126 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Bottom

University University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus, [ The University of the Year ]

Devil_J
post Mar 2 2008, 03:13 PM

205 posts

i wanna rent a house.. anyone wan to join?.. any agent to find? hahaha
sanesaint
post Mar 2 2008, 03:24 PM

359 posts

is the food reali tht bad? are there no other places to eat? n if i decide to do the foundation there, is there any kind of twinning programme for my degree where lk i spend first 2 years here then go uk for 1 year or vice versa?
crashbandicoot
post Mar 2 2008, 04:15 PM

273 posts

depends...like pharmacy you will have to go UK lar..some you can do all local. smile.gif
wts89
post Mar 2 2008, 04:22 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(crashbandicoot @ Mar 2 2008, 03:04 PM)
Quite pricey...extreme broadband...around 60 per month. we got free wifi spots though, but kinda slow. TM hotspot also got. Certain places only like the library. If u stay off-campus accommodation you can probable apply for streamyx and share with your house mates.

About food you can go to nearby places to eat ( broga, tts 3, semenyih multiple choice, mamak, etc etc )
so what is the best option to opt for say if i would like to access to internet in my own room?maxis broadban/celcombroadband/extreme broadband/tmhotspot?what about the rate?thx smile.gif
crashbandicoot
post Mar 2 2008, 05:06 PM

273 posts

Really up to you lar...

Celcom now got promotion if you have streamyx, just add on another RM30 to get 3G internet access. Cuz their promotion is streamyx + 3g for RM108/ per month

Extreme BB you cannot BT, just to let you know. smile.gif

TM hotspot just add additional RM10/ per month if you are currently using streamyx.
wts89
post Mar 2 2008, 06:26 PM

109 posts

too bad cant bt ><...haiz...den less entertainment oledi..btw,i wan to ask whether if air-con only available in the RM600 room,i noe thats ensuite bathroom,but what if is there any single room wif shared bathroom equipped wif air-con available in oncampus ?
disco333
post Mar 2 2008, 07:09 PM

453 posts

Is Seminyih really that far away? If you were to drive from Subang how long would it take?
Devil_J
post Mar 2 2008, 07:19 PM

205 posts

can girl and guy shared in a single master bedroom?
disco333
post Mar 2 2008, 07:25 PM

453 posts

What is the difference between BEng and MEng when doing engineering?

I plan on studying at University of Nottingham, once I finish my foundation I plan on doing Chemical Engineering at the Malaysian campus for three years and if possible complete the last year in UK. In order to do that I need MEng so all I want to now is what is the major difference between the two (BEng and MEng)?
Devil_J
post Mar 2 2008, 07:28 PM

205 posts

MEng is 4 years course while BEng is 3 three years course.. IF not mistaken, we are recommend to take MEng as they are recognized by Malaysia Engineering Industy, therefore we can be a recognized engineer in m'sia.. Plz correct me if i am wrong
sanesaint
post Mar 2 2008, 08:52 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(crashbandicoot @ Mar 2 2008, 04:15 PM)
depends...like pharmacy you will have to go UK lar..some you can do all local. smile.gif
for business courses?
crashbandicoot
post Mar 2 2008, 09:13 PM

273 posts

That also depends...this year they dun allow transfer students. But allow students to go for the mobility program ( which is pay Malaysian fees but can go UK ), but they limit the slots ( depending on students results and luck ).

