Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread
GRexer
Apr 16 2013, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 16 2013, 01:22 PM) I went to Giant, quite some items on Sonax as well. Foam pad, MF cloth, car wash shampoo, wax and other car lubricants. But I need a good TAR remover, any suggestion? Giant Bandar Puteri Puchong? Now, that gives me a reason to go Giant. I have good experience with Osren's TAR remover, if you want some to try, I'm in Puchong this weekend, bring your own bottle and I can spare you some.
GRexer
Apr 16 2013, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 16 2013, 03:07 PM) Thanks bro. I don't have a container yet, that's my problem. That's why I buy everything in small amount for their bottle first. Anyway, you really need to look hard for the SONAX. Giant have so many things on display. Well, I have spare brand new spray bottles, but, well, you'll have to buy/pay for the bottle though I could spare you some of the tar remover. I know, now I sound like Air Asia. Anyway, Giant in Bandar Puteri has it? I guess I'll have to visit it then, been ages since I last went in, didn't really liked shopping there, I'm more of a, Tesco shopper, it's right across the road for me, could even walk there if I wanted.
GRexer
Apr 16 2013, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 16 2013, 08:42 PM) You free on Saturday afternoon? Want to pop down to Sonax's? (that is if they're open la....need to ask first) Also can take the opportunity to go through my pads and decide for me which to let go....  Sounds like a plan. Roughly what time? Anytime before 4pm is good for me. I'm tempted to get the new craze for myself now that there are some places I know I could use it on with it's "no pressure needed" methods. Already sent Shyan a text but no response yet.
GRexer
Apr 17 2013, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 17 2013, 09:08 AM) SS18 Subang Jaya. Plenty of stuffs to choose...even some 'non-retail' stuffs.... I think around 1 ~ 2pm. But have to confirm first whether they open or not on Saturday. Shouldn't be a problem. Let me know. It'll be good for a visit, maybe grab some PF. QUOTE(mav3rick @ Apr 17 2013, 09:34 AM) anything to recommend from sonax?  damn.. is this called self poisoning?  Well, Sonax, is kinda like Meguiar's in USA, they are pretty big, depends on what you want. The wheel cleaner IS highly recommended.
GRexer
Apr 25 2013, 11:20 AM
I'm about to give the Osren's Stain-X a try this week, gonna be using the Felt pads on a DA on glass.
GRexer
May 2 2013, 10:12 AM
Interesting, which China DA was there yesterday?
GRexer
May 2 2013, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(lonewolf @ May 2 2013, 10:23 AM) yeap..the china doll was there...gives u a good vibrator job . for those who are interested to read more on the machines and steps. feel free to read the below link http://www.detailingworld.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=63859Yeah, but I was curious exactly which "China Doll"  QUOTE(lonewolf @ May 2 2013, 11:35 AM) anybody want to share this?.. There's some sort of GB going on, might want to contact Krismas regarding it. It's dilutable and doesn't necessarily needs to be used neat.
GRexer
May 2 2013, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 2 2013, 12:06 PM) already going on? sonax or the megs? or both? (i want both, lazy scrub wheels liao LOL!) Meg's WB. We are sharing the gallon down to probably a quart per person. QUOTE(arj @ May 2 2013, 01:48 PM) Erkk! I don't think acid-based cleaners should go anywhere near a painted surface  APC/degreasers would be a better choice if you want it for multiple application  Actually, the WB is Alkaline based, it's caustic. And, yes, I would suggest APC is a better choice, if you want decently cheap and good, then give the OSREN Multi-Purpose Cleaner a good, very affordable even for the gallon.
GRexer
May 3 2013, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 2 2013, 09:31 PM) Oops, my bad, next time I'll PM Anyway, who brought along the China ROB?
GRexer
May 3 2013, 11:57 AM
I suppose the unit belongs to CoffeeDude?  USD145 including shipping sounds like a good price for beginner. Shinmate's unit also need to include shipping since they are based in the East. I'm looking for a 3" unit currently that's like the Griot Garage 3 though.
GRexer
May 4 2013, 08:43 AM
Great info. You meant the one from Aikka is similar to the Shinemate? Or similiar to the 710W one CoffeeDude mentioned? Aikka seemed undecided on how much to sell it though, mentioned RM680 openly in their FB page but when I sent them a message before they started advertising, I was quoted below RM600.
GRexer
May 4 2013, 06:11 PM
Actually, I find that OCW is surprisingly lasting for "only a spray wax", personal experience is that it lasted easily a month(or more) for me, that is with only a single wash in between.
Have not tried other spray waxes so I can't comment on others.
GRexer
May 5 2013, 05:01 PM
Actually, the way to prevent streaking on OCW, is by spraying onto the MF instead of onto the paint.
GRexer
May 6 2013, 04:30 PM
Sounds like you're using too much product and saturating the pad. Although, I spend more on pads, and have many pads to switch to(and I'm actually considering getting a pad washer), so, that might affect why I don't seem to have this happen.
This post has been edited by GRexer: May 6 2013, 04:30 PM
GRexer
May 7 2013, 12:22 AM
OCW is short-form for "Optimum Car Wax".
I will really say save the money you're gonna spend on the Black & Decker, unless you're wanting to only use it for waxing, and nothing else. For a more "complete" machine, minimum you'll need to have a Bosch Orbital Sander, which could do considerable correction using current technology liquids and pads.
GRexer
May 8 2013, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(gapsterz @ May 8 2013, 05:08 PM) is there any special promotion for meg's products there? 15% percent off retail price if I'm not mistaken.
GRexer
May 17 2013, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 16 2013, 04:08 PM) The one available here is not like yours....more like this one: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2448036/allPrice? Well....errrr....can get it at around RM80, and I think it's almost twice the size of that one from Chemical Guys.... QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 16 2013, 04:28 PM) Osren (looks like I'm sounding more and more like their reps now  ). Yup. I think it's a little bit on the aggressive side and can marr the paint a little (though can easily be removed with a light polish). But you can clay the whole car in as much time as it take to wash it. Er.. I didn't get mine at RM80! Guess I need to give Henry a call
GRexer
May 17 2013, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 17 2013, 11:19 AM) huh? RRP without discount or anything ady rm80 for the claycloth wo (i just went few days ago btw) I'm sure I didn't get it for that price, but that might be the new pricing as I got mine back in August of 2012, have the receipt to "proof"  And I'm sure Henry is already giving the best price possible for my purchases, especially for the last few purchases, I'm happy I don't have to go all the way to Jalan Ipoh for a small item these days.  Top notch service by them so I ain't exactly complaining. This post has been edited by GRexer: May 17 2013, 11:44 AM
GRexer
Jun 1 2013, 12:34 PM
When you say "purchase locally", you meant getting it OTC(Over the Counter) as in easily bought in Supermarkets, or it's OK to purchase online from local sites and shipped to you?
GRexer
Jun 4 2013, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Jun 4 2013, 09:39 PM) Well.. Price difference of Meg's in the US between brands is considered minimal, it's the local pricing of Meg's that has the huge difference.