cherroy
post Feb 9 2015, 04:49 PM

25,802 posts

No gov nor country can bankrupt one.

In personal or company, creditor may sue the borrower to seize their asset, but on gov front, you cannot foreclose a gov nor a country.

Worst to worst,
Gov or country may default the sovereign bond, and lose the credit rating worthwhile.

That's all.
cherroy
post Feb 9 2015, 04:52 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 9 2015, 01:23 PM)
If govt gone bankcrupt which is unlikely, court will lelong govt's assets to repay us, or govt can reclaim land(current price rm38m/acre & Johor & Singapore with be separated by a stream) and payback creditors with land.
This statement is more a sarcasm...
cherroy
post Feb 9 2015, 05:22 PM

25,802 posts

With more exposure and diversifying of asset into stock market and other investment instead of relying on gov bond, and with KLCI reached all time high, as well as many overseas share market, it is nature for EPF able to declare higher dividend rate.

Generally for 2014, investment were/are performing well across across the world.
KLCI reached new high, DJ at all time high, so does European bourses.

cherroy
post Feb 9 2015, 10:10 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 9 2015, 06:17 PM)
if "touchwood"...both (contributor & nominee) knock out together....
normal will also can not claim the monies?
If situation like this, then need to undergo based on estate law or inheritance law, which is tedious in paperwork.
cherroy
post May 12 2015, 11:32 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ May 12 2015, 11:17 AM)
From what I understand that REIT is a pretty conservative investment right ?

If a conservative investment could still give 8% yield, it really means our EPF is not giving as good yield as what most people think.
Reit doesn't guarantee your principal, nor any return, EPF does.

Reit return can be affected if property market slump or in a high interest rate environment.

Reit price can crash big as well as same as equities, just like during 2008 financial crisis.

cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 09:02 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 21 2015, 08:05 AM)
So 2.5% is the minimum? Before this how much was the minimum?
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Oct 21 2015, 08:12 AM)
iinm, there was none. they always declare based on performance.

this amendment will introduce 2nd dividend rate, not replace existing one.
There was.

EPF act 1991
http://www.kwsp.gov.my/portal/en/web/kwsp/...epf-act-reports
Section 27

Declaration of dividend

At or after the end of the financial year, being the 31st December of each year, the Board shall with the approval of the Minister, declare a rate of dividend in respect of that year, being not less than two and one half per centum per annum and, subject to section 50, dividend shall be payable on contributions to the Fund at such rate:

This post has been edited by cherroy: Oct 21 2015, 09:02 AM
cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 09:10 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 21 2015, 08:59 AM)
It meant even those who didn't make the change, EPF can give dividend of min 2.5%. So is not restricted to those who switch.
The sentence was more due to shariah principle, or islamic banking principal, they cannot have fixed "interest", but based on profit sharing principal.

Just like conventional FD vs islamic deposit.

They can't put minimum fixed return/interest in islamic product.

Correct me if I am wrong.
cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 09:17 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 21 2015, 08:37 AM)
It's all about Syariah.  If you choose not to be under this scheme, then you do not partake in the performance of the Fund. Then their obligation is only 2.5% as far as they are concerned.

Meaning everyone irrespective of race and religion is FORCED to accept Islamic principles. 

This is Malaysian fair and equitable principles.
Not true.

The sentences was more because of they want to introduce the islamic principle of KWSP account.

The obligation of minimum 2.5% was all along since last time.
Nothing change, so there is no difference at all.

Min 2.5%, while EPF board has the power to declare interest or rate at their wish based on performance of the fund.

Just they cannot put the minimum 2.5% into the islamic principle hence the sentence was being drafted like that.

The issue is similar to conventional FD/deposit, vs islamic deposit.

cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 09:18 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 21 2015, 09:15 AM)
So is change in name/principles ? Nothing major on the dividends right?
There is nothing change apart from islamic KWSP account concern and the non-Malaysian account.
cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 09:39 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 21 2015, 09:31 AM)
If implemented an EPF account holder need to choose to stay in conventional account or change to the new KWSP-i. These 2 accounts would have 2 diff dividend rate of at least 2.5%. Correct?

