4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V6

GameFr3ak
post Apr 24 2013, 12:59 AM

3,849 posts

Hi m34 sifus, all this while snapping photos with phone... wanna get in to m34 for its portability and flexibility (interchangeable lens)...

My budget is around RM1400 or so.

Was pitched with Oly E-PL2 and my personal choice GF5. Which one would you guys recommend? Or you guys have something better in mind? Thanks!

Purpose of the camera will be mainly for traveling, scenery, and with some occasional macro shots ( i like bugs too kenary820)..

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Apr 24 2013, 01:00 AM
GameFr3ak
post Apr 24 2013, 07:59 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(kenary820 @ Apr 24 2013, 07:03 AM)
All these camera practically good, i would suggest you choose the one that feels right in your hand, my chose would be the one that give interface that allow me to work faster ie change the setting faster. Another thing a hot shoe wouls added advantage later on in case you need external flash which is very useful in many conditions. As macro goes, raynox with kitlens would do.
Hmm I watched some reviews for GF5, and the GUI is simple and easy enough to change stuff quickly. But hotshoe is not included, only a built in flash.

EPL2 on the other hand, lacks 'features' like artsy filters and what not. But with better grip I guess and better IQ. It also has a hotshoe along with a built in flash.

God damn, I'm torn between the two.
GameFr3ak
post Apr 24 2013, 09:26 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Mowgly @ Apr 24 2013, 09:09 AM)
I personally have never used the filters on my Olympus EP-3  tongue.gif
Photoshop and Lightroom has wayyyyy better filters. hahaha

I obviously cant contribute anything since I'd be biased anyway, so good luck! go try the cameras out at the shop side by side if you need to. And bring a friend who knows a thing or two about camera, so at least you dont get cheated by the sales person. haha  thumbup.gif
How about this, what do you look for when you wanna buy a new m43 cam ? What would you prioritize when you make comparison between models/brands?

Thanks a heap!
GameFr3ak
post Apr 24 2013, 09:56 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(NISMOgan @ Apr 24 2013, 09:36 AM)
I personally think that you should go for GF5 since what you want is compact. Unless you really need the hot shoe then you might need to reconsider. I personally perfer GF5 cos its newer by few models compared to EPL2, AF is faster, a a bit more "enhancement" over EPL2. Unless you eyeing for EPL5, then i'll suggest EPL5. Personally I own a GF2 and now OM-D smile.gif Still no regrets having my GF2 those years hehe
Holycrap OM-D drool.gif I would love other choices if you could throw them at me, but budget is one of my main concern. RM1500 or so only. Could you pitch me a few within the budget so I could research more on them on top of GF5?

And is IQ score of 55 vs 50 a big deal on DXOMark?

Thanks!!
GameFr3ak
post Apr 24 2013, 11:49 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(NISMOgan @ Apr 24 2013, 10:41 AM)
erm lately i`m not so updated about the prices bro sorry for that hehe, how about EP3? As i know its quite a leap in from the previous machine. GF5 with twin lens is quite a deal if u dont mind working without hotshoe? GX1 is slightly over ur budget else that would be a perfect one! serious model b4 GX1 was GF1 and 2 but their ISO limitation is quite low, for me acceptable up to 800 only which is quite ok la. I`m a Panny guy previously, just jumped into Olympus so I`m not so sure about its deal too much tongue.gif GF2 is also quite cheap nowadays within your budget.

About DXOMark, I personally did not rely these figures to make decision, usually I read user reviews, look at unedited pic quality and try it for myself hehe.

Maybe Sifus around here can help him about DXO?
Hey thanks! What I found so far.

GF5 - RM1400 (twin lens)
EPL5 - Olympus E-PL5 ( 14-42MM F3.5-5.6 II R LENS ) RM 2169
EPM2 - no info on price
EP3 - Olympus E-P3 14-42mm kit FOC:8GB SD =RM2180

Sorry for asking too much, what do you think of E-PL3?

