Technical Windows Media Center®, Connecting XB360 & Media Streaming

judge-the
post Apr 3 2006, 04:25 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

if you really wanna run fully on MCE then you need to pm our bro string.
judge-the
post Apr 12 2006, 10:37 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Apr 11 2006, 05:47 PM)
There two solutions for streaming Divx encoded movies to the 360.

mceDivX360
and
Transcode360

Of the two Transcode360 is the best if you want a hassle free solution.
hey bro how come after install transcose360 i cannot run the program lah. kept crashing anytips?
judge-the
post Apr 12 2006, 11:24 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Apr 12 2006, 11:16 AM)
What error did it say?
when i run transcode360.exe it will give me this error,

application has generated an exception that could not be handled. actually where to run this transcode360? in my media extender i cannot see the shortcut.

**update**

ok got it working already. inside my video folder, must press X button then click on more and then select transcode video. hehehe working!!! later makan lunch can watch my supernatural tv series already.

thankz bro mk84.

This post has been edited by judge-the: Apr 12 2006, 11:33 AM
judge-the
post Apr 17 2006, 05:01 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Apr 17 2006, 04:58 PM)
Transcode 360 Beta 3 is released.
http://runtime360.com/category/blog/transcoding
thankz for the info... like it a lot. very easy to use transcode.
judge-the
post Apr 21 2006, 11:16 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(e_ti @ Apr 21 2006, 08:53 PM)
i dled de media center
then the xbox ask me enter some setup number during the installation..but when im istalling the media center in my comp it doesnt ask me for that number and i cant use de xbox stream de medias

wats happening
before you start any installation on the pc make sure:

1. you need to run media extender in 360. follow on screen instructions in 360 until it gives you the code. after 360 gave you the code it will ask you to leave the 360 on a page and continue with installation in your pc.
2. i assume you already download the media extender installation file, which is around 90mb and now starts the installation in your pc.
3. during the pc installation it will ask you for the code.
4. after you key in the code i think now the pc will try to connect with 360.

judge-the
post Apr 21 2006, 11:25 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

bro shumaky, the "batuk" mce version ok smile.gif

bro dreamyghost, actually when i installed mce in my pc for the first time i just upgrade my OS didnt do any formatting. i think got some errors after that. then just format and install a new pure mce... it works fine until now.

*now with bro mka84's transcode very easy to watch divx. no need to convert at all. just play the divx and at the same it will convert itself.
judge-the
post Apr 22 2006, 07:08 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(e_ti @ Apr 22 2006, 03:35 AM)
i cant seem to find the link to dl the extender.... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

i onli dled windows media connect....
media connect and media extender is different. here's the link, http://www.xbox.com/en-US/pcsetup
judge-the
post Apr 23 2006, 10:32 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(e_ti @ Apr 22 2006, 09:28 AM)
ive dled that and istall it d. but i still cant get to the page where they ask for the setup number
i can see that my xbox is connected to my pc on my pc. but when i press hte media center button on the remote it brings me to the setup page asking me to go www.microsoft.com/extender

i jus dled the 7mb file from here.http://www.xbox.com/en-US/pcsetup/alldownloads.htm
cant find the 90mbs file
i think the 7mb is the media connect only. you need to download the 90mb extender setup file.
judge-the
post Apr 28 2006, 11:12 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

e_ti, you must take note windows connect you cannot stream movies into your 360.
judge-the
post May 1 2006, 09:12 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(e_ti @ May 1 2006, 09:01 PM)
my xp sp2 dun haf media center
normal win xp is not the same as win xp mce. you need to have windows xp media center edition 2005 (win xp mce). so if you only running normal win xp in your pc then you only can use the media connect with your 360. you need to install win xp mce2005 as your operating system before you can use media center in the 360.
judge-the
post May 3 2006, 02:13 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(e_ti @ May 3 2006, 09:13 AM)
ive installed the new xp mce...now when i wanna install the extender file...it stays forever at the .NET installing page
yup that .NET installation page very long one... just wait seriously mine was really long waiting for it to finish smile.gif
judge-the
post May 4 2006, 06:20 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(chinsc @ May 4 2006, 02:03 PM)
bro judge, what do u mean by this part :

you need to install win xp mce2005 as your operating system before you can use media center in the 360.

