EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

danmooncake
post Oct 22 2015, 10:34 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,124 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 22 2015, 10:21 AM)
i suggest that as with ASB and others, in Malaysia the only way this is going to work is to differentiate the two funds completely.

i have another question: Is it halal for Muslims to be handling non Syariah products?
I don't want hijack your question but from my observation, in Bolehland, we can turn any non-Syariah products into "syariah' compliant with a few twists here and there and call it good and everyone is happy where else nothing fundamentally has changed how the money is being made. thumbup.gif
Ramjade
post Oct 22 2015, 10:39 AM

24,388 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 22 2015, 10:21 AM)
i suggest that as with ASB and others, in Malaysia the only way this is going to work is to differentiate the two funds completely.

i have another question: Is it halal for Muslims to be handling non Syariah products?
I think if the investment is not haram, (alcohol, gambling), even if not Syariah compliance, is still OK.
McFD2R
post Oct 22 2015, 11:54 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 22 2015, 10:01 AM)
While, I don't see too much issue in this matter.
For now, probably so. But if in the event, the difference >1% consistently, that does make a difference especially when it is compounded every year till 55, or eventually 60. Hence my view is that all investments by KWSP should be wholly and collectively made in the fair interest of all contributors and divided equally and proportionately. Because unlike Banks, where we can have choices to decide whether to take up their products or not based on the T&C, EPF contributions are mandatory. We do not get a say on where and how they invest, and nothing to govern the returns if any, except for the minimum 2.5%. As such, all funds that are generating returns should be fairly distributed.

Ok lah, I think I've emphasized my points that it becomes repetitive. I do that some times laugh.gif

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 22 2015, 10:07 AM)
IMO, until FD yields better than EFF, even past 55, I would leave them in there and take out what is needed for expenses.  nod.gif
That is very true for those relying on their savings and EPF funds for living expenses after retirement.

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 22 2015, 10:16 AM)
I'll comment a bit here, bro,... your comments are based solely on financial returns, whereas the EPF would like to talk about religion too in their investing activities. They wished to be concerned in the afterlife too,...

Either they wished to be concerned in the afterlife too,... or they wished to attract more Mid-East investors to come to Msia.  smile.gif
I would not dispute that. However, if this is passed, does that means Muslims contributors MUST place in Islamic account, while others can choose? And then imagine if EPF declares that conventional accounts yields higher dividend, whether it's 0.1% or 1% than the Islamic account. Would those placing in Islamic accounts be making a big fuss about it then, especially here in Malaysia? I think they would. Thus, from that perspective, I don't foresee EPF aka the Govt would be declaring a lower dividend for the Islamic accounts. KWSP were, are and will continue to be politically motivated or influenced in their management.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 22 2015, 11:57 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 22 2015, 10:39 AM)
I think if the investment is not haram, (alcohol, gambling), even if not Syariah compliance, is still OK.
"Investing" in stock market or trust funds are another way of gambling, since dumping money in and wait for a chance for it to go up are same as go Genting casino, put money on the table and wait for the chance.
vincentwmh
post Oct 22 2015, 12:03 PM

476 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Oct 22 2015, 11:54 AM)
For now, probably so. But if in the event, the difference >1% consistently, that does make a difference especially when it is compounded every year till 55, or eventually 60. Hence my view is that all investments by KWSP should be wholly and collectively made in the fair interest of all contributors and divided equally and proportionately. Because unlike Banks, where we can have choices to decide whether to take up their products or not based on the T&C, EPF contributions are mandatory. We do not get a say on where and how they invest, and nothing to govern the returns if any, except for the minimum 2.5%. As such, all funds that are generating returns should be fairly distributed.

Ok lah, I think I've emphasized my points that it becomes repetitive. I do that some times  laugh.gif
That is very true for those relying on their savings and EPF funds for living expenses after retirement.
I would not dispute that. However, if this is passed, does that means Muslims contributors MUST place in Islamic account, while others can choose? And then imagine if EPF declares that conventional accounts yields higher dividend, whether it's 0.1% or 1% than the Islamic account. Would those placing in Islamic accounts be making a big fuss about it then, especially here in Malaysia? I think they would. Thus, from that perspective, I don't foresee EPF aka the Govt would be declaring a lower dividend for the Islamic accounts. KWSP were, are and will continue to be politically motivated or influenced in their management.
nothing new, its just a policy to transfer wealth in short. how do u think BRIM works? where the fund comes from to pay BRIM to those qualified?