Seems like most of them are out of my reach.
GameFr3ak
post Apr 24 2013, 12:28 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(NISMOgan @ Apr 24 2013, 12:12 PM)
Oops honestly i did not research on EPL3, so cant advise bro sad.gif of cos i would prefer EPL5 most since its same sensor as OM-D tongue.gif but since it exceed your budget, I guess the latest tech vs buck = GF5? hmmmmm or maybe get a 2nd unit if you dont mind?
Found one selling at RM1600, (Lens 14-42mm f3.5-5.6 II R , flash FL-LM1 , charger , cable). No more warranty. hmm.gif

QUOTE(kenary820 @ Apr 24 2013, 12:20 PM)
Go for gf5 and start enjoy shooting hehe..what body doesnt matter actually..what matter most the lens smile.gif
Really or not lol but is hotshoe really an important factor ar? To be honest, I have never really used an actual flash before. If yes, then I might consider E-pl3. If not, I might get GF5.
GameFr3ak
post Apr 24 2013, 01:26 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Apr 24 2013, 12:33 PM)
Initially I was aiming for Olympus, but when I compare its price wif gf5 I got GF5 due to its price, comes wif twin lens. Ody start shoting and enjoying it. for gf5 u save on buying star filter and soft filter, coz its got built in prog. I bought CPL n  +10Macro only.
Hey thanks for the feedback. Which Oly were you aiming for ? I'm still liking the GF5 a lot to be honest. I'm a sucker of these 'features'.
GameFr3ak
post Apr 24 2013, 03:09 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(reno7 @ Apr 24 2013, 02:44 PM)
I'll choose Oly E-PL3 over GF-5..

E-PL3 pros -

1. In body stabilizer (All lens without optical image stabilizer will benefit from it including the legacy manual ones)
2. Tiltable lcd (For extreme angle shoot)
3. Hot shoe (U will need it sooner or later esp for better macro shoot with external flash) and for mounting EVF..
4. Dedicated manual control button for fast control setting
5. More focus point and faster focus speed
6. Olympus punchy OOC jpeg.. (If dont like to shoot in raw and post processing)

GF5 pros -

1. Touch screen with touch to focus and shoot.. Very handy for point focus
2. A little bit better sensor
3. Built in flash

I even recommended my sis to get the E-PL3..  thumbup.gif

hope this will help..  icon_rolleyes.gif

latest E-PL3 price - Olympus EPL3 ( 14-42MM F3.5-5.6 LENS ) RM 1259 CASH FOC SD 8G @ digitalfm14 (lyn seller.. Shop located next to DigitallMall PJ
QUOTE(reno7 @ Apr 24 2013, 03:05 PM)
My sister in action taking macro with he new Olympus E-PL3.. Just drop by her flickr page..smile.gif http://www.flickr.com/photos/94742744@N07/

My sis in action by RenoVal, on Flickr
Very impressive! Did she used a macro lens?
GameFr3ak
post Apr 24 2013, 03:15 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(reno7 @ Apr 24 2013, 03:12 PM)
I lend her my OMD kitlens cause it has macro mode. But now she has the raynox macro converter already. Just attached to her E-PL3 kitlens.. smile.gif
Nice. Now I'll just have to find some night shots. As I need to take decent night shots.
GameFr3ak
post Apr 24 2013, 04:02 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(reno7 @ Apr 24 2013, 03:44 PM)
Or just buy the GF-5 twin lens kit for the time being and when time and money comes simply upgrade the body later but still keep the good lens from panasonic like the 14mmf2.5.. smile.gif
QUOTE(NISMOgan @ Apr 24 2013, 03:49 PM)
yeah agreed with u bro, thats what i do with my GF2 now hahaha, its also a good learning curve
Yeah, it hit me just now when people said that it's all about the 'glass'. Get a decent & affordable body and invest more on lens that'll last a lot longer. I'll either get E-PL3 or GF5 as my starting cam in to M43.

Thanks ALL ! rclxms.gif

Now.... to read about what lens do what... rclxub.gif
GameFr3ak
post Apr 24 2013, 05:26 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Apr 24 2013, 04:58 PM)
How's Olympus E-PM1 or EPL3 for video?  Can it control exposure, aperture, iso and focus during video?  And does it overheat?

I hear Panasonic GF5 cant control much.
I read some comparison, GF5 seems better for video.
GameFr3ak
post Apr 24 2013, 10:17 PM

3,849 posts

Alright guys, since I've reduced my list to just 2.

EPL3 RM1399 - (14-42 II, 16gb class 10 and bag) add on RM500 for an extra (40-150mm)

GF5 RM1400 - (twin lens, 14mm & 14-42mm, 8GB + Bag)

Which looks like a better deal ar?
GameFr3ak
post Apr 29 2013, 07:53 AM

3,849 posts

Alright I've got the Oly E-PL3, twin lens. Spent the whole night learning the camera with the 14-42 MKIIR lens. Got a hang of it, but have to get used to the settings.

Tested its capability of capturing night landscape without a tripod. Managed to get a decent IQ.

