EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Sep 21 2024, 02:25 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 21 2024, 02:10 PM)
People like to login to their accounts and see all the numbers are nicely rounded up, and remain constant over days and months. Then once a year, on dividend date, the number goes up by some 5-6%, and then stays constant throughout the year again before going up by another 5-6% the next year. Rinse and repeat, so easy right?

That's not how the financial markets work unfortunately. Back in EPF office the managers and accountants are dealing with changing market values day and night. EPF hold bonds and stocks which are not constant in value and suddenly jump up by precisely 5,6,7 or 8 % on a single day in one year and then stay put throughout the day just to rise by precisely 5,6,7 or 8% 365/366 days later.

When EPF (and ASNB, for that matter) forces your account value at a constant value through the entire year, save for dividend date, they are bearing the market risk on behalf of you. That does not mean that the underlying risk of your money in EPF is 0. It just means that someone else is bearing the risk for you, not unlike an insurance... you are buying a market risk insurance from EPF/ASNB, and you need to pay a premium... That premium is the difference between what you would have gotten if you put your money directly in the stock/bond markets vs EPF/ASNB. 

EPF won't collapse in theory because:

(i) Government can never default on its own debt; BNM just need to stand ready to buy all outstanding T-bills, T-notes and T-bonds issued in MYR by printing MYR out of nowhere and deposit them into your EPF account.
(ii) Not everyone dies at the same time or reach 55-60 years old at the same time. There is no imminent pressure to withdraw huge funds out from EPF, in one go.

EPF can gives you any return you want in reality. Parliament pass a bill for issuance of Special MGS (SMGS) guaranteed by the Malaysian government, and EPF buys all of them. SMGS yield will then be the return you want EPF to give you, determined via a private agreement between EPF and the government... Singapore did that with SSGS, CPF buys all of them and the proceeds go to GIC together with government budget surplus. The yield of SSGS is always below GIC's returns though, so that's still financially sustainable for them.
CPF is not a good comparison for EPF...
EPF technically is a fund which allocates to various asset classes and hence behave almost like a fund (of course got caveats like managed div rate etc).

CPF basically just collect money from contributors (forcefully too) and passed the funds to SG gov... and SG gov graciously decided how much return that citizens/contributors deserve to get for lending said funds to gov.
imagine if EPF follows this... scary.

of course all above are simplistically described for layman discussion.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 22 2024, 01:28 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 22 2024, 11:29 AM)
i expect epf to do well this year... biggrin.gif

klci up... myr strong... hopefully they cut foreign investment earlier and brought the proceeds home beforehand...

inflation should also come down a bit... so bumper harvest this year n next... wink.gif

your oversea investment is your own headache... hahaha
I also expect EPF to do well this year...

rates stable to heading down, klci already up 15%... somemore PMX had such great foresight to order EPF to remit funds back to enjoy the 10% ringgit appreciation...
and US index at all time high with like 20% gain...

but problem is will it distribute properly the returns to us contributors? remember the debacle of 90% reserve or something like that for last year's div?

if only next year is election year... then can see 8.88% pa return. lol
Wedchar2912
post Sep 22 2024, 01:39 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 22 2024, 09:38 AM)
25% Malaysia totally spend off all their EPF saving $$ within 5 years after retirement  😲 shakehead.gif

https://weirdkaya.com/25-of-msians-found-to...within-5-years/
technically the article didn't lie... in fact, it should have explained much better....

from EPF itself... Median savings of 60-64 is 8K rm... if every month spends 500rm, only can last 16 months... 5 years is too long...

it all depends on how one views the info...

the real question is why someone at age 64 only has 8K rm in EPF... could it be the said person has like 5 kids and each of the kids are giving him 1K to spend? biggrin.gif
Wedchar2912
post Sep 22 2024, 03:30 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 22 2024, 02:47 PM)
Maybe because of multiple withdrawal previously which including special mco withdrawal... So balance become low???

