Technical Windows Media Center®, Connecting XB360 & Media Streaming
judge-the
Feb 14 2007, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(eone @ Feb 14 2007, 08:19 AM) guys, i just installed tversity last night, well, it really a straight foward steps, install-reboot and start sharing, straight away x360 detect it. Anyway, not all videos can be stream, most of my avi(divx) cannot pass it, do i need to install certain codec to stream the divx? i'm using transcode360 to stream... so far all divx got no problems at all
eone
Feb 14 2007, 08:48 AM
QUOTE(judge-the @ Feb 14 2007, 08:36 AM) i'm using transcode360 to stream... so far all divx got no problems at all but it needed wmce right? or can it run stand alone?
judge-the
Feb 14 2007, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(eone @ Feb 14 2007, 08:48 AM) but it needed wmce right? or can it run stand alone? oh forgot about that you need winMCE hehehe...
eone
Feb 14 2007, 09:18 AM
oh.. so ka.. then need to reformat my c: drive lah  , .. okay, need quick answer, the difference between winmce and winxp.. can it still runs torrent on it?
judge-the
Feb 14 2007, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(eone @ Feb 14 2007, 09:18 AM) oh.. so ka.. then need to reformat my c: drive lah  , .. okay, need quick answer, the difference between winmce and winxp.. can it still runs torrent on it? my advice if you wanna install winMCE you must reformat your c: and do a fresh installation. few other forumers that tried upgrade from winXP to winMCE received errors during installation. winXP and winMCE almost the same lah. only got that media center additional functions only. off course torrent still can run lah and porn too!!!
SUSleenaz
Feb 23 2007, 01:57 PM
er... direct connection from xbox 360 to laptop can or not?? i need to transfer some mp3 to my xbox360
or can i used thumbdrive??
babyakuma
Feb 23 2007, 04:58 PM

heehhe i need to experiment this soon.. gotta get windows media centre tonite.. hehehe hehe i also would like to know if thumbdrive can use would be interesting
verced
Feb 23 2007, 05:26 PM

WMC looks nice and all, but functionality and format wise, XBMC beats it hands down... It works well with standard files (divx and all) on normal resolution, but once you go HD, xbox will show its age. Freaking laggy up to a point where it's not watchable.
Planning to get a TV soon, so media center setup is a must. I've tried transcode360 but the quality of the video seems to dip a little.
Heard about TVersity, how's the quality like?
Maybe I should stick with Xbox 1 for now eh?
eone
Feb 23 2007, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(verced @ Feb 23 2007, 05:26 PM) WMC looks nice and all, but functionality and format wise, XBMC beats it hands down... It works well with standard files (divx and all) on normal resolution, but once you go HD, xbox will show its age. Freaking laggy up to a point where it's not watchable. Planning to get a TV soon, so media center setup is a must. I've tried transcode360 but the quality of the video seems to dip a little. Heard about TVersity, how's the quality like? Maybe I should stick with Xbox 1 for now eh? I treid TVersity .. well it seems to load the codec when running but then some error popup in my pc monitor. the only choice rite now is WinMCE with Transcode360
verced
Feb 23 2007, 10:13 PM

What kinda error? I just tried TVersity, works fine over here.
Just make sure you set the user accounts properly for the service. It's one of the things you gotta do on the website. Once I did that, it works.
Too bad, it's still transcoding from the PC, hence, a some quality drop.
whassup
Feb 28 2007, 10:58 AM

QUOTE(verced @ Feb 23 2007, 10:13 PM) What kinda error? I just tried TVersity, works fine over here. Just make sure you set the user accounts properly for the service. It's one of the things you gotta do on the website. Once I did that, it works. Too bad, it's still transcoding from the PC, hence, a some quality drop. i'm currently using Zune on my Windoz XP to stream music,picture & some video onto my xbox360.. link below.. http://www.xbox.com/en-US/pcsetup/xpsp2.htmhaven't tried with my divx, xvid, mkv & watever else format.. I seriously hope not to use my old xbox anymore  gonna see whats up with TVersity tonight...
hikaru_x
Feb 28 2007, 11:15 AM

