37 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Car seat recommendation, Discussion about car seat

chrisbaby
post Feb 13 2015, 03:19 PM

Hi. Have anyone used Kiwy carseat model: s01 comes with infant insert. It's an italian brand and currently being sold in Strollerworld (pre-order only. actual product will arrive in Mar 2015). The price is RM899. Any review / feedback are welcome.

Reference: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1...55669508&type=3
wateverjunk
post Feb 20 2015, 06:16 PM

75 posts

Anyone using the Britax Eclipse here? It it's certified but it is only forward facing. Recent recommendation is for child to be rear facing until 2 years old. Any thoughts?
hanishoney
post Feb 23 2015, 12:03 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(wateverjunk @ Feb 20 2015, 06:16 PM)
Anyone using the Britax Eclipse here? It it's certified but it is only forward facing. Recent recommendation is for child to be rear facing until 2 years old. Any thoughts?
Actually, the American recommendation is for child to rear-face UP TO THE MAXIMUM LIMIT OF THE CAR SEAT or until 2 years old, whichever is later. Scandinavia (the only country with 0 car-related child deaths) recommends rear-facing until 4 years old! Many caregivers forward-face as soon as possible, thinking it's a "stage up" in development, but actually facing forward is a "stage down" in safety. When car seat experts talk about safety, they're saying LESS LIKELY TO DIE. When your baby is rear-facing in a car accident, your baby is FIVE TIMES LESS likely to die compared to when your baby is forward-facing in the same car accident. So IF EVERYTHING ELSE IS EQUAL, if you ALREADY have the carseat, why turn to face forward unnecessarily?

There's a lot of information on why rear-facing is safer here: http://carseatblog.com/5168/why-rear-facin...-rf-link-guide/. Links, videos, technical explanations. For just a nice, basic parenting article on rear-facing, I like: http://www.parenting.com/article/car-seats-safety.

If your baby has outgrown their rear-facing carseat without reaching 2 years old yet, the American recommendation is to buy another carseat that can enable your baby to rear-face until 2 years old or even older. You'll want to look for a maximum weight limit of at least 18kg in rear-facing. If your baby is already older than 2 years old, then go ahead and buy a forward-facing seat, unless you can import Scandinavian carseats AND read the manual in the Scandinavian language.

UK law is outdated, only requiring rear-facing until 9 months. So you will actually find it more difficult to find UK carseats that enable rear-facing up to even 18kg, much less the 25kg that is Scandinavian standard. I looked among the American imported carseats to find extended rear-facing carseats.

I personally managed to rear-face my baby until he was 30 months old (his first carseat could rear-face until about 14kg, but he outgrew it by height first), bought him a forward-facing only carseat, got into an accident one week later (no injuries), and bought a rear-facing carseat again! (The Diono Radian can rear-face until 20.5kg.) My son is now more than 3 years old, and the only reason he's not still in his latest rear-facing carseat is because we'll be putting his new baby brother into that carseat.

This post has been edited by hanishoney: Feb 23 2015, 12:07 PM
n3sta_n_roses
post Feb 23 2015, 12:07 PM

190 posts

Currently using InfaSecure brands. Specific model bought is Luxi Caprice. Overall rating and review is good. Personal experience so far is good.

http://infasecure.com.au/products/10-luxi-caprice/
hanishoney
post Feb 23 2015, 03:28 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(n3sta_n_roses @ Feb 23 2015, 12:07 PM)
Currently using InfaSecure brands. Specific model bought is Luxi Caprice. Overall rating and review is good. Personal experience so far is good.

http://infasecure.com.au/products/10-luxi-caprice/
Which car did you install it into? Did you install in the center seat, behind driver's seat, behind front passenger seat or elsewhere in the car? When you install it rear-facing behind a front seat, how far can your front seat still push back? All the way? Do you lose 1-2 inches or a lot more? How old is your baby? Does your baby try to play with the anchorage strap over their head?

Did you buy in Malaysia or did you bring over from Australia? Was the shop helpful in showing how to install the carseat? Did you kena customs if from Australia? If you didn't, was it by luck or do you have tips to avoid customs?

Have you installed it only rear-facing, or have you tried it front-facing and in booster mode yet? If you have used the other modes, how different were the installations from each other? What was the easiest mode to install: rear-facing, front-facing or booster? At what age did you HAVE to switch your baby to forward facing?

Hope you'll provide a more detailed recommendation to help parents choose the carseat! Thanks in advance.

