mar 29 2013, 11:04 AM

I drove 3 new Proton from 2009 onwards.
Proton Savvy
The bad : 1. Got the car, paint scratch came from the showroom.. 2. Heavy downpour rain water leaks to the cabin light and drops like waterfall to the gearshift stick. 3. Paint so thin that its easily scratched. 4. Service Center SUX since not entertain the 2nd complaint.. (asking me to leave the car for 1 week in SC) 5. After 30k the Clutch feels heavier than Lorry 3 tan. 6. Have to go to Renault Specialist after the free service finished, since most SC don't know how to handle Conti based engine (read: D4F)
The good :
1. Fast and nimble Gokart like handling car. 2. Can tapau a Camry on East coast highway. 3. Top Speed 190 km/h on Gps after De cat and using Open Pod air filter and modified the TDC sensor.
(now use by my niece to go study in UM).
Exora CPS (Malaysia)
The Bad : 1. Out of the box LOUSY pick up due to the ultra stupid calculation CPS engine vs 1.4 Ton exora body. 2. Fuel Pump make sound, goes to COE Service Center in Kesas for claim, they just "Repair it" not even change it, the sound re ocurring after a while. (Changed with help of EOCM help in a normal SC) 3. Power Steering Rubber hose leaks .. (changed with own money as SC mentioned Rubber part not part of WARRANTY) 4. Dashboard rattled just only after 2nd year of ownership.. (but this is expected as Proton without funny2 sound means I am in heaven already).
The good :
1. After pouring in 3k Rm ++ inside the engine. it convert the Sluggish CPS become mivec like behavior. Can toe to toe with Exora Bold in Highway and tailgating Audi Q3/5 (not sure but its Q series) up to genting. 2. Dan syok lotus handling.. (always rembat on kerinchi link corner otw to Office) 3. During my Family gathering, all fam member goes into Exora to go for outing.. (they drove mostly 5 seater car). 4. Aircond Damn sejuk (proton best feature). 5. Good car club community (the biggest in Malaysia) . 6. Always passed Roadblock without much hassle since its a MPV for sake... 7. did i mention lots of space inside the cabin?
Exora CPS (Indonesia)
Got this car when I did the project for a local bank back in 2010/2011 in Jakarta.
The bad :
1. I can't bring it back to Malaysia 2. Less SC in Indon
The Good :
1. MUCH Better build quality compare the exo that I bought in Malaysia and its cheaper.(See above). 2. No complaint so far on the features. 3. Proton Indon apparently have modified their exora with different exhaust system and installed CAI before leaving Showroom and this gives much better response on the CPS especially on the pick-up. 4. Much Better Service Experience, as they listened to your complaint and attend to details and such (which I NEVER experience it in proton after sales service in MY).
There you go.. my experiences related to Proton..