Impressed.
GameFr3ak
post Apr 30 2013, 02:18 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(reno7 @ Apr 29 2013, 08:21 PM)
Congratulations..  rclxms.gif  Finally u bought the E-PL3..  thumbup.gif
Put Raynox 250 on ur second lens the 40-150mm and u are good to go on macro shooting..  brows.gif
Hey thanks man. Have not thought about making any purchase yet. Still figuring the ways to max out both lens before considering. Prolly just gonna get a tripod for night landscapes.

Forcing myself to use Manual as well just to figure out how to balance aperture, ISO and shutter speed for different situation.

I have a simple question (I think), I understand 14-42 is best for landscapes for its wide angle and wide aperture. I've tried on the 40-150, it has great zoom and stuff but I couldn't get a hang of using it under low light condition.

So guys, in what situation would you use 40-150? For zooming? Like birds and animals?
GameFr3ak
post Apr 30 2013, 03:11 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Apr 30 2013, 02:45 PM)
Telephoto zoom lens are usually an outdoor lens. 

Can be used for outdoor portraits also.  The higher the focal length the nicer and flatter the face. 

As for low light there are 3 options to deal with it:  Flash (External flash with diffuser), low aperture like F1.8-F2.8, high ISO.  Or you can just bring your own light box/lamp and light the place up!
Yeah I kinda noticed the distortion if I use 14-42 for some portraits. For night shots, to my understanding, it is best to keep the ISO as low as possible and compensate with aperture lowest F-value and long shutter speed right?

Not really much a fan of flash, unless maybe as fill in light laugh.gif but still learning notworthy.gif
GameFr3ak
post Apr 30 2013, 11:34 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Mowgly @ Apr 30 2013, 08:15 PM)
ISO as low as possible is true for all situations, night or day, as you'd want to keep the noise to a minimal. But it has to be bumped up if there is low light available.

Hypothetical situation :: In this case lets say your kitlens with the widest (lowest F-value) aperture is f/3.5, and your shutter at that point in time is 1/15sec with ISO at 100. If your subject is moving, 1/15sec wont get you much of a decent shot, cause of the long shutter and movement. So you bump ISO up to say 800 and maybe get a 1/64sec, which of course would be better than before. Of course it will always help if you have a wider aperture like f/1.4. But!....

....If you need depth of field, so small (large f-value) apertures like f/14 may require a shutter speed too long for you to hold with your hands, or moving object. So you'd have to compensate with bumping ISOs. At least from the way I see it, you can never run away from bumping up the ISO unless its a planned shot, like night landscapes with tripods. 

Hope this helps!  thumbup.gif 
any sifus can correct me if i put down anything wrong.  tongue.gif
Thanks for the info and guidance, especially the hypothetical situation. I'm starting straight from M mode to get a hang of it. What you're saying does make sense but I guess this is where flash comes in handy if i don't wanna add grain to my shot. And am I right that I can speed up the shutter speed with flash so the shot would be sharp and bright?

I've taken loads of photos of random stuff to learn and only these 3 are which I think is acceptable. Please do critique and advise what I should do to improve these shots. Thanks!

GameFr3ak
post May 1 2013, 01:47 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(reno7 @ May 1 2013, 01:40 AM)
Sunset at wharf by RenoVal, on Flickr
QUOTE(kenary820 @ May 1 2013, 01:44 PM)
Labour Day spam..

Sunset & reflection by m.s.@.n., on Flickr

Digiscoping ~ Stork by m.s.@.n., on Flickr
Sifus notworthy.gif
GameFr3ak
post May 12 2013, 12:23 PM

3,849 posts

Nak tanya sifus... how do you all get correct WB ? Grass? white card?
GameFr3ak
post May 12 2013, 12:43 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(reno7 @ May 12 2013, 12:42 PM)
Easiest way is using Lightroom and adjust it manually there.. smile.gif
lol okay.. I've already knew that just thought u all got some magic trick biggrin.gif

and btw are there any wide conversion lens for the olly kit lens 14-42 mkii?
GameFr3ak
post May 12 2013, 01:09 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Mowgly @ May 12 2013, 01:02 PM)
After the Olympus PEN EP-5 Touch & Try Event, especially after the Image stabilization demo comparison between EP-3 and OM-D.... I am now so sad for my EP-3. sad.gif

Go to an EP-5 event, end up wanting an OM-D.
I want an OM-D.
My E-PL3 is not even a month old. cry.gif

anyone knows where to get WCON-P01 wide angle converter?

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: May 12 2013, 01:43 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0480sec    1.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:03 AM