73 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Mar 4 2024, 06:08 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Mar 4 2024, 06:02 PM)
Many retired personnel's withdraw dividends?? hmm.gif
quite a few (maybe 20% of the people there)... as in they looked like 60 to 75 years old type.
Wedchar2912
post Mar 5 2024, 02:01 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Mar 5 2024, 01:53 PM)
anyone moving to full shariah?
maybe payout gonna surpass conventional in 2024
I rather take out....

looks like my hope of having 10 million in epf will never happen, regardless of age. haha.

Wedchar2912
post Mar 5 2024, 03:36 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(kupronikel83 @ Mar 5 2024, 03:09 PM)
41 years old...

Dividend got RM 12 K...

Am I pity or not??
The point is to keep at it, remain in employment and grow the pot. Your future self will thank the you now.
Wedchar2912
post Mar 6 2024, 03:01 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 6 2024, 02:43 PM)
Better still, do not show quarterly performance.  laugh.gif
we better keep on telling them to be more transparent...

if not, some smart alec will do a paradigm shift and propose that EPF should follow CPF... cannot question, and Acct 1 gets 4% pa; Acct 2 gets 2.5% pa. Acct 3 gets 1% pa

then how? blink.gif hmm.gif
Wedchar2912
post Mar 6 2024, 03:26 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 6 2024, 03:21 PM)
But but EPF act mentioned about minimum 2.5%???
the follow SG CFP what-if thingy implies a super major change in the EPF Act... by then, I am pretty sure the politicians would already remove the min 2.5% and may intro even more stuff that we commoners may not think of today.

btw, this is my stupid what-if crap... most probably will never ever happen.
Wedchar2912
post Mar 6 2024, 03:58 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 6 2024, 03:33 PM)
Maybe because of the act..
There's delay in account 3 details???

Trying to find any loopholes... To bypass the minimum 2.5% dividend thingy....
don't think so... I think the delay is how to allocate between the 3 accounts (say a contribution of 10K goes where), and what rate to provide for account 3. 2.5% min is quite bad as FDs are above that.
Wedchar2912
post Mar 6 2024, 06:27 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Mar 6 2024, 05:49 PM)
Our gov already kowtow EPF withdraw and make Acct 3. No way they will follow SG, sure that group of people will riot already.
the riot only works if a certain majority group goes down and make noise... people like you and me... you know, the SAVERS pretending to be B40, won't have much impact...

cos it is always acceptable to penalize the savers....
Wedchar2912
post Mar 6 2024, 06:29 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 6 2024, 06:08 PM)
scared they really do that next time man...now sudah show good 3 quaters
suddenly dividend  not as expected, sudah hantar pi mana dividend kita....

transparency is needed conventional earn much ,distributed how much,
nonconventional earn how much..

should not take from one to top up another..
if gomen rob peter to pay paul i also want out lah.
for 2023, i am just curious on why the reserve ratios are do different between conventional and shariah.

and how the assets are separated.
Wedchar2912
post Mar 6 2024, 08:05 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Mar 6 2024, 06:49 PM)
What i meant is aaccount locking. SG lock their account right? Can't withdraw one shot? I am not very sure.
oh... the annuities feature? this I suspect may happen. As long as it is a reasonable amount like 240K rm (this number EPF been displaying like mad) at age 60 and above is fine with me...

logically can just treat it as annuities or FD that one will never use. But I know many will not be happy too, cos the loss of freedom over one's asset.

Wedchar2912
post Mar 6 2024, 08:07 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 6 2024, 07:42 PM)
My speculation on these 2 (not EPF official views).

1. Epf shariah has no 2.5% min guarantee, hence can have higher payout ratio.

2. For 2023, the assets are not fully seggregated yet in 2 custodian accounts. So its just accounting bookeeping. Only staarting this year, it will be fully seggregated.
EPF, being the fund management entity, should not be worried about the 2.5% guarantee, as this guarantee is provided by the guarantor... which is Federal Government of Malaysia. Not their job to reserve when the guarantee is provided by third party...

just saying...
Wedchar2912
post Mar 6 2024, 08:16 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 6 2024, 08:10 PM)
I believe under the act, epf actually has to pay back the government when it can, if govt exercise the guarantee.
you mean this clause?

under Section 27,
(3)
Notwithstanding paragraphs (1)(a) and (b), no rate of dividend exceeding two and one half per centum per annum shall be so declared-
unless the Board is satisfied that the ability of the Fund to meet all payments required to be paid under this Act is not endangered by the declaration of such rate; and
if any sums advanced by the Government of Malaysia under section 28 have not then been repaid.

reading this, it has a different meaning... it just means don't declare if cannot meet the payment. Our case now is please purposely under declare by 15%...

