QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Mar 4 2013, 07:18 PM)
interesting... good to know, tq.the natural next question is do banks, any bank pay interest on the day of making the fd?
or there is always a 1 day "no interest"?
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.
Mar 4 2013, 07:36 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
24,454 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Mar 6 2013, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 6 2013, 07:59 AM) I'd rather take the 3.75% 12months promo from hlb.. No need to go open sav account and think where to move the funds few months later. agree.3.75% for 12 months is good enough for most purposes incl convenience and hassle free. pbb, cimb have nothing close to that rate! |
Mar 6 2013, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(besiegetank @ Mar 6 2013, 11:54 AM) for hlb, u need to open a savings a/c, min rm200comes with ATM/debit card, withdraw immediately after opening if u want.the a/c is needed becos the monthly interest is credited there. if u terminate fd early, they will deduct from principal if u have withdrawn the interest. that's the usual case for hlb fd, should be the same for this 3.75% 12mths. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 6 2013, 02:10 PM |
Mar 6 2013, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(edwardccg @ Mar 6 2013, 12:09 PM) btw, after requesting a bankdraft from my PBB FD withdraw, can i use the banker cheque to open Hong Leong FD directly? for major banks incl hlb, cimb, pbb, they will take bank draft or cheque, starting day is day u deposit.will they issue the FD cert immediately or will need to wait the cheque to clear before they give the FD cert? Thank you for your reply the fd cert is given to you right there and then, ok maybe 15min wait. |
Mar 6 2013, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(nagflar @ Mar 6 2013, 01:53 PM) CIMB call me and mention something about upgrade my saving to account to Premier or premium account . the the FD rate up to 5% . fd 5%... bs la...no time to go CIMB bank yet . any confirm with this ? it's a "step-up", i.e. low int for 5 months, then 6th mth is high like 5%. current offer they have is effective 3.42%, i'm pretty sure. unlike hlb, uob or ocbc, cimb is not keen on fds. their so-called promos are usually nowhere near their competitors. they are focusing on other products like klibor driven frnid structured instruments which are not fd. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 6 2013, 02:28 PM |
Mar 7 2013, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Mar 7 2013, 05:12 PM) The guideline indicated on their website for e-placement FD. However, due to online phising scam, I prefer to walk in to deposit the cheque. By doing this more comfortable for me as involve huge sum. I submit the cheque to the officer, ask for a photostate of the banker cheque and ask for acknowledge receipts. I will be going again this weekends to top up the FD. i think this is a good practice.more so for large sums. we put money in fd becos we're careful and conservative. if money lost or stuck becos of online fraud and scams, there is no tear left to cry... |
Mar 18 2013, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(nomen @ Mar 18 2013, 05:57 PM) UOB latest FD Promo effective 1st March to 30th April, 2013 not bad.Minimum deposit RM10,000 (new funds) 3 months @ 3.5% p.a. 12 months @ 3.7% p.a. a few months ago, they were ready to give 3.7% for 12 months. guess the banks aren't expecting bnm to raise rates at the next meeting. |
Mar 20 2013, 03:36 PM
if you know what's going on in cyprus, it's about to happen in new zealand. its is this kind of situation that makes pidm invaluable. of course, will it ever happen in boleh malaysia? u decide...
QUOTE New Zealand considers Cyprus-style banking failure solution Published time: March 19, 2013 09:59 Banking, Crisis, Economy, New Zealand New Zealand depositors could face a Cyprus-style tax on their bank accounts, as the government is planning to impose a similar strategy on its banks warns the country's Green Party. New Zealand is facing a similar bank failure to Cyprus, is likely to adopt open bank resolution (OBR), which will see small depositors lose part their savings in favour of a big bank bailout, Green Party co-leader Russel Norman said. The country’s Finance Minister Bill English supports the open bank resolution. "Bill English is proposing a Cyprus-style solution for managing bank failure here in New Zealand," said Norman, adding that the Reserve Bank is in the "final stages" of implementing an OBR system. New Zealand banks’ depositors will have their savings cut by a certain percentage needed to keep their bank afloat. The Green Party however has major doubts, that OBR tactics is appropriate here. Norman underlined, that few depositors can reasonably evaluate the reliability of their bank. “Not even sophisticated investors like Merrill Lynch saw the global financial crisis coming,” he added. Norman believes that OBR policy is too radical saying few OECD countries use it, preferring deposit insurance schemes. "A deposit insurance scheme is a much simpler, well-tested alternative to open bank resolution. It rewards safe banks with lower premiums and limits the cost to taxpayers of a bank failure… [They] protect people's deposits up to a maximum ranging from $100,000 to $250,000," he said. http://rt.com/business/new-zealand-cyprus-...e-solution-477/ |
