101 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

The New Mazda 6 2013 (V2), Discussion on everything!

cybermaster98
post Feb 27 2013, 02:45 PM

4,440 posts

A bit off topic, but did anyone see the pricing for the new Citroen DS5? Really crazy! Imagine paying >RM200K (OTR) for a car equipped with the same engine as the Peugeot 508 (1.6L THP) and having similar specs? Totally insane pricing! vmad.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Feb 27 2013, 02:45 PM
zweimmk
post Feb 27 2013, 03:02 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 27 2013, 02:40 PM)
Either way, disliking the push start feature solely because of this tiny, once in a while inconvenience doesnt quite make sense.
For people who are kind of old school in certain ways, it's does, lol.

I'm not particular about my car cleanliness, as in I don't bother with all that coating etc, so I sometimes just take it to those roadside car wash or car wash centers and since some of those guys don't know how to start your car, I actually have to do it. It's all the little inconvenience that I find irritating.

Remote start will solve the problem, too bad cars here don't have that feature.
cybermaster98
post Feb 27 2013, 03:07 PM

4,440 posts

Interesting copy cat move from BN:

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/mobile/article.php?id=231632

Neo_Y
post Feb 27 2013, 03:07 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 27 2013, 02:45 PM)
A bit off topic, but did anyone see the pricing for the new Citroen DS5? Really crazy! Imagine paying >RM200K (OTR) for a car equipped with the same engine as the Peugeot 508 (1.6L THP) and having similar specs? Totally insane pricing!  vmad.gif
Yes, I'll take Peugeot anytime despite the Citroen being more luxurious and unique.
calvin_gsc
post Feb 27 2013, 03:13 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Feb 27 2013, 02:19 PM)
My order form wrote RED as my first colour and WHITE as second.
My SA already reserved a RED one for me.
So, no choice got to take SOUL RED. Anyone with me?
Soul red was my first choice.

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 27 2013, 02:34 PM)
Its already WYB today.
thumbup.gif

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 27 2013, 02:45 PM)
A bit off topic, but did anyone see the pricing for the new Citroen DS5? Really crazy! Imagine paying >RM200K (OTR) for a car equipped with the same engine as the Peugeot 508 (1.6L THP) and having similar specs? Totally insane pricing!  vmad.gif
Any car with a special badge will always cost more expensive than one without. Besides, eventhough it shares the engine... the fit and finish of the car is different.

It's like saying Mazda 6 and CX-5 should be priced similarly since they have the same engine.

zweimmk
post Feb 27 2013, 03:30 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Feb 27 2013, 03:07 PM)
Yes, I'll take Peugeot anytime despite the Citroen being more luxurious and unique.
I dunno about that man.

Now I kind of regret not getting the new CC instead. The only reasons why I didn't was because:

1. It was mechanically 95% the same as the Passat
2. It sits in the price range of the F30, A4.

But now that I think about it, maybe I should have gotten the CC instead, the car looks so much better and sleeker in the metal. Got some feeling of regrets already, lol!

IMO, people who buy Citroen are like people who buy Mini. They don't buy the car because it make sense, they buy it because it's different.
CoffeeDude
post Feb 27 2013, 03:33 PM

1,609 posts

I bought a Citroen C5 because it has the best and most unique suspension in the D segment smile.gif
TSfadzly
post Feb 27 2013, 03:44 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Feb 27 2013, 03:30 PM)
I dunno about that man.

Now I kind of regret not getting the new CC instead. The only reasons why I didn't was because:

1. It was mechanically 95% the same as the Passat
2. It sits in the price range of the F30, A4.

But now that I think about it, maybe I should have gotten the CC instead, the car looks so much better and sleeker in the metal. Got some feeling of regrets already, lol!

IMO, people who buy Citroen are like people who buy Mini. They don't buy the car because it make sense, they buy it because it's different.
Initially i thought passat cc is a passat. I never thought passat and passat cc so different. Until they decide to name it only CC then i realised the differences. From the exterior looks, passat tsi looks like a c segment rather than a d. The interior is boring, no gadget. Thus i dont ever look at passat anymore. The cc looks more like a dsegment to me.
Neo_Y
post Feb 27 2013, 03:46 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Feb 27 2013, 02:19 PM)
My order form wrote RED as my first colour and WHITE as second.
My SA already reserved a RED one for me.
So, no choice got to take SOUL RED. Anyone with me?
My SA is kind enough to send me photos regarding to the colour of my choice. Even make it side by side.
He keep on saying Soul Red is nicer.

This post has been edited by Neo_Y: Feb 27 2013, 03:49 PM
zweimmk
post Feb 27 2013, 03:49 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Feb 27 2013, 03:44 PM)
Initially i thought passat cc is a passat. I never thought passat and passat cc so different. Until they decide to name it only CC then i realised the differences. From the exterior looks, passat tsi looks like a c segment rather than a d. The interior is boring, no gadget. Thus i dont ever look at passat anymore. The cc looks more like a dsegment to me.
Interior looks better to me than the M6. But this is subjective. Size wise, I don't see the new Mazda 6 being bigger despite the long wheelbase. CC is actually less spacious because of the rear sloping roofline.

As far as gadget is concerned, once you own the car, you will know it is really only very desirable when you don't have it. When you have it, it's really no big deal. So unless the car has radar cruise control, remote car start, I consider everything else pretty much standard equipment.

zweimmk
post Feb 27 2013, 03:51 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Feb 27 2013, 03:46 PM)
My SA is kind enough to send me photos regarding to the colour of my choice. Even make it side by side.

