Buying Advice nikon D50 vs D70s?

TScfyung85
post Apr 13 2006, 06:40 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(elb @ Apr 13 2006, 06:16 PM)
The cost of a polarizer depends on the filter size (which again depends on your lens), whether it is multi coated or not, the material/ tecnology they use, and the manufacturer. For example a good polarizer of size 58mm might cost you, say RM200? I usually don't use a polarizer because it makes the sky look artificial.

Man, so many of you are getting Nikon. No one considering Canon?  flex.gif
most canon dSLR camera cost a bomb tongue.gif i do considered the canon EOS 350D n nikon D50 b4 but in the end prefer to go for nikon D70s biggrin.gif well of course i got my own reasons but dun feel like telling tongue.gif kekeke biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cfyung85: Apr 13 2006, 06:41 PM
TScfyung85
post Apr 13 2006, 09:59 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Apr 13 2006, 09:46 PM)
So many people joining to the dark side soon...
hehe. Good luck in purchasing and beware of the poison...
The dark side power is strong....
it will burn alot of holes in your pocket and bank tongue.gif
i think its worth it though icon_rolleyes.gif every photo has a meaning to it. photos will accompany a person until he/she becomes old n dies wub.gif of course after a person dies maybe all his/her photo oso ikut kena bakar sweat.gif CHOI~!!! tongue.gif

TScfyung85
post Apr 13 2006, 11:12 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Apr 13 2006, 10:22 PM)
@elb

Which model of EOS u're uing? 350d? What do think o it?

Somebody i know once told me before, whether it's a canon or a nikon it doesn't really matter, how the pictures looks like all depends on the user. Of course there is some small diff.
not only the user...the lens oso tongue.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 15 2006, 01:12 AM

383 posts

yep it is friday night oledi so i'll print this note n start asking tomolo smile.gif it will be 1 hell of a journey blush.gif

DSLR Shopping Trip
Date : End of April/Early of May
Shop: Tarita/Boeing/Foto Shangrila/Other shops tht give good price & gifts
Members:

1. cyberkid - Nikon D50(body) + 18-200mm VR lens + 1gb SD

2. cyberkid's fren - D200

3. cfyung85 - Nikon D70s + Nikon bag + 1Gb CF (SanDisk) + Hoya/Nikon Filter + Circular Polarizer

4. basSist - Nikon D70s + Nikon bag + 1Gb HighSpeed CF + Circular Polarizer

5. basSist's fren - Nikon D70s + Nikon bag + 1Gb High Speed CF

6. Intrigue - Canon350D/Nikon D70s + 1GB CF + UV filter + Circular Polarizer + battery for Canon350D/D70s + info bout battery lifespan

7. ferox - Nikon D70s(body) + 50mm + 18-200mm VR lens + 1gb CF + dry cabinet (small)

8. crackie - Nikon D70s + SB600

9. k3v1n - Nikon D50+512SD+Camera Bag+Hoya Filter/Panasonic FZ30

any changes please notify to this post tomolo morning. i'll open another post in the the trade section at tomolo night so that i can post each of u guy's discount offered by the shop smile.gif i hope u guys r really serious in buying the dSLRs u wanted bcos if anyone suddenly withraw from the list then it will be a total havoc for those that wanted to buy since the discount n special offer (if got) will suddenly vanish or change sad.gif

anyway if the shop is so stingy n dun wanna offer anything or offer peanuts discount, then i'll oso open another post n just say...stingy shopkeepers doh.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 15 2006, 07:46 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(cyberkid @ Apr 15 2006, 03:35 AM)
My fren withdraw, haha, update list:
i doubt it tongue.gif D200 is way too expensive n not worth it for the moment sweat.gif

ok...everything settle. i'll go around afternoon like that so still able to receive changes for the time being smile.gif

this week oso got pc fare...sorry la not going to pc fare. dunno y they wanna change to KL convention centre...super jam n only got 1 floor shakehead.gif rather in PWTC. can tambang LRT n reach liao thumbup.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 15 2006, 10:34 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Apr 15 2006, 10:05 AM)
^^ i suggest when we gather for the buying time.. we treat him yum cha!

what u guys think?
TQTQ notworthy.gif biggrin.gif

okla...will be going out soon icon_rolleyes.gif i'll post again later tonight (new post) around 9-10 pm then we discuss together again. wait for my good/bad news tonight! tongue.gif byebye! smile.gif

This post has been edited by cfyung85: Apr 15 2006, 10:34 AM
TScfyung85
post Apr 15 2006, 11:18 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Apr 15 2006, 10:46 PM)
today went for PC fair..
got chance to hold and play with various DSLR

first i saw Oympus and played with its E330 and E500.
Nice,not very heavy,the lens smooth when u zoom it.