And since the information you posted is 2023...
Now 2024 could be even lower... Thanks to account 3 flexible 😁

Kids don't expect anything from them...
Charsiew... Instead we need to give....
definitely lower... and we should be grateful to these guys... cos they took out the funds and help spur the economy... and that most probably help improve klci a bit also... tongue.gif

most of us in this thread already know how to take care of ourselves financial, hence our balances in epf or elsewhere.
But many, and i dare say majority, don't have the same mentality like us... to them, especially those with many kids (already got news about retirees spending 100s of K for their kids wedding etc and then lament no money for retirement), may view their kids as a source of income for retirement. it would be silly and irresponsible if they don't, cos that would mean they expect gov (ie tax payers) or donors to support them in their golden years???
Wedchar2912
post Sep 22 2024, 09:28 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 22 2024, 06:59 PM)
new term.

don't understand it.
google & found it meant other thing  confused.gif
https://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionar...ackpot+syndrome

whistling.gif
i think he meant it more like how a lottery winner will spends all the jackpot winning within a short period of time....

to many, suddenly having access to a few hundred K of EPF funds and thinking it is pure rezeki/windfall, spending it without much thoughts is natural... this seems more prevalent amongst the older gen somehow...
who knows... maybe when I reach 60s, i will start spending like them too. lol
Wedchar2912
post Sep 24 2024, 12:35 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Sep 24 2024, 11:05 AM)
you can actually set up automatic monthly withdrawal from epf... this is what i plan to do if i ever deplete my external funds...
better if you do it manually, as and when you need the cash.

if u set up the auto monthly withdrawal, the whole amount will not earn accrual dividend from the start of the year.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 24 2024, 12:42 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Sep 24 2024, 12:37 PM)
The Bolded part.

Very Sure about it
Sorry for asking confirmation  hmm.gif
This is what my old ex-colleague told me...
and I think others here also mentioned the same...

Just keep this in mind when you decided to try it out... and triple confirm it with EPF before you set it up.
Would not be optimal to leave so much free accrual div on the table...

edit: another forumer indicated this as well... post #16390
QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jan 7 2024, 03:09 PM)
I think is true. Previously a forummer also reported epf earmark the full 12 months despite monthly withdrawal.

Therefore it would be better do withdrawal manually every month through e-pengeluaran.
This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Sep 24 2024, 12:47 PM
Wedchar2912
post Sep 25 2024, 02:48 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Sep 25 2024, 02:42 PM)
With strengthening of MYR do you think it will impact our dividend as EPF have USD exposure and our oversea investment always higher than our local investment...
Maybe we might be looking at leas than 5% next year if myr goes till 3.50 against usd
definitely will...

then again, the goodwill of the FM may have a much bigger impact.... remember the arbitrary reserve on the conventional EPF div last year?

the good thing is ringgit move is at now around 10% appreciation... so we are talking about a small 20 to 60 bps change in div...
Wedchar2912
post Sep 25 2024, 08:04 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 25 2024, 07:48 PM)
Basically
Can have No dividend given too if situations / returns is bad??

Worse case scenario
Correct?
technically can even be negative dividend...

based on what i understand about shariah investment... it is supposed to be real sharing of risks... both up and down.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 25 2024, 08:35 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 25 2024, 08:08 PM)
On paper yes...

But I think won't have negative dividend lorh....

Just that No dividend declaration & given to contributor in worse case scenario 🙏
understand what you mean... its like what happened to TH... although lose money, never declare negative div as Ministry of Finance came and help...

nonetheless, like you say, on paper they dare not even declare such for shariah epf... so, just need to be aware...
Wedchar2912
post Sep 26 2024, 09:30 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Sep 26 2024, 12:47 PM)
240K at 55 memang tak cukup in 2 decades from now. Its akin to living hand to mouth to leg.
Habis liao
all depends on how long one wants to live.

if just plan to live for a few years (say 2 years cos bad health), then each month can spend 10K rm.

tongue.gif

in financial/retirement planning, many assume that everyone will live long long... but in reality, some persons may already know how long they can or plan to live.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Sep 26 2024, 09:31 PM
Wedchar2912
post Sep 27 2024, 03:06 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 27 2024, 08:47 AM)
RM 3mil at least??

Out of reach by majority Malaysian...

Heck the 240k joke also cannot achieve yo...
eh eh eh... how come the number suddenly become so big one... suddenly jump from 1 million in epf is enough to 3 million....

damn... i should have not taken my funds out from EPF.... now not enough to retire already. lol
Wedchar2912
post Sep 27 2024, 03:44 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Sep 27 2024, 03:37 PM)
Rugi u take out..this year EPF returns already 20~percent ..in USD 😃
lol... tell you... if EPF declare 20% return for 2024, I will forever vote for the incumbent FM.... forever!
(well, until he is too old to stand for election)... haha
Wedchar2912
post Sep 27 2024, 08:30 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Sep 27 2024, 06:10 PM)
Touching EPF to settle house loan is not necessarily a bad thing if one able to reduce overall mortgage interest cost.