I also thought red look better, but the more I look at white, the more it appeals to me.
STKM
post Feb 27 2013, 04:17 PM

Bro, U wont regret with the red thumbup.gif I would hv go with the red but my feng shui sifu told me the red colour doesn't suit me laugh.gif

TSfadzly
post Feb 27 2013, 04:24 PM

1,757 posts

Dont worry. Both are nice! Hehe
net_cow
post Feb 27 2013, 04:31 PM

|= c 0 w =| (tm)
2,689 posts

your SA really super kind. thumbup.gif
i havent heard anything from my SA rclxub.gif
miloc
post Feb 27 2013, 04:43 PM

I really hope my SA can do that as well with comparison Aluminium Metallic & Meteor Grey.

Thumb up for your SA, this is what all comsumer wanted.
cybermaster98
post Feb 27 2013, 05:37 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Feb 27 2013, 03:13 PM)
Any car with a special badge will always cost more expensive than one without. Besides, eventhough it shares the engine... the fit and finish of the car is different.

It's like saying Mazda 6 and CX-5 should be priced similarly since they have the same engine.
There is nothing luxurious about the Citroen badge. In fact, that brand is associated with more bad news than good in Europe and beyond. Spending about RM 205K (OTR) for a DS5 is a no brainer in my opinion when you have the 3 series and CC in striking distance. There is nothing special about the DS5 besides the so called 'fit and finish' and maybe handling compared to other D segment makes out there like the Passat, Mazda6, etc. If it had a higher capacity turbo engine like the VW GTI then it would somewhat justify its price tag but not with a 1.6L turbo. Its design isnt a standout (although the cockpit design is) and the engine and transmission are shared components of other cheaper cars.

If i was in the market for a 200K range car, i would surely top up some cash to get the BMW 3 Series, Audi A4 or the VW CC. Now those are brands that carry weight in the automotive world. biggrin.gif
cybermaster98
post Feb 27 2013, 05:40 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Feb 27 2013, 03:49 PM)
Interior looks better to me than the M6. But this is subjective. Size wise, I don't see the new Mazda 6 being bigger despite the long wheelbase. CC is actually less spacious because of the rear sloping roofline.

As far as gadget is concerned, once you own the car, you will know it is really only very desirable when you don't have it. When you have it, it's really no big deal. So unless the car has radar cruise control, remote car start, I consider everything else pretty much standard equipment.
Yes the CC is indeed a good car. The only issue i have with the car is the lack of internal space (legroom, width and height) especially at the rear but i guess thats kinda expected since its designed as a coupe.

But dont worry bro. Yes the Passat is clearly bland compared to some D segments out there but there's a good 60K difference in price tag which makes the Passat a good value car. Im sure u have better use for that 60K. Your time will come.

(we'll test drive some better models together sometime next year if my plan goes well) biggrin.gif
zweimmk
post Feb 27 2013, 05:50 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 27 2013, 05:40 PM)
Yes the CC is indeed a good car. The only issue i have with the car is the lack of internal space (legroom, width and height) especially at the rear but i guess thats kinda expected since its designed as a coupe.

But dont worry bro. Yes the Passat is clearly bland compared to some D segments out there but there's a good 60K difference in price tag which makes the Passat a good value car. Im sure u have better use for that 60K. Your time will come.

(we'll test drive some better models together sometime next year if my plan goes well)  biggrin.gif
The problem isn't so much with the price. It's more with I don't consider it worth spending that sort of money for a car that is so mechanically similar and smaller. Of course, now I'm kind of regretting it because the CC is starting to look more and more appealing on the exterior. Oh well...

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 27 2013, 05:37 PM)
There is nothing luxurious about the Citroen badge. In fact, that brand is associated with more bad news than good in Europe and beyond. Spending about RM 205K (OTR) for a DS5 is a no brainer in my opinion when you have the 3 series and CC in striking distance. There is nothing special about the DS5 besides the so called 'fit and finish' and maybe handling compared to other D segment makes out there like the Passat, Mazda6, etc. If it had a higher capacity turbo engine like the VW GTI then it would somewhat justify its price tag but not with a 1.6L turbo. Its design isnt a standout (although the cockpit design is) and the engine and transmission are shared components of other cheaper cars.

If i was in the market for a 200K range car, i would surely top up some cash to get the BMW 3 Series, Audi A4 or the VW CC. Now those are brands that carry weight in the automotive world.  biggrin.gif
The only answer that I think of is, this is a car where conventional Malaysian mentality car buying logic don't apply. Practicality and resale value won't apply either. It's simply for people who want something that's unique and not common. And at the price that it's selling for, it looks like it will go that way too.

But at that sort of pricing, I might actually choose the Alfa Romeo Giulietta over the DS4, while the DS5 is really in a world of its own for now, lol. Can't think of why I would want to get the DS5 at all even for all the non-common sense reasons.

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Feb 27 2013, 05:53 PM
calvin_gsc
post Feb 27 2013, 05:55 PM

10,261 posts

The DS5 comes quite fully loaded
http://www.zerotohundred.com/2013/auto-fea...m-rm165000-otr/

Citroen in Malaysia is definitely a niche market.
cybermaster98
post Feb 27 2013, 06:05 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Feb 27 2013, 05:55 PM)
The DS5 comes quite fully loaded
http://www.zerotohundred.com/2013/auto-fea...m-rm165000-otr/

Citroen in Malaysia is definitely a niche market.
Fully loaded with what? What tech does it have which say a Mazda 6 or a Passat TSI doesnt have?

101 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0271sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:27 PM