6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The New Mazda 6 2013 (V2), Discussion on everything!

zweimmk
post Feb 21 2013, 08:29 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(blu3 @ Feb 20 2013, 05:11 PM)
I had gone through the test drive again. This time with 30min on the road, I tested its acceleration at high way, it can easily reach 100 in 8sec. Its gearbox match well with its engine and generate nice Pickup. Tried the paddle shifter as well, good.

City drive it comes with low rpm and provide very quite cabin. The 2 stage performance really confuse people by giving underpowered picture. If you press harder, over 3krpm, it doesn't move up the needle gentlely, its drastically.

Believe it with your own try. It won't be so underpowered like people said, first try, yes. After adapt to it, you will know this is Japan conti, not Korean car.
Ya, my thoughts were the same but it still don't feel like 8s to me, more like 8++. Biggest downside to this car is the torque not kicking in as quickly when you need to overtake.

2nd con is the omission of a spare tyre. Owners who probably won't go into any industrial estate or rough roads won't have an issue.

If someone has the time, test drive the car in heavy rain and off the radio. Then see how bad the noise is, next try it with the audio on and see if it masks away the sounds. Oh one of you might want to bring a USB filled with music to see how the player handle the music formats. Try mp3, mp4 and see if it plays them. Possibly also ask the salesperson to pair your iPhone or android phone to the car Bluetooth to see if there are any issues.

zweimmk
post Feb 21 2013, 09:44 AM

512 posts

Good enough. If you go test drive the cars again, please test the audio USB and Bluetooth pairing.
zweimmk
post Feb 21 2013, 01:16 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Feb 21 2013, 10:43 AM)
Interesting ......

Can you give some guidelines how to measure/gauge this?
Easy, it won't sound like you are under a zinc roof. It will still be loud but bearable. When the music is on, you can actually enjoy the music and barely notice the rain like when you are alone in a small hotel room.

If you have experience driving Japanese or protons or p2 , you will know what i mean by zinc roof
zweimmk
post Feb 25 2013, 10:13 AM

512 posts

Tough to say how the new Mazda 6 will perform. But I think the 2.0L version is at least priced in a more reasonable region given the specifications offered.

I don't think the 2.5L version will be a hot sell but at least they can probably push some numbers with the 2.0L version. Their immediate goal at least in my opinion, should be to first surpass the sales of the P508 or Passat. The P508 will be an easier number to beat followed by the Passat.
zweimmk
post Feb 25 2013, 03:37 PM

512 posts

I actually spoke to a few friends who aren't car kakis. I even showed them the brochure. They like how the car looks but when they looked at the price. The common thing they all said was... 160k for a Mazda? That's too much to pay!

I guess it all depends on what angle you want to look at when buying this car.

Anyway, I was thinking of doing another test drive soon. Maybe some of you guys like to meet up and go take a look and we can compare some notes.
zweimmk
post Feb 25 2013, 04:31 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(net_cow @ Feb 25 2013, 04:07 PM)
When are you going?
Maybe sometime this week. Can PM me to arrange a time to meet up and test it out
zweimmk
post Feb 25 2013, 05:04 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(blu3 @ Feb 25 2013, 03:41 PM)
Bmw 320i or Audi A4 lo. Can get small discount if really interested. But haven't prepare for conti and need additional 40-50k. Haven't speak to their warranty and maintenance as well. Conti car is bloodily expensive
I doubt I will ever get those cars now that I've driven D-segment. C-segment just too small with a family.

If I were to change in 4/5 years time, it would have to be an SUV such as the X3 or Q5, if not then a 5 series/E class. If I can't afford it by then, I would just maintain and get another Passat or something similar.
zweimmk
post Feb 25 2013, 05:07 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(STKM @ Feb 25 2013, 05:05 PM)
Bro, tq for the technical explanation. I'm not the technical guy. Make decision base on feel good of the drive & look of the car. Guess now no need waste time go test drive the Passat & 508 la  wink.gif
Well you should, it's your consumer right to test and compare. Best way to appreciate your selection even more biggrin.gif
zweimmk
post Feb 25 2013, 06:00 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(STKM @ Feb 25 2013, 05:37 PM)
Good choice of colour bro. At first I booked white. But after see the actual car. I just love the crome lining contrast with grey colour.

Will get my wife to drive the 308 & I drive the M6 to race!
Bro, are you selling your 308T for the M6 or are you buying as a new car entirely? How much did they offer to take in your 308T for if you are trading in?
zweimmk
post Feb 25 2013, 06:05 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Feb 25 2013, 06:03 PM)
zwei is researching the rv for contis. Hehehe
Yeah, coz last time I checked, 308T sells quite badly on Mudah. I'm just wondering if it really does suffer poor resale value
zweimmk
post Feb 25 2013, 06:11 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(STKM @ Feb 25 2013, 06:08 PM)
No Bro. 308 will still in my garage. Replacing my well served 9 yrs old Vios!
Yeah, as what blu said, try asking what they offer for the 308T. At least let us know what the market rate is for the PUG308T of that current year
zweimmk
post Feb 25 2013, 10:53 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Seng21 @ Feb 25 2013, 10:19 PM)
Somebody post this up in another forum. Maintenance cost . How does this compared to passat, 509, Camry and accord?
At first glance, it is no more costlier than my previous Corolla Altis, at least for the 1st 2 service. Once it hits 30k, the prices are quite comparable to a continental such as a Golf TSI. I haven't done my Passat service yet so I can't comment if in the long term the prices are similar or cheaper. I know sleepy has a PUG508, if he can come here and comment on his service prices, then we have something usable to compare it against.
zweimmk
post Feb 26 2013, 12:27 PM

512 posts

This Mazda 6 2.0L/2.5L is looking to be a more an more expensive car to buy.

