11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

bbgoat
post Aug 4 2013, 08:05 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 4 2013, 12:47 AM)
Come, come...join the club then let's do the gangnam style dance  rclxm9.gif

And if really can get 5% or higher, please report here & the drinks are on you, yea...

BoomChaCha is counting asset & waiting to buka puasa innocent.gif
Ha ha, will send you a cyber drink if can get 5% or higher for the 5 years rate ................. Cheers rclxm9.gif

BoomChaCha is surprisingly quiet last night, no update, lost in counting ?? rclxub.gif Need any help ?? hmm.gif

add 10.15am Oh, maybe BoomChaCha is having Saturday Night Fever as the name suggest, boom .. cha...cha...?? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 4 2013, 10:18 AM
bbgoat
post Aug 4 2013, 11:01 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 4 2013, 10:32 AM)
Maybe after buka puasa, he keep counting his asset till dawn to sahur. So, now lying flat on the bed laugh.gif

On a more serious note, did you get your BR CNY hamper & hi-tea invitation prior to your 12-month 4.20% FD placement or after?
As my last placement with BR was before CNY, so the invitation is after my last placement with BR of the 4.2% interest.

Also I got 2 hampers with them as I told the ABM that I have 2 accounts with them (one joint account) both exceed their minimum requirement to get the hamper. Ha ha. Except not too happy with the hamper content, seems not too high value. Well, it is free ................. smile.gif

bbgoat
post Aug 4 2013, 11:12 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Aug 4 2013, 10:33 AM)
Wow, if can really get 5% or higher, I will consider to renew my BR FD from 12mth to 61mth.  rclxms.gif
Hope the min amount per FD is not too high, as I always split my fund into multiple FD certs, just in case I need to use my fund partially.
So far I am happy with my BR 12mth FD, with high interest and credited monthly. just pay 10sen to IBG out. Cool!  cool2.gif
Thanks for all the sharing form BR supporters here.  notworthy.gif
You don't have to place a single FD cert of high value with BR to claim high interest. My FD's with BR are split into lower values in case I need the funds. It is the cumulative value that is important. Also you have to see managerial level to negotiate. I also get monthly interest and use IBG to xfer funds.

Anyway in spite of all the hype about BR, I still do not put all my eggs in a single basket. Just to answer some of the doubts of people or sceptics talking about BR. There are always risks in life, even FD with PIDM of up to 250k per account. It is a matter of how high is the risk. Unit trust always claims to have high return, but I did not see consistent return from them. Most of them did not make much or lose! Except one particular public company's funds. I do have unit trust and shares as investment vehicle.

So always split your funds for various investments/savings, and don't put all eggs in one basket!!

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 4 2013, 11:17 AM
bbgoat
post Aug 4 2013, 10:13 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 4 2013, 09:33 PM)
So old man, were you fully refunded.  tongue.gif
This "old man" has his money refunded related to Koperasi collapse.
bbgoat
post Aug 4 2013, 10:15 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 4 2013, 09:41 PM)
Which koperasi?  hmm.gif
Ha ha, I have earlier said you are too "young" to learn about it or am I wrong "old boy" ?? tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 4 2013, 11:28 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 4 2013, 11:16 PM)
I thought you were talking about the MCA's koperasi which was collapsed about 30 years ago..?
This is the only Koperasi collapsed case I have ever heard of.
Aiya, this has further confirmed that a lot of you are still at the baby cot or no worry on money at that time tongue.gif . This was BIG news at that time. Head lines in newspaper especially Chinese papers, people queue up to get their money back ............... mad.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 6 2013, 10:58 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Aug 5 2013, 03:17 AM)
BR pays out the interest monthly to the savings account and from there you can withdraw as required, betul? Meaning, it can perhaps serve as spare cash, hmm...
Anyone has tried the branch(es) in Penang and has any good advice?
I am using the Jelutong branch. Referer can get 0.1% drool.gif tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 7 2013, 07:48 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Aug 7 2013, 06:31 PM)
To those in Penang, Mach HL in Paragon is offering 3.55% for 3 months, min 10k max 100k.
Nothing to shout about though. Wished they'd give us 4% like what those outstation people got back then, pfftt...
Good, so now Mach HL is opening in Pg. Unfortunately missed their previous promotion! Thanks for the info.
bbgoat
post Aug 8 2013, 01:36 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 8 2013, 12:18 PM)
think mach is only possible with accounts opened at certain branches:
https://www.machbyhongleongbank.com/branches/
Last time I was told by HL staff I have to open the Mach account separately. That time, Penang do not have a branch yet.
bbgoat
post Aug 8 2013, 03:26 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Aug 8 2013, 03:17 PM)
doh.gif  i am one of the top depositor...getting 4.13%.. shocking.gif
4.13% is a good rate. You can try to get higher like 4.2%. If higher, let us know and it will be a new record for 12 months rate. Anyway 61 months have even H I G H E R rates ............................ drool.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 8 2013, 04:13 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 8 2013, 04:09 PM)
As reported in this thread, 4.20% record for 12-month tenure has been broken wor...new record is 4.25% (forgot by which forummer, from negeri jelapang padi).
Can you recall when was this, recently ? I may have missed it. Last time in Feb I was trying to get 4.25% but was not successful. Thanks.
bbgoat
post Aug 8 2013, 11:31 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 8 2013, 08:41 PM)
You missed the post meh? Refer to post #1397 grumble.gif  & #1405 shakehead.gif