Wedchar2912
post Mar 6 2024, 08:20 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 6 2024, 04:17 PM)
And i am still waiting for EPF to transfer my withdrawal after 33 hours.
you applied yesterday right?

I applied mine on Monday afternoon in person... money arrived this morning.

So yours maybe tomorrow?

Wedchar2912
post Mar 7 2024, 10:28 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 7 2024, 10:15 PM)
Consider time value of money.

23->60 is 37 yrs.

In 2061, 1 mil at gomen 2.5% inflation, that is 333,000 today's money.

At 6% inflation which I think is more real, it is 116,000.

So, how long will rm116,000 last u if u only hv that money today?
imagine someone who started working in 1987.... and today is 2024, and he is 60.
isn't it a lot better that he has at least 1 million, than nothing, using the assumptions inputted here?

Yeah, starting pay in 1987 of 2K is considered very high, lets start at 1K rm and keeping increment of 3% with zero bonus. This chap today has 500K in EPF. And his current pay at age 60 is 3K rm thereabout.
Not too shabby for such conservative numbers rite?

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Mar 7 2024, 10:34 PM
Wedchar2912
post Mar 7 2024, 11:15 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 7 2024, 10:54 PM)
If start work with 2k now, and needed 37 yrs to reach 1 million
What work that Start work at 2k now?
Min pay is 1.5k now.

That kind of work that start with 2k now, can the same kind of job be found in 1987? In 1987 that kind  of work will earn how much?
I know my old ex-colleagues (as in they are real retirees now) did say that when they started working in the 1980s, their starting pay was like 1200 or 1300 ringgit in the financial sector. There are variations, but 1K rm is definitely on the low side in 1980s.
The thing is... does the assumption of 3% salary increment for whole 40 years of working life make any sense?

Incidentally, I also found this old post.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2226853/all

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Mar 7 2024, 11:24 PM
Wedchar2912
post Mar 7 2024, 11:45 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 7 2024, 11:32 PM)
Yep, that's another way to look at it.

1987.... I wud think a fresh economics or bsc grad earns 1.2k then. if he retires at 60 with 500 or 600k today, I think he'll feel miserable.
he will be miserable and should be ashamed of himself... 3% salary inflation with no promotion and wage adjustment?
Wedchar2912
post Mar 8 2024, 11:53 AM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 8 2024, 11:21 AM)
I started working at 21 years young with salary of RM1,200 in 1983.  Now 62.  biggrin.gif
may I quote you as an counter-example in future whenever a person said starting salary of so and so (like 1 to 3K rm type) and cannot have many millions of retirement weath after hard and honest 40 years of work?

Wedchar2912
post Mar 8 2024, 02:45 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 8 2024, 02:41 PM)

problem is... where is the MPs who are supposed to question the FM on all these weird numbers and get a proper explanation from the FM...

reserve ratios of 85 vs the shariah's much lower ratio...
Wedchar2912
post Mar 8 2024, 08:24 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 8 2024, 07:43 PM)
Hopefully they include the 5bil into 2024 dividend...
And give higher than 5.5% rates.... Push towards 6% above 🤑💰
would this not be a clear example of robbing Peter to pay Paul?
Wedchar2912
post Mar 10 2024, 01:54 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Mar 10 2024, 01:41 PM)
I know people who work in KWSP HQ, it's quite a chilled life. But their pay is generally 10 to 15% below corporate pay for similar role and responsibility.
not a bad deal really....

imagine senior enough a post... instead of 30K rm per month, get 27K rm per month... what... on time, can go home... smile.gif
Wedchar2912
post Mar 13 2024, 11:37 AM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Mar 13 2024, 11:14 AM)
Am wondering if the self voluntary EPF tax relief will continue until further noticed?

I checked that it will start effective YA 2023 means it will continue or still based on the budget annually?
just check the official website.

https://www.hasil.gov.my/individu/kitaran-c...elepasan-cukai/

73 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0466sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:07 PM