10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

Car Resale Values, Fact or Myth?

youngman28
post Mar 12 2013, 05:45 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Mar 12 2013, 03:56 PM)
In Australia a 2008 Camry is cheaper than a 2008 Peugeot 407.

Here in Malaysia it is the other way round.

Reason :
Used car dealers jacking up the price.
People who didn't do any research and simply buy what is common on the road, uncle aunty recommendation.
In Australia, the new car price was much cheaper than in Malaysia, while their second car price was much cheaper as well. Over they, the Japanese car was not as good demand in bolehland. the maintenance cost especially the spare cost was the same among the japan and continental car. while in bolehland, due to the in flow of cheap and convenient source for the used part from chop shop, thus maintenance cost for Japanese car like T & H was much easy available and cheaper as well. But over Australia, the labour cost for a mechanic to fix a part was not cheap. Due to geographic location, they are not economic to import the chop part from Japan as well. In Bolehland , they are not much workshop that able to fix the continental car problem ,and the avaliable of used part for continental car was quite rare and expensive. That above explain why T & H have higher RV in Bolehland compare to Australia.
kelvin_87
post Mar 12 2013, 06:07 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(youngman28 @ Mar 12 2013, 05:45 PM)
In Australia, the new car price was much cheaper than in Malaysia, while their second car price was much cheaper as well. Over they, the Japanese car was not as good demand in bolehland. the maintenance cost especially the spare cost was the same among the japan and continental car. while in bolehland, due to the in flow of cheap and convenient  source for the used part from chop shop, thus maintenance cost for Japanese car like T & H was much easy available and cheaper as well. But over Australia, the labour cost for a mechanic to fix a part was not cheap. Due to geographic location, they are not economic to import the chop part from Japan as well. In Bolehland ,  they are  not much workshop that able to  fix the continental car problem ,and the avaliable of used part for continental car was quite rare and expensive. That above explain why T &  H have higher RV in Bolehland compare to Australia.
Brilliant explanation rclxms.gif
Whatever cheap here may not apply to other country. It is depend on supply and demand. rclxm9.gif
Thanks for great explanation rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TScybermaster98
post Mar 12 2013, 06:49 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Mar 12 2013, 12:59 PM)
No. During year 5, you are getting back 100k for the camry as opposed to 70k for the 407.
Yes ure getting back hard cash 100K for the Camry but u need to take into account how much you paid for that 5 years of ownership in terms of the initial downpayment and monthly repayments including interest.

In this case, u 'invested' 176K to get back 100k for the Camry while u invested 155K to get back 70K for the Peugeot. But the money that u saved for paying lower installments monthly for 60 months must also be taken into account.
Darcy2
post Mar 12 2013, 09:56 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 12 2013, 08:22 AM)
Bro, how can u possibly say that maintenance and FC are major elements of resale value? Resale value is resale value. Its not the same as maintenance costs and fuel efficiency. When u add up everything then its called TOTAL OWNERSHIP COSTS. Im not refering to that. Im refering to the RESALE VALUE in particular. Im refering to the ACTUAL COST involved.
Look, when buyers look at the resale value, they also want to see the quality, reputation and reliability of the car. Which means, whether a second hand car would incur more maintenance cost in relative to other second hand cars of that age.

For example, if the Hyundai Matrix 2006 and Proton Wira 2006 were priced at say RM15k, which would you prefer?

You wouldn't want the Hyundai Matrix, right? Because its well known to have high repair costs.
madmoz
post Mar 12 2013, 10:00 PM

4,250 posts

For your argument to hold through, then you are going to take the cost over the entire period of the loan (early settlement penalty etc at point of disposal). It is no longer a simple net loss calculation based on how much you have paid (which is the basis for part 1 of your calculation) but rather a the gain/loss against the actual loan amount.

Like I mentioned earlier, Part 2 of the calculation at the moment is wrong as you have factored in the difference in installments twice.

An oversimplification and a wrong one at that. If you substitute in the amount that you would need to pay up to settle the loan and then net that off against the 'resale value' of 100k and 70k you would get a much better estimate.

I suspect that the Camry would still be cheaper as the % depreciation is much lower, even after you factor in the interest rate of say 3%.

laugh.gif Oh your loan tenure is 5 years also, lagi senang then. Your reasoning just plain doesn't hold water cause it is then nothing but a cash flow computation. You paid more out in cash for the 407 as compared to the Camry (disregarding the time value of money of course).

I maintain that the second part of your calculation is double dipping.

