Wedchar2912
post Jul 10 2024, 02:50 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Jul 10 2024, 02:16 PM)
I still have many years before I reach that age... So asking first

EPF is my buffer if my other investments go kaput which I hope not 🙏🏻
imo, a very sound strategy/plan. money in EPF is creditor proof while earning way better than FD rate and still way safer than money in bank!

at least i have not heard of money scammed from EPF directly.
(took out and put into a bank before giving to toyboy or toygirl or lover from nigeria don't count). smile.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jul 10 2024, 03:40 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Jul 10 2024, 03:23 PM)
in simple term

any contribution or balance (even those 1mil).

all goes into Account 55. which you can withdraw anytime. No issues with that.

new contribution from age 55 to 60 would credited into account Emas. which can only be withdrawn after 60yo.

after 60, both account is combined become 1 account. which everything is accessible to you
wait till gov change the retirement age to 65... then there will be 3 accounts according to age, and 3 more accounts according to liquidity... just to confuse all of us who by then will be senior citizen...
haha cool2.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jul 10 2024, 09:22 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 10 2024, 08:55 PM)
Really ahhh boss??

Why I read in EPF website is different 🤔

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/member/life-stages/...5-60-withdrawal

Wedchar2912 Can confirm please 🙏
I don't really know as have not reached 60 years of age yet.

"At age 60, all savings in Akaun 55 and Akaun Emas will be consolidated for withdrawal. "
"Pada umur 60 tahun, kesemua simpanan yang terkumpul dalam Akaun 55 dan Akaun Emas akan digabungkan untuk pengeluaran. "

I just copied the english and malay sentences here for reading. It does seem that both accounts will be combined. To me, the words "for withdrawal" and "untuk pengeluaran" are just to stress that we have access to everything at 60 and above.

But a old article mentioned this, which seems to imply the account 55 will last till 100 years old:
"“Akaun 55 will remain open as long as a contributor lives or until he reaches 100 years old. It will only close after he has withdrawn all his savings from it."
link as below.
https://thesun.my/home-news/epf-contributio...t-60-BF10731734

To me, it doesn't really matter. combined or not, at age 60 and above, everything is accessible. ie makes no diff to us.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 10 2024, 09:32 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 10 2024, 09:31 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(klmc @ Jul 10 2024, 09:25 PM)
a question for you guys - what happens when u have exceeded the 100k voluntary deposit into epf ?  does the transaction get rejected ?
the whole amount of that transfer/transaction will be rejected and send back to you...

say you already sent 95K rm.

then you try to send 10K rm. the whole 10K rm will be rejected and refunded back to you.

at least this is what I experienced.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 14 2024, 02:22 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jul 14 2024, 01:41 PM)
Money in EPF is creditor proof IF the money remains there. If one is a bankrupt and if you withdraw it, creditors can go after you.
well, can't help the idiot bankrupt if he/she/it chooses to withdraw right?

EPF is not there to save him/her/it from everything. tongue.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jul 15 2024, 10:03 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jul 15 2024, 08:30 PM)
That's why, eventually it will be like Singapore CPF, if I am not wrong CPF can't take all right? You can only withdraw 20% of your FRS(Full Retirement Sum) at 65 . I think remaining will be disburse to you monthly. Pros and Cons. Good for idiots..Bad for the rest of us. Maybe need  to have interview and pass exam before you're allowed to withdraw all in the future....😅
the exam is a good idea... but instead of passing exam to take out, how about must take exam before contribution. haha.

but in all honesty, if EPF wish to create a annuities scheme but optional, then by all means, they should and allow each of us to decide on our own. I myself don't mind subscribing to a fixed minimum income of say 5K pm until my death. at least that ensures i have the bare minimum to live off in my golden years.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 16 2024, 12:59 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jul 16 2024, 08:28 AM)
Actually you can already do that, can set monthly pay out after you're 55, if I am not wrong.
yeah, what EPF offers now looks like an annuities, but what I meant is an actual annuity...
ie the type that once locked in the series of cashflow, it will not change anymore (or at least change in accordance to the pre-agreed formula).
fully hedged the future movement of returns of div.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 16 2024, 12:59 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 16 2024, 02:58 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jul 16 2024, 02:23 PM)
Iirc last time, you can withdraw from EPF and put into annuities managed by insurance companies. But retuns were low and charges high, so the scheme was cancelled.
well, i am not really that fond of insurance firms as their main priority is profit to their shareholders, first and foremost. At least EPF's mandate is a lot more balanced.

so an annuity from EPF should be much much better priced vs one from insurance firms.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 18 2024, 01:00 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jul 18 2024, 11:04 AM)
yes I did it over the counter already, but how long would it take for me to receive my money in my account.
based on my experience back in March... if withdraw via counter, takes like 2 days. the staff mentioned up to 1 week, but luckily that was not the case.

vs online, which usually takes 1 day... sometimes 2 days. (this one I do almost every week).
Wedchar2912
post Jul 19 2024, 01:28 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Jul 19 2024, 10:56 AM)
I  think the dividend will be the same across all 3 accounts in perpetuity coz the amount in Acc 3 will mostly be withdrawn. The leftover in Acc 3 will be insignificant compare to overall.

