University University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus, [ The University of the Year ]
Mar 4 2008, 11:04 AM
109 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
thx guys for all the detailed information
Mar 4 2008, 04:51 PM
205 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
thx fcuk89 again....wanna ask a question regarding TRANSFER PROGRAMME.. is there such case that a mechanical engineering student went over to UK campus to continue his 3rd and 4th year and graduate there(international student)? i am thinking of doing this type.. thanks
Mar 4 2008, 06:02 PM
955 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Farmer's River |
QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 4 2008, 04:51 PM) thx fcuk89 again....wanna ask a question regarding TRANSFER PROGRAMME.. is there such case that a mechanical engineering student went over to UK campus to continue his 3rd and 4th year and graduate there(international student)? i am thinking of doing this type.. thanks Welcome Anyway, I am not sure whether are you allowed to choose to go there for your "3rd and 4th year" or you have to go for your "2nd, 3rd and 4th year" if you take transfer programme. I'm not sure about Engineering course very much, and I hope jasperng or anyone else from the engineering course can help you out. But if it is allowed and there is seats available, I don't see a problem on why not, as long as you agreed to pay the fees as in International student. |
Mar 4 2008, 06:48 PM
u rent a house for rm 500? tat's quite cheap.. but its kinda far from the uni, is it?
Mar 4 2008, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 4 2008, 06:48 PM) My house is RM 500 for a double storey terrace but it is unfurnished. Most houses are rented out for RM 600 here, but because mine is through the owner directly, therefore, I think that is why he charge it cheaper. However there is security fees which is needed to be paid - RM 100 for 2 months (which means each month is RM 50). You need a car, that's for sure. The journey, would be around 10 to 15 minutes to university. I usually leave between 8.30 to 8.45 to go to class. For me, I have no regrets, and in fact I kinda like it here, but you need to get used to it for the journey and also probably necessary travelling back to campus. With Streamyx available in the area (but you need to apply yourself) and a place which is that cheap and safe, I certainly have no complaints. |
Mar 4 2008, 08:13 PM
359 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL |
are there no other modes of transport if i decide not to stay on the campus?
This post has been edited by sanesaint: Mar 4 2008, 08:16 PM |
Mar 4 2008, 08:17 PM
QUOTE(sanesaint @ Mar 4 2008, 08:13 PM) From my place, nope. Sorry though, but public transport is really really limited in Semenyih. Which is why if you study in Nottingham, it would be best for you to get a car, if not then you have to stay near campus or on campus. Shuttle buses are available to for students nearby the campus (but there's specific timing). There are also buses from Kajang KTM to campus and also vice versa (there's schedule timing). |
Mar 4 2008, 08:42 PM
how bout it i am looking for house nearby the campus?? since i don have a car there.. hehe.. wat choices of house ll i get and how much does it cost?? well, i wish to stay at ur area due to the fact it's cheap.. but transport is a problem..BIG one
Mar 4 2008, 09:19 PM
273 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
You can try to get a room, or a house nearby like in the TTS areas. TTS 5 would be preferable because its nearby the bridge which connects to the campus. Otherwise, TTS 2 or 3 would be okay as well...the most densely populated would be TTS 2.
Mar 4 2008, 09:22 PM
thanks. i wonder is there any agent to contact?? since i am not there.. dunno how to find a house/room.. hehe
Mar 5 2008, 11:07 AM
haha yeah. also looking 4 a house. lol
Mar 7 2008, 12:27 AM
not too sure. sorry guys. you will have to ask around, because i havent been looking for a house for quite sometime already.
Mar 7 2008, 05:19 PM
49 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
hi, just wanna ask if daily needs and foods are easily available around tat area? how bout banks, clinics or post office?
Mar 7 2008, 05:22 PM
9,257 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Not so sure myself Status: 1+3+3=7 |
QUOTE(evilprincess89 @ Mar 7 2008, 05:19 PM) hi, just wanna ask if daily needs and foods are easily available around tat area? how bout banks, clinics or post office? Got car everything settle. It's all available in the Semenyih town. Campus got clinic also, which will empty your wallet faster than paying your petrol for the car.There's ATM here (for maybank and another one I forgot), but then again a few students got their atm card stuck in the machine... so tough luck. |
Mar 7 2008, 06:23 PM
ahh.. looking for house.. anyone can help?
Mar 7 2008, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(evilprincess89 @ Mar 7 2008, 05:19 PM) hi, just wanna ask if daily needs and foods are easily available around tat area? how bout banks, clinics or post office? Everything also got. Banks are available in the Semenyih Town, Clinics too. Post office too. There's an ATM machine in the campus itself. In semenyih town, there's THE STORE, ECONSAVE also. Good news, TESCO is coming to Semenyih as well. If you can drive, the current TESCO aint that far. Around 10 to 15 mins drive from campus.Added on March 7, 2008, 6:41 pm QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 7 2008, 06:23 PM) Depends where you want to stay lar...its best if you first time come- to live near campus. In campus if possible. Wait till you get used to it, and make more friends then you all can move out and stay together. That's more advisable. This post has been edited by crashbandicoot: Mar 7 2008, 06:41 PM |
Mar 7 2008, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 4 2008, 09:22 PM) thanks. i wonder is there any agent to contact?? since i am not there.. dunno how to find a house/room.. hehe QUOTE(sanesaint @ Mar 5 2008, 11:07 AM) QUOTE(Devil_J @ Mar 7 2008, 06:23 PM) Hmm...have you guys check out Semenyih yet? I feel you guys should come here and check out the place with your parents first, and get their opinions too. Cause just in case your parents prefer you guys to stay on campus, which is safer and more convenient for you guys. What my friend say is true actually, probably you guys should stay here first during the first year, and after that decide once you guys are more familiar with the place. Anyway, I will try my best to post up advertisements of rooms/houses available for rent over here (which is sent to all students through our own Nottingham email). I can't guarantee that I have time to post up everything, but I will try my best. Anyway, most advertisements are for houses which is near campus. The ones further are not many, but there will be some at times. |
Mar 7 2008, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(evilprincess89 @ Mar 7 2008, 05:19 PM) hi, just wanna ask if daily needs and foods are easily available around tat area? how bout banks, clinics or post office? Alright, in Semenyih towns, there are few banks - Maybank, Public Bank, Hong Leong Bank and Eon Bank. If you need HSBC or CIMB, you need to go down to Kajang. ATMs are available on campus, with Maybank and Affin Bank being the provider. In town, there are Econsave, The Store, 7 Eleven and Privately Owned Mini Market. Petrol Stations - Petronas, BHP and Shell. Post Office - I usually go there quite often. Yeah there is one, but it is usually packed when its the bills payment period. Most of the standard services are offered. Clinics - On campus have one, and in the town has 1 which is 24 hours. Food - TTS 3, Forest Bar, 7 Wonders, KFC, Kawan Kita, Multichoice, D'Tree Steak House, Bak Kut Teh and some other Chinese shops (not restaurant). You want mamak food? Plenty over here. There are no TM Point over here, neither a hospital nor Bomba. There are 2 Stationery shops and 1 Laundry shop in the town. Book store, Mini Mart and Laundry are also available on campus. I think that's maybe about it. Hope it helps. |
Mar 7 2008, 08:50 PM
wow there arent many stuff there in semenyih eh? pretty much sounds like a dead town to me. how is the gym and the basketball court on campus? and are there any co-curriculur activities there like clubs and societies or stuff like that?
This post has been edited by sanesaint: Mar 7 2008, 08:53 PM |
Mar 7 2008, 09:36 PM
49 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
thx for the info =)