Car seat recommendation, Discussion about car seat

AjiAjo
post Mar 20 2015, 02:03 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(Dage @ Mar 18 2015, 09:31 PM)
Has anyone used Sparco before? it cost about 600, i seen a few people use it, just not sure if it's good. any advice please?

i am considering sparco RM600 or joie stages RM900
Look out of warehouse sales from Safe n Sound.
They sell much cheaper than RM900..
icelove
post Mar 20 2015, 03:57 PM

I know is quite a silly question. Just want to ask your opinion, do you guys mind if get a display unit of car seat which is the last unit?
hanishoney
post Mar 20 2015, 04:24 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(icelove @ Mar 20 2015, 03:57 PM)
I know is quite a silly question. Just want to ask your opinion, do you guys mind if get a display unit of car seat which is the last unit?
Before buying a display unit, always always find out the manufacturing date of that unit, and when it's supposed to be expired. Because no point even spending RM50 on a carseat if it is already expired. ALL carseats have (or should have) an expiry date, because plastics become brittle over time and will no longer function correctly in a car accident if too old.

You should also make sure that either the display unit still has a manual, or you can get an online copy of the carseat manual for that version of the carseat. Must always read your carseat manual to make sure you install and use the carseat correctly. WRONG USE/INSTALLATION OF CARSEAT CAN BE DANGEROUS.
icelove
post Mar 20 2015, 05:25 PM

hanishoney, how to find out the manufacturing date of unit? Is it printed at the car seat or refer to the manual? I remember I ask a baby shop about the expiry date of car seat, they said never heard of this kind of thing.
MeToo
post Mar 20 2015, 05:32 PM

9,333 posts

Bought this for my daughter

LINKY

Liked it... very nice... paid about 1200~1300 about 1.5 yr ago.... cant remember
kapalterbang_737
post Mar 20 2015, 06:58 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(icelove @ Mar 20 2015, 05:25 PM)
hanishoney, how to find out the manufacturing date of unit? Is it printed at the car seat or refer to the manual? I remember I ask a baby shop about the expiry date of car seat, they said never heard of this kind of thing.
Not sure about other brands, but my Chicco NextFit Car Seat do have Manufacturing Date & Expiry Date at the bottom of the box

post Mar 20 2015, 07:02 PM

1,003 posts

Everything has an expiry date....even me...or should I say, especially me. whistling.gif

Many manufacturing dates are on the labels on the boxes.
Dage
post Mar 21 2015, 09:05 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Mar 19 2015, 11:55 AM)
What car will you be installing your carseat in? I just read a blog that claims that Proton Saga seatbelt is too short to install joie stages rear-facing: http://pet9.blogspot.com/2013/04/joie-stages.html, but the blog didn't clarify whether old Saga or new Saga.
thank you, i am using persona. thanks for the feedback
hanishoney
post Mar 21 2015, 06:39 PM

299 posts

Different carseats will have it in different places. The manual should always inform you where to look for or calculate the expiry date, but more often I find it faster to just google [name of carseat] expiry. Not always as accurate as checking in the car seat's manual.
armmar
post Mar 25 2015, 12:54 PM

66 posts

tq all....

sharing is caring... tq for info

i oso prefer to ISOfix.. but now my baby just 1 month 25 day.. and now just using convensional infant carrier..
jane_mj
post Mar 29 2015, 08:33 PM

101 posts

Anyone looking for new baby stroller/ baby carseat?
SHWestin
post Apr 2 2015, 08:25 PM

Item(s): Maxi Cosi Citi SPS Baby Car Seat (NEW)

Package includes: Maxi Cosi Citi SPS Baby Car Seat (http://www.maxi-cosi.com/products/car-seats/infant/citi-sps.aspx)

Price: RM550

Color:Stone

Dealing method: COD

Contact method/details: PM

Item(s) conditions: Brand New & Sealed.
hanishoney
post Apr 3 2015, 12:12 PM

299 posts

NHTSA recommends that child safety seats be replaced following a moderate or severe crash in order to ensure a continued high level of crash protection for child passengers.

NHTSA recommends that child safety seats do not automatically need to be replaced following a minor crash.

Minor crashes are those that meet ALL of the following criteria:
* The vehicle was able to be driven away from the crash site;
* The vehicle door nearest the safety seat was undamaged;
* There were no injuries to any of the vehicle occupants;
* The air bags (if present) did not deploy; AND
* There is no visible damage to the safety seat

Clarifying the need for child seat replacement will reduce the number of children unnecessarily riding without a child safety seat while a replacement seat is being acquired, and the number of children who will have to ride without a child seat if a seat were discarded and not replaced. The clarification will also reduce the financial burden of unnecessary replacement.