Girl and guy share room in campus...I don't think so. Off Campus, meaning you find your own accommodation then can.
Devil_J
post Mar 2 2008, 09:16 PM

205 posts

oh i see.. is it easi to find a house outside? how much ll it cost, u think?? oh ya.. y this year they don allow ?? means there is no chance for us to graduate in uk if we take ME?
jasperng
post Mar 2 2008, 09:40 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Mar 2 2008, 07:25 PM)

I plan on studying at University of Nottingham, once I finish my foundation I plan on doing Chemical Engineering at the Malaysian campus for three years and if possible complete the last year in UK. In order to do that I need MEng so all I want to now is what is the major difference between the two (BEng and MEng)?
Difference between BEng and MEng is of cuz with Meng, you will get better pay than BEng althought it might be a small difference. With Meng, you are recognised by BEM ( I think ). BEsides that, engineering course should be 4 years so it is better to take MEng because you can go to any country to be recognised whereas with a 3 years degree, you might have difficulties to be recognised in other countries.

it is possible to complete your last year in UK but you have to pay UK fees and you will be an official UK student not Malaysia student anymore. However, there is a quota for it. thus, it depends your luck and results.

QUOTE(crashbandicoot @ Mar 2 2008, 09:13 PM)
That also depends...this year they dun allow transfer students. But allow students to go for the mobility program ( which is pay Malaysian fees but can go UK ), but they limit the slots ( depending on students results and luck ).

Are you sure this year we cant transfer to UK ? i tot they sent email about this and the dateline was 28th for the transfer that need to pay UK fees. As for the mobility, the dateline was 29th.

This post has been edited by jasperng: Mar 2 2008, 09:41 PM
Devil_J
post Mar 2 2008, 09:55 PM

205 posts

jasperng, do u knoe wat is the minumum results to be an official uk student?
crashbandicoot
post Mar 2 2008, 11:50 PM

273 posts

I'm referring to business degree course. That's what students were told by Brian Atkin.
FCUK89
post Mar 3 2008, 11:20 PM

www.bigvisionsocialmedia.com
955 posts

QUOTE(wts89 @ Mar 2 2008, 02:40 PM)
so many complaints about the food how come there is no serious action taken to improve the quality of the food? the uni should put more effort on this issus(hope so).anyway is there any wifi/broadband in the on-campus hostel?how much per mth?and what about the quality?
Erm, why they are are not taking action to improve the quality?
Well, one of the reason is because there is monopoly of food. Honestly, the food has improved slightly since 2006, but just slightly.

Apart from the cafeteria, there is a restaurant in the Admin building, which serves slightly better food but at a slightly higher price. What extra do you get from the extra money paid is more comfortable environment and dinning place.

QUOTE(wts89 @ Mar 2 2008, 04:22 PM)
so what is the best option to opt for say if i would like to access to internet in my own room?maxis broadban/celcombroadband/extreme broadband/tmhotspot?what about the rate?thx  smile.gif
Internet. Hmm... If you are staying on campus and you need a connection to your room, I am said to say that you have to get it from Extreme Broadband. A small company contracted with Nottingham to be the sole provider of internet to the on campus room at Nottingham. Price is a little pricey but seeing that you do not have a choice, might as well get it right?

However, if you are more hardworking, you can always walk to the Student Association building, 5 minutes walk to use the free Internet there/TM Hotspot. For TM Hotspot, you have to subscribe it though, with RM 15 per month (I think).

But sad to say, I do not know why the connection in the Student Association building for both TM Hotspot and free internet is really bad on the top floor, but if you use it at the ground floor, you are getting wonderful speed.

QUOTE(wts89 @ Mar 2 2008, 06:26 PM)
too bad cant bt ><...haiz...den less entertainment oledi..btw,i wan to ask whether if air-con only available in the RM600 room,i noe thats ensuite bathroom,but what if is there any single room wif shared bathroom equipped wif air-con available in oncampus ?
Yup, too bad you can't BT. But there is always a way. That you need to come to Nottingham to find out.

Lesser entertainment? Maybe, maybe not. Depends on who you mix with? If you have friends who are download freaks who has like every new movie or series every week, you can have your own Semenyih Cinema.

If your friends like to play sports, you can play endless sports everyday. If you want to study, got library and the whole place is quite at night. You will be able to study.

There is no single room with air-con for shared bathroom. I doubt there is one, unless the new blocks have them. Not really sure though.