untill now i still haven succesfully install the xbox360 MCE extended setup... everytime when reach the part of installing.. it's end up with 'error'~ pls contact M$.....

is this because im using a chinese version of window xp SP2 MCE???

anyone here use the chinse verison of window like me?

now my xbox360 is moving to living room... so really need to set it up to connect my PC to watch video files.

pls advised, thx
alamak... i am using the english windows xp MCE lah so not veru sure about the chinese version.

judge-the
post Jun 9 2006, 07:41 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(tailgunner @ Jun 9 2006, 01:31 AM)
help me guys i having problem with my MCE on 360. why it keep failed when i playing video and i try to press some button then he DC again and again sad.gif boring la like that after finish watching 1 MTV then DC again rclxub.gif and press the stop button when watching movie also hang and then DC rclxub.gif  help me~
hmmm... i assumed you are using transcode360 to stream the video file from your pc right? did you check the media extender resource meter at the bottom right corner on your desktop?
judge-the
post Jun 9 2006, 10:00 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(tailgunner @ Jun 9 2006, 09:42 AM)
i didt use the transcode360 la i have check my meter bar... oh when i try connect to media center with my 360 is ok but when stream video 1 time only then it become DC and i go test my media connection on my 360 it keep failed at PC selected(dont ask me to do the firewall thing cause i done all already) sad.gif
perhaps you should try transcode360. i am using it very happy no problems at all. the only thing is must always remember to delete the so called "dummy" file in the transcode360 folder in the program files folder because if you dont delete it you'll run out disk space very soon.
judge-the
post Jun 9 2006, 12:38 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Jun 9 2006, 12:04 PM)
Wired or wireless?
i am using wired connecition here in my house.
judge-the
post Jun 12 2006, 10:34 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 12 2006, 08:37 PM)
Hmmmmm......

Sounds complicated. I suggest a thorough install-over, a.k.a format and reinstall your OS to MCE. Maybe Marauderz can shed some light into these errors.

From what little knowledge i understand, those errors looks like some installation files are missing.

Maybe we could get bro Judge in here, since he did his installation without any problems. Judge, did you install OVER your WinXP, or a reformat and clean install?
actually i tried upgrade from windows xp to MCE before. during the media extender installation got hang session and also errors. so i reformat my hdd and did a fresh install of MCE and it works until today.

bro dreamy dont worry will be sending you something tomorrow morning.

* bro silencer also no problems with my MCE so i assumed maybe those errors because of corrupted disc. maybe only lah... so bro dreamy you just wait ok.
judge-the
post Jun 12 2006, 10:39 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

dont worry tomorrow until friday damn free hehehe this semester i only got 2 classes, monday and saturday... other days must do "online assignment" with xbox live!

judge-the
post Jun 13 2006, 11:33 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Jun 13 2006, 11:25 AM)
Hmmm..... Vista Beta 2 can connect to 360 ka? Media Connect only I assume?
hehehe i dont have vista lah so cannot try smile.gif
judge-the
post Jun 15 2006, 01:07 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(tailgunner @ Jun 15 2006, 01:05 PM)
my MCE is now working super smooth all thx to judge-the rclxm9.gif  notworthy.gif
no prob at all small matter only smile.gif
judge-the
post Jun 16 2006, 09:21 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(cylon @ Jun 16 2006, 01:28 AM)
Tried MCE within Vista Beta 2 Build 5384 a few times and it came out "incompatible region"!

Edited..found out through some other Blogs!

"As for another known issue, for those of you who have had the "Wrong Region, This disc's region code is incorrect for this console" error, the Xbox 360 Extender bits in Vista Beta 2 are for Region 1 only. Microsoft plans to open up the Extender functionality to other regions later on in the beta.

Hope this clears up two things that have been commonly asked about Microsoft Windows Vista Beta 2, Media Center and the Xbox 360 Media Center Extender functionality that is found in the current release."
thankz for the info bro cylon. guess now it's not a good time to pair up vista and 360 smile.gif

0.0287sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:59 AM