University University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus, [ The University of the Year ]
eXPeri3nc3
Jul 13 2006, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(benQue @ Jul 13 2006, 11:49 PM) yea.. need to keep up at least 60% for foundations, 50% for degree. but the scholarship is worth it, 1 year for foundations, 3 for degree and 1 more for masters.  btw, eX, can give me a brief review on how the 1st semester gonna be like? thz  Em, first sem... Study basics la... Not much... After induction u need to study ady... hehe...
benQue
Jul 13 2006, 11:36 PM
i heard this uni supposely to be build next to ikano around damansara,
but apperently it was rejected, so they build the curve ther.
yeahs4.1
Jul 13 2006, 11:59 PM
the curve? i thought this uni is at semenyih?
benQue
Jul 14 2006, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Jul 13 2006, 11:59 PM) the curve? i thought this uni is at semenyih? yea it is located in semenyih. but at first it was propose to build at damansara. at least that what the warden told me.
eXPeri3nc3
Jul 14 2006, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(benQue @ Jul 14 2006, 01:00 AM) yea it is located in semenyih. but at first it was propose to build at damansara. at least that what the warden told me. Yeah agree. That's what my friends' seniors told them. They move the Uni to Semenyih. Well it's certainly better to have a "jungle" inside the uni, you can study in peace.
yeahs4.1
Jul 14 2006, 04:01 PM
if the uni is at damansara there, i think there will be more student there... mayb need more parking lot for sport cars like evo there.. hehe
eXPeri3nc3
Jul 14 2006, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Jul 14 2006, 05:01 PM) if the uni is at damansara there, i think there will be more student there... mayb need more parking lot for sport cars like evo there.. hehe And more accidents Here, currently there is one accident where a student bang into a lamp post. Since the road is freaking dark at night... An advice for future intake students, don't speed at night when the road is very curvy. Don't try to do drifting here...  Tokyo Drift doesn't apply here.
benQue
Jul 14 2006, 04:10 PM
Controversies Since the opening of UNiM in Semenyih, local residents have been complaining that accident rates from neighbouring Semenyih town leading to the university has increased ten-fold. This is expected as the narrow road leading to the campus itself is hazardous. The roads are narrow, coupled with sharp turns with tight angles. The lack of street lights at night doesn't help either. In addition to the physical state of the roads leading to the campus, most students drive recklessly, thus, contributing further to the accident rates in the area. Many accidents have been reported in which students crashed into drains, drive off cliffs, crashing onto nearby playgrounds, crashing motorcyclists, and hitting stray farm animals. There's even a report of a cyclist hitting the university van. The van sustained heavy damage, shattered windshield and damaged front section. Reported accidents vary from 10 to 20 per week. -wikipedia is it true?  why they didnt build any light along the roads?
eXPeri3nc3
Jul 14 2006, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(benQue @ Jul 14 2006, 05:10 PM) Controversies Since the opening of UNiM in Semenyih, local residents have been complaining that accident rates from neighbouring Semenyih town leading to the university has increased ten-fold. This is expected as the narrow road leading to the campus itself is hazardous. The roads are narrow, coupled with sharp turns with tight angles. The lack of street lights at night doesn't help either. In addition to the physical state of the roads leading to the campus, most students drive recklessly, thus, contributing further to the accident rates in the area. Many accidents have been reported in which students crashed into drains, drive off cliffs, crashing onto nearby playgrounds, crashing motorcyclists, and hitting stray farm animals. There's even a report of a cyclist hitting the university van. The van sustained heavy damage, shattered windshield and damaged front section. Reported accidents vary from 10 to 20 per week. -wikipedia is it true?  why they didnt build any light along the roads? That's why Malaysia boleh.  The University staff told me it had been 1 and half years before the street light was built...  That's why so many accident cases.
dayalan86
Jul 14 2006, 09:45 PM
yea damn alot of accident..neways if u drive safe then no probz lor, dun try drifting and stuff, coz got many cases of cars falling into drains and off cliffs, abt the cyclist its true, coz the van he rammed into was the university transport van and we did see the damage..quite extensive.
