QUOTE(christina1 @ Jun 27 2013, 06:17 PM)
Are you comparing to Vietnam and Indonesia?Those country currencies are weak and volatile, the currencies depreciation
can be fast.
This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 27 2013, 11:14 PM
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.
Jun 27 2013, 06:42 PM
2,490 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(christina1 @ Jun 27 2013, 06:17 PM) Are you comparing to Vietnam and Indonesia?Those country currencies are weak and volatile, the currencies depreciation can be fast. This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jun 27 2013, 11:14 PM |
Jun 27 2013, 10:26 PM
1,624 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 27 2013, 06:02 PM) Not sure if the policy is the same for OCBC, do I need to bring along the other person if I want to open a joint account together? Thank you. Yes, you need to bring the other person.. Next week I plan to open another SS joint account and the bank staff said the other person has to be physically present even though the other person currently having an account with Ocbc... |
Jun 27 2013, 10:30 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,529 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Okay thanks. Tomorrow is the D-day.
Best case scenario - UOB allow me to place my uplifted FD to the current promo (not fresh fund) Back up scenario - Uplift UOB, place at OCBC promo. Worst case scenario - the cap for the current scenario has been reached |
Jun 27 2013, 11:12 PM
2,104 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jun 27 2013, 06:42 PM) Are you comparing to Vietnam and Indonesia? FD rates in coming years gonna be less and less...who own properties gonna be rich...Those country currencies are weak and volatile, the currencies depreciation can be fast. Are you dare to exchange to those currencies from Ringgit? |
Jun 27 2013, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 27 2013, 10:30 PM) Okay thanks. Tomorrow is the D-day. Worse case scenario, are you referring to the 3.7%, joint account promo? Bank staff told me July onwards still available except change to 13 months...Best case scenario - UOB allow me to place my uplifted FD to the current promo (not fresh fund) Back up scenario - Uplift UOB, place at OCBC promo. Worst case scenario - the cap for the current scenario has been reached |
Jun 27 2013, 11:39 PM
Jun 27 2013, 11:58 PM
Jun 28 2013, 04:16 PM
Just back from my FD trip!
UOB insisted to have fresh fund for the promo. The most, they can only accept 50% of the fund. So I inquired on the banker's cheque fee. The staff said it is RM2.15. So I told her about the RM0.15 and its condition. Even the manager is not aware it. RM2.15 has always been their practice. Nevertheless, she said she will give me RM0.15 for this time, haha, but being a pain, I said I will be insisting for the RM0.15 in future too so she better check with the HQ next time. I paid RM0.15 only for 4 cheques Then went to OCBC for 3.70% 12 months. Dealing with the officer was pleasant but got slightly mad with the staff that is issuing the cert. He kept entertaining other customers who came later and put my documents aside. After 20 mins of waiting and observing, I said I would like to speak to the manager, then only settle |
Jun 28 2013, 04:33 PM
1,264 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
I feel like the FD % is slowly going down...and down... No more new promos so far...I hope July will be more exciting.
I'm glad there's OCBC's 3.7%, but 12 months is too long for me. |
Jun 28 2013, 04:43 PM
163 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 28 2013, 04:16 PM) Just back from my FD trip! This is strange because the DU UOB Branch had always been charging me only RM0.15 stamp duty for a cheque whenever I withdrew my matured FD without any insistence whatsoever.UOB insisted to have fresh fund for the promo. The most, they can only accept 50% of the fund. So I inquired on the banker's cheque fee. The staff said it is RM2.15. So I told her about the RM0.15 and its condition. Even the manager is not aware it. RM2.15 has always been their practice. Nevertheless, she said she will give me RM0.15 for this time, haha, but being a pain, I said I will be insisting for the RM0.15 in future too so she better check with the HQ next time. I paid RM0.15 only for 4 cheques Then went to OCBC for 3.70% 12 months. Dealing with the officer was pleasant but got slightly mad with the staff that is issuing the cert. He kept entertaining other customers who came later and put my documents aside. After 20 mins of waiting and observing, I said I would like to speak to the manager, then only settle |
Jun 28 2013, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(nomen @ Jun 28 2013, 04:43 PM) This is strange because the DU UOB Branch had always been charging me only RM0.15 stamp duty for a cheque whenever I withdrew my matured FD without any insistence whatsoever. Thanks for stating the branch location. Another branch that I can used to ask them to check with, in case they still insist on RM2.15 in future. This thread is amazing! p/s the exchange with the UOB lady was pleasant This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jun 28 2013, 05:01 PM |
