time to change my gobi to tundra that is what my ass i telling me after the ride this morning from gombak up the old road to genting sempah
Mountain Biking Heaven V27, Jump Around, Jump! Jump!
Jun 16 2013, 06:55 PM
2,093 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
time to change my gobi to tundra that is what my ass i telling me after the ride this morning from gombak up the old road to genting sempah
Jun 17 2013, 09:21 AM
Jun 17 2013, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(sebnimh84 @ Jun 17 2013, 07:51 AM) Suntour XCM V3 not recommended at all.... my bike comes stock with it. Rebound is crappy as ever and the fork is stiff like crazy... wrists hurt even after short ride in comparison to higher-end forks. Agreed. Go FOX or go home! hehe. for all others there is Rockshox. I am not a pro but I have had those and Marzocchi and let tell you, Fox and Rockshox for XC is pretty good, i had reliability issues with my MarzocchiSave up and go for a better fork, it'll be worth the while (That's what I'm doing now |
Jun 17 2013, 10:04 AM
Jun 17 2013, 11:39 AM
Jun 17 2013, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(hon kin @ Jun 17 2013, 12:52 PM) Oh, thanks for the advice! What about XCR[i'm hooked with the fancy remote lockup function XD] ? Or the Road Shox Dart2..? A lot of ppl recommending the Dart 2 to me, but the price is... very steep :/ DART not steep when you see the price of the musangs Oh btw, didi mention i got a new saddle? no, it is not a Fizik but a Tioga Spider saddle! Cheap and so far feeling nice! And my curent project is getting my Jamis Durango upgraded to tarmac spec This post has been edited by dickybird: Jun 17 2013, 01:27 PM |
Jun 17 2013, 02:37 PM
Air/oil over coil springs any day. with air there is infinite adjustability and lighter weight.
Jun 19 2013, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(Broadica @ Jun 19 2013, 10:29 AM) well its up to you... if you saja want to change for the sake of changing.. then ok. otherwise i suggest you save up and change later on something that can give you a better performance different rather than wasting the money on something not. Suntour Epicon should be a good aim for you. and everyone is giving you the similar advise that we learned. or go through the experience yourself and dealt with it. sheesh the very definition of askhole. |
Jun 22 2013, 06:00 PM
How to cycle? So hazy cannot even see ahead
Jun 25 2013, 02:51 AM
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 24 2013, 10:39 PM) I am starting to build my own MTB. Any place I can buy wheel sets at a good price. Looking at Mavic XM319 or crossride. Any recommendation is welcome. You don't seem like you know enough about the kind of ride you want or about components to be building your own bike. The wheels you mention, just ask your local bike shop to quote you. Why do you want carbon bars? With your seemingly lack of knowledge, wouldn't it be better to buy off the rack and then evolve your component mix as you start riding? For all other queries there is always page 1 This post has been edited by dickybird: Jun 25 2013, 02:54 AM |
Jun 25 2013, 02:52 AM
Jun 25 2013, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 25 2013, 04:26 PM) I am just going for casual ride like a little bit of orrfroad...nothing like serious downhill or jumps. That is why I did look at those carbon handle bar. It definitely is no good for those hardcore but riding around parks should be ok i thing. spotted! ride around taman biker or should i say poser like that, save your money and just a get a section of PVC from your local hardware shop. they can cut it to any length you like and even drill out more holes to save some more weight. Personally i think a bit of copper pipe is classier as it oxidises it turns a cool shade of green. This post has been edited by dickybird: Jun 25 2013, 04:31 PM |
Jun 25 2013, 05:36 PM
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 25 2013, 04:40 PM) Everybody start somewhere right? there you go. coconut also can be used, it does have a thousand uses after all. Even the world best footballer once play with coconut in the backstreet. i imagine, if Neymar played with a coconut growing up he would not be the player he is today. since you worship the altar that is taobao then do go ahead but you have been warned. i still say, since you just want to ride in your taman, just go to your LBS pays your money and pick the colour you like. |
Jun 25 2013, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 25 2013, 05:56 PM) Anyway, thanks for the advise. I will stay away from carbon handle to be on the safe side. GR8! it certainly beats scratching your head about that china mali carbon bar. choose wisely and make sure it's in a colour you like.Anyway, being a Taman biker, I still can choose any bike I want and any price I can afford, not just the color. |
Jun 25 2013, 08:17 PM
Jun 25 2013, 08:59 PM
Jun 25 2013, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(eohl79 @ Jun 25 2013, 10:52 PM) Taman biker ask question in MB Heaven... how to poison him? he wants to build his own bike on the cheap with dodgy china mali carbon bar . now tell us just want to ride around taman with dodgy china mali carbon bar. so i think we should give him standard MTB heaven greeting for this kind of FAQ which is pick the cheapest bike in the colour he like.and please dont give answer like I buy ALphard coz i can mah! just confuse the poor fella even more. better to say, even though i can afford a roadbike i dun wanna coz i am not GAY! minor confession, i am considering putting slicks on my beloved HT so i can go ride around my taman and up the Old Pahang trunk road in Gombak faster than 1 hour 15 minutes on my FS Anthem X3. This post has been edited by dickybird: Jun 25 2013, 11:14 PM |
Jun 25 2013, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(sunnyckh @ Jun 25 2013, 11:36 PM) Model Name : La Pierre how much was when new?Model Category : Mountain HT Model Series :2011 Prorace 200 Sizes : 18 Front Suspension : Epicon x2 Shift Lever : Shimano XT Shifters Pair - 10sp M770 Derailleur Front : Shimano XT M780 Top Swing 3x10 Front Mech Derailleur Rear : Shimano XT M780 10 Speed Rear Mech Brakes Front : Shimano Deore XT M775 with 6” SLX Rotor Brakes Rear : Shimano Deore XT M775 with 6” SLX Rotor Brake Levers : Shimano Deore XT M775 Pedals : Mongoose platform Crankset : Shimano Deore Bottom Bracket : TOKEN pressfit Tiramic Chain : YBN gold chain 10 speed Cassette : Shimano Deore XT 10 speed casette Hub Front and Rear : Novatec with TOKEN QR Rims : MAVIC 119, Double Wall, 32 Hole with CNC Side Walls Tires : Gaex 2.2 front and Gaex 2.0 rear Saddle : Velo Seatpost : Ritchey Adjust, 31.6mm Stem : KCNC 50mm Grips : Token Headset : Mortop, 1 1/8”, Threadless Handlebar : FSA carbon This used bike 4k can take? |
Jun 26 2013, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(sunnyckh @ Jun 25 2013, 11:43 PM) what can you get for new at 4k price line?i speaking as a noob coz i have ever only bought 4+1 bikes in my life. the +1 bike is my wife punya but she never ride give my FIL ride. discounting all other bits, what fork and drivetrain can you get on a new 4k bike, i think that will give a you a good guideline. i say this because all other bits you can change for very little money or at least without Finance Minister to sign off. hehe oh, and size 18, sounds big, you a big fler? This post has been edited by dickybird: Jun 26 2013, 12:01 AM |
Jun 26 2013, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 26 2013, 12:04 AM) Sorry ah. I just want some advice when I start working on my first MTB. Nothing hardcore but just a beginner bike that hopefully can go offroard at least LOL. easy! a bike with a light overall weight and big fat tyres. by light i mean a hardtail bike around 26 pounds with at least a Deore drivetrain. why light, so it will not feel like hell when you ride. fat tires give good road resistance so will help you train up for the trails and they are nice cushy on trails |
| Change to: | 0.0530sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:54 PM |