2nd,Nikon.i played with its D70s and D50.
yah D70s is definately heavier than E330 and E500 and D50 is slightly lighter than D70s also.the lens.. not as smooth as Olympus.

3rd,Canon.the 350D.
yah the colour production is better than Nikon as i saw in their LCD panel compare with Nikon's(maybe i am too noob so cant really fully utilising Nikon's  laugh.gif ).Lighter.the lens.. yah not as smooth as Olympus and about the same with Nikon.

P/S: all the lens are standard kit lens for each of them.

Conclusion:
i like the Olympus's lens that made me zoom smootly and steadily.  smile.gif
just wonder izzit the difficulty to find Olympus's accessories(1st or 2nd) makes many players change their mind to Nikon or Canon..
dunno much bout olympus E330 n E500 but i read in photo magazines the photos taken by E300 tends to undersaturate in almost all conditions sweat.gif n olympus is using a unique four thirds (4:3) sensor so very hard oso to find a 4:3 lenses except for olympus lens themselves. but oso heard the zuiko olympus lens is growing kinda fast oso smile.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 16 2006, 12:17 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Apr 15 2006, 11:46 PM)
okay.. but the lens really give me smoother and steady feel if compare to Nikon and Canon leh.  wub.gif
maybe bcos of the smaller design of olympus body n lens tongue.gif the olympus 4:3 lens r small (1 advantage) n the sensor that the camera is using is oso small (advantage + disadvantage) blush.gif

or maybe olympus wanna make camera that is user friendly rclxms.gif

dun say anything bout 350D shakehead.gif although the performance is competitive compared to other low end dSLRs but i can say the handling is one the worst among all SLRs due to the extreme small desgin... doh.gif

This post has been edited by cfyung85: Apr 16 2006, 12:18 AM
TScfyung85
post Apr 16 2006, 12:46 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(ferox @ Apr 16 2006, 12:33 AM)
So what's the plan?
no plan since no more discount tongue.gif i'll still stick to D70s. played with it today together with the 350D tongue.gif kinda fun rclxms.gif but actually the handling in 350D can be improved if a vertical grip is added smile.gif olympus...what should i say...i still not so convinced with the four thirds system that they r using sad.gif they sacrifice the size of the sensor for the sake of smaller design n lightweight sad.gif in fact i love big cameras like the D2x n 1D mark IIN but no money to buy tongue.gif

n another funny thing about 4:3 photo i wanna share tongue.gif remember bout the FZ30 i used to use? rolleyes.gif it is oso actually at 4:3 size. when i develop 1 of the photos (a chicken), that fella (i think an ameteur) print out the photo (unaltered) of the chicken n lemme c...n when i c it, it has only half of its head biggrin.gif another half gone liao bcos the photo paper they r using is longer n shorter tongue.gif should be a 3:2 size photo paper tongue.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 16 2006, 01:15 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(ferox @ Apr 16 2006, 12:50 AM)
Cheapest can get is RM2400. camera + kit lens only

Alright. Anyone knows how much a d70s body costs?
asked today n most salesman say they seldom masuk the "body only" stock liao. some shops r offering around 2900 like that smile.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 16 2006, 01:31 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Apr 16 2006, 01:14 AM)
i tot the twisted LCD is from E330 that comes with Live LCD as well?
yep yep! biggrin.gif panasonic gonna release the L1 soon which oso got the same features smile.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 16 2006, 09:29 AM

383 posts

but i planned to buy the D70s this coming thursday liao bcos friday i'm going to redang with my GF for the ever first time in my life rclxm9.gif

dun wanna miss the beautiful scenery there without a camera blush.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 16 2006, 01:23 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Apr 16 2006, 11:48 AM)
OK...seems liek the deal is back ALIVE following Par@dox neg. with the sales person.

BTW, cfyung.... who's the sales person u talk to? can u pm me his/her name?
i dunno... sad.gif i only know its a chinese guy in G floor Boeing lot G134. oh yeah...theres a pirated cd shop next to it icon_idea.gif he was very nice n kind at first n greeted me so i was oso happy to c him. but when i started to nego bout best price since i'm buying bulk he straight away like...u know a bit pissed off doh.gif but about all his condeming nikon thing dunno whether its true or not unsure.gif

Guys, seeing cfyung85's poor negotiation outing, I decided to help out by giving Lilian from Boeing a call. Not sure whether this is a good price but this is what I got when I told her a friend wanted to buy 6 x D70s and 2 x D50.

