11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

bbgoat
post Aug 1 2013, 08:44 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 1 2013, 08:39 PM)
I have placed my 5 years FD there    biggrin.gif

Still have 4 more years to wait for the FD to mature..  cool2.gif
So far all my FD's with BR is only for 1 year. It is tempting to put in for 5 years to get 4.6% or higher !
bbgoat
post Aug 1 2013, 10:59 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 1 2013, 08:49 PM)
If you put for 61 months, you can ask for higher than 4.6%.
My FD with BR 12 month rate from 4.06 to 4.11 and 4.2%. The ABM told me if I put 5 years, can get more than 4.6% but I did not ask him exactly how much as not interested in that "long" period of time ................
bbgoat
post Aug 1 2013, 11:01 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 1 2013, 10:01 PM)
Yo guys, come, come. Join BoomChaCha & me in the 5-year club flex.gif

But if somehow BR tanks like Titanic or IR rises, don't blame me la tongue.gif
Ha ha, thank you, let you and BoomChaCha enjoy your 5 years FD ..................... whistling.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 1 2013, 11:03 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 1 2013, 09:21 PM)
I think we are on the same wavelength. Just lazy to commit. I think we are scared !!  sweat.gif
Hello pal, lets have a hand shake !! thumbup.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2013, 08:09 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 2 2013, 02:08 AM)
Bro Jebat,

Now we are in the casino, if the average interest rate is below 4.6% in the next 4 years, then we win;
and if the average interest rate is higher than 4.6% in the next 4 years, then we lose.

But when talking about Titanic issue.. sweat.gif , we just need to work harder to read the news about Bank Rakyat lor..

No need to worry too much la..if worry too much, how to do big thing..?

Bank Rakyat has been well established for many years, and they have been making profitable business.

But I was a bit worried when near to the general election this year..
During recent lunch given by BR, they said they are established since 1955 or somewhere near that year. Also true that ABM told me one guy was withdrawing money out as was worried about the coming GE result (around Feb that time), the ABM shaking his head in disbelief!!

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 2 2013, 08:24 AM
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2013, 08:15 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 2 2013, 02:52 AM)
I take this as a gamble, whether to make extra interest or to make less interest..

Of course I do not expect Bank Rakyat to become a Titanic... 

If this modern Titanic does not sink  biggrin.gif , I would say most likely Abang Jebat and I should win...

When saying 5 years is so long, actually time passes very fast, now is August already.

For the past 14 months performance, I would say I won.

But let's see for the next 4-year results..

I only regret I did not take MBSB's 5 years FD at around 5.5% few years back because I was hesitant at that time.. doh.gif
I kind of agree with your view point. I did consider putting in for longer terms. My FD with BR is coming up for renewal, so may look at the 5 years term as well.

Thanks for sharing the 4.8% and 4.9% rate. Will use this to negotiate with them. So may join you and HJebat for the 5 years' dance, ha ha ! thumbup.gif

Wow, you guys are not sleeping at 3 or 4am ?????

bbgoat
post Aug 2 2013, 09:17 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 2 2013, 08:47 AM)
Actually we are counting our money, more privacy at this time!!  drool.gif
Ha ha, count, count, count ................. 100k, 200k, 1kk, ........................................... rclxm9.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2013, 09:24 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 2 2013, 08:44 AM)
Well done, I would think it is a good decision. Dont worry about all the noises. At the end of the year, what matter is the returns. I was looking at the the 5 year tenure for some time. Only reason of not commiting is , I was thinking about some other business investment. Thanks for the tips. rclxms.gif
Yes, depending on the individual, the 5 years or 61 months of 4.9% is tempting. Good idea to split funds into long term (5 years) and shorter terms. I have one cousin who log in his fund for 10 years at quite a high rate (10% or so), years ago when interest rates are insanely high. His action paid off as later the rate came down. Maybe also because he is a finance guy who has insights into economic situations.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 2 2013, 09:25 AM
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2013, 09:33 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 2 2013, 09:30 AM)
you rich person. I m counting cents only !!  blink.gif
Oh, I am counting rupiah 1kk, 2kk ....................................... rclxub.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2013, 09:41 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 2 2013, 09:35 AM)
I used to have one also Maybank Finance at around 9.xx%. Situation is like the stock market, if it goes high we are waiting for it to go higher. Only wise people will sell when others buy.  shocking.gif
Yes, I have learned the hard way. Got caught in the Koperasi collapse issue years ago !! vmad.gif

