QUOTE(echoesian @ Mar 17 2013, 02:31 AM)
my point js similar to tokdukun's view below:Car Resale Values, Fact or Myth?
Car Resale Values, Fact or Myth?
Mar 18 2013, 08:21 PM
119 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Mar 18 2013, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 18 2013, 12:18 PM) Put simply, you lose less. This is why buying used cars make a lot of sense. You lose less..Eg get a used kelisa 5 years ago at rm20k, today you sell for rm13k. You only suffer rm7k depreciation then. Compared to the first owner, let's say he bought that kelisa rm40k, sell you rm20k, so he suffered rm20k depreciation. |
Mar 18 2013, 08:48 PM
0 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Another way of looking at it is, the 10k that will be saved 5 years later actually is less than the value of current 10k after considering the time value of money. So, one can decide whether he wants to save that amount of money or otherwise, your money, your choice.
This post has been edited by LLH: Mar 18 2013, 08:49 PM |
Mar 19 2013, 10:51 AM
376 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(LLH @ Mar 18 2013, 08:48 PM) Another way of looking at it is, the 10k that will be saved 5 years later actually is less than the value of current 10k after considering the time value of money. So, one can decide whether he wants to save that amount of money or otherwise, your money, your choice. Indeed. At 3% discount rate, it's reduced to rm7k++, as calculated by LenovoT.QUOTE(LenovoT @ Mar 16 2013, 11:40 AM) This is what we have been talking about, but TS cant agree. He will tell you although Camry's loss is lesser, you pay more as down payment & installments. ~~~Now see this TS. Assuming discount rate at 3% for simplicity of computation. [attachmentid=3348578] Anyway, I always wondered who'd seriously buy a second hand Vios? The RV is friggin strong, even 2003 ones still going circa rm40k+-. For a super kosong car? It's not even prestigious, it's just telling people "I can't afford a brand new, but I am Toyota fanboy". Kesian them like kesian macai bn. I'd rather get a Volvo V40 for that money. Comfortable, powerful, safe and far more practical car. And beautiful too |
Mar 19 2013, 11:41 AM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 19 2013, 10:51 AM) Anyway, I always wondered who'd seriously buy a second hand Vios? The RV is friggin strong, even 2003 ones still going circa rm40k+-. For a super kosong car? It's not even prestigious, it's just telling people "I can't afford a brand new, but I am Toyota fanboy". Kesian them like kesian macai bn. Yup when i sold my 2003 Vios 1.5E last year, even i was surprised at its resale value. And the car was sold to a buyer within 1 month for about 43K. Imagine paying 43K for a 9.5 yr old car that has specs that rival maybe a Kelisa. I'd rather get a Volvo V40 for that money. Comfortable, powerful, safe and far more practical car. And beautiful too |
Mar 19 2013, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 19 2013, 11:41 AM) Yup when i sold my 2003 Vios 1.5E last year, even i was surprised at its resale value. And the car was sold to a buyer within 1 month for about 43K. Imagine paying 43K for a 9.5 yr old car that has specs that rival maybe a Kelisa. Exactly! It's what "A Random Walk Down Wall Street" call "Madness of Crowds".Part of the point of buying a vios brand new is to show that one is 'successful'. Buying second hand is such a cheap way of getting there, of which it's not even cheap! Just how uneducated/greedy/foolish of our market is to have high regard for such a cramped, empty, unsafe car? It's not even comfortable nor engaging to drive, all that for the sake of making a gain at the end? Not worth it for me. But on the plus side, it's good for bargain hunters looking for cars with substance ie contis as lower RV means can save more. Maintenance maybe a bit of an issue, but internet helps to point at various specialists who charge reasonable rates. |
Mar 19 2013, 12:29 PM
304 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
QUOTE(zib5 @ Mar 18 2013, 08:22 PM) Nope. If u buy 2nd hand car which needs alot of repairs, u will end up spending more. And btw, when u repair ur car u need to pay cold hard cash. Whereas when u buy new, u can put everything into the loan. So new is always better than old unless u buy from a trusted fren and u knoe the cars history. If not, go for new |
Mar 19 2013, 12:31 PM
304 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 19 2013, 10:51 AM) Indeed. At 3% discount rate, it's reduced to rm7k++, as calculated by LenovoT. U noe volvo maintainence how high? Unless u hv deep pockets better not try~~~ Anyway, I always wondered who'd seriously buy a second hand Vios? The RV is friggin strong, even 2003 ones still going circa rm40k+-. For a super kosong car? It's not even prestigious, it's just telling people "I can't afford a brand new, but I am Toyota fanboy". Kesian them like kesian macai bn. I'd rather get a Volvo V40 for that money. Comfortable, powerful, safe and far more practical car. And beautiful too |