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...ccount-says-epf
As posted earlier, islamic deposit/account principal is always based on profit sharing, (as islamic deposit/account doesn't have "fixed interest rate" to start with) so the written act mentioned conventional account has 2.5% min while KWSP-I doesn't.

As mentioned in the wording published those not elected to convert to -i account remain as conventional account which has 2.5% min as same as what is stated in previous EPF act 1991.

The Bill also states that the EPF may have the power to declare a dividend of not less than 2.5% per annum for those whose elections have not taken effect.

cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 09:41 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 21 2015, 09:37 AM)
I think is to address the concern that epf investment are not Syariah compliance. So some may see the money as "haram" So for those who choose Syariah, I am sure epf investment will be Syariah compliance while those who choose conventional account, need not have Syariah compliance. But both will still achieved the same amount of dividends.
The issue is similar to conventional bank vs islamic banking.
cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 10:41 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 21 2015, 10:31 AM)
Since in the EPF Act, they already have the power why is it new?
The report does not say that those who elect NOT follow the Syariah principles would get their dividends according to the performance of the fund. Or is that taken as it is?

Are there going to be two funds?
The 2.5% is not new, I don't know why some news made it like a new one.

The amendment needed because there will have 2 EPF account KWSP and KWSP-i

As you cannot have an old act to say "EPF must give minimum 2.5% to EPF account", as this statement will cover the KWSP-i as well.

Performance of fund is similar to profit sharing principal in shariah compliance.

While conventional EPF has been following performance basic as well over the history, although the act never state it.

cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 11:26 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Oct 21 2015, 10:58 AM)
Basically, it reads as a pre-emptive statement. To let contributors know that, if you do not subscribe to the Syariah account, their obligation to you is minimum 2.5%, whereas it is possible that the Syariah account may yield higher dividend. Hence, contributors cannot claim foul when it drops from 6.x% to suddenly 2.5%.

That is another messed up system and another way for them to utilize our money, whereby they want all your money to be in the Syariah account. Or face the consequences of lower yield in the conventional account. They're saying, you non-muslims can enjoy lower yield if you don't want to place them in Syariah compliant account.

Yet another way to utilize the non-muslims contributions, to yield better returns but pay better dividends to the Syariah account contributors. Way to go Malaysia. Another milestone in the f****d up system.
Not true, please do not throw accusation simply, it is a defamation statement.

Conventional is guaranteed to have 2.5%, whilst none in KWSP-i.
If EPF make no profit, then there will be no profit can be shared under -i, while conventional is guaranteed to have 2.5%.

While conventional EPF has been declaring dividend based on fund performance throughout the history.
It is not the like current 6% will drop to 2.5% next year due to introduction of KWSP-i.

So please be more objective in throwing in opinion.

The issue won't be much different with syariah compliance unit trust, islamic banking/deposit etc.
cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 11:29 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Oct 21 2015, 10:49 AM)
just robbing our money to fund I business/product. this is DAY-LIGHT ROBBERY, the bait is only 2.5% dividen if u opt NOT to sweat.gif  sweat.gif

next year, those opt in syariah gets 7.8% while conventional gets 2.8% doh.gif
Nobody rob your money.

Conventional EPF account still running, not the like straight away give you 2.5% next year.

If non-syariah portfolio stocks are performing, then conventional account may get higher dividend as well.

Please don't throw accusation simply. It may be deemed defamation.
cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 02:13 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Oct 21 2015, 01:33 PM)
That out of the way, my foremost fear is that they're trying to hang on to our money as long as possible. Remember just earlier this year they try to change withdrawal age? They dropped that after public furore.

Now they know they can't impose age 60 for us malaysians, but for those older than 55 who have been voluntarily putting money into epf ... i know many do because 6.7% is way better than fd's 4% ... now they'll have the money stuck in there till 60! Actually, looks like even if you're still working after 55 the contributions from your salary and employer will also be affected
Back to my biggest fear... if you opt for syariah, is the election reversible? If you opt for syariah, is it possible that you can't withdraw your money at 55 because of some obscure syariah rule?
The amendment doesn't state you can't withdraw after 55, even one opt to KWSP-i, so don't need pre-judge on anything that is not occuring.

