Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

xtylish
post Apr 5 2013, 01:52 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(rexona @ Apr 5 2013, 01:14 AM)
That is actually a bit below average liao. Lots of elites in this thread just talk bullsh*t about earning 1.6k la, $900 la, but actually most of them below 30 but already earning huge bucks. Off hand I know in this thread got 1. Elite O&G member who works 12 days a month, raise 2 kids in own HDB and wife can afford to be tai tai, 2. Elite SIA pilot 3. Elite banker at stanchart who pay more tax than fresh grad earn 4. Elite Louis Vutton director who got tons of private property in JB 5. Elite shell contractor who own Panerai and other luxury watches 6. Elite CFO seantang who got multiple private property in Singapore 7. Elite HSBC Relationship Manager with 5 digit monthly salary.

All elites but #1 in keeping low profile, salute!  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(samual8833 @ Apr 5 2013, 01:33 AM)
Oh... Lucky her. But, u hv to determine how many years accounting exp she has work in SG and M'sia. What position she hold in a company. What type of company / industry she is currently wotking? 5 years ago sg economy is good. Now is different story!... My friend graduated from local univeristy with degree work as engineer with 1yr experience in M'sia jump to SG for 7-8 year ago. His starting salary is 3.5K SGD as engineer post in SG! Another friend hold Master degree from UK with 2 yrs enginering experiences in M'sia jump to SG 2 years ago. His starting salary only 2.8K!... The interviewers still says 2.8K SGD is consider very good offer to foreigners and they don't offer so high salary to degree holder! They are using the bad economy as a reason to persuade him to accept the job!... See the different?
ok i got the info wrong, i just asked her. its 5k sgd coz she just got her cert from england i dunno what but same standard with acca.

now she is in pharmaceutical unlike last time.
xtylish
post Apr 5 2013, 06:57 PM

593 posts

Hi my S Pass just got approved!

NOw she ask me go to any clinic to do hiv and xray test.

But I dunno which clinic to go. Any advice?
xtylish
post Apr 5 2013, 07:10 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 5 2013, 06:59 PM)
n y didn't u ask her that? shakehead.gif

usually company has a panel clinic
In the email she stated any clinic wor..
xtylish
post Apr 5 2013, 08:38 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 5 2013, 07:26 PM)
then just go to any clinic that do the check up lo...
means i bare the fees not the company lo right?

or maybe i ask later can claim or not lo..
xtylish
post Apr 5 2013, 09:19 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 5 2013, 08:44 PM)
in my case, the company pays for it...
not sure bout yours...

but my check-up is not for work pass application.
just my company policy
i'll email her again..
i just sked expensive only..
xtylish
post Apr 5 2013, 09:31 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 5 2013, 07:37 PM)
Ya lor. You can do exactly the same things in Singapore that you can do in KL. To me, the only difference is that if you don't drive in Singapore,.. things become just that little bit more complicated.

Anyway, I've taken to visiting condo show rooms during weekends. Chit chat with the chickadee agents and bankers, see what's out there and get some internal decor inspiration.
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire)
Any good foods worth going on a trip for around Singapore?
Hungrygowhere.com.sg I guess. Personally, if you live around the north, bus route 86 from AMK takes you past some pretty interesting restaurants on Yio Chu Kang Rd.

138, 851, 852, 853 from AMK does the same around Upper Thomson Rd as they go south into town.
ooo YCK got nice food?

i just went to upper thomson rd yesterday and tried udder's ice cream~
xtylish
post Apr 5 2013, 11:40 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 5 2013, 11:36 PM)
got tried Upper Thomson Rd nasi lemak kukus? rated among the top 3 in Singapore. 
now 7 of us lepak @ al azhar, minum teh
nope, i went to eat fried oyster, lala and stingray biggrin.gif and then ice cream ^^
xtylish
post Apr 7 2013, 03:15 AM

593 posts

Izzit me or I felt that Singapore food is not as nice as Malaysian food?

Like wan tan mee sad.gif
xtylish
post Apr 7 2013, 09:15 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 7 2013, 08:48 AM)
Different palates. Wait til you try the Singaporean char koay teow hehe. Anyways for wan tan mee u can try those Pontian / Boon Tien noodles, those are quite gooding cos origin is from Malaysia
their char koay teow is sweet one!!! @#$%^&*()
xtylish
post Apr 7 2013, 09:52 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 7 2013, 09:46 PM)
First time eat really culture shock!
YES!

the porridge also not nice.'

panmee also not nice.

and singaporeans are so proud with these.

i tried their bakchormee. apa benda nie.
xtylish
post Apr 7 2013, 11:55 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ Apr 7 2013, 11:13 PM)
Hey guys, I've been here in sg for a week now... trying to settle my medical check up but I'm cracking my head trying to think of where and when to go since everywhere is so crowded on weekends! Does anyone knows any good place for that around depot road, red hill or tiong bahru?