So, the new high is 4.25% for 12-month placement liao.

Now is early August, waiting for you to achieve 5% 61-month tenure in September ya...lai lai wa lang tang lu liao icon_rolleyes.gif
Ha ha, forgive old man has short memory lah. sweat.gif

Wa sai, challenge now loh. You may be disappointed as I will forget about this l a t e r , bay ki liao ................ brows.gif

bbgoat
post Aug 9 2013, 07:55 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Aug 9 2013, 02:12 AM)
Yeah...to me, eventhough I'm so particular, sometimes I feel is it worth the troubles or headache over an insignificant amount...and to be tied up so long just to get that. So, I guess my take for my own preference is...nothing more than a year.
It depends on the individual. For larger amount, the diff is even more. Several factors are involved like amount of fund available, need for the fund (short/long term) etc etc. Combination of short/long terms FD is a good strategy. I used to be thinking of 12 months. But after joining this forum, have started to swift more to combination of the two. Of course whether the IR will goes up before the 5 years FD is up we never know. smile.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 9 2013, 10:34 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 9 2013, 08:34 AM)
If you near the retirement age, then when all you want to think of is passive income. Long term FD is plausible as it will generate enough monthly income for our lifestyle. So for all old man who do not want to take any other risk, that will be the way to go.  laugh.gif
Right, right .................... rclxms.gif But also some short term one in case we need to feed ...............u know lah brows.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 9 2013, 10:37 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Aug 9 2013, 09:04 AM)
lol...i didnt say i am top depositor in BR...but among lowyatian.. whistling.gif
U no scare people chasing this kitty ?? drool.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 9 2013, 02:32 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 9 2013, 02:06 PM)
Feed what, chinadoll !!  drool.gif
You read my mind ...................... notworthy.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 9 2013, 04:22 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 9 2013, 03:26 PM)

This is possible. You could be the top depositor in your Bank Rakyat branch.

Last year the officer of my Bank Rakyat branch told me the higher FD amount in their branch was RM 40K.
I was told by the BR branch that there are people putting in few millions with them and I was their top xx customer.
bbgoat
post Aug 9 2013, 04:24 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 9 2013, 03:00 PM)
To put part of the monies into EPF is another option to get a better return rate than banks.
I did put in add'l money to EPF. No scare lah, hoping to get 5 to 6% return next year. drool.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 9 2013, 04:42 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 9 2013, 04:34 PM)
This depends on the location of the branch.

Especially you are from the rich and famous, and some more high tech place..  biggrin.gif

Wah..top 10 customer? 
Now we know who is actually counting money non-stop now..?  Hu..hu...  biggrin.gif

I will tell your wife you feed China dolls ...ha..ha... biggrin.gif  She will twist your ears..
Yes, I have mentioned before for hampers, invitation to lunch, it is very much branch dependent. If you are in rich area, the requirement will be higher. The branch will invite/give based on quota. For the hamper during CNY, the ABM showed me their list and said they cut off at certain FD limit for the hamper. My sister did not get it because of the amount she placed. I got 2 due to 2 accounts. (he gave me 1 and I asked for 1 more)

I am their top xx to 99 customer .............................. Have already finished counting my limited money and don't have to be like some of us still counting into wee hours .................... rclxms.gif

Don't tell my wife, please ..................... cry.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 9 2013, 04:44 PM
bbgoat
post Aug 9 2013, 04:43 PM

6,614 posts

delete

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 9 2013, 04:44 PM

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top