Mar 22 2013, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(vutergoli @ Mar 22 2013, 04:36 PM) people here cannot answer u well bcos we dun know what terms and conditions for yr 10yr fd for 2nd home for foreigner.maybe u can tell more - must be in one bank or many banks? must be 10 yr lock in or yrly renewable? must stay with same bank? |
Apr 1 2013, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(ChipZ @ Apr 1 2013, 12:23 PM) no casa required, no frills. uob is good in that sense.just walk in and write a cheque, you get cert. go back to collect all at maturity. anyone knows how much they charge for banker's cheque at collection? This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 1 2013, 04:10 PM |
Apr 2 2013, 01:59 AM
QUOTE(nomen @ Apr 2 2013, 01:51 AM) Confirmed. If you take any amount in cash from the principal plus interest lump sum, UOB will charge you RM2.15. tq for info. 15 sen is fine! I wanted to do that last week but was told that I had to pay RM2.15 for the check instead, but I rather paid just 15 sen for the check. |
Apr 2 2013, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(mysimpack @ Apr 2 2013, 12:54 PM) the uob 6% is for 3month only right? the 6% is plus mutual fund, so means not fixed 6% return? u weren't following the discussion...pay principal in others bank's check no extra charge right? then collect cert and wait matual, after 3 month collect principal + interest in cash or check got different charges? confused the comment was on the uob no frills 12mths 3.7%. not the chapalang 6% one... |
Apr 6 2013, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(gotham11 @ Apr 6 2013, 10:13 AM) Thks for advise. Actually. Housing loan interest is different from fd rate. As the principal will reduce gradually and the intwrest portion is much hogher during the initial stage of loan. While I am only consider the flexi housing loan.. So collateral issue is not there as we are not settling the loan. We are nerely put in the lump sum to avoid the interest part and his monthly installment remain the sane which will enable him to settke the loan sooner. When I need the money I can also withdraw from this flexi loan acct. the bigger reason why you don't want to do that is when yr bro and you differ in opinion in the future, e.g. you want to take money from flexi but he as the legal borrower, does not agree. or he starts to feel 5% is too much, wants to pay only 4%. awkward situation.think of it this way: today, yr bro wants to buy a 200k prop. will you lend him 200k cash to buy so that he will save the interest and pay you interest? you become the ahlong! other than cash comfortable and tight families, saving 0.5% or so but opening up a string of unpleasant disputes later is usually not a good idea. |
Apr 9 2013, 10:40 PM
seems to be in fashion now - boast and brag... buy first house at 21 , have 15 props by 30, hold rm10mil cash by 35...
better write a bestseller! why bother to hang around lyn or any forum? This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 9 2013, 10:42 PM |
Apr 20 2013, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 19 2013, 10:49 PM) Covered by PIDM? Wondering if this is same kind or derivatives of Structured Deposits as asked by keneshiro7 earlier? these structured deposits or investments come in all shapes and sizes - can be driven by klibor, cpo price, bmw or apple stock price, gold price, hybrids, etc.they are offered by the investment bank arms of most major banks and are not pidm covered. they are usually capital guaranteed by the bank, though. perhaps due to a prolonged period of low interest rates, these banks send out texts, advertise them as if they are regular fds but with high interest. unsuspecting depositors may misuderstand, be misled and make mistakes. such tactics are now also seen with insurance sellers using major bank names and "30% interest". |
Apr 23 2013, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(ken_zie @ Apr 20 2013, 12:56 PM) HL senior savers/conventional FD promo @ 3.75%p.a. is going to end earlier. This monday 22nd April will be the last day. yup, ended.what is still available until end june but may be earlier: jr sav a/c 3.85% p.a. for yr1, 3.95% yr2. interest goes into sav a/c, locked 2 yrs, no frills, no earmarks. not bad if u can accept 2 yrs lockup. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 23 2013, 06:20 PM |
Apr 28 2013, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(jkngo2003 @ Apr 28 2013, 12:56 PM) afaik, only pbb and hlb have something for old folks but it's pretty useless. mbb, cimb dun even have anything on that. u r better off looking for promos that give 0.5-1% p.a. higher, e.g. uob, hlb. many go to ocbc for that too. if u have anak or cucu <18 yrs old, can check up hlb's 3.85/3.95% for 2 yrs before they close, anytime now. non-pidm (insurance coverage), no idea. This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 28 2013, 08:54 PM |
Apr 29 2013, 06:38 PM
Apr 30 2013, 10:04 AM
Apr 30 2013, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 30 2013, 10:06 AM) Why do I need to top-up that amount... I purposely wanted to test. misread, my bad...I did re-issue a cheque rather than cash for the FD placement. if u had taken cash and write check again, it works then. i was told can transfer any amount from one a/c, say savings, direct into any fd a/c with top up 8% (or maybe 10%?) fresh funds. |
| Change to: | 0.0351sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:12 PM |