This post has been edited by FCUK89: Mar 3 2008, 11:21 PM
FCUK89
post Mar 3 2008, 11:38 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(sanesaint @ Mar 2 2008, 03:24 PM)
is the food reali tht bad? are there no other places to eat? n if i decide to do the foundation there, is there any kind of twinning programme for my degree where lk i spend first 2 years here then go uk for 1 year or vice versa?
There are actually many places to eat. It's just that you need a car, and the mental strength of not getting bored with the usual food for 3 years?

There are 2 types of programme.

1. Mobility Programme
It is an exchange programme, where students are allowed to go to UK during their non-first year nor last year. What does this mean?
Well, it means that if your course is 3 years, then you can only go for mobility during your 2nd year and you have to come back for graduation during the last year.
If your course if 4 years, you have a choice of going either on the 2nd year or 3rd year but NOT BOTH and come back to graduate.
This programme allows you to pay MALAYSIAN fees, which is why you need to COME BACK HERE to graduate.

Do take note that you will not be able to get into this programme even though you apply as the staffs in the UK campus will be the one choosing. So you have to have good result plus luck. icon_rolleyes.gif

Exception: If you are taking pharmacy course, you have to go there during your 3rd and 4th year, which translate to the opportunity to graduate there. Yeah, but WAIT. You have to pay the fees (of UK campus ) as an International student which could be double or triple the amount you pay in Malaysia.

2. Transfer Programme
This programme is a little special and it is SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY.
What is this programme?

Well first of all, if you are going for this, be prepare to pay the fees (of UK campus ) as an International student.
Alright now for the programme details. This one allows you to go there during your 2nd year and graduate there. This means that you are officially moving to the UK campus and become a student of the UK campus. You will no longer be a Malaysian campus student (is it patriotism)?

You have to be very sure that you are going to transfer (by your first year) and not plan to cheat them by going to mobility and then requesting for transfer so that you can save on your money and graduate there. They are smart enough. nod.gif Yes they are when it comes to money.

QUOTE(sanesaint @ Mar 2 2008, 08:52 PM)
for business courses?
Alright for business course, this year, there is no seats available for transfer programme, which is why one of my friend is so sad as he was planning to transfer.
There is only mobility programme, there is, but limited seats. On average every year, probably 25-30 seats are only available for mobility programme.

Hope this helps. thumbup.gif
FCUK89
post Mar 3 2008, 11:41 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Mar 2 2008, 07:09 PM)
Is Seminyih really that far away? If you were to drive from Subang how long would it take?
Erm, it's actually down south of Selangor. If you want to go to Seremban, it's quite near, probably 20 to 30 mins of driving (I think). You want to go Melaka and Johor? It's not too far away.

From Subang? Probably 40 mins, if traffic is good and you are driving at a speed which allows you to reach there in such a time. If not, it will be 1 hour or more.

QUOTE(disco333 @ Mar 2 2008, 07:25 PM)

You are not allowed to complete your final year there if you study your non final year here. And even though you go for the exchange programme, you will still have to come back to graduate.

Want to graduate there? You have no choice but to take the transfer programme, but it is SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY.
FCUK89
post Mar 3 2008, 11:46 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 2 2008, 07:19 PM)
can girl and guy shared in a single master bedroom?
If you are staying under the management of the University's accomodation, then NOPE.
If you find a private house by yourself, then you can.

QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 2 2008, 09:16 PM)
oh i see.. is it easi to find a house outside? how much ll it cost, u think?? oh ya.. y this year they don allow ?? means there is no chance for us to graduate in uk if we take ME?
Hmm. A whole house, it's not easy.
A room? Then yes.

As for the cost, depends on the location, convenience, the condition of the house, the size of your house and the demand and supply of the rooms and houses.

My house is RM 500, but has no furniture except for basic lightings, fans, toilet stuffs and kitchen sink.
But you need a car, or have a housemate who owns a car.

if you want to stay near campus, be prepared to pay from RM 1000 - RM 1800 for a house.

126 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:32 AM