73 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Jan 19 2024, 09:57 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jan 19 2024, 07:48 PM)
Cannot use. A third of my relatives still alive at 90. One is 98 now. Due to better medical care. That’s why EPF must last till 100. Fall back to outside asset if live longer.
not to sound morbid, but if a third of your relatives are still alive at age 90, would that not mean two third gone prior to that? so what's the average?

Wedchar2912
post Jan 20 2024, 06:42 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 20 2024, 11:53 AM)
The median malaysian salary is RM2600 per month.

https://www.imoney.my/articles/monthly-median-dosm

Assuming statutory kwsp contributions of 11 and 12%, thats RM598 monthly.
that's why I kept on saying the real problem is not EPF... it is wages and jobs...

If plug in 2.6K rm pm salary, no increment and no bonus, work from 20 years old to 50 years old, and assuming 6% div rate from EPF, one almost have 630K rm at end of 50 years old.

Lets not waste time and effort and talk about inflation lar.... the assumptions above there are already silly to begin with. Basically anyone not too unlucky (ie born with medical problems, family issues etc), finished simple education and go work in Malaysia, 2.6K rm starting pay is doable.

hence the EPF stats is at best silly, at worst nefarious.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 20 2024, 06:43 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Jan 20 2024, 06:38 PM)
is it called Sunway Sanctuary? thanks
yes it is... it is kinda nice... I didn't visit the rooms only, but it is connected to the hospital directly and can walk over to the malls...

Nonetheless, 10K rm pm is kinda steep if one is still very healthy and "young" enough.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 20 2024, 08:03 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 20 2024, 07:49 PM)
yup... imagine engineer working in some local factory after 2-3 yrs still only getting 1.8k pm... what a joke

obviously you not their target audience lah wink.gif

anyways... im just thinking, work liao 20-30 yrs... half a lifetime gone... still got another half a lifetime to go... one can really have a go at another 10 yr career biggrin.gif
What to do... humans mudah lupa, so sometimes we have to remind each other so as not to be too brainwashed by those with ulterior motives (ie gov and epf kept on claiming we all don't have enough to retire and then go into stats based on race and age and amounts in EPF). It is so clear that as long as one works, continue working and earn a honest decent living wage, EPF balance will be way more than 240K rm at age 60. Others will have like pension etc, as long as they don't squander everything away.

eitherway, even if they squandered their wealth away, who are we to judge... they deserved their eventual retirement plan and that is that. biggrin.gif

lol... their target market most probably are foreigners, most probably Singaporeans. 10K is like 3K sgd only. Not that much more expensive than hiring a maid there, I think.

second career? then the priority should be not about monetary reward anymore... tongue.gif

Wedchar2912
post Jan 20 2024, 10:00 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 20 2024, 09:38 PM)
nah... 4-5 yrs ago was 220k or something...

edit:... from 2015... https://www.theborneopost.com/2015/04/25/ep...for-retirement/

“Now, only one in four of active age 54 EPF members have RM196,800 or more in their EPF account, the minimum basic sum recommended by EPF for retirement,” they pointed out to The Borneo Post.
according to EPF's narrative, already so many don't have enough money in EPF...
inflation or not doesn't matter cos still so many don't have enough money in EPF.

so why bother to adjust with inflation? haha
Wedchar2912
post Jan 21 2024, 03:17 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 21 2024, 02:58 PM)
EPF already have law that guaranteed minimum 2.5% dividend....
what else these people want??? I also don't know...

SUS'ed huh...
Some people went to report my post for "Religious / Racial Insinuation or Provocation"
Admin feels same way. so gotten "free holiday"
welcome back!

anything free is good, unless it is forced onto oneself. lol... smile.gif

not just the min 2.5%, but the fact that the funds in EPF is safer than be inside any local bank, and it is creditor proof... now these 2 features alone make it damn attractive.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 22 2024, 06:36 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 22 2024, 05:56 PM)
So far i have been using fpx in EPF-app, if 29Jan then it will be reflected  on 31Jan but deposit date 30Jan, irrespective of weekend/weekday. Only worry is bank/epf system screw up.
wah... u really want to cut it so close?
Wedchar2912
post Jan 22 2024, 06:38 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jan 22 2024, 06:02 PM)
welcome back, any idea kena reported how many times baru reach suspended?
wonder  how many more to go b4 i reach there...

