QUOTE(N_Silver @ Mar 21 2013, 09:39 PM)
I think the non LTE will be slightly cheaper.. I might be wrong though Samsung Galaxy S4 (S IV?), The New King of Android?
Samsung Galaxy S4 (S IV?), The New King of Android?
Mar 21 2013, 10:02 PM
13,192 posts Joined: Jul 2011 From: Middle of Avalon |
Mar 21 2013, 10:18 PM
345 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 21 2013, 09:13 PM) For people who like supersexypremiumglassandaluminium Vertu cannot compare la, that's luxury.http://www.androidauthority.com/is-plastic...laxy-s4-173494/ "I know some people like their devices to look premium: “If I paid 500 bucks on a phone, it better look like it!” I guess this logic would make the new Vertu Ti (clad in titanium and sapphire crystal) the ultimate Android smartphone, right? Not really, I think we all agree." The design/material is very subjective though. Eg. I personally would prefer an aluminum macbook rather than plastic for that premium price, while some just doesn't care. |
Mar 21 2013, 10:27 PM
2,248 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Mar 21 2013, 07:25 PM) too early to tell about the Exynos 5. it should not be that bad, i like the A15 core and implementation of big.LITTLE power saving A7 core.samsung did well with S2 - Exynos 4210 was ahead of its time. s3 - Exyno 4412. sorry, i still think this is a rip-off. being forced into the market to milk the popularity of S2 when Exynos 5 is still not ready. let's hope sammy make a come back with Exynos 5. they can do it if they spend less $ on advertisement and gimmick tech and push for some real advancement. |
Mar 21 2013, 10:29 PM
13,188 posts Joined: Dec 2011 From: 127.0.0.1 |
QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 21 2013, 10:27 PM) too early to tell about the Exynos 5. it should not be that bad, i like the A15 core and implementation of big.LITTLE power saving A7 core. Actually they can't stop spending, otherwise the sheeple press will bleat the praises of Holy Fruit loudly. So Samsung needs to go on both the Tech front and the Marketing front. Drowns out some of the "baa baa".samsung did well with S2 - Exynos 4210 was ahead of its time. s3 - Exyno 4412. sorry, i still think this is a rip-off. being forced into the market to milk the popularity of S2 when Exynos 5 is still not ready. let's hope sammy make a come back with Exynos 5. they can do it if they spend less $ on advertisement and gimmick tech and push for some real advancement. |
Mar 21 2013, 10:35 PM
7,727 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Ara Damansara, Petaling Jaya & Batu Pahat, Johor. |
QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 21 2013, 11:27 PM) too early to tell about the Exynos 5. it should not be that bad, i like the A15 core and implementation of big.LITTLE power saving A7 core. my battery get 4.2v during charging. s3 really sux! i5 > s3samsung did well with S2 - Exynos 4210 was ahead of its time. s3 - Exyno 4412. sorry, i still think this is a rip-off. being forced into the market to milk the popularity of S2 when Exynos 5 is still not ready. let's hope sammy make a come back with Exynos 5. they can do it if they spend less $ on advertisement and gimmick tech and push for some real advancement. i mau LTE. if PR win i tell to LKS that bp need LTE & UNIFI! This post has been edited by ngkhanmein: Mar 21 2013, 10:50 PM |
Mar 21 2013, 10:35 PM
4,043 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
http://press.ihs.com/press-release/design-...uppli-virtual-t
Samsung Galaxy S4 has an estimated total production cost of $244 (RM762) inb4 selling sgs4 for under rm1k said no samsung ever. |
Mar 21 2013, 10:59 PM
1,502 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
QUOTE(Rudd @ Mar 21 2013, 10:35 PM) http://press.ihs.com/press-release/design-...uppli-virtual-t That is just the cost of the materials used to build the S4.Samsung Galaxy S4 has an estimated total production cost of $244 (RM762) inb4 selling sgs4 for under rm1k said no samsung ever. Tax? Shipping? Branding? Marketing? All those you didn't take into consideration? S4 has a higher BOM than the iPhone 5 and yet, the iPhone 5 is much more pricier than the S4. inb4 people asking Apple to sell their iPhones at 1k. said no person ever. This post has been edited by LordDenning: Mar 21 2013, 11:15 PM |
Mar 21 2013, 11:10 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
31,608 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
QUOTE(Rudd @ Mar 21 2013, 10:35 PM) http://press.ihs.com/press-release/design-...uppli-virtual-t Samsung Galaxy S4 has an estimated total production cost of $244 (RM762) inb4 selling sgs4 for under rm1k said no samsung ever. QUOTE(LordDenning @ Mar 21 2013, 10:59 PM) That is just the cost of the materials used to build the S4. if sell around that price this world is going crazy ~.~Tax? Shipping? Branding? Marketing? All those you didn't take into consideration? |
Mar 21 2013, 11:16 PM
7,727 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Ara Damansara, Petaling Jaya & Batu Pahat, Johor. |
^impossible lo.. m'sia popular on wat stuff? our local car sell cheaper at pakistan 53% lower! eg: myvi 48k after deduct 25+k nia! mch AP de $ all dunno telan at whr.