D70s = RM3400 (normal price RM3550)
D50 = RM2500 (normal price RM2800) <= not that good a price but probably can nego further.

Take note that this is over the phone. If go there and see her in person, probably can negotiate for a better deal when the entire deal is told to her.

I think cfyung's mistake was dealing with one of the junior salesperson in Boeing. If deal with the supervisor / boss straight, you will know right away the best deal u can get.
RM3400 for D70s is not a bad deal since most shop r offering 3500 like that. tarita being cheapest RM3450. RM2500 for D50 is about near normal price since a lot of shops oso offering bout 2450-2600 blush.gif

Getting to grips with a SLR will take some time and practice. Even if you bought it today, will you be able to control the camera satisfactorily in time for your trip? It would be much easier if you already have exposure to some level of manual photography (beyond automatic/ P&S), and if you haven't, well, you won't make it in time. From your statement that you do not have a camera, I'm assuming the worst.

And I was also wondering how you were going to get everyone to pay up in time (given your tight time frame)...
actually i oledi wanted to buy yesterday bcos today, monday, tuesday n wednesday i have to go to KKB hospital to help the medical staffs smile.gif but bcos suddenly so many lowyat friends offer to buy together with me, i oso think its ok since maybe i can get a good price from bulk buying but tiba tiba tak bleh pulak blush.gif so have to buy either this coming thursday or rush on friday but i think thursday will be nice smile.gif

oh forgot to tell...i'm 24 hours on manual exposure with my FZ30 last time. thats y i prefer D70s rather than D50 n 350D bcos it has 2 command dials that make manual exposure a breeze tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cfyung85: Apr 16 2006, 01:25 PM
TScfyung85
post Apr 19 2006, 09:19 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(elb @ Apr 16 2006, 06:26 PM)
Fair enough, although the 20D is always there  whistling.gif . Good luck getting your camera in time and have a wonderful holiday!
20D?? no money leh blush.gif is it around 4500??

anyway i'm back from the stinking KKB place vmad.gif mosquito everywhere...aedes some more vmad.gif

anyway i'm gonna buy tomolo liao icon_rolleyes.gif kinda happy but still a bit indecisive doh.gif

oh ya guys i wanna ask...when i was playing with the D70s, i noticed that the lens glass infront is kinda brownish. is it already pre-equipped with a filter? unsure.gif

n how many types of filter r there in the market?
TScfyung85
post Apr 19 2006, 09:47 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(bh-4 @ Apr 19 2006, 09:33 PM)
i think that is not the filter. its the coating of the lens.

D50's kit lens is good, but the D70's kit lens is better. in terms of range the 18-70 wins. but when it comes to using built in flash, the 18-70 will have some problems since when you pull it to wide and take pictures with built in flash, you will notice a shadow at the bottom tongue.gif. easily solved by getting an external flash. in terms of picture quality, both lenses perform GOOD. as long as you dont go pixel peeping and try REALLY HARD TO FIND their flaws. smile.gif anyway, get any camera and start shooting. build the photographer in you and not the equipment collecter in you. tongue.gif
i think i'll be sticking with the 18-70mm lens pretty long sweat.gif if got money then only try n get a micro nikkor lens or a super tele nikon/3rd party lens sweat.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 20 2006, 11:37 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(bh-4 @ Apr 19 2006, 11:54 PM)
that should depend on how deep your willing to dig into your pocket tongue.gif. tighter focal lengths usually is better but depends once again on how you are going to use it... i suggested the Sigma since sumone wants to use a macro and a telephoto. since the lens has fairly good aspects in both the macro and telephoto ( and also it has a very good price tag ).

but if it comes down to getting a good macro and telephoto on one lense, you could always result to the Zoom Micro Nikkor 70-180mm f/4.5-5.6 ( which has a price tag of nearly RM4k ). tongue.gif
its good oso to have a lens that can do both tele n makro smile.gif i kinda hate to change lens all the time since the sensor will expose to dust. unless i buy myself the olympus dSLRs with super sonic wave filter but i'm not so convinced with the four thirds smaller sensor that it uses sweat.gif plus the limited accessories oso sweat.gif