Most importantly once loan settles, all the extra cash freed from mortgage repayments is going back to some Investment or EPF self contribution later.
recently a friend shared that he managed to get a new home loan for SBR + 1%... so that is only 4%.

with fed aggressively cutting rates (and china too), would be more efficient to continue one's home loan and keep the EPF untouched... this year and the next few years, EPf better not pay below 4% man!
Wedchar2912
post Sep 28 2024, 07:55 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(SotongBiru @ Sep 28 2024, 06:00 PM)
If you are minimum wage @ RM1,500.  Your monthly EPF is more than RM300.  If you compound that yearly @ 5%, you will have more than RM300k after 35 years.  No need talk about not being able to hit RM240k, it just means that those below RM240k decided to do business or other better means of income.  All these talk of not even RM240k, I guess it's so that people put in more for government to use la.  Can't think of any other reason, unless my compounding interest thing is wrong ... Hahahaha
yeap, i calculated... it is quite close to 400K after 35 years...

if factor in say 3% salary inflation, will be 600K rm. this would mean a 55 years old person earning 4.2K rm only in 35 years time.
if say 6% salary inflation (this allows promotion at least), it will be 1 million ringgit in 35 years time. salary at 55 is around 12K rm pm.

drool.gif
Wedchar2912
post Sep 28 2024, 08:47 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 28 2024, 08:38 PM)
But in real life situations...

Withdrawal made from account 2 for housing, education or medical purposes

😔
true... but on same token, 35 years ago was 1989/90. A uni fresh grad was earning how much? i think 1.5K rm, incidentally.

the said person now is 55 years at least. salary is 4.2K rm now? and no bonus or better increment vs 1.5K starting salary...
12K rm pm for the 55 year old chap sounded more reasonable.

so, 400K rm or above in EPF is a very low ball number for a retiree at 60 years old.

Wedchar2912
post Sep 29 2024, 12:47 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Sep 29 2024, 11:01 AM)
Rule of thumb is to have an an income equivalent to at least 2/3 of the last drawn nett monthly salary to fund one's monthly retirement costs.
I think in Malaysia's context, the 2/3 is a bit high. That is the usual advice given in developed countries like America where they still have to pay taxes.
plus no need to fund our retirement pot anymore after retiring...
50% of last drawn net salary should be adequate.

Wedchar2912
post Sep 29 2024, 12:51 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Sep 29 2024, 11:07 AM)
is that possible just via passive income?
very possible...

my pure passive income now already exceeded my last gross monthly salary, and this is just the pure passive income. Then again, i only pulled the plug to early retire after i made sure my passive income exceeded my gross.

didn't even count the semi-passive income yet... which this year dwarf the passive income, thanking good luck.

Wedchar2912
post Sep 29 2024, 02:16 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 29 2024, 01:47 PM)
Same situation but what do u consider as semi-passive income?
I split passive income into 2 pots/categories.

pure passive is the usual suspect like FD, EPF, bonds and long term equities for example. nothing to do anymore except maybe the yearly portfolio alignment. EPF and shares like Maybank/DBS are my favs.

semi-passive would be investment positions and strategies that i intend to trade out within half/full year. I won't look at them much, but still pay attention. maybe realign every month or so? should not cause me to keep on staring type.

Wedchar2912
post Sep 30 2024, 02:57 PM

3,688 posts

sorry, hopefully not too out of topic, as I noticed we are talking about spending during retirement here....

btw, how come it seems that many are treating items like cars as one off spending post retirement? I would think a better formula would be every 10 or 15 years need to get a new car...

these type of spending has to be allocated also in our retirement planning.

like handphone is every 3 or 5 years, say 1 to 2K rm.
fridge is every 10 or 15 years, say 2K rm

But if in financial planning, only plan to live 10 years after retirement, ok lar... can ignore... sweat.gif sad.gif

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Sep 30 2024, 02:57 PM

73 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0499sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:44 AM