aiyo anticlimax lah  you so little only...

can see he meant to lose min, dont  deposit too early or too late..
ai yah... don't say until like that lar... today I just threw in 3.5K rm to chop the i-saraan match by gov... just slightly more than enough to hopefully get the full 500rm.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 22 2024, 06:47 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 22 2024, 06:43 PM)
some even better...

rm3335 to get the i-saraan rm500  devil.gif

actually 3334 also can but pantang with number "4" so make it to "5"  laugh.gif
lol...

yeah, I was thinking of whether to put in 3333.40 or just a round 3500... it is easier to see 3500 and keep the number round. smile.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jan 22 2024, 06:52 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 22 2024, 06:50 PM)
ehhh can self contribute with cents too???.... I never tried before.... can ahhh??

confused.gif  hmm.gif
good question... i never tried... so I don't know... cos ended up I just threw 3500rm in.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 24 2024, 09:48 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 24 2024, 06:34 PM)
Zahid: New hires in civil service will contribute to EPF, Socso

He said that the contribution rate for these schemes would align with the prevailing rates observed among current employees in the private sector.

https://www.nst.com.my/news/government-publ...-contribute-epf
more contribution $$$ for EPF monthly basis...
more headache on where to invest  brows.gif

positive or negative impact on future EPF dividend rates???  sweat.gif
No more pencen for new civil servants... yes, this is the way....

Doesn't matter really to EPF's future div rates... but in terms of safety, funds belonging to oldies like us will be much safer as in-flow will now better outpace outflow... nice.

Wedchar2912
post Jan 25 2024, 11:42 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 25 2024, 08:36 PM)
Hopefully he does the job well.....

EPF is wayyy bigger than PNB... Bigger fund size, more risk & foreign exposure
well, did PNB do well the past few years?

i think not really... but what do I know... smile.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jan 26 2024, 01:52 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jan 26 2024, 01:47 PM)
Better reduce workforce to 30%, then can keep pension. Win Win. No more deadbeats. Gov reduced burden and those who excels then deserves a pension.
we already know economists in malaysia, if not pure rubbish, are also 88% crap.

pension scheme no longer work this day and age, primarily due to increased of longevity and aging population.
Best to switch the responsibility of old age back to the workers directly...

the real question is how to do it with minimal pain... similar to minimizing the drug withdrawal symptoms.

But the good thing for the rest of us is there will be more funds flowing into EPF... yay... safety just went up ++5. lol
Wedchar2912
post Jan 26 2024, 05:39 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 26 2024, 03:42 PM)
hope they can withstand the new flow of contribution...

I'm worried they cannot handle the extra $$$ being contributed....

later become like PNB / ASNB.... dividend from 6 - 7% become below 5%  bangwall.gif
(btw see weird the connection, EPF new boss also from there?)
more money flowing in is not really the worry of most, if not all, fund managers. They will find other things to invest, and while 1 trillion ringgit is a lot of money, in USD term it is not even 250 billion usd. (last week Elon would have laughed at all of us... lol)

usually fund managers are very bad in handling consistent redemptions where their portfolio keep on shrinking.

Nonetheless, it depends on what limitations imposed by gov of the day... like our PMX wants 70% in Malaysia. Malaysia's capital market (both equity and fixed income) is small, and this may become an issue.
Maybe the smart alec economists can tell the gov to push opr to 5%... then we know all the new MGS will be at least 5% rate.