Remember, if the carseat can move more than 1 inch around the area held by the seatbelt or isofix belt, it IS NOT INSTALLED CORRECTLY AND IS NOT SAFE!

This post has been edited by hanishoney: Feb 23 2015, 03:37 PM
jack208
post Feb 24 2015, 12:30 AM

335 posts

Just got a JOIE Stages from the local distributor Safe-n-Sound based in Tmn Shamelin (Cheras). The proprietor Amy was very helpful and even helped me install the carseat into the back of my Mazda CX5.

JOIE is a UK-based product though but one of those that support rear-facing up to 18 kg.

I saw JOIE available from other online stores (and cheaper) but if you wanted someone to help you install, then best to give Amy a call.

http://www.safensound.com.my/

hanishoney
post Feb 24 2015, 03:15 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(jack208 @ Feb 24 2015, 12:30 AM)
Just got a JOIE Stages from the local distributor Safe-n-Sound based in Tmn Shamelin (Cheras). The proprietor Amy was very helpful and even helped me install the carseat into the back of my Mazda CX5.

JOIE is a UK-based product though but one of those that support rear-facing up to 18 kg.

I saw JOIE available from other online stores (and cheaper) but if you wanted someone to help you install, then best to give Amy a call.

http://www.safensound.com.my/
That's awesome to know! Thanks for sharing. I wish I could go and check out the Safe-n-Sound seats! The pictures make them look so good for the current price!

However, I always feel that it's important to learn to install a carseat yourself, rather than have someone else help to install. You never know when you'll need to move your child's carseat and reinstall. If someone else installs your carseat, always test their installation too. Make sure their installation follows the manual's instructions, then try to shake the carseat up, down, and side to side. If it moves MORE THAN AN INCH, it's not tight enough. In fact, every few months, I re-test my installation to make sure that it hasn't loosened up somehow. Kinda like checking that your tyres are always inflated.
AjiAjo
post Feb 24 2015, 08:44 PM

125 posts

I bought Joie Steady from Safe and Sound too.
Have yet to installed but had run a check on the quality and Joie did make a good product.
SUSLatteLover
post Feb 27 2015, 04:53 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(cheno @ Mar 2 2013, 09:16 PM)
i'm using britax advocate cs, its a convertible carseat, can be use from newborn till 4years old. been using it since day 1, till now 1year, so far he still likes his carseat. he'll sleep whenever we put him in.
How much is that and mind to show the actual model picture? Thanks
TStammy
post Mar 2 2015, 04:01 PM

103 posts

Safe and Sound all range of products are good. I am using it too and my son willingly to sit in without cranky.
armmar
post Mar 10 2015, 10:58 AM

66 posts

May i know where can get cheapest proce for isofix car seat.. Currently persuing affordable isofix car seat

This post has been edited by armmar: Mar 10 2015, 10:59 AM
hanishoney
post Mar 10 2015, 11:32 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(armmar @ Mar 10 2015, 10:58 AM)
May i know where can get cheapest proce for isofix car seat.. Currently persuing affordable isofix car seat
I wrote this earlier:
QUOTE(hanishoney @ Jan 20 2015, 03:01 PM)
LATCH carseats (American) are cheaper than ISOFIX (European) and work exactly the same way. The Graco carseats I list here are currently both RM560 and the Evenflo is RM700 at First Few Years, a shop you can find at the Curve or at Paradigm. Make sure to read the manual and try to install the carseat on their dummy chair before buying!
http://www.firstfewyears.com.my/graco-clas...e-car-seat.html
http://www.firstfewyears.com.my/graco-comf...e-car-seat.html
http://www.firstfewyears.com.my/evenflo-su...e-car-seat.html
armmar
post Mar 10 2015, 10:58 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Mar 10 2015, 11:32 AM)
I wrote this earlier:
tq for feedback... acceptable price below 600...

now just found this one for isofix rm500++
http://www.sweetcherry.com.my/?route=produ...&product_id=111

latch carseat for me like not cool and easy like isofix? by the way i have no experience yet to use car seat.. just start to go online first for our first baby
hanishoney
post Mar 11 2015, 11:31 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(armmar @ Mar 10 2015, 10:58 PM)
tq for feedback... acceptable price below 600...

now just found this one for isofix rm500++
http://www.sweetcherry.com.my/?route=produ...&product_id=111

latch carseat for me like not cool and easy like isofix? by the way i have no experience yet to use car seat..  just start to go online first for our first baby
LATCH and ISOFIX is pretty much the same thing. Just that Americans call it LATCH and Europeans call it ISOFIX. Like how Americans measure everything in inches and the rest of the world measure in meters.