Tires if replace - easily 2 to 3k there coz rims may have to change also right?
Spare tire to fit in boot cavity - RM400+
DRL lights - RM600+
OEM headlights replacement - easily 3k
Bulb replacement - easily RM200 to RM300
Windshield insurance - another RM400 ~ RM600

Once you add all that up, I dunno if it's even considered worth buying or not already.

zweimmk
post Feb 26 2013, 12:55 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Feb 26 2013, 12:44 PM)
Once you add all that up, I dunno if it's even considered worth buying or not already.
tire - stick to 17inch
spare tire- tak jadi beli
DRL - maybe sometimes, not now
OEM headlights - only replace it when warranty finish
bulb - thats future.
winshield insurance - common for it to be 400 + on any D seg car right?
Tires - this one applies to 2.5L owners. 2.0L owners not so teruk
DRL - Sometime in the future means you still going to spend. Just how good is the DRL quality is the only question and that's related to price. Got cheap China rip-offs and there's the expensive German quality lighting.
Spare Tire - Can don't bother if you don't want. But if the tire repair kit doesn't work, then you not only waste time, you also waste money calling toll truck.
OEM headlights - there's no warranty void if you replace this and no cost if you don't bother and live with the current headlamps. If you replace the 2.0L headlights with 2.5L OEM headlights, there should be no issues. So you still looking to pay at least 3k here. On the bright side of things, you no longer have to worry about DRL since this comes together with it.
Bulb - only if you want to change color then you spend to change
Windshield insurance - just a guide, but I paid RM700 for mine. RM400 will probably cover the windshield cost minus the tint, unless the tinting is some cheap RM200 brand.

So 2.0L owners will look to spend conservatively an additional RM3700 or so. While 2.5L owners look to spend about RM400+ for the spare tire and another RM2.5k at least if they replace their 19 inches. Won't be immediate money to spend but still have to spend nonetheless.
zweimmk
post Feb 27 2013, 10:33 AM

512 posts

Guys, no point changing your halogen bulbs.

I've used all those diamondvision, crystalvision from Phillips and the conclusion is, it's no better than the default bulbs (Halogen). Because the color is lighter (whiter), the illumination actually becomes worse off than before.

HID bulbs can be changed but in general the default is the best color for vision. 6000k looks better from the outside, but for driving purposes, it's actually not as bright/clear as compared to the default 4300k lights.

Btw, what the comfort push start is instead of a key ignition, it's just a slot where you push your key in to start the car. Like the normal push start button engine, you have to press the brakes to start the car.

Frankly, I actually find push-start button engine annoying. Because this means I have to get into the car, push the brakes and press the button just to start the engine compared to key start where I just open the door, slot the key in and turn and the car starts, I don't even need to get in the car. Usually this happens when the errand is longer than expected and you have passengers in the car, so you return back to start the car for them so that the air-conditioning runs.
zweimmk
post Feb 27 2013, 11:09 AM

512 posts

Doubtful. All car manufacturers use 4300k because it's the color that provides the best illumination at night. That's from my research on the various HID kits a few years back, I found out that all the default factory bulb kevin scale is set around 3600k to 4300k for most of the Japanese cars. I suspect the continentals also do the same.
zweimmk
post Feb 27 2013, 12:23 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Feb 27 2013, 12:20 PM)
Oversea Passat does come with "remote start", which you can start your car by hold or press the button on the remote.
For local version, only can open all windows remotely right?
Yeah, no remote start. Would be nice if it did come with that function. I can only operate the windows remotely.
zweimmk
post Feb 27 2013, 03:02 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 27 2013, 02:40 PM)
Either way, disliking the push start feature solely because of this tiny, once in a while inconvenience doesnt quite make sense.
For people who are kind of old school in certain ways, it's does, lol.

I'm not particular about my car cleanliness, as in I don't bother with all that coating etc, so I sometimes just take it to those roadside car wash or car wash centers and since some of those guys don't know how to start your car, I actually have to do it. It's all the little inconvenience that I find irritating.

Remote start will solve the problem, too bad cars here don't have that feature.
zweimmk
post Feb 27 2013, 03:30 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Feb 27 2013, 03:07 PM)
Yes, I'll take Peugeot anytime despite the Citroen being more luxurious and unique.
I dunno about that man.

Now I kind of regret not getting the new CC instead. The only reasons why I didn't was because:

1. It was mechanically 95% the same as the Passat
2. It sits in the price range of the F30, A4.

But now that I think about it, maybe I should have gotten the CC instead, the car looks so much better and sleeker in the metal. Got some feeling of regrets already, lol!

IMO, people who buy Citroen are like people who buy Mini. They don't buy the car because it make sense, they buy it because it's different.
zweimmk
post Feb 27 2013, 03:49 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Feb 27 2013, 03:44 PM)
Initially i thought passat cc is a passat. I never thought passat and passat cc so different. Until they decide to name it only CC then i realised the differences. From the exterior looks, passat tsi looks like a c segment rather than a d. The interior is boring, no gadget. Thus i dont ever look at passat anymore. The cc looks more like a dsegment to me.
Interior looks better to me than the M6. But this is subjective. Size wise, I don't see the new Mazda 6 being bigger despite the long wheelbase. CC is actually less spacious because of the rear sloping roofline.

As far as gadget is concerned, once you own the car, you will know it is really only very desirable when you don't have it. When you have it, it's really no big deal. So unless the car has radar cruise control, remote car start, I consider everything else pretty much standard equipment.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.5596sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:54 AM