Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.
potachan
Jun 7 2013, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 7 2013, 02:54 PM) I said: Try only... like a free umbrella You have nothing to lose to ask for it If they do not have it, please do not fight with them.. Good luck.. ok lol
BoomChaCha
Jun 7 2013, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 7 2013, 11:10 AM) I calculated Public Bank's Super FD based on amount RM30k - RM24k in FD - RM6k in Savings - Total Interest received: RM997.81 Actual Effective Interest Rate: 3.326% p.a.  I think this FD promo is targeted on old aged and loyalty customers. But not for Musical Chair like us..
HJebat
Jun 7 2013, 09:21 PM
Recently I put some $$$ into BR’s FD for a tenure of >60 months. Visited a certain branch for 3 days in a row just to nego for an extra 0.20% (on the 3rd day, it was more like a haggle). In the end, it was to no avail. I only managed to get extra 0.10%. Quite disappointed that some BR staffs are not well-informed, hence not familiar with their own product. Even BR’s CS line is hopeless & useless when I needed it. On a happier note, my maturity date falls on a weekend & BR gives extra profit/interest without me asking for it. Received a few free gifts as well.
Anyway, a big thank you to magika, bbgoat, BoomChaCha & guy3288 who gave feedbacks & shared valuable infos to all my queries in this thread.
SUSMNet
Jun 7 2013, 10:06 PM
u go which bank rakyat branch?
they give u wat freebies?
gsc
Jun 7 2013, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(potachan @ Jun 7 2013, 09:01 AM) hi May i know can i negotiate with UOB if my fund is 200k and normally how much more the interest will u get? thank you. 200k cant even be a premier customer at UOB, unlikely you will get additional rate...but no harm try it and report here  .. With additional 100k you can be a premier customer at Ocbc and get FD at 5% for 3 months..
adolph
Jun 7 2013, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(MNet @ Jun 7 2013, 10:06 PM) u go which bank rakyat branch? they give u wat freebies? MNet, A handkerchief with "bank rakyat" signature on it.
gsc
Jun 7 2013, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(alwjmonster @ Jun 7 2013, 10:53 AM) They have yet explained to me about smart saver, i feels unsecure because they like selling insurance to me, i have to put aside RM17,220 every year and accumulate till 8 years only can withdraw the fund, but i get RM2,400 interest return + RM3000 bonus (fluctuate according economic) every year and i get insured up to RM60,000, while you can enjoy saving account with 4.5% rate untill end of this year and afterward will follow normal fd rate.. I think you are referring to the Builder Express product which Ocbc is selling..
gsc
Jun 7 2013, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Jun 7 2013, 11:01 AM) I see.. Okay, now i got it!  So bro, it is possible to have the fund to be deposit back to EPF but only with 60k max / year right? Sounds good, at least it can be the last resort if there's no suitable solution found. For the bold part, you're right! Nothing is perfect. For making the fund more flow-able, there's always a game need to hands on. Will try to walk to the bank ask for their monthly / special promotion for more info since I got the heads up!  Yes, your father can deposit the money back to EPF. .. You better move fast, 60k, interest rate 3.7% is about RM185 per month or RM6 per day...if in EPF,6.3% which is RM 315 per month or RM10 per day.. Another option is place at MBSB which offers 5 years FD, 4.7% rate if not mistaken...MBSB is not PIDM protected....MBSB major shareholder is EPF..
BoomChaCha
Jun 7 2013, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 7 2013, 10:28 PM) 200k cant even be a premier customer at UOB, unlikely you will get additional rate...but no harm try it and report here  .. With additional 100k you can be a premier customer at Ocbc and get FD at 5% for 3 months.. I heard UOB requires a minimum RM 500K to be a premier customer, if I did not hear it wrongly.. The interest rate for 3 months for new OCBC premier customer is 5.5%, but need to buy an investment product which is a bit hassle.. This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 7 2013, 11:00 PM
duncan880409
Jun 7 2013, 10:48 PM
quick one guys, lets say my OCBC SS now have 10k and i wanna place additional 60k (40k for 4.5% FD + 20k for SS) . Now my SS already have 10k, does that mean i can only top up 15k for SS and 45k for my 4.5% FD. meaning total of 25k SS and 45k FD?