TScfyung85
post Apr 22 2006, 01:54 AM

383 posts

finally i got my D70s today in SG rclxm9.gif i bought it in boeing in LG floor with Lilian inside tongue.gif well the way she serve customer is really exceptionally exceptional compared to other salesman in there tongue.gif

anyway bought the body + lens for RM3450

bought a 67mm hoya dunno what multicoat filter CHM or something like that for RM130 since the normal hoya UV filter RM60++ suda no more stock

bought a...i think a fake nikon bag for RM100...damn blardy big sweat.gif can fit a body, a flash n 3-4 mid sized lens (not those big huge telephotos) sweat.gif

bought another triangle small nikon bag for RM40 due to convenient sake since that bag mentioned above is really too big to carry along here n there sweat.gif

bought a normal sandisk CF 1Gb for RM199

she only gave me 30 dollars discount doh.gif hack better than nothing tongue.gif

well bout that camera...what can i say... rolleyes.gif i tested both D70s n 350D in boeing. well photo quality wise hard to differentiate but feel like the photos taken with 350D with the original lens provided (dunno what lens) is a bit oversaturated. the colors looks kinda extra rich blush.gif ergonomics...well the salesman kinda wanna laugh at me through the way i'm struggling my fingers in the 350D grip tongue.gif anyway bought the D70s in the end oso rclxm9.gif

bout D70s...really very very very much different compared to my previous FZ30 sweat.gif i dun even know what will the outcome of the photo will be if i alter this n that doh.gif well since dSLR only allow the photo to be viewed only after the shot is taken so really have to shoot several times just to get the near correct exposure unlike the FZ30 that allows u to view the outcome of the photo taken sweat.gif

photo quality wise...well it is a dSLR of course is unrivaled by any normal digicams blush.gif compared to other SLRs...ask the pros tongue.gif

now still in the process of learning how to shoot correctly at 1 shot sweat.gif

anyway i'm satisfied with the D70s. my trip to redang no more liao since have to compulsorily attend a friend's party. luckily didnt book any rooms yet tongue.gif tomolo will be going to genting. i'll try my new camera there. DAMN SIOK LA NOW!!! rclxm9.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 23 2006, 05:16 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Apr 22 2006, 02:24 AM)
wow cfyung85 finally got ur d70s aldi..
congrats man..

btw u got ur CF card a little bit expensive  sweat.gif
actually its not that i wanted to buy there sad.gif i went to low yat first to buy the CF card. the cheapest i saw is RM135 in thudermatch but the salesman say no more stock liao. i asked him when ada stock he said normal sandisk CF tarak enter liao. the rest of other shops in low yat all oso didnt sell sandisk normal CF card. viewnet got sell but RM209. all other shops oso only sell the highspeed n the extreme III which cost a total nuclear bomb sweat.gif well i dun wanna buy kingston since it is not recommended by nikon. nikon recommends sandisk, toshiba n another brand forgot liao...

for now i'm very happy with my D70s. luckily it has 2 dials. i'm so happy with flicking aperture n shutter speed fast. photo quality wise...magnificent even at ISO1000 rclxms.gif used 1600 several times in the dark concert n still cant c any visible noise rclxms.gif small minute minute ones can c la when zoom at full size sweat.gif about the DOF preview...dunno where the button is so not so care bout that 1 tongue.gif burst 3 fps is not bad...the built in flash kinda sux a bit doh.gif plan to get SB600/800 soon. 18-70mm lens not bad but preferably can zoom further more blush.gif planning to get an "all-rounder" like 18-200mm VR if got $$$ tongue.gif

anyway i'm back from my genting trip smile.gif what should i say bout my D70s...well, 1 gb is really not enough for me doh.gif i use the JPEG fine n the camera shows can take >280 photos. i was so shocked to c it can take so many photos but to my disappointment...NOT ENOUGH...oledi maxed out doh.gif have to delete some in order to take more photos blush.gif

another thing...i attended the concert about the myFM annual anniversary thingy in the arena of all stars tongue.gif took a lot of photos n still wanna take but another disappointment...BATTERY KONG LIAO... doh.gif got so many artist singing oso unable to take cry.gif

anyway i'll post some examples of photos (resized) here icon_rolleyes.gif enjoy! smile.gif

daniel lee n a "dunno who" girl in concert in arena of all stars, genting highland smile.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 23 2006, 08:53 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Apr 23 2006, 06:51 PM)
Well he din said is not compatible. Just that maybe nikon site doesn't have kingston in their recommended memory card list ba.
yeah. i just say it is not recommended (nikon oso), not completely useless doh.gif

sigh u r just being far too sensitive n hot headed scorgio sweat.gif
TScfyung85
post Apr 26 2006, 12:33 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(ferox @ Apr 24 2006, 11:09 PM)
No lobang. Just go buy... I just got my 18-200vr today... All in all, my investment very expensive... RM5900 for everything including accessories. Sigh.
war...18-200 VR drool.gif i oso wan rclxms.gif but no more $$$ liao... doh.gif have to stuck with 18-70 for the moment sweat.gif

anyway is the 18-70mm got any resale value? if not really hantuk kepala doh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0265sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:33 PM