This post has been edited by vincentwmh: Oct 22 2015, 12:05 PM
wil-i-am
post Oct 22 2015, 12:21 PM

10,001 posts

Interesting time ahead for contributors to choose between conventional or syariah products
I supposed majority of contributors will choose conventional due to past track record
Having said tat, some contributors may choose syariah product as they blif early bird catches the worm

danmooncake
post Oct 22 2015, 12:43 PM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 22 2015, 12:21 PM)
Interesting time ahead for contributors to choose between conventional or syariah products
I supposed majority of contributors will choose conventional due to past track record
Having said tat, some contributors may choose syariah product as they blif early bird catches the worm
FBMKLCI is still negative for the year. Ringgit has dropped over 20% this year.
That's means a lot of companies earnings flat this year.

Syariah or not (early bird or not), I wonder how they will turn up another 5%+ yield or higher rate?
Perhaps 2.5% may not be bad after all. brows.gif

cherroy
post Oct 22 2015, 12:54 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 22 2015, 12:43 PM)
FBMKLCI is still negative for the year.  Ringgit has dropped over 20% this year.
That's means a lot of companies earnings flat this year.

Syariah or not (early bird or not), I wonder how they will turn up another 5%+ yield or higher rate?
Perhaps 2.5% may not be bad after all.  brows.gif
Bulk of investment is in MGS.
MGS currently yield about 4.x%.

While for stock market investment, EPF does receive dividend, and some stocks are performing well due to USD rise (just like financial result of Topglove recently), so there will be still some earning, although likely to be lesser than previous year.

Also EPF does venture into overseas market as well, beside potential gain in valuation in the investment, the exchange rate will gain them some hefty figure as well, as RM has dropped about 25% vs USD.

So return may be less, but dividend declared shouldn't be too bad until need to be below 4~5% or the min 2.5%.
cherroy
post Oct 22 2015, 01:11 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Oct 22 2015, 11:54 AM)

You can't drag some profit made in non-syariah compliance investment, and declared in islamic account.
It defy the origin purpose of it.

So likely, they may operate in different set of account or investment.
It is not the like EPF lump sum money made, and then distributed between conventional and islamic account.

When you have islamic account and KWSP-I which is syariah compliance, then they need to ensure the money will be investing into syariah component of investment, by then profit shared for the account.

It is like ASx declared 7%, while ASy declared 7.5%, while ASz declared 6.8%, they also run under the same roof aka PNB, but invested differently between them.

I don't see much issue, as you have the option to choose.
One may better or worst than the other, which may vary from time to time due to market situation.

plumberly
post Oct 22 2015, 01:31 PM

4,761 posts

FYI if you have seen this.

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...-a-minefield-2/
prophetjul
post Oct 22 2015, 02:04 PM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 22 2015, 12:54 PM)
Bulk of investment is in MGS.
MGS currently yield about 4.x%.

While for stock market investment, EPF does receive dividend, and some stocks are performing well due to USD rise (just like financial result of Topglove recently), so there will be still some earning, although likely to be lesser than previous year.

Also EPF does venture into overseas market as well, beside potential gain in valuation in the investment, the exchange rate will gain them some hefty figure as well, as RM has dropped about 25% vs USD.

So return may be less, but dividend declared shouldn't be too bad until need to be below 4~5% or the min 2.5%.
i think not all earnings are declared as dividends. Therefore sometimes they will dip into retained earnings for propping up the dividends in bad times.
cherroy
post Oct 22 2015, 02:16 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 22 2015, 02:04 PM)
i think not all earnings are declared as dividends. Therefore sometimes they will dip into retained earnings for propping up the dividends in bad times.
Yes, when good time, need to retain for rainy day, so that the dividend can be more consistently.
As there were times, equities market may make a loss one.