QUOTE(leenaz @ Feb 23 2007, 01:57 PM) er... direct connection from xbox 360 to laptop can or not?? i need to transfer some mp3 to my xbox360 or can i used thumbdrive?? u can't copy any mp3/video/picture to the xbox360... for music: u need to insert an audio cd and let the 360 rip it.
kerc
Mar 3 2007, 01:06 PM

woot woot... streaming movies to my 360 is awesome... only thing now is must get better speakers for my tv... lol... important websites and info for setting up media center Xbox SetupTranscode 360 Allows you to watch almost any file on the 360 *cannot run rmvb* Other relevant info If you want to use MCE, YOU MUST HAVE ROLLUP UPDATE 2 If you want to use Vista you don't really need any updates vista supports the 360 as an media extender, but the instructions are on Xbox SetupTo run transcode 360, if you have 2 pcs and your media is on 2 different pcs and you want the transcode software to transcode for both. Then when you install hit manual (not automatic) and follow these instructionsAlso you can forward the transcoding operation to another pc i.e your main pc won't lag if you're watch movies on the 360 to do this Open the transcode software in the tray go to network and input the name in space, test and see if it works. I hope this helps.
hikaru_x
Mar 22 2007, 02:58 PM

another software to stream to ur 360 (and Wii & PS3 too!)... im not sure what format it supports QUOTE EMERYVILLE, Calif. - March 21, 2007 - Orb NetworksTM announced that starting today more than 17 million households with gaming consoles worldwide can now enjoy and share all of the digital entertainment on their home PCs directly on their living room TV screen, using the company's free MyCasting software as the bridge. The announcement comes as Apple begins shipping its Apple TV.
Orb MyCasting now works with the Microsoft Xbox 360?, the world's largest game console installed base, as well as the Nintendo Wii? and Sony PlayStation?3, giving gamers the ability to bring all digital media to their TV screen without any additional costs or hardware requirements. Source: Orb Networks(http://www.orb.com/en/orb_networks_trumps_apple_on_day_one_with_free_pc_to_tv_service_for_17_million_households) More info: http://www.orb.com/gamers/xbox.htm*edit: seems that the link url is too long, the forum broke it This post has been edited by hikaru_x: Mar 22 2007, 07:58 PM
MK84
Mar 22 2007, 03:19 PM
Hmm no mention of formats supported. Anybody brave enough to test? Hehe.
xxboxx
Mar 22 2007, 04:58 PM
does it only works with SP2? and what video format it support.
SUSmayatsan
Mar 28 2007, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Mar 22 2007, 02:58 PM) another software to stream to ur 360 (and Wii & PS3 too!)... im not sure what format it supports Source: Orb Networks(http://www.orb.com/en/orb_networks_trumps_apple_on_day_one_with_free_pc_to_tv_service_for_17_million_households) More info: http://www.orb.com/gamers/xbox.htm*edit: seems that the link url is too long, the forum broke it yup...its support all format even real media (rmvb/rm) n VLC  i tried it though... cx out my new thread on ORB http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/432966 This post has been edited by mayatsan: Mar 28 2007, 12:22 AM
shumaky
Mar 28 2007, 12:50 AM
I was hearing to slashdot podcast that day.. and they mention something bout Linux MCE. Did a quick search n it works on Ubuntu 6.10. What u need - Ubuntu 6.10Linux MCEAnd the installation guideI'm gonna try this later when I get back.
Waachaaa
Apr 6 2007, 02:26 PM
Hi Guys,
Does the modded xbox360 able to stream with MCE? Does wireless g (58mbps) sufficient for video streaming?will it lag?
Eisenmeteor
Apr 6 2007, 02:58 PM
My Xbox cant find my pc and my pc cant scan the Xbox le..Using WMP11..And router is Aztech 600EW..Anyone got experince my probz?
Kernkraft helping me later..Hope can solve this prob...I wanna watch Heroes..