Read more at: Child Restraint Re-use After Minor Crashes
craftsnknots
post May 5 2015, 12:18 PM

577 posts

Is it advisable to go straight into a car seat 0-4yrs old or should I start with the infant carrier first? Not sure what the difference are since there are many that has the infant inset for car seat. Then again, I've read that infant carrier does have a better incline posture to support baby's spine, but I was thinking if a car seat is ECE certify and have the infant inset and it is for 0-4years, shouldn't it also be contoured for newborn posture?

Also, may I know where can I see/get/buy the Chicco NextFit?

Thanks. FTM
izso
post May 6 2015, 09:01 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(craftsnknots @ May 5 2015, 12:18 PM)
Is it advisable to go straight into a car seat 0-4yrs old or should I start with the infant carrier first? Not sure what the difference are since there are many that has the infant inset for car seat. Then again, I've read that infant carrier does have a better incline posture to support baby's spine, but I was thinking if a car seat is ECE certify and have the infant inset and it is for 0-4years, shouldn't it also be contoured for newborn posture?

Thanks. FTM
Buy whatever fits. 0-4 should be facing backwards, slightly elevated (not completely flat) and of course strapped down. If your infant is too small for those rear facing seats, then get the carrier that's made for the car (not those 3-in-1 types that loosely belt down to the car).
SUSsupersound
post May 6 2015, 10:02 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(craftsnknots @ May 5 2015, 12:18 PM)

Thanks. FTM
Basically what ever brand you buy will be the same, it won't 100% keep your baby safe.
If you are driving a Potong2 car, it is even worst.
It takes 1 factor to keep baby safe :
the driver's attitude
craftsnknots
post May 6 2015, 11:20 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ May 6 2015, 11:02 AM)
Basically what ever brand you buy will be the same, it won't 100% keep your baby safe.
If you are driving a Potong2 car, it is even worst.
It takes 1 factor to keep baby safe :
the driver's attitude
Thanks you for your respond, but I'm a really safe driver...in my 15 years of driving, I've only had 3 times of accident, all minor (just back light damage or back bumper). I've never bang anyone. Of course I am aware that I cannot control other driver's attitude..

And nope, I am not driving a potong car, my last car was a Kia CBU unit and my current is a CX 5. Putting that aside, I see alot of seats in the market and being a first time, I am rather overwhelmed as to which is actually a need, a better need or choice. Not asking about brand but merely what do I need to prepare/know or aware of before a newborn arrives pertaining to purchasing the ride seat for the baby, if I should buy an infant carrier for the 1st years (since I only read 1 article that says infant carrier has a better incline posture for the newborn spine) and then migrate to a convertible car seat when the baby has outgrown the carrier or I could get the convertible car seat straight away.

So I need some insight here from from you all

SUSsupersound
post May 6 2015, 01:24 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(craftsnknots @ May 6 2015, 11:20 AM)
Thanks you for your respond, but I'm a really safe driver...in my 15 years of driving, I've only had 3 times of accident, all minor (just back light damage or back bumper). I've never bang anyone. Of course I am aware that I cannot control other driver's attitude..

And nope, I am not driving a potong car, my last car was a Kia CBU unit and my current is a CX 5. Putting that aside, I see alot of seats in the market and being a first time, I am rather overwhelmed as to which is actually a need, a better need or choice. Not asking about brand but merely what do I need to prepare/know or aware of before a newborn arrives pertaining to purchasing the ride seat for the baby, if I should buy an infant carrier for the 1st years (since I only read 1 article that says infant carrier has a better incline posture for the newborn spine) and then migrate to a convertible car seat when the baby has outgrown the carrier or I could get the convertible car seat straight away.

So I need some insight here from from you all
Both of the car you mentioned are not a safe car to begin with.
Like the recent Pajero Sport is a good example.
And for a new born baby, is good not to bring them out too often, it is very bad for their health.
craftsnknots
post May 6 2015, 01:33 PM

577 posts

Why are they not safe? Anyway, I still need to take the baby around, for checkup, vaccination and such, care taker..I still need a car seat regardless of the car...right?
SUSsupersound
post May 6 2015, 02:14 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(craftsnknots @ May 6 2015, 01:33 PM)
Why are they not safe? Anyway, I still need to take the baby around, for checkup, vaccination and such, care taker..I still need a car seat regardless of the car...right?
Now most of the modern cars won't able to sustain serious impact.
Now we are using the cheapest car seat(just rm50) and call it the day laugh.gif

37 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:46 AM