GRexer
post Jun 5 2013, 09:48 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 5 2013, 12:46 AM)
Finally gotten my megs professional WB and APC, Just a few more items and my detailing tools will be compete biggrin.gif http://twitpic.com/cv8vnc
What do you mean "complete"? Unless you've totally stopped this hobby, it's never ending! laugh.gif

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jun 5 2013, 09:23 AM)
What do you mean by 'a few more items'....when it started IT WOULD NEVER END man.....muahahaha
thumbup.gif I totally remember myself saying "a modified Black & Decker with Velcro backing was all I ever needed" laugh.gif whistling.gif
GRexer
post Jun 7 2013, 06:19 PM

3,815 posts

Actually, although doing it at night sounds like a feasible thing, the lower temps seem to affect the curing a bit for my LSPs.
GRexer
post Jun 7 2013, 07:18 PM

3,815 posts

I'm not so sure about sun baking them, personally, I don't do that, maybe after removing the haze, but definitely not before as it might cause it to be difficult to buff off.

Personally, I prefer day time due to, well, visibility, and the humidity is lower in the day under the shade than at night, but that probably just regarding the LSP bit, compounds/polish tend to work better at night for me.
GRexer
post Jun 8 2013, 08:56 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(shootingstars83 @ Jun 7 2013, 08:51 PM)
hmm... for now i guess i just have to live without having tools until i strike gold or something to buy them laugh.gif
You don't have to strike gold to buy them, there's already a few options below RM1k these days, heck, for RM500, you could get a Bosch Sander ROB with 2-3 pads and get started already. More than enough if you're doing your own car.

QUOTE(shootingstars83 @ Jun 7 2013, 10:38 PM)
If i'm using the compound do i need to clay the car as well?
Well, theoretically, you may skip it, but, the bonded contaminants might gunk up your pads faster in this way.
GRexer
post Jun 8 2013, 01:24 PM

3,815 posts

Well.. Sonax is in Europe what Meguiar's is in US.
GRexer
post Jun 9 2013, 02:21 PM

3,815 posts

Clay cloth works faster(as you don't have to keep folding the clay, just rinsing in your clay lube which is usually also the car wash solution would do), but more often than not, the clay cloth mars more then regular clay as it's more aggresive.

Generally, my recommendations is to use the clay cloth if you plan on at least polishing or using an AIO with mild abrasives, and regular clay if you're just waxing.
GRexer
post Jun 11 2013, 06:21 PM

3,815 posts

I think he meant, due to the noise from the machines, he probably could no longer detail during midnight.
GRexer
post Jun 12 2013, 09:11 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(sakurazz @ Jun 12 2013, 12:12 AM)
hi sifus here..

it seems it enters the clear coat..

anyone know how to clean this?

tried with pressure with wax and even small dips of petrol, still can't

[attachmentid=3483060]
Can't really make out what that is, tried claying?
GRexer
post Jun 20 2013, 08:39 AM

3,815 posts

Provided you still do the regular maintenance cycle of washing properly probably at least 2 week once, weekly would be better.
GRexer
post Jun 20 2013, 10:50 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Jun 20 2013, 10:09 AM)
anybody know where to get cheap spray bottle

MG is kinda expensive..any alternative?
Depends on how you define alternative, exactly like Meg's bottle you shown, no ideas, but if standard sprayer like the OCW one(with "spray" and "stream" options), OSREN have them in a pack of 6 for RM24. I can spare you a unit if you don't need that much if you could come to Puchong though.
GRexer
post Jun 20 2013, 12:45 PM

3,815 posts

Ah.. I thought you only needed one. Then I guess a visit to OSREN, you'll pick up a couple more tongue.gif
GRexer
post Jun 20 2013, 07:30 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 20 2013, 01:40 PM)
osren spray i bought it for a pack of 5, rm60 sad.gif
supposedly chemical resistant and im using it for my various dilutions of products now lol
buy a pack of 5 = rm12 each
Actually, I haven't been up to date with their offerings, but the last I checked, they have 3 kinds of sprayers, 1 is the generic ones that looked kinda like the OCW(or equivalent spray wax/detailer) sprayer, the chemical resistant, and the big foamer or something.

QUOTE(arj @ Jun 20 2013, 06:23 PM)
I brought in a bunch of other stuff as well so shipping is around RM20 per pound for a 25 pound package. For a 50 pound package, it is about RM15 per pound. Sent by DHL so it's fast and they handled everything till my doorstep. Not exactly cheap but its reasonable to get some of the stuff that's not available locally.
Sounds decent, shipped by DHL, I might have a list of books I'm sure couldn't be bought locally, maybe I consolidate and need your help on the forwarding services.
GRexer
post Jun 25 2013, 08:52 AM