If EPF intend to hang on the money, they can impose higher age withdrawal, or emulate what is done by CPF.

cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 02:37 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 21 2015, 02:31 PM)
But they said can only withdraw after 60 if one were to put money in after 55. Am I missing something? Why double standards? Any money deposited before 55 can be withdraw but any money deposited after 55 years old cannot be removed?

What did CPF do?
It is to prevent contributor that after 55 (I had seen a number of real case) treat EPF as saving/FD account, want money time, simply file for a withdraw, which doesn't serve well as a retirement fund in the first place.

Somemore, the sum generally won't be too big for 1-2 years saving in EPF, so there is no urgency for the withdrawal.
If really need to money, can opt out for 55 years and above one in the first place.
It is not a mandatory after this age.

If opt in, treat it as 5 years FD, with the rate better than FD.

So not a big issue.
cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 09:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 21 2015, 05:46 PM)
The other issue now would be from the employer's end,... we are all contributors, and some of us are employers too.

How do we contribute now to the EPF as employers ? How do we contribute to the i-KWSP scheme, if we have employees who opted for the i-KWSP scheme ?
Every month there is list of employee submitted together with the remittance, so if the ABC person account is KWSP-i, it will be credited into the ABC account automatically by EPF system. Just my logic thinking, as I see no issue from employer front.
cherroy
post Oct 21 2015, 09:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 21 2015, 06:17 PM)
You read wrongly and misinterpreted my posting wrongly,... I said if you have any sen left inside the account when you touch 55yo, it will be locked inside ill you are 60yo. In other words, if you apply to withdraw any amount by 55yo, you can OF COURSE WITHDRAW when you touch 55yo. You may still have 'leftover' inside the account after this 55yo withdrawal.

As for withdrawing any amount 'leftover' beyond 55yo, they are silent on this.

As for adding money into EPF after 55yo, you are not allowed to withdraw till you are 60yo.

Please read the grammar carefully,... and carry with you a tinge of legal conceptions with it.
When law is silent on particular issue, then it just means no restriction.

As far as the wording published, only contribution after 55 is "locked". It doesn't mention contribution before 55, so it won't be "locked".
cherroy
post Oct 22 2015, 09:09 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 22 2015, 08:44 AM)
My Finance will have more work identifying which employee is in which scheme. And if the EPF allows scheme conversion for a contributor, then more ongoing work as time goes by.

But let's wait for more ann'ts,...
No, you finance or HR won't need to do more work, apart from one time/first time for those wish to do the conversion.

It will/should be the same as old day afterwards. smile.gif
cherroy
post Oct 22 2015, 10:01 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(McFD2R @ Oct 22 2015, 09:32 AM)
That is my exact question, to which some have seem to either misunderstood or chooses to say that won't happen. If dividends are going to be equal, then I see no purpose for them to have a separate contributors accounts. Because returns from non-Islamic investments surely cannot be distributed to Muslim contributors. Isn't that the purpose of a Islamic account? If that is so, how can returns be equal? It can only be equal if the total returns from conventional account funds and Islamic funds, are combined and then divided proportionately. But as I've said, non-Islamic returns are considered non-Halal in some businesses. How can this returns be combined with the Halal returns?

This is just my assumption. Imagine if conventional contributors amounts to RM100 mil a year, and Islamic account contributors amounts to RM50 mil a year. If the Islamic accounts sees a higher dividend, then this is a failure in the KWSP investment portfolio. Or even if it was reversed whereby Conventional contributors are RM50 mil vs KWSP-i RM100 mil, and then conventional yields higher dividends. Either way, we would see a disadvantage in one of the account type if the dividend yields are not equal. KWSP should not be operating in such a manner in my personal opinion.

Until further information is revealed by KWSP if the tabling of the new act passes through, I fail to understand how this can be done fairly for all contributors.
The law tabled has mentioned potential 2 rates of return (if not mistaken), so possibility of different return is there.

If its conventional portfolio is performing better than syariah compliance portfolio, logically thinking, conventional account may get higher return and vice versa.
Just like conventional FD vs islamic deposit.

But it shouldn't be too far away, as bulk of investment of EPF is in MGS, while non-syariah compliance portfolio shouldn't be too high for equities currently. So the difference shouldn't be too great between them.

We shouldn't pre-judge anything, until EPF gives the clear picture. smile.gif
While, I don't see too much issue in this matter.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:29 PM