As to BR, some of the people have been talking about risks (non PIDM), but to me, the risk is considered to be small, rather small. Only time can tell. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 2 2013, 09:42 AM
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2013, 10:24 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 2 2013, 09:37 AM)
What !  shakehead.gif  Counting your maid money at this unearthly hour ! What will your better half think !  shakehead.gif
Yo yo, you never know. The truth may surprise you ................. cool2.gif

She is my ............... We are in a big happy family !!! rclxm9.gif

bbgoat
post Aug 2 2013, 10:26 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Aug 2 2013, 09:43 AM)
My better half was also caught in the Koperasi collapse but if I m not mistaken the gomen gave a bailout.
Yes, we got paid few years later minus the interest. vmad.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2013, 10:36 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 2 2013, 07:43 PM)

But I remember one member mentioned that he could get the FD cert on the same day when
he placed the FD.
Good luck
Ha ha, I am the one that said that. It has to be banker's cheque (other than cash) for you to get the cert on the same day.
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2013, 10:38 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 2 2013, 08:04 PM)
Oh..  hmm.gif  Sorry to hear about these, which Koperasi were that?

Did both of you get your money back?
These are meant for "old" guys .............

You are too young to hear about it. Better to forget it .......................... biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2013, 11:17 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 2 2013, 11:04 PM)
I also gave them banker's check, but all the times they asked me to come back in 3 days to collect the FD cert.
Not sure if it is related to their branch. When was the last time you were there ?

I was surprised when they gave me the cert on the same day in Feb. They told me it is because it is a banker's cheque.
bbgoat
post Aug 3 2013, 12:25 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 2 2013, 11:27 PM)
Last year July.

They never gave me the FD cert on the same day even all the time I gave them banker's check.
What July ? They may have changed their policy on banker's cheque since last year. Not sure as I started with them in Sept 2012.
bbgoat
post Aug 3 2013, 12:26 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 2 2013, 11:30 PM)
I know who you are talking about now..

Former MCA President: [attachmentid=3567286]

Right?

He was a legend in business, but he was not a smart politician.
He involved in politic was the biggest mistake in his life..
I wish I am as old as him as well as as rich as him ............................ whistling.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 3 2013, 08:48 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Aug 3 2013, 04:16 AM)
I'm no longer surprised with replies at such hour from you, lol...

UOB 3.45% quite low...are you still using OCBC's 4.5% btw?
Well, as someone has commented, you guys are counting money at this wee hour ..................................... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 3 2013, 08:48 AM
bbgoat
post Aug 3 2013, 05:22 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 3 2013, 03:02 PM)
Congratulations!

4.7% is a very good deal ..  smile.gif

You placed for 60 months? or 61 months?
I may be confused. 4.7% for 50k at either 60 or 61 months ? The board rate for 60 months is 4.6%, right ?

You have mentioned that you got 4.8 and 4.9% for 60 and 61 months.
bbgoat
post Aug 3 2013, 11:36 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Aug 3 2013, 08:28 PM)
61 months. Compared to your rate, 4.70% is nothing to shout about. Assuming that your placement & tenure are the same with me, 4.90% will earn you >$500 than me. My BR branch really dry.gif   grumble.gif
The board rate for 60-month is 4.50% & for 61-month is 4.60%.

So, basically BoomChaCha managed to nego for an extra 0.30% for both his FD placements.
Ha ha, after reading you guys thread, my 4.2% 12 months FD rate seems low already, envy loh drool.gif

When my FD due starting Sept, will put some into 61 months and see if can get 5% or higher ! rclxms.gif

Also BoomChaCha has been counting asset into wee hours and also good in negotiation to get 4.9%. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 3 2013, 11:38 PM

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:51 PM