Eg.
One year make 9%, next year 11%, another year 1%, so a 7% or 6% (save 1% for further) roughly every year can be given out.

The previous decision to invest abroad, now if we see back is a good decision, that manage to hedge against RM depreciation.

nexona88
post Oct 22 2015, 03:25 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

Too much speculation whether shariah account would give higher dividend rate compare with conventional account shakehead.gif

and I see a lot of people are confused. muslim required compulsory "forced" into shariah account? well it's up to individuals. but peer pressure of "u gonna burn in hell" for using conventional "haram" account could play a role in decision making tongue.gif rolleyes.gif
nexona88
post Oct 22 2015, 03:31 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Oct 22 2015, 12:03 PM)
nothing new, its just a policy to transfer wealth in short. how do u think BRIM works? where the fund comes from to pay BRIM to those qualified?
where the source of BR1M money come from? icon_question.gif
wil-i-am
post Oct 22 2015, 07:30 PM

10,001 posts

RM422 million in unclaimed EPF funds, withdrawal remains at 55
http://www.nst.com.my/news/2015/10/rm422-m...awal-remains-55
Hansel
post Oct 22 2015, 09:03 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 22 2015, 07:30 PM)
RM422 million in unclaimed EPF funds, withdrawal remains at 55
http://www.nst.com.my/news/2015/10/rm422-m...awal-remains-55
This article is silent on whether those who left their money inside the EPF after 55 without further contributions have the flexibility of withdrawals anytime after 55.
nexona88
post Oct 22 2015, 10:12 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 22 2015, 09:03 PM)
This article is silent on whether those who left their money inside the EPF after 55 without further contributions have the flexibility of withdrawals anytime after 55.
I can sense your fear of money being "locked" after reaching 55yo by looking on your repetitive posting on the same issue past few days rolleyes.gif
danmooncake
post Oct 22 2015, 10:47 PM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 22 2015, 09:03 PM)
I have an uncle who's in 75 now and has worked since the 1970s. He had not withdraw a single dime from his EPF. His plan is to continue to accumulate as much dividends as possible (since it is higher than FD) until EPF forces him to distributed his money. He treating the EPF as long term investments with very little risk. At one year, I think he said he got a notice saying that EPF disallows any member who is not contributing to continue to let their money sit in the account, then the following year, he got another notice, he can continue let his money in there till 80. He has named his nominees since then (of course in preparation just in case, he passes suddenly). So, he got about 5 more years to let his money to continue to grow.

Therefore, I don't think they would restrict anyone to withdraw after 55 (which is the qualify retirement age), if they really do retire and not working anymore.

It does not make sense say for example, if one decides to work and contribute until 57 - two more years into past their qualified 55 retirement age, then starting at 57.5, they wanted to retire and starting to withdraw, EPF ruling would prohibit them just because they are under 60 (since they're not contributing anymore).

I believe if anyone do want to continue to work beyond 55, while the individual is still WORKING beyond 55, both the employee & employer are continuing to contribute into EPF, concurrent withdrawal is perhaps PROHIBITED at that time. Now, this would make more sense. nod.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Oct 22 2015, 10:58 PM
nexona88
post Oct 22 2015, 11:45 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

Interest rates offered by 1Malaysia Development Bhd (1MDB) units that are nearly twice that of institutional bonds show that the Employees Provident Fund’s (EPF) investments in the firms are considered high-risk, PKR’s Rafizi Ramli asserted today.

He also went on to dispute Johari’s categorisation of EPF’s investment exposure as minimal, saying that RM1.72 billion could not be considered a small sum.

- See more at: http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia...h.bKv9hzdo.dpuf
Ramjade
post Oct 23 2015, 01:52 AM

24,388 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 22 2015, 10:12 PM)
I can sense your fear of money being "locked" after reaching 55yo by looking on your repetitive posting on the same issue past few days rolleyes.gif
I think we all know that. Anyway Hansel you can always use your overseas fund to support your life should epf implement this. Is not a big issue for you. It might be an issue for those that haven't diversify outside malaysia and into other instruments.

1311 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:53 AM