3,815 posts

Hm... Extractor, my dream "vacuum cleaner". tongue.gif
GRexer
post Jul 4 2013, 05:47 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Jul 4 2013, 04:27 PM)
1. wash with normal wash (turtle wax F21)
2. claybar
3. ScratchX with foam applicator (or MF better?)
By hand, MF would be slightly more aggresive than foam, so, depends on how bad the condition it, I would reckon you use a MF, or suggest a different product as Scratch X is meant to used for spot cleaning, I'm sure it could do a whole car, but you probably ended up using more than other compound/polish
4. Polish with M80 with foam applicator (or MF better?)
If you're working by hand, I'm not too sure you can get M80 to break down properly, but I'm really curious how you got your hands on M80 when you don't have a machine polisher, I wouldn't actually recommend this step if working by hand.
5. Wash down with Ultimate Wash and Wax (or normal F21 better?)
Just wash with normal F21, if you already have Ultimate Wash and Wax, then use it as a maintenance wash instead, you want to work with a clean surface before you apply sealant.
6. Seal with M21 2.0 (again, which applicator is best?)
Stick with a foam applicator for sealing/waxing.
7. Wax needed? if yes i only have GC Liquid Wax
You could always add on since you already have it, but, wax over sealant anytime you plan to do "layering"
8. Ultimate Quik Wax spray and wipe (this step needed?)
It's optional, but if you're feeling a little in the mood, why not? Or else, you could always use it as a topper or drying aid after you had wash with Wash and Wax.

thank you so so much!!!

these better or just send to detailers?
If anything, if you're able to, doing it yourself would always be better than normal car wash/polish/wax shops. Detailers? Good ones don't come cheap. Why are detailers called detailers? It's because they are very detailed in every single step.
Replied in blue in the quoted section.

This post has been edited by GRexer: Jul 4 2013, 05:48 PM
GRexer
post Jul 8 2013, 12:50 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Jul 8 2013, 12:22 PM)
Was searching for Goo Gone in my storeroom and I found these Soft99 wax tubs hiding at a corner, with the price tags still intact:

RM33 for a tub, wow - pretty cheap back then? laugh.gif

I popped the caps open and found foam applicators - which completely disintegrated like a spoilt cake when I held it up. These waxes must have been kept for a pretty long time, and I'm not sure whether I can still use them. Also I have to admit that I have not ever touched or used paste waxes before (only liquid and sprays), so I'll try to describe them to see if it's still fit for use?

Left:

Right:

Caught a whiff and both of them smelled like solvent - the same stuff when you open a can of paint or Dunlop glue, but nothing too intense. It smells a little sweet at the end too.

Texture-wise, the surface is dry - but if you brush deeper the paste is still moist, turning a tad darker compared to the top layer. I took a little and spread it over my finger, and ran water over it, and it still beads.

Thanks in advance biggrin.gif
Well, paste waxes last forever. Still usable as new. I have cans of paste waxes that I have had for like, 10 years or so. laugh.gif If you're concerned about the waxes, maybe you could double boil them and let them cool down to get a "as new" look. Personally used the blue can before. Surprisingly durable for something only RM33.

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Jul 8 2013, 12:29 PM)
can sifu in here recommend me a place to purchase detailing stuff, btw im looking for polish/wax pad suitable for bosch GEX125.

Thanks in advanced
Not much choices in Malaysia, you could get them locally either from Meguiar's, 3M, or Duragloss/OSREN which both stock Lake Country pads. Just stick with 5.5" pads for your machine. I'm not too sure if the MF pads would provide any faster cut on the GEX125 due to the small stroke. Haven't gotten the time out to do a simple test yet.

This post has been edited by GRexer: Jul 8 2013, 12:52 PM
GRexer
post Jul 8 2013, 03:54 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Jul 8 2013, 02:08 PM)
Thanks GRexer. Good to know that they still can be put into service. Now to find out if these are cleaner waxes or finishing waxes...

Also, I noticed the tub says to not use the wax on plastics and rubber trims - now why is this so? Is this a characteristic property of paste waxes?
Most Soft99 waxes are finishing waxes, even if they are cleaner waxes, the "cleaning" action is far too mild compared to most of the modern AIO we are used to.

Well, as Krismas mentioned, the only reason is because they stain plastics/rubber trim, especially so for textured ones.
GRexer
post Jul 8 2013, 07:33 PM

3,815 posts

Great find on the PDF file!
GRexer
post Jul 10 2013, 11:15 PM

3,815 posts

alexng2208, do note that buying from Autogeek means you're getting a 110/115V rated machine unless otherwise stated, which is incompatible with local supply of 230V unless you get a step-up transformer. Maybe you could use it as a guide on what to get, there's plenty of machine choices locally these days.
GRexer
post Jul 11 2013, 11:50 AM

3,815 posts

You really need to set a workable "all-in" budget with what you already have then maybe can advice a little. Local machines can range from RM300+ to RM2k+ so it's a little hard to advice. Also, not forgetting you need pads to work the machine. Stick with 5.5" pads if you're using a DA for more efficiency.
GRexer
post Jul 11 2013, 08:12 PM

3,815 posts

Well.. No more than RM500 for tools and pads, I guess, you could make do with a new Bosch GEX125AE(which is around RM350), and 1 light cutting and a 2 polishing pads. Will have to hand apply any LSP.

Don't think you could manage to get tool and pad under 500, even if you resort to getting the one from Alibaba, you'll still need proper pads instead of those that's bundled along.

mav3rick, a "much better" tool that had been gathering dust as I don't have much free time detailing wise at the moment. sweat.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0506sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:52 PM