This post has been edited by madmoz: Mar 12 2013, 10:08 PM
LenovoT
post Mar 13 2013, 12:54 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 12 2013, 08:19 AM)
Friend, uve already sold your car. What 30K more are u talking about? This calculation is to show 2 separate cars being sold at the stipulated trade in prices.
Friend, RM30k is the difference between what you can get from 407 and Camry (RM70k vs RM100K) when you sold your car at 5th year lo. Simple as that. If we are to take TVM into consideration, the difference would be smaller. But this is not the point, the main point is, why can't you accept the fact that based on the example you have provided, 407 will loss more than Camry from the cash flow perspective although you can buy the 407 at cheaper price for a start?
FlyWheel
post Mar 15 2013, 08:25 AM

QUOTE(LenovoT @ Mar 13 2013, 12:54 AM)
Friend, RM30k is the difference between what you can get from 407 and Camry (RM70k vs RM100K) when you sold your car at 5th year lo. Simple as that. If we are to take TVM into consideration, the difference would be smaller. But this is not the point, the main point is, why can't you accept the fact that based on the example you have provided, 407 will loss more than Camry from the cash flow perspective although you can buy the 407 at cheaper price for a start?
Good one! rclxms.gif

TScybermaster98
post Mar 15 2013, 08:42 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(LenovoT @ Mar 13 2013, 12:54 AM)
Do u know what is 'cash flow"?
TScybermaster98
post Mar 15 2013, 08:44 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Mar 12 2013, 10:00 PM)
For your argument to hold through, then you are going to take the cost over the entire period of the loan (early settlement penalty etc at point of disposal). It is no longer a simple net loss calculation based on how much you have paid (which is the basis for part 1 of your calculation) but rather a the gain/loss against the actual loan amount.

Like I mentioned earlier, Part 2 of the calculation at the moment is wrong as you have factored in the difference in installments twice.

An oversimplification and a wrong one at that. If you substitute in the amount that you would need to pay up to settle the loan and then net that off against the 'resale value' of 100k and 70k you would get a much better estimate.

I suspect that the Camry would still be cheaper as the % depreciation is much lower, even after you factor in the interest rate of say 3%.

laugh.gif  Oh your loan tenure is 5 years also, lagi senang then. Your reasoning just plain doesn't hold water cause it is then nothing but a cash flow computation. You paid more out in cash for the 407 as compared to the Camry (disregarding the time value of money of course).

I maintain that the second part of your calculation is double dipping.
Alright then. Why dont u do an alternate comparison and show where the calculation has gone wrong?
madmoz
post Mar 15 2013, 10:25 AM

4,250 posts

the first part of your calculation is correct.

the second part is wrong.
that's all there is to it - cash flows.
kalvinwee
post Mar 15 2013, 12:11 PM

rclxms.gif
cherroy
post Mar 15 2013, 04:16 PM

25,802 posts

Based on TS info
Summarise (just on car price issue)

Pg
- total money need to spent = 85,367
- Downpayment 13,688
- monthly hire purchase 2,361

Camry
- total money need to spent to drive it for 5 years = 75,913
- Downpayment 15,499
- monthly hire purchase 2,673

So it is cheaper to drive a Camry for 5 years, (85,367 - 75,913) = 9,454
With a little bit higher downpayment and monthly payment, save 9K+ over the 5 years.

LenovoT
post Mar 16 2013, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 15 2013, 04:16 PM)
Based on TS info
Summarise (just on car price issue)

Pg
- total money need to spent = 85,367
- Downpayment 13,688
- monthly hire purchase 2,361

Camry
- total money need to spent to drive it for 5 years = 75,913
- Downpayment 15,499
- monthly hire purchase 2,673

So it is cheaper to drive a Camry for 5 years, (85,367 - 75,913) = 9,454
With a little bit higher downpayment and monthly payment, save 9K+ over the 5 years.
This is what we have been talking about, but TS cant agree. He will tell you although Camry's loss is lesser, you pay more as down payment & installments. doh.gif

Now see this TS. Assuming discount rate at 3% for simplicity of computation.

zib5
post Mar 16 2013, 12:11 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 8 2013, 10:21 AM)
This calculation was shared by a LYN forumer some time back which ive tweaked to suit.

Very often, we always focus on the resale value of a particular model while ignoring the start up costs and monthly loan repayment costs. This tabulation will show you why cars with lower resale value may actually be a cheaper. This is of course assuming maintenance costs are similar.