Mar 19 2013, 12:34 PM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Mar 19 2013, 12:29 PM) Nope. If u buy 2nd hand car which needs alot of repairs, u will end up spending more. And btw, when u repair ur car u need to pay cold hard cash. Whereas when u buy new, u can put everything into the loan. So new is always better than old unless u buy from a trusted fren and u knoe the cars history. If not, go for new Agreed. Exactly my thoughts. |
Mar 19 2013, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Mar 19 2013, 01:29 PM) Nope. If u buy 2nd hand car which needs alot of repairs, u will end up spending more. And btw, when u repair ur car u need to pay cold hard cash. Whereas when u buy new, u can put everything into the loan. So new is always better than old unless u buy from a trusted fren and u knoe the cars history. If not, go for new not always.Depends on your knowledge and luck sometimes. |
Mar 19 2013, 07:52 PM
544 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Mar 19 2013, 12:29 PM) Nope. If u buy 2nd hand car which needs alot of repairs, u will end up spending more. And btw, when u repair ur car u need to pay cold hard cash. Whereas when u buy new, u can put everything into the loan. So new is always better than old unless u buy from a trusted fren and u knoe the cars history. If not, go for new In the past 20 years we bought 3 cars. 2 second hand, 1 new. Guess which car made the most trouble... it was the new one. The second hand ones were perfectly fine |
Mar 19 2013, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ Mar 19 2013, 12:31 PM) Mind sharing what's killer about maintaining Volvo? Particularly V40 wagon, 2.0T? You've owned any before? Of course I am realistic enough to know its fc is not as good as kancil, nor its spare parts as cheap as proton. Duh |
Mar 19 2013, 10:31 PM
278 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 19 2013, 09:58 PM) Mind sharing what's killer about maintaining Volvo? Particularly V40 wagon, 2.0T? You've owned any before? of course it isnt kancil proton cheapOf course I am realistic enough to know its fc is not as good as kancil, nor its spare parts as cheap as proton. Duh and of course i do not own a volvo and of course we all dont need to own one to tell, that isnt cheap to run one. so how about a few hundred bucks for side mirrors? and i am not talking about 100 or 200RM. and normal servicing, and we are talking about maybe, 10k interval mind u, cost a few hundreds as well. and i am not talking about 500-600. perhaps they dont really a KILLER like what u expect. maybe u gonna say, those bucks saved from tin milo vios wud become handy. or maybe u would say, dont service at volvo u fren mechanic can do this that well good for ya. yes it is one hell of beauty. the wagon is just awesome. dont trust me, monsieur. just google it. or ask around. or do whatever u want. ps- u asked who bought second hand vios? my oh my. u should have ask who bought it new in the first place. yes. that tin milo kosong vios. |
Mar 19 2013, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(mokhzaini @ Mar 19 2013, 10:31 PM) of course it isnt kancil proton cheap What I need to know is when people say high maintenance cost, how high is high?and of course i do not own a volvo and of course we all dont need to own one to tell, that isnt cheap to run one. so how about a few hundred bucks for side mirrors? and i am not talking about 100 or 200RM. and normal servicing, and we are talking about maybe, 10k interval mind u, cost a few hundreds as well. and i am not talking about 500-600. perhaps they dont really a KILLER like what u expect. maybe u gonna say, those bucks saved from tin milo vios wud become handy. or maybe u would say, dont service at volvo u fren mechanic can do this that well good for ya. yes it is one hell of beauty. the wagon is just awesome. dont trust me, monsieur. just google it. or ask around. or do whatever u want. ps- u asked who bought second hand vios? my oh my. u should have ask who bought it new in the first place. yes. that tin milo kosong vios. Proton also can be very expensive if you wanted to. Satria 1.3 throttle body was quoted RM3,000 from Proton parts glenmarie, Waja side mirror RM400. I've seen Waja R3 front brake pad rm600++, siao aa?! Proton think they're ferrari aa can charge their parts with that kinda price? Then from personal experience I kena ketuk by some tyre shops before. Waja door handle rm80, fuel pump rm650. Once, it overheat, the radiator kering cuz got some leak, rm600++. All which I partly blame myself, I could've avoided getting ketuk so much if I'm more diligent on maintaining the car. Still though, not the kinda bill one would expect for maintaining "just" a proton. |
Mar 19 2013, 11:22 PM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
Sorry...I'm not good in math or definitions whatever...