BoomChaCha
Jun 7 2013, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(gsc @ Jun 7 2013, 10:39 PM) Yes, your father can deposit the money back to EPF. .. You better move fast, 60k, interest rate 3.7% is about RM185 per month or RM6 per day...if in EPF,6.3% which is RM 315 per month or RM10 per day.. Another option is place at MBSB which offers 5 years FD, 4.7% rate if not mistaken...MBSB is not PIDM protected....MBSB major shareholder is EPF.. I agree with gsc. If I was fylon, I would put the money back to EPF. But if fylon's father does not like EPF for somehow, then it is no point to ask his father to put FD in MBSB. Yes, MBSB's 5 year FD is 4.7%, interest will pay every 6 months..
bbgoat
Jun 7 2013, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 7 2013, 10:48 PM) I heard UOB requires a minimum RM 500K to be a premier customer, if I did not hear it wrongly.. The interest rate for 3 months for new OCBC premier customer is 5.5%, but need to buy an investment product which is a bit hassle.. Since last year, UOB has raised their PB customer requirement to RM 500k.
BoomChaCha
Jun 7 2013, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 7 2013, 11:12 PM) Since last year, UOB has raised their PB customer requirement to RM 500k. Oh...this happened just last year. What was the minimum before RM 500K?
spikeman
Jun 7 2013, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 7 2013, 11:19 PM) Oh...this happened just last year. What was the minimum before RM 500K? I think it was RM300k same as OCBC
bbgoat
Jun 7 2013, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 7 2013, 11:19 PM) Oh...this happened just last year. What was the minimum before RM 500K? I think it was 300k. Then around May/June last year, while talking to their RM she said it was changed to 500k.
gsc
Jun 8 2013, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(duncan880409 @ Jun 7 2013, 10:48 PM) quick one guys, lets say my OCBC SS now have 10k and i wanna place additional 60k (40k for 4.5% FD + 20k for SS) . Now my SS already have 10k, does that mean i can only top up 15k for SS and 45k for my 4.5% FD. meaning total of 25k SS and 45k FD? Your existing money in SS has nothing to do with the new FD placement. 60k new placement, need 20k in SS, your SS new balance is 30k. One member here said can open more than one SS then you might as well deposit into new SS account.
BoomChaCha
Jun 8 2013, 01:40 AM
QUOTE(spikeman @ Jun 7 2013, 11:24 PM) I think it was RM300k same as OCBC So we can foresee OCBC will eventually follow UOB's step to increase premier account minimum deposit requirement to RM 500K very soon. Also this indicates that our Ringgit value is depreciated. Actually what are the benefits of being a premier customer? I do not see the practical advantages of being a premier customer so far.
cwhong
Jun 8 2013, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 8 2013, 01:40 AM) So we can foresee OCBC will eventually follow UOB's step to increase premier account minimum deposit requirement to RM 500K very soon. Also this indicates that our Ringgit value is depreciated. Actually what are the benefits of being a premier customer? I do not see the practical advantages of being a premier customer so far. Higher interest rate, no need to q long long, got coffee unlimited, got chick serve oppps for financial advice or investment advice, anymore?
BoomChaCha
Jun 8 2013, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(cwhong @ Jun 8 2013, 10:58 AM) Higher interest rate, no need to q long long, got coffee unlimited, got chick serve oppps for financial advice or investment advice, anymore? No, my FD interest rate follows the brochure, nothing special. Yes, faster counter service to save time. No, no coffer nor tea, only 310ml mineral water. Not really, outside counter also can give investment advice.
cwhong
Jun 8 2013, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 8 2013, 11:16 AM) No, my FD interest rate follows the brochure, nothing special. Yes, faster counter service to save time. No, no coffer nor tea, only 310ml mineral water. Not really, outside counter also can give investment advice. Which bank bro? Local bank? Btw i am not interested too on priority banking.... Using means the person is loaded so dun wan the trouble......