let samsung earn b lah.. many yrs ago they rugi like shit when nokia conquered whole universe. |
Mar 21 2013, 11:16 PM
8 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
QUOTE(Rudd @ Mar 21 2013, 10:35 PM) http://press.ihs.com/press-release/design-...uppli-virtual-t http://www.isuppli.com/Teardowns/News/page...wn-Reveals.aspxSamsung Galaxy S4 has an estimated total production cost of $244 (RM762) inb4 selling sgs4 for under rm1k said no samsung ever. iPong 5 has an estimated total production cost of $199 (RM620) |
Mar 21 2013, 11:29 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
29,773 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Johor, Malaysia. |
QUOTE(Rudd @ Mar 21 2013, 10:35 PM) http://press.ihs.com/press-release/design-...uppli-virtual-t Marketing no need money? Staff no need paid? Factory build by god? Shipping FOC? Research also did by volunteer? Samsung Galaxy S4 has an estimated total production cost of $244 (RM762) inb4 selling sgs4 for under rm1k said no samsung ever. QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 21 2013, 11:10 PM) Yalo!This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Mar 21 2013, 11:31 PM |
Mar 22 2013, 12:35 AM
1,473 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Jupiter |
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 21 2013, 09:45 PM) I know what you mean. Exactly, Great explanation, thank you Note II was far far better but it forever cannot compare with smoothness of pure Android like in Nexus 4. Normally those issues will be much better on better tunes ROM or kernel. How to said lei, Samsung phone was fast but it cannot maintained the smoothness all time, it like skip frame during animation on opening or closing the apps, most obvious is opening the widget and then do pinch to zoom the page. Anyway since Note II, it was already in my acceptable level, those extreme tiny skip frame smooth issue was nothing to me. I know my English is bad, and not good at explaining, some ppl just taking it too serious I did say they arent good at making smooth official ROMs, the phones are good, it can be better, don't have to flame me In fact, I got s3 and note 2, they are great, fast, smooth, but can be better, I'm just telling what I thought about it. This post has been edited by squall0833: Mar 22 2013, 12:38 AM |
Mar 22 2013, 12:39 AM
2,634 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Fuuu, My got both versions. Hence it answers why Samsung is so famous here
Mar 22 2013, 12:42 AM
2,634 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Sg must be really jelly
Mar 22 2013, 12:52 AM
7,671 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(squall0833 @ Mar 22 2013, 12:35 AM) Exactly, Great explanation, thank you If Samsung releases Exynos source codes to developers, CM and AOSP will be the king of the king.I know my English is bad, and not good at explaining, some ppl just taking it too serious I did say they arent good at making smooth official ROMs, the phones are good, it can be better, don't have to flame me In fact, I got s3 and note 2, they are great, fast, smooth, but can be better, I'm just telling what I thought about it. CM and AOKP developers are good, just that they don't have the right tool to begin with, hence no smooth Samsung ROMs. |
Mar 22 2013, 12:57 AM
13,188 posts Joined: Dec 2011 From: 127.0.0.1 |
QUOTE(squall0833 @ Mar 22 2013, 12:35 AM) Exactly, Great explanation, thank you Dude, Andrewtst's English is fair (to be polite) but he does get his point across usually. At least he managed to explain it in simple terms. I gave you the link so you can try harder. I know my English is bad, and not good at explaining, some ppl just taking it too serious I did say they arent good at making smooth official ROMs, the phones are good, it can be better, don't have to flame me In fact, I got s3 and note 2, they are great, fast, smooth, but can be better, I'm just telling what I thought about it. At any rate, even he is saying the lack of "smoothness" is negligible, and all phones suffer from this at one time or another. I remember going "wow" when I got my Note 2 compared to the lag on my Note 1, so I see nothing to complain about the current generation of Samsung high end phones. |