I need to do X-ray as well and from the current information I've got, I need to do check up at a gp, then go x ray, then go back to gp... arrrrrrr

I can't go to private coz I can't claim medical checkup bills from company... they're too cheapo to pay me back  mad.gif
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Apr 7 2013, 11:32 PM)
did mine at woodlands raffles medical
the cost was around 48sgd
i just did mine today at AMK. my company ask me just go to any clinic. i did everything in the same area. no hassle. also 48SGD

user posted image user posted image
xtylish
post Apr 7 2013, 11:56 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Apr 7 2013, 11:40 PM)
all atas restaurants ah? biggrin.gif
xtylish
post Apr 8 2013, 12:06 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Apr 7 2013, 10:52 PM)
The Singapore Hokkien mee quite nice albeit a bit different from my expectation of KL Hokkien mee. Famous one in Whampoa makan place.

this?
xtylish
post Apr 9 2013, 03:17 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(hddglobal @ Apr 9 2013, 01:12 AM)
a job at sbs transit...as a maintenance supervisor for rolling stock.... shift work...
i only 1600. so i dun think u need to worry much.
xtylish
post Apr 9 2013, 03:41 AM

593 posts

haih. this afternoon POSB called me for job interview. after so long! after i've settled to this admin job.

timing is everything i guess sad.gif

i applied for this POSB job long time ago. now only they get to me. sad.gif
xtylish
post Apr 9 2013, 08:43 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Apr 9 2013, 08:37 AM)
Usually some company process the job application very slow or maybe they dont have other candidate d. btw, why not go for the interview? just have interview experience and get to see what they have to offer so that you can plan for future when u want change job. you have settled mean you already start working?
later noon take medical report then.. i'll see whether i'm qualified or not.

if yes, then see when start work lo..
xtylish
post Apr 9 2013, 09:22 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(alexis2power @ Apr 9 2013, 09:19 AM)
What position you apply at POSB?

Maybe you can try to apply working in logistic line, the pay is not bad as well.

Currently, I'm working in a German MNC logistic company is the CS department.

Their basic is at least S$2200 & they you also have other allowances & incentives, so you can easily earn at least S$2500.

I'm also currently on Employment Pass here.
i think i should work with this admin job for at least 6 months?

or i can just jump to another company just like that?

what will happen to my S Pass and stuff sad.gif

i am clueless. i don't want to get myself into trouble..

i did apply to some logistic company, but i didn't get any replies and i am just a freshgrad from malaysia sad.gif

This post has been edited by xtylish: Apr 9 2013, 09:24 AM
xtylish
post Apr 9 2013, 09:28 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Apr 9 2013, 09:10 AM)
the better one usually have pork inside  thumbup.gif
this one got pork smile.gif
xtylish
post Apr 9 2013, 09:40 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(alexis2power @ Apr 9 2013, 09:26 AM)
Yup..logistic MNC even though is in the CS department you still need experienced regardless you have a Diploma or Degree.
I would advise you to work for at least 1 year before you jump ship to another company.
However, if you really cannot tahan then you may leave after 6 months(minimum).
Your company offered you permanent or a contract position? The benefit is it ok? AWS, medical,dental ?
it's a permanent position as a admin assistant. with OK benefits i can say. $100 for dental, birthday leave(lol) and others.

funny that in my S pass application my salary is $0 and my position is Human Resource & Administrative Officer.

maybe because this company do not have anybody in the admin department now, so they hired me on the spot. and also they know i am over qualified for the job. i know with the questions that they asked me, unlike other interviewers.

i was quite desperate at that moment because i couldn't stay long with my white card. so i treat this as a stepping stone.

currently its the finance department handling the admin job, maybe they think i can take charge of the department in the future? or maybe they hired someone else instead. i wouldn't know for now,

i'll just try to make the best out of it. for now my salary is 1.6k and they say they will adjust my salary after a few months based on my performance. we'll see about that.

but i really do not think admin job is my calling...

This post has been edited by xtylish: Apr 9 2013, 09:59 AM
xtylish
post Apr 9 2013, 10:06 PM

593 posts

user posted image user posted image

quite hard not to feel anything. why they always compare us with the excuse like "ns"? it's their job to protect their own country what. if you are willing to do our jobs, the employers wouldn't mind hiring them what.

i applied for so many jobs, most of the requirements are singaporeans or spr. ain't that enough? not easy to get in sg also with all the obstacles we've been through...

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1654sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:46 AM