Thus I think even for those that don't hv intention to take out the money,  it's good to move any allowable amount to account 3.  This will create some liquidity for emergency.
this is a good idea... one can count the funds in acct 3 as emergency funds... that satisfy the good practice of having 6 to 12 months of emergency funds. Much better than keeping them in FD.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 22 2024, 01:10 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 22 2024, 09:13 AM)
ensure you have 6-12 months emergency fund ready in highly liquid form.
Covid-19 thought us one thing....
curious... what do you really mean by highly liquid form?

Would you consider your funds in EPF, assuming you have more than 1 million or it is in acct 3, to be highly liquid form?
any more liquid is basically pure cash in deposit forms.

You are right about covid19 and gov's actions teaching us something... we had to queue online to even login to EPF to initiate withdrawals... that was quite annoying.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 22 2024, 03:31 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 22 2024, 03:18 PM)
highly liquid = CASA with ATM card
liquid = EPF >RM1 million (since it takes 2+ days to get cash)
wah... your definition is a lot more stricter than mine... thumbsup.gif

Wedchar2912
post Jul 22 2024, 03:40 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 22 2024, 03:33 PM)
if people want to slash your neck.... do you think he will wait 2 days ?
you talking about actual criminals like kidnappers going to slash my neck?

cos almost anything legal, one can wait for 2 days to pay... or use other means like credit cards.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 22 2024, 04:19 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 22 2024, 04:09 PM)
Wow, so urgent. Better keep the cash in your pocket all the time. Mana tau that guy don't even want to wait you to go ATM.
This one. If ur pocket has a lot of money, confirm higher chance the criminal will slash your neck lor to immobolize you and take the cash.

The again, nowadays maybe even a few K rm also some will be willing to do it. sad.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jul 22 2024, 06:30 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 22 2024, 05:54 PM)
Those fellows always does their research...

Background checks...

Even you looks so "poor" but your financial is "powerful"... Sure being target....

Got case in Ipoh & Penang before....
Many suspected it's  leaks of information from banks where all these folk kept their $$$....

Old folk old rich generation people 😁
all the more reasons not to keep too much cash in banks...
safer to put the several hundred to million ringgit cash in EPF... i feel even the info is safer with EPF vs some crap banks.

or keep in tong and spray anti-termite to make sure the notes don't get eaten... then only you know where you hide it... under some old tree or septic tank... haha.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 24 2024, 08:59 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Jul 24 2024, 06:46 PM)
Is 2 days lo
Today do, today get is 0 day.

Today do, tomorrow get is 1 day... that is where T+1 come from.

my experience so far is almost always settlement is T+1. ie today click click, money arrive tomorrow
(provided can get in and the system not overloaded like what happened several months back).
Wedchar2912
post Aug 13 2024, 04:04 PM

3,692 posts

problem is market was extremely benign until 3 weeks ago...

how did EPF's portfolio fare since 3 weeks back.
Wedchar2912
post Aug 21 2024, 01:22 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Aug 21 2024, 12:52 PM)
I did a rough calculation before, if my salary is stagnant, no bonus, with 100k per year self-contribution, and with yearly epf dividen to be 4%, i would reach around 7mil in epf when i reach 55. But the biggest problem is, everyday i feel like suffering when working, so i am pretty sure i won't work till 55 yo.
why not rework your calculation with the target of retiring early with a particular networth number... say 40 or 50 years old (sorry, i don't know your age) with a certain networth.

One thing I did miss is the automatic monthly "free" influx of cash into EPF thanks to employer contribution... sad.gif
Wedchar2912
post Aug 21 2024, 01:23 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(sp3d2 @ Aug 21 2024, 10:26 AM)
2.6 million at the the age of 65 is equivalent to 1 million at the age of 40  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
oooo... that means if have 10 million at age 40, one just need to make sure one's networth at age 65 is above 26 million to keep the same standard of wealth... any extra just spend spend spend... tongue.gif
Wedchar2912
post Aug 21 2024, 02:32 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Aug 21 2024, 02:09 PM)
I am mid of 40. I did, supposed to be retired this year, but i messed up some plans/expectations, so will be working a bit longer than planned. Tbh, it is so attractive if i could work till 55, the epf and non-epf saving adding together would allow me to have super luxury life, but my personal characteristics not allowed me to work till that age.
what was the saying already....

when young, got time got energy no money
when mid-aged, got energy got money no time
when old, got money got time no energy

the good thing is at mid-aged, some can choose to change the narrative a bit to "got energy got some money and make some time".

73 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0537sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:48 PM