nkdin_rulez
Jul 14 2006, 09:58 PM
so all nottingham ppl ar here.... i just finished my 3rd sem in foundation...gonna start first year this sept... This post has been edited by nkdin_rulez: Jul 14 2006, 09:58 PM
eXPeri3nc3
Jul 14 2006, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(nkdin_rulez @ Jul 14 2006, 10:58 PM) so all nottingham ppl ar here.... i just finished my 3rd sem in foundation...gonna start first year this sept...  wat program are you in?
nkdin_rulez
Jul 14 2006, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jul 14 2006, 10:00 PM) wat program are you in?  was doin foundation in engineering.... after this gonna masuk first year for chem eng...wat course u doin This post has been edited by nkdin_rulez: Jul 14 2006, 10:03 PM
benQue
Jul 14 2006, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(dayalan86 @ Jul 14 2006, 09:45 PM) yea damn alot of accident..neways if u drive safe then no probz lor, dun try drifting and stuff, coz got many cases of cars falling into drains and off cliffs, abt the cyclist its true, coz the van he rammed into was the university transport van and we did see the damage..quite extensive. so is there any death cases reported? 4 person per room is very bad. im gonna change to twin room.
eXPeri3nc3
Jul 14 2006, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(nkdin_rulez @ Jul 14 2006, 11:01 PM) was doin foundation in engineering.... after this gonna masuk first year for chem eng...wat course u doin Look at my sig QUOTE(benQue @ Jul 14 2006, 11:20 PM) so is there any death cases reported? 4 person per room is very bad. im gonna change to twin room. Is it? Very noisy is it?
benQue
Jul 14 2006, 11:07 PM
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jul 14 2006, 10:24 PM) Look at my sig Is it? Very noisy is it?  no lar, now oni have foundations student so i dont noe ler, but the room oni have two small fan, feel like in oven. ventelation oso quite bad, need to open windows to let air come in. if it's air conditioned okay lar. if open windows oso quite dangerous since mine is at ground floor, maybe people can easily reach in inside. wanna put laptop on the table oso quite dangerous and the worst is there is now line in my room!?! ive tried with maxis and digi, only that ground area have problem, all others in 2nd floors are fine and those stupid pioneer gang keeps on insisting cannot change room as petronas give that one. must ask maraton permission 1st. haih monday can only ask.
eXPeri3nc3
Jul 14 2006, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(benQue @ Jul 15 2006, 12:07 AM) no lar, now oni have foundations student so i dont noe ler, but the room oni have two small fan, feel like in oven. ventelation oso quite bad, need to open windows to let air come in. if it's air conditioned okay lar. if open windows oso quite dangerous since mine is at ground floor, maybe people can easily reach in inside. wanna put laptop on the table oso quite dangerous and the worst is there is now line in my room!?! ive tried with maxis and digi, only that ground area have problem, all others in 2nd floors are fine and those stupid pioneer gang keeps on insisting cannot change room as petronas give that one. must ask maraton permission 1st. haih monday can only ask. yeah u better do, since top floors are very good in ventilation and line. haha... I slept in my friends room at night only one fan and open the window quite okay, not like oven TTS5[my house atm] better, got air-cond... But the price...  RM420 per month double shared room
benQue
Jul 14 2006, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jul 14 2006, 11:13 PM) yeah u better do, since top floors are very good in ventilation and line. haha... I slept in my friends room at night only one fan and open the window quite okay, not like oven TTS5[my house atm] better, got air-cond... But the price...  RM420 per month double shared room better than in campus rite? i think here is more expensive and smaller.
eXPeri3nc3
Jul 14 2006, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(benQue @ Jul 15 2006, 12:14 AM) better than in campus rite? i think here is more expensive and smaller. Yeah incampus is more expensive if u compare it. TTS2[cheapest room] -> TTS5[middle, not tat cheap...  ]->Incampus[very expensive esp single room] Got advantages and drawbacks of each place. Hmm... My last sem of degree I'll move in most probably.
benQue
Jul 14 2006, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jul 14 2006, 11:18 PM) Yeah incampus is more expensive if u compare it. TTS2[cheapest room] -> TTS5[middle, not tat cheap...  ]->Incampus[very expensive esp single room] Got advantages and drawbacks of each place. Hmm... My last sem of degree I'll move in most probably.  700$ for a room worst than in subang jaya even.