Wedchar2912
post Jan 26 2024, 05:40 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jan 26 2024, 03:52 PM)
Lets give the guy some time to perform. These roles are not for long term, they can be replaced anytime. The incumbent was from a different industry and still he did okay.
sorry... the younger me maybe ok with this statement, but not anymore.

all politicians and political appointees already used up all the goodwill of the people... they better hit the ground running... 1 year cannot make it, kick them out. devil.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jan 29 2024, 02:50 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 29 2024, 02:20 PM)
Sikit, sikit, jadi bukit.  thumbup.gif
But no more commitments now.
oo... seems like that retirement gratuity being dump in did the big trick... ! smile.gif

congrats bro! biggrin.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jan 29 2024, 09:24 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Ankle @ Jan 29 2024, 09:11 PM)
For 1m principal sum

at 5.5pct is RM55k

at 6.0pct is RM60k

difference is only 5k

does not warrant any heart attack ...

am quite sure the rate will be better than the 5.35pct of last year !
what if the div is 4.15%? heart attack chance higher? tongue.gif
Wedchar2912
post Feb 1 2024, 04:20 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 1 2024, 03:12 PM)
Good Read for everyone  icon_rolleyes.gif

Octa - Retirement Planning in Malaysia: EPF's Investment Options and Its Alternatives
https://www.godubai.com/2/7695/Octa--Retire...n-Malaysia:-EPF

EPF Investments

EPF, known locally as KWSP (Kumpulan Wang Simpanan Pekerja), is a statutory retirement savings scheme that serves as a fundamental pillar of Malaysia's social security system, with contributions mandated for both employees and employers. It is designed to provide financial stability to Malaysian citizens in their golden years. EPF investments are professionally managed by the EPF Board.

Benefits of investing in EPF:

1. Long-Term Stability. EPF focuses on preserving capital and providing a reliable source of income in retirement. It offers a guaranteed annual dividend of 2.5%, leaving contributors with peace of mind because they know their savings will grow steadily over time.

2. Diversified Investment. EPF invests members' contributions in a diversified portfolio of assets, including equities, bonds, and real estate. This diversification helps spread risk and potentially enhances returns.

3. Tax Benefits. Contributions to EPF are eligible for tax deductions. This provides an immediate financial incentive for individuals to save for retirement through EPF.

Cons of EPF:

1. Limited Control. Fund's investments are made on members' behalf. The EPF's Members Investment Scheme (MIS) offers more investment choices, but it still limits them to some extent.

2. Lack of flexibility. EPF has certain withdrawal restrictions in place, though dipping into retirement savings became easier during COVID-19. This lack of flexibility in accessing funds can be a drawback, especially during unexpected financial crises.

3. Limited returns. The returns earned on EPF savings are predictable but modest. Over the long term, they may not provide the same level of wealth accumulation as less conservative investment options.
May I add 2 more hidden Pros of EPF:
4A: One's EPF balance is creditor proof, that even the Director General of Insolvency cannot touch.

4B: Distribution to bene in event of member's demise is done outside the legal process of probate/execution of the member's will.
4B(b) : No charges at all by EPF to distribute the funds.

edit: silly autocomplete. it is "cannot touch", not "can touch".

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Feb 1 2024, 04:33 PM
Wedchar2912
post Feb 1 2024, 04:32 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 1 2024, 04:25 PM)
Hi Bro is it "that even the Director General of Insolvency cannot touch."?

Great review BTW
that is what I understand... of cos me not lawyer... but rockwill agent did tell me this also.

sorry, fixed the error due to autocomplete already. tq for noticing it.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Feb 1 2024, 04:33 PM
Wedchar2912
post Feb 1 2024, 05:32 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Feb 1 2024, 05:05 PM)
EPF type of savings is good enough for me but there is one thing that worries me. Maybe some of you know the answer.
Lets say my wife is my nominated person to receive my EPF when I konk. What if "tai kat lai see" something happened to both of us, now the money passed to her siblings? Because technically I named her as my beneficiary, so the money goes to her. If she is also not around, then pass to her family members? not to my family members?
copied and pasted verbatim from KWSP's website:
"
For Muslims
If the nominee passes away, their next-of-kin is eligible to apply for Death Withdrawal.

For Non-Muslims
If the nominee passes away before the death of the member, the member’s next-of-kin is eligible to apply for Death Withdrawal. But, if the nominee passes away after the death of the member, the nominee’s next-of-kin is eligible to apply.
"

also, if both husband and wife died, say in a aircraft explosion, where it is impossible to assume who died first, then it is assumed that the husband passed first and the wife later.
(to solve this, in your will, there is a clause like if the wife is alive like a week after you died, only then the funds go to the wife... again from rockwill agent explained last time).

73 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0540sec    1.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:38 AM