Jun 28 2013, 08:22 PM
6,614 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 28 2013, 04:16 PM) Just back from my FD trip! In Penang, I have been getting the banker's checque at RM 0.15.UOB insisted to have fresh fund for the promo. The most, they can only accept 50% of the fund. So I inquired on the banker's cheque fee. The staff said it is RM2.15. So I told her about the RM0.15 and its condition. Even the manager is not aware it. RM2.15 has always been their practice. Nevertheless, she said she will give me RM0.15 for this time, haha, but being a pain, I said I will be insisting for the RM0.15 in future too so she better check with the HQ next time. I paid RM0.15 only for 4 cheques Then went to OCBC for 3.70% 12 months. Dealing with the officer was pleasant but got slightly mad with the staff that is issuing the cert. He kept entertaining other customers who came later and put my documents aside. After 20 mins of waiting and observing, I said I would like to speak to the manager, then only settle As to the FD, either I add RM10k into the current matured FD to get UOB's new FD promotion rate or I issue another bank's cheque and place a new FD to get the current FD rate (fund of matured FD transfer to the other bank). |
Jun 30 2013, 07:57 PM
Just back from BR high tea. About 100 people invited. Mainly uncles and aunties. Door gift given.
BR presentation also deals with PIDM protection issue and claimed that they are under Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Domestic Trade supervision etc. Lucky draw 10 prizes, did not get any. Overall quite OK. People comparing BR with other banks and said at least we get gifts and invitations. |
Jun 30 2013, 08:26 PM
4,761 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: My house |
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 30 2013, 07:57 PM) Just back from BR high tea. About 100 people invited. Mainly uncles and aunties. Door gift given. Gee, I hope BR will have that in my town too (like the recent Chinese New Year dinner for BR's customers). Ha.BR presentation also deals with PIDM protection issue and claimed that they are under Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Domestic Trade supervision etc. Lucky draw 10 prizes, did not get any. Overall quite OK. People comparing BR with other banks and said at least we get gifts and invitations. Cheerio. |
Jun 30 2013, 08:36 PM
24,456 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
makes all fd, br, mbsb, epf and even bum amanahs look like small worms:
QUOTE RM119m payout for Armed Forces Cooperative members June 30, 2013 About 148,000 members of the Armed Forces Cooperative will be receiving a dividend of 14 per cent for the 2012 financial year amounting to RM119 million. http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...rative-members/ |
Jul 1 2013, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 28 2013, 08:22 PM) In Penang, I have been getting the banker's checque at RM 0.15. Have you done many times like this just to add some money to renew your FD?As to the FD, either I add RM10k into the current matured FD to get UOB's new FD promotion rate or I issue another bank's cheque and place a new FD to get the current FD rate (fund of matured FD transfer to the other bank). This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jul 1 2013, 01:21 AM |
Jul 1 2013, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 30 2013, 07:57 PM) Just back from BR high tea. About 100 people invited. Mainly uncles and aunties. Door gift given. Did Bank Rakyat send you an invitation card for this high tea?BR presentation also deals with PIDM protection issue and claimed that they are under Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Domestic Trade supervision etc. Lucky draw 10 prizes, did not get any. Overall quite OK. People comparing BR with other banks and said at least we get gifts and invitations. Or they called you? How was the food? |
Jul 1 2013, 01:23 AM
3,969 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 30 2013, 07:57 PM) Just back from BR high tea. About 100 people invited. Mainly uncles and aunties. Door gift given. Hmm they say they under the ministry's supervision, so are they eligible for PIDM? Still 'no' ? Twisting twisting.. Lol.BR presentation also deals with PIDM protection issue and claimed that they are under Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Domestic Trade supervision etc. Lucky draw 10 prizes, did not get any. Overall quite OK. People comparing BR with other banks and said at least we get gifts and invitations. |
Jul 1 2013, 09:01 AM
Jul 1 2013, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jul 1 2013, 12:51 AM) Yes, they send the card and called to confirm with me.Food wise, as number of people limited, choices so so. Taste as normal hotel buffet. But seems to be topping up as soon as people finished the plate of food. Oh, ya. The door gift is just 6 piece cutlery set. This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jul 1 2013, 09:06 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0360sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:11 PM |