Peugeot 407 Premium 2.0L

Purchase price (2008) = $136,888
Downpayment = $13,688 (10%)
Interest rate = 3%
Tenure = 60 months (5 years)
Monthly loan payment = $2,361
Total loan paid = $2361 x 60 = $141679
Total paid for car = $141679 (loan) + $13688 (dp)= $155,367
Resell car 2013 (after 5 years) for $70k (49% loss)
Total loss (after 5 years) = $155,367 (what you paid for) - $70,000 (what you get) = $85,367
Toyota Camry 2.0L

Purchase price (2008) = $154,990
Downpayment = $15,499
Interest rate = 3%
Tenure = 60 months (5 years)
Monthly payment = $2,673
Total loan paid = $2,673 x 60 = $160,414
Total paid for car = $160,414 + $15,499 = $175,913
Resell car 2013 (after 5 years) for $100k (35% loss)
Total loss (after 5 years) = $175913 (what you paid for) - $100,000 (what you get) = $75,913

For simplicity, let's assume service/maintenance costs are equal. Thus, after 5 years, a Peugeot 407 vs Toyota Camry:

407 has HIGHER total loss
$85,367 (407) - $75,913 (Camry) = $9,454

407 has LOWER start-up cost
$15,499 (camry) - $13,688 (407) = $1,811

407 has HIGHER monthly positive cash flow through lower installments
$2,673 (camry) - $2,361 (407) x 60 months = $ 18,720
SUMMARY

This clearly shows that although the Peugeot 407 has RM 9,454 lower trade in value after 5 years but it gains a total of RM 20,531 from lower start up costs and lower monthly loan installments.

Thus, buying cars with lower resale value isnt actually a poor financial decision. So i think with this, we should not allow resale values to govern our choice of vehicles. Safety, value for money, specifications and maintenance costs should take precedence.

What do you think?
Agree!

Good one cybermaster!

But buying used for any car is even better IMHO..

zib5
post Mar 16 2013, 12:19 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Mar 8 2013, 11:13 AM)
You may have comparing the wrong segment or value, you should have compare the 407 with Altis not camry and then you will have totally different answer. sweat.gif
Why altis? 407 is 2.0L which is the same segment with the Camry 2.0

I think he did the right comparison.
zib5
post Mar 16 2013, 12:36 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Mar 12 2013, 03:38 PM)
In my opinion I will not buy a second hand Toyota/Honda simply because the resale value is high.

I don't see why I should pay a high price for a used car that lacks features found in another similar car.

Therefore if I were to buy a used car, I'll choose a European car.
It has more features and costs less.
I also won't suffer that much depreciation anymore because the first owner has already absorbed it.

If more people buy second hand European car instead of second hand Toyota. The resale values of these cars will reverse.
agree!!! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
SUSgoodguyextremist
post Mar 16 2013, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 12 2013, 08:22 AM)
Bro, how can u possibly say that maintenance and FC are major elements of resale value? Resale value is resale value. Its not the same as maintenance costs and fuel efficiency. When u add up everything then its called TOTAL OWNERSHIP COSTS. Im not refering to that. Im refering to the RESALE VALUE in particular. Im refering to the ACTUAL COST involved.
Actually true, the maintenance is main factor in determining resale value. To be accurate, these are main points for good resale value:
- reliability
- cost of ownership
- spare parts availabilty
- number of workshops that can fix the car

In Australia, new car prices are cheap and used cars are way cheaper, RV all so so only. Reason being the cars in Australia will easily hit high mileage over short period due to longer distance between home >> workplace >> school >> shops, etc. People prefer buy brand new rather than keeping the old car with very high mileage, no need to overhaul. Best thing about Australia is any cars there always have ready spare parts and only the best cars will be on top.

Our cars here are too expensive and only the few makes that offer plenty spare parts while others don't focus on after sales service much. That is how Toyota and Honda can sell well while others don't unless they focus on after sales.
echoesian
post Mar 17 2013, 01:31 AM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(zib5 @ Mar 16 2013, 12:11 PM)
Agree!

Good one cybermaster!

But buying used for any car is even better IMHO..
Why is it buying used car is better in terms of resale value? Any good example?

tokdukun
post Mar 18 2013, 11:11 AM

376 posts

TS double dip what?

Let's not talk about selling the car yet.

The 407 is more cash friendly, with lower downpayment and monthly installment. Over the course of 5 years, the 407 saves you rm20k cash, as calculated in the second (rm1.8k) and third (rm18.7k) part of TS calculation. The favour is on 407's side so far.

Now comes the time to sell both.

Camry commands rm30k more than 407. With just one transaction, the Camry wiped out all the rm20k savings in the entire 5 years, and made a gain of rm10k.

This I understood from TS first post. Not like he said Camry>407 by rm10k, but 407>camry by rm20k, therefore overall 407>camry by rm10k. If he said like this, then it's double dip.

To conclude, yes Camry do save you rm10k in the end. But it also means additional rm20k commitment in the first place over the course of 5 years. TS point of this thread: is it worth it?
tokdukun
post Mar 18 2013, 11:18 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Mar 17 2013, 01:31 AM)
Why is it buying used car is better in terms of resale value? Any good example?
Put simply, you lose less.

Eg get a used kelisa 5 years ago at rm20k, today you sell for rm13k. You only suffer rm7k depreciation then.

Compared to the first owner, let's say he bought that kelisa rm40k, sell you rm20k, so he suffered rm20k depreciation.

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0314sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:28 PM