But if a RV of Pug407 against a benchmark like Camry can go up to 9pages....whatever it is, the Pug is worth the ownership and RV. |
Mar 20 2013, 12:06 AM
836 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 09:21 AM) This calculation was shared by a LYN forumer some time back which ive tweaked to suit. Nice one cybermaster, LOL they don't get your meaning of the RM20 531.Very often, we always focus on the resale value of a particular model while ignoring the start up costs and monthly loan repayment costs. This tabulation will show you why cars with lower resale value may actually be a cheaper. This is of course assuming maintenance costs are similar. Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L Purchase price (2008) = $136,888 Downpayment = $13,688 (10%) Interest rate = 3% Tenure = 60 months (5 years) Monthly loan payment = $2,361 Total loan paid = $2361 x 60 = $141679 Total paid for car = $141679 (loan) + $13688 (dp)= $155,367 Resell car 2013 (after 5 years) for $70k (49% loss) Total loss (after 5 years) = $155,367 (what you paid for) - $70,000 (what you get) = $85,367 Toyota Camry 2.0L Purchase price (2008) = $154,990 Downpayment = $15,499 Interest rate = 3% Tenure = 60 months (5 years) Monthly payment = $2,673 Total loan paid = $2,673 x 60 = $160,414 Total paid for car = $160,414 + $15,499 = $175,913 Resell car 2013 (after 5 years) for $100k (35% loss) Total loss (after 5 years) = $175913 (what you paid for) - $100,000 (what you get) = $75,913 For simplicity, let's assume service/maintenance costs are equal. Thus, after 5 years, a Peugeot 407 vs Toyota Camry: 407 has HIGHER total loss $85,367 (407) - $75,913 (Camry) = $9,454 407 has LOWER start-up cost $15,499 (camry) - $13,688 (407) = $1,811 407 has HIGHER monthly positive cash flow through lower installments $2,673 (camry) - $2,361 (407) x 60 months = $ 18,720 SUMMARY This clearly shows that although the Peugeot 407 has RM 9,454 lower trade in value after 5 years but it gains a total of RM 20,531 from lower start up costs and lower monthly loan installments. Thus, buying cars with lower resale value isnt actually a poor financial decision. So i think with this, we should not allow resale values to govern our choice of vehicles. Safety, value for money, specifications and maintenance costs should take precedence. What do you think? |
Mar 20 2013, 12:50 AM
Mar 20 2013, 02:55 AM
544 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 19 2013, 10:57 PM) What I need to know is when people say high maintenance cost, how high is high? The usual advice applies... if you can get spare parts from Singapore, good. They are not so expensive usually, and you can get OEM ones. You can also make phone calls to find out the actual price, instead of hearsay.Proton also can be very expensive if you wanted to. Satria 1.3 throttle body was quoted RM3,000 from Proton parts glenmarie, Waja side mirror RM400. I've seen Waja R3 front brake pad rm600++, siao aa?! Proton think they're ferrari aa can charge their parts with that kinda price? Then from personal experience I kena ketuk by some tyre shops before. Waja door handle rm80, fuel pump rm650. Once, it overheat, the radiator kering cuz got some leak, rm600++. All which I partly blame myself, I could've avoided getting ketuk so much if I'm more diligent on maintaining the car. Still though, not the kinda bill one would expect for maintaining "just" a proton. The Volvo Malaysia website lists the servicing schedule including the prices. Personally I thought it was a bit high, but yeah, ymmv. |
Mar 20 2013, 09:08 AM
836 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Mar 20 2013, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 20 2013, 02:55 AM) The usual advice applies... if you can get spare parts from Singapore, good. They are not so expensive usually, and you can get OEM ones. You can also make phone calls to find out the actual price, instead of hearsay. They are high, most VOCM and autoworld volvo forummers would advise against going back to FA or SM after warranty ends. Eg current gen S40 wipers from those official dealers cost around rm380, outside shops are quoted rm180, both ori Volvo parts.The Volvo Malaysia website lists the servicing schedule including the prices. Personally I thought it was a bit high, but yeah, ymmv. I think any car, including proton and perodua can cost a bomb if one is not careful. Tyre shops and official SC especially will slaughter you for your ignorance. My friend recently changed her kelisa's engine mounting for rm1,200. Hmm... "low" maintenance indeed. |
| Change to: | 0.0248sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:45 PM |