MSI K8N Neo3, mobo good to OC or not?

TSswgiant
post Apr 29 2006, 12:38 PM

Extravagance RUINS Your Life !!!
1,414 posts

i will show your about mine settings once received gskill 2gb ddr500 from the bulk of kingmaker_20
8tvt
post May 3 2006, 08:59 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

if got ram capable of 270.. i'm straight away put 1:1..
TSswgiant
post May 4 2006, 02:58 AM

1,414 posts

but if you set 1:1, isnt the FSB speed is limited by the RAM? as RAM is unable to work as high as FSB...
8tvt
post May 4 2006, 10:42 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

on 1:1 270fsb, my cpu at 2.4+ghz.. there is no use for me to set 300fsb and use divider coz my cpu can't achieve 3ghz..

other setting will reduce ram capability..

Current set
TSswgiant
post May 4 2006, 10:18 PM

1,414 posts

Hm, i hope my sempron can reach 320FSB, so far stick with 300FSB. Currently limited by my RAM as iam still using DDR 266 @ 153MHz...
boban pantovic
post Jun 16 2006, 08:21 PM

Amazing mobo,
I oc my Sempron64 3000+ up to 2.6GHz (306x8.5) with latest bios, although I had to do it from Windows. ClockGen and A64Tweaker is all you need.

memory (DDR400 2.5c):
3-8-8
tRC:8
tRFC:16
Max Async. Latency: 5ns
Read Preamble time: 6ns
Idle Cycle Limit: Enable
tWTR: 3
tRTW: 2
freq 200Mhz
tREF 200Mhz(15.6us)

set HTT to 3x
set CPU multiplier to 8.5

A64Tweaker
Set freq to 166MHz and Apply
Set tREF to 166mhz(15.6us) and Apply
ClockGen
Raise FSB 'til memory reach almost 200Mhz
A64Tweaker
Set freq to 133MHz and Apply
Set tREF to 133mhz(15.6us) and Apply
ClockGen
result:=2.6GHz

boban pantovic
post Jun 16 2006, 08:22 PM

Amazing mobo,
I oc my Sempron64 3000+ up to 2.6GHz (306x8.5) with latest bios, although I had to do it from Windows. ClockGen and A64Tweaker is all you need.

memory (DDR400 2.5c):
3-8-8
freq 200Mhz
tREF 200Mhz(15.6us)

set HTT to 3x

A64Tweaker
ClockGen
A64Tweaker
ClockGen

theodore_kh
post Jun 19 2006, 05:52 PM

It's me again !
1,297 posts

excuse me, I got a MSI Neo2 .

It seems to have a problem with temperature readings for the NB, always arounf 100 celcius

And I have to totally shut down the computer, wait a couple of minutes, and power it up again in order to enter BIOS. If just restart and enter BIOS, it will just give me a blank screen.

I bought it is singapore few months ago, am I qualified to RMA this mobo in Malaysia?
TSswgiant
post Jun 21 2006, 08:51 AM

1,414 posts

QUOTE(boban pantovic @ Jun 16 2006, 08:22 PM)
Amazing mobo,
I oc my Sempron64 3000+  up to 2.6GHz (306x8.5) with latest bios, although I had to do it from Windows. ClockGen and A64Tweaker is all you need.

memory (DDR400 2.5c):
3-8-8
freq 200Mhz
tREF 200Mhz(15.6us)

set HTT to 3x

A64Tweaker
ClockGen
A64Tweaker
ClockGen
wow, the latest bios do the trick on the speed? shocking.gif Arent those MSI bios programmers lock the bios and dun allows us to OC it? Are you sure you are using the latest BIOS @ v1.7? whistling.gif
8tvt
post Jun 21 2006, 01:32 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

ya lor.. i thought it's lock also..
i've downloaded it but never tried v1.7 only tried v1.5 and cannot OC..
sure or not latest bios?
or just can set in windows not bios? ye weird if lock how come can stable?
better try it first la..

This post has been edited by 8tvt: Jun 21 2006, 01:34 PM
davidletterboyz
post Jun 22 2006, 11:07 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jun 21 2006, 01:32 PM)
ya lor.. i thought it's lock also..
i've downloaded it but never tried v1.7 only tried v1.5 and cannot OC..
sure or not latest bios?
or just can set in windows not bios? ye weird if lock how come can stable?
better try it first la..
????
If it has pci lock, means it's stable. Not the other way round. tongue.gif
Anyways, give it a try. See if the PCI clock will rise when you push HTT. Do it in windows first....using clockgen.
TSswgiant
post Jun 23 2006, 08:32 AM

1,414 posts

remember to report back, if you tried it... smile.gif
8tvt
post Jun 26 2006, 10:40 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jun 22 2006, 11:07 AM)
????
If it has pci lock, means it's stable. Not the other way round. tongue.gif
Anyways, give it a try. See if the PCI clock will rise when you push HTT. Do it in windows first....using clockgen.
laugh.gif hehe i mean lock oc capability not lock the pci..
not try yet ler.. not even have a time to play.. maybe try it later..
by the way why my PWMIC so high? even not oc it's reaching 66C and sometimes pop to 89 a beat.. blow the fan still no use.. correct reading?
8tvt
post Jun 28 2006, 12:08 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

lol better don't try bios 1.7v
can oc until 230fsb only.. same like 1.5v..
great board, stupid bios program...
who want to use 7950GX gpu pair with s754 which lack of oc capabilities?
boban pantovic
post Jun 28 2006, 11:25 PM

QUOTE(swgiant @ Jun 21 2006, 08:51 AM)
wow, the latest bios do the trick on the speed?  shocking.gif  Arent those MSI bios programmers lock the bios and dun allows us to OC it? Are you sure you are using the latest BIOS @ v1.7?  whistling.gif
Yeap,
I‘ve tried that bosskiller bios 1.0 you send me, but I‘ve gone insane listening that floppy drive during constant rebooting while oc-ing, so I flashed back to bios 1.5 that came with the motherboard and I managed to achieve 2.6GHz. I did the same with 1.7 too.
To mention that I left the core at 1.45V so this is not the limit, I just have to time to play any more.

I think that the problem in oc-ing this mobo from bios is in the order of applying clocks while booting. I was not able to oc just by setting memory to 133 and FSB to 300. I always had to keep memory clock above 166mhz.

Jian_yi
post Jul 2 2006, 01:49 PM

330 posts

see this topic talkin' about MSI quality drop, I use before the MSI K8N Neo4-F, the BIOS "rich" in overclock setting, but this board can't overclock! What happen?! I use once times and throw away this board~ >.< too suck....

Everyone can read this topic to know now the MSI "quality":

Sim-CHS language:

DIY用户慎用,微星主板质量置疑(更新版)

http://www.ocer.net/ocernew/article/a_show.php?id=3027

Now I only can say, this problem very serious....

This post has been edited by Jian_yi: Jul 2 2006, 01:50 PM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0137sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:09 AM