Mar 22 2013, 01:35 AM
4,043 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Mar 22 2013, 11:35 AM
1,473 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Jupiter |
QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 22 2013, 12:57 AM) Dude, Andrewtst's English is fair (to be polite) but he does get his point across usually. At least he managed to explain it in simple terms. I gave you the link so you can try harder. no man.. thanks to Andrewtst's explanation, nothing wrong with him and he's really polite At any rate, even he is saying the lack of "smoothness" is negligible, and all phones suffer from this at one time or another. I remember going "wow" when I got my Note 2 compared to the lag on my Note 1, so I see nothing to complain about the current generation of Samsung high end phones. the "flame" i mean is like someone here seems starting dislike me to share my thoughts on samsung phone software here QUOTE(andyjeneo) If Samsung releases Exynos source codes to developers, CM and AOSP will be the king of the king. yeah, CM and AOKP developers are good, just that they don't have the right tool to begin with, hence no smooth Samsung ROMs. If I wasn't wrong, I read the article somewhere before CM team who were doing samsung phones have given up on samsung phones due to lack of support from offcial developers, got tons of troublesome problem on the hardware, like BT and WiFi, and they told users who want modding and custom roms to avoid exynos devices if samsung give proper support to xda developers, samsung android devices will be epic This post has been edited by squall0833: Mar 22 2013, 11:39 AM |
Mar 22 2013, 11:46 AM
2,248 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(squall0833 @ Mar 22 2013, 11:35 AM) no man.. thanks to Andrewtst's explanation, nothing wrong with him and he's really polite this is the link: http://www.androidcentral.com/cm-developer...y-s4-should-youthe "flame" i mean is like someone here seems starting dislike me to share my thoughts on samsung phone software here QUOTE(andyjeneo) If Samsung releases Exynos source codes to developers, CM and AOSP will be the king of the king. yeah, CM and AOKP developers are good, just that they don't have the right tool to begin with, hence no smooth Samsung ROMs. If I wasn't wrong, I read the article somewhere before CM team who were doing samsung phones have given up on samsung phones due to lack of support from offcial developers, got tons of troublesome problem on the hardware, like BT and WiFi, and they told users who want modding and custom roms to avoid exynos devices if samsung give proper support to xda developers, samsung android devices will be epic |
Mar 22 2013, 11:52 AM
10,873 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(squall0833 @ Mar 22 2013, 11:35 AM) yeah, It would be great if samsung release their exynos sources. But the thing is most user dun use custom rom let alone convert to aosp/aokp. So the custom rom community is only a small portion of their income. In the end they would have weigh whatever secret they are protecting is worth more than getting slightly more users (from the custom rom society). Its just business.If I wasn't wrong, I read the article somewhere before CM team who were doing samsung phones have given up on samsung phones due to lack of support from offcial developers, got tons of troublesome problem on the hardware, like BT and WiFi, and they told users who want modding and custom roms to avoid exynos devices if samsung give proper support to xda developers, samsung android devices will be epic |
| Change to: | 0.0302sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:28 AM |