My only concern with Sweet Cherry carseats is that they don't seem to have any certification of meeting to any carseat standards. Without the necessary testing, can't be sure it will work like it's supposed to in a car crash. For European-certified seats, they need to have ECE R44 sticker at LEAST.

This post has been edited by hanishoney: Mar 11 2015, 11:37 AM
armmar
post Mar 11 2015, 11:32 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Mar 11 2015, 11:31 AM)
LATCH and ISOFIX is pretty much the same thing. Just that Americans call it LATCH and Europeans call it ISOFIX. Like how Americans measure everything in inches and the rest of the world measure in meters.
very good explaination.. tq hanishoney.. tq lowyat

may i know that bumper above can attach

this carrier... i mean just put.. i have infant carrier mamalove.. but dont want to buy mamalove stroller that can match this carrier..

i want put with maclaren globtrotter

This post has been edited by armmar: Mar 11 2015, 11:43 AM
hanishoney
post Mar 11 2015, 11:43 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(armmar @ Mar 11 2015, 11:32 AM)
very good explaination.. tq hanishoney.. tq lowyat

may i know that bumper above can attach

this carrier...
Please don't simply put infant seats on just any stroller. If you want to put an infant seat into a stroller, it needs to be a stroller DESIGNED to hold the carseat safely. Otherwise, it's no different than putting the infant seat on a supermarket trolley. Can read more about the dangers of putting infant seat in a supermarket trolley here: http://thecarseatlady.com/shoppingcart/

Personally, I think infant seats are a waste of money. Just buy a convertible seat straight away, and keep it in the car all the time. Take the baby out and put directly in the stroller, or even wear your baby and do without stroller.
armmar
post Mar 11 2015, 11:46 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Mar 11 2015, 11:43 AM)
Please don't simply put infant seats on just any stroller. If you want to put an infant seat into a stroller, it needs to be a stroller DESIGNED to hold the carseat safely. Otherwise, it's no different than putting the infant seat on a supermarket trolley. Can read more about the dangers of putting infant seat in a supermarket trolley here: http://thecarseatlady.com/shoppingcart/

Personally, I think infant seats are a waste of money. Just buy a convertible seat straight away, and keep it in the car all the time. Take the baby out and put directly in the stroller, or even wear your baby and do without stroller.
hehhe tq.. ur post very valuable to me thumbup.gif
jack208
post Mar 12 2015, 01:11 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Mar 11 2015, 11:31 AM)
My only concern with Sweet Cherry carseats is that they don't seem to have any certification of meeting to any carseat standards. Without the necessary testing, can't be sure it will work like it's supposed to in a car crash. For European-certified seats, they need to have ECE R44 sticker at LEAST.
I've seen Sweet Cherry car seats fly indicating they've the ECE R44 certification. However since I've not used one nor seen the sticker on any Sweet Cherry car seat, I can't confirm the validity of this claim. Hopefully someone who owns one such seat can let us know.

armmar
post Mar 12 2015, 05:10 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(jack208 @ Mar 12 2015, 01:11 AM)
I've seen Sweet Cherry car seats fly indicating they've the ECE R44 certification. However since I've not used one nor seen the sticker on any Sweet Cherry car seat, I can't confirm the validity of this claim. Hopefully someone who owns one such seat can let us know.
tq bro.. i oso wait for clarification.. this oso new info for me..

so may i know the certified local brand that have r44 certification

This post has been edited by armmar: Mar 12 2015, 05:12 PM
hanishoney
post Mar 12 2015, 05:40 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(armmar @ Mar 12 2015, 05:10 PM)
tq bro.. i oso wait for clarification.. this oso new info for me..

so may i know the certified local brand that have r44 certification
Carseat certification is applied to individual carseats, not to the brand. Every new design has to go through its own crash test, not simply get certification because the company made it. So for example, Sweet Cherry could have 10 different carseats, but some of them could be ECE R44 certified, and some of them are not. Certification DOES make the carseat price higher, because it costs money to get the carseat crash tested and certified.

If you're looking specifically at a European certified seat, it will have the ECE R44 or i-Size sticker. More information on the sticker here: http://www.maxi-cosi.com/products/car-seat...val-labels.aspx. For American carseats, the sticker will mention the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards and will